DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 01/28/2026:
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 13-18 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 18 have been amended. Claim 12 has been cancelled.
The previous prior art-based rejection have been withdrawn due to the amendment (“…covered by the battery cell stack...”) to claim 1, however, a new rejection has been set forth below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There appears to be an extra space between “in” and “a” in line 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 10, and 18 recite “plate-shaped lower plate”.
Applicant’s specification does not define “plate-shaped”.
It is generally known by one of ordinary skill in the art that a “plate” is an object that is thin relative to its length and width. Therefore, this is the interpretation of what “plate-shaped” means in regards to the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “The battery module according to claim 13, further comprising a first compression pad surrounding the first thermal conductive resin layer and a second compression pad surrounding the second thermal conductive resin layer.”
Claim 14 depends from claim 1, which states “a compression pad…surrounding an entire perimeter of the thermal conductive resin layer”.
It is unclear from the claim as written if the first compression pad and second compression pads are additional pads to the “compression pad” of claim 1 or if the compression pad of claim 1 comprises the first compression pad and second compression pad (such as the thermal conductive resin layer comprising a first and second thermal conductive resin layer in claim 13). The Examiner notes that only two compression pads are found in Applicant’s Figures 5, 9, 11, and 13.
In order to advance prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the claim such that the compression pad of claim 1 comprises the first compression pad and second compression pad, and not that there are three separate compression pads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eftekhari et al (US 20210399268 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 20200067040 A1) in view of Park et al (US 20180358592 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Eftekhari discloses a battery pack comprising a battery module (traction battery pack 14 in Fig. 1; see entire disclosure and especially P33) comprising: a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (the battery cell stack is drawn to the three battery arrays 18 at least partially held in recess area 80 in Fig. 3; each of these arrays would have at least one battery cell; given each battery array has at least one battery cell, the “plurality of battery cells” of all three arrays that make up the “battery cell stack”; see entire disclosure and especially P43);
a plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122 in Fig. 4; the support brace can be used as part of a thermal exchange device for heating or cooling the battery components 84; the battery components can be secured to the support brace within recessed area 80 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P50, 55);
a module frame for covering an upper surface and opposite side surfaces of the battery cell stack (cover 68 with top sides 88 and plurality of walls 92 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P44); and
a compression pad covered by the battery cell stack (tray 64 in Fig. 3 made of expanded polypropylene foam or another type of expanded foam polymer; see entire disclosure and especially P48).
However, while Eftekhari does not teach the plate-shaped lower plate is located under the battery cell stack, this is merely a change in the form/shape of the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) such that it extends under the battery cell stack (battery arrays 18) along with the battery components (84). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the form/shape of the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) such that it extends under the battery cell stack (battery arrays 18) along with the battery components (84) in order to, for example, provide heating or cooling to the battery cell stack (battery arrays 18) like heating or cooling is provided to the battery components (84), given the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
However, modified Eftekhari does not meet the limitation a thermal conductive resin layer located between the lower plate and the battery cell stack, wherein the compression pad surrounds an entire perimeter of the thermal conductive resin layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches a thermally conductive adhesive can be located between a battery group and a cooling plate to increase a degree of contact between the battery group and cooling plate (P76). Kim teaches the contact area between the battery group and the cooling plate is minimized and a heat transfer efficiency of the battery group by the cooling plate can be increased (P77).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Kim and provided to the battery module of modified Eftekhari a thermally conductive adhesive on the top surface of the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) and below the battery cell stack (battery array 18) and battery components (84), given Kim teaches this can increase a degree of contact between a battery structure and cooling plate, therefore, increase heat transfer efficiency between the two.
Given the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) can be used as part of a thermal exchange device for heating or cooling the battery component (84), by way of the modification above, the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) would be able to increase heat transfer efficiency between not only the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) and battery components (84), but also between the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) and battery cell stack (battery array 18).
Further, given the thermally conductive adhesive layer lies on the top surface of the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122), and the plate-shaped lower plate lies within the compression pad (tray 64), modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein the compression pad surrounds an entire perimeter of the thermal conductive layer.
However, modified Eftekhari does not meet the limitation wherein the thermal conductive layer is a thermal conductive resin layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Park discloses thermally conductive resin components generally known to be usable as adhesives can include acrylic resins, urethane resins, and silicone resins (see entire disclosure and especially P38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Park and modified the thermal conductive adhesive layer of modified Eftekhari to include an acrylic resin, urethane resin, and/or silicone resin in order to provide wherein the thermal conductive adhesive layer is a thermal conductive resin layer, given Park discloses these as known thermally conductive adhesive materials and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, Eftekhari discloses wherein the module frame comprises: a first side surface and a second side surface for covering the opposite side surfaces of the battery cell stack; and a ceiling for covering the upper surface of the battery cell stack (cover 68 with top sides 88 (ceiling) and plurality of walls 92 (two of which can be the first side surface and second side surface) in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P44).
Regarding claim 3, Eftekhari discloses wherein the first side surface, the second side surface and the ceiling are integrally formed (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein a first edge and a second edge of the lower plate opposite each other are joined to the first side surface and the second side surface, respectively (the support brace 122 is part of tray substructure assembly 106 that can be molded into the foam of tray 64, P49, 51; the cover 68 is joined to the tray 64 along an interface 98, P45; see Fig. 2; therefore, a first edge of the support brace 122 can be considered joined to the first side surface of the tray 64 and a second edge of the support brace 122 can be considered joined to the second side surface of the tray 64, given the support plate is molded into the foam of tray 64 and tray 64 is joined to the cover 68).
Regarding claim 6, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein: the lower plate comprises a mounting part (interior connection brackets 118 in Fig. 4; see entire disclosure and especially P54), and the mounting part is formed on a first edge and a second edge of the lower plate facing each other (see the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Eftekhari Fig. 4
Regarding claim 7, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein a mounting hole is formed in the mounting part (“bolts 130 or another type of mechanical fastener can threadably engage the interior connection brackets 118 to secure battery arrays 18 within the recessed area 80”, P54; see also Fig. 4), and the mounting part extends parallel to one surface of the lower plate (interior connection bracket 118 is a three-dimensional structure; as seen in Fig. 4 and the annotated Fig. below, the top surface of the interior connection bracket 118 extends parallel to one surface of the lower plate).
Annotated Eftekhari Fig. 4
Regarding claim 8, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein: the thermal conductive resin layer is formed by applying a thermal conductive resin to the lower plate (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, modified Eftekhari does not meet the limitation wherein: the thermal conductive resin layer comprises a first thermal conductive resin layer and a second thermal conductive resin layer that are located apart from each other. However, this is merely separating the thermal conductive resin layer into at least two different layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have separated the thermal conductive resin layer into at least two layers located apart from each other in order to, for example, provide smaller stipes of the thermally conductive adhesive that can still connect the battery components 84 and battery cell stack (battery arrays 18) to the heating/cooling of the plate-shaped lower plate (support brace 122) while reducing the amount of resin needed to be used, thereby lowering costs, because the Courts have held that making known elements separable is within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348 (CCPA 1961) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
See the annotated Fig. below:
Annotated Eftekhari Fig. 4
Regarding claim 16, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein the lower plate comprises a first side edge, a second side edge, a first end edge and a second end edge, and wherein the lower plate is planar (see Fig. 4 of Eftekhari and the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Eftekhari Fig. 4
Regarding claim 17, modified Eftekhari meets the limitation wherein the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction, and wherein the first thermal conductive resin layer and a second thermal conductive resin layer are located apart from each other in a second direction (see the annotated Fig. below; given each battery array has at least one battery cell, the “plurality of battery cells” of the three arrays that make up the “battery cell stack” are stacked in the direction which the arrays are stacked).
Annotated Eftekhari Figs. 3-4
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and claim 14 (Examiner notes that claim 14 has a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) that must be addressed) are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “wherein: the first edge and the second edge are weld-joined to the first side surface and the second side surface, respectively.”
Given Eftekhari teaches the support brace 122 is part of tray substructure assembly 106 that can be molded into the foam of tray 64 (P49, 51) and the cover 68 is joined to the tray 64 along an interface 98 (P45, see Fig. 2), a first edge of the support brace 122 can be considered joined to the first side surface of the tray 64 and a second edge of the support brace 122 can be considered joined to the second side surface of the tray 64 (see the rejection of claim 4 above).
The edges of the support brace 122 are joined to the first and second side surfaces of the cover 68 via the connection between the tray 64 and cover 68. Both the tray 64 and cover 68 are primarily made of foam (P48). Therefore, there is nothing in Eftekhari that teaches or suggests wherein the first and second edge are weld-joined to the first and second side surface, respectively.
Further, there is nothing in any other previously cited prior arts or in any other prior arts found through further search and consideration, that teach or suggest the limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “further comprising a first compression pad surrounding the first thermal conductive resin layer and a second compression pad surrounding the second thermal conductive resin layer”.
The compression pad of modified Eftekhari is tray 64 in Fig. 3 that is made of expanded polypropylene foam or another type of expanded foam polymer (see the rejection of claim 1).
Given the support brace 122, battery components 84, and battery arrays 18 all sit within the tray 64 (P43, 49), and the support brace 122 is molded in the foam of tray 64 (P51-52), there is no motivation taught or suggested by Eftekhari to separate the tray 64 into two separate foam pieces.
Further search and consideration also revealed no motivation to teach or suggest one of ordinary skill in the art to separate the tray 64 into two separate foam pieces.
Claims 10-11 and 18 are allowed. (Examiner notes that claim 10 has an objection that must be addressed).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “wherein each of the plurality of battery cells comprises electrode leads protruding in a first direction and a protrusion part formed on one edge of the battery cell, and wherein the protrusion part is located closer to a first end of the lower plate in the first direction than the compression pad so that the protrusion part is between the first end and the compression pad.”
Previously cited Kim discloses wherein each of the plurality of battery cells comprises electrode leads protruding in a first direction (see Fig. 2 and 4A). However, Kim does not disclose a protrusion part formed on one edge of the battery cells.
Previously cited Choi discloses a battery cell (11 in Fig. 3) including extension parts (152 in Fig. 3, P88). Choi teaches the extension parts serve to maintain an arrangement of the battery cell with respect to a cooling housing (P95).
However, while Kim could be modified by Choi to include protrusion parts (extension parts) on one edge of the battery cells, there is nothing in Choi to suggest wherein the protrusion part would be located closer to a first end of the lower plate in the first direction than the compression pad so that the protrusion part is between the first end and the compression pad.
Previously cited Kim ‘139 teaches battery cells (110 in Fig. 4) include protrusion portions (110p in Fig. 4, P79). Kim ‘139 teaches first regions (311a and 311b in Figs. 2 and 8) of a module frame (300b, P75) can include recessed grooves (340a, 340b in Figs. 2 and 8) that do not include a thermal conductive resin so that the protrusion portions of the battery cells can be mounted (P79).
However, the subject matter of Kim ‘139 is owned by the same Assignee as the instant application, LG Energy Solution, Ltd., and has an effective filing date of 01/16/2020, therefore, is not prior art under 102(a)(2).
After further search and consideration of previously cited and newly found prior art, no prior art has been found to teach “wherein the protrusion part is located closer to a first end of the lower plate in the first direction than the compression pad so that the protrusion part is between the first end and the compression pad.”
Claim 11 is also allowed to due to its dependence on claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “wherein each of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pair of protrusion parts formed on opposite edges of the battery cell, the pair of protrusion parts spaced from one another by a first distance and extending downwardly by a second distance, and wherein a combined width of the thermal conductive resin layer and compression pad is less than the first distance and a height of the thermal conductive resin layer is greater than the second distance.”
After further search and consideration of previously cited and newly found prior art, no prior art has been found to teach “wherein a combined width of the thermal conductive resin layer and compression pad is less than the first distance and a height of the thermal conductive resin layer is greater than the second distance”.
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE BYRAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1729