DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a comparison between an ozone threshold concentration and a concentration signal coming from said ozone sensor”. It is not clear how to compare concentration with a signal. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as “a comparison between an ozone threshold concentration and a concentration coming from said ozone sensor”
Claim 3 recites “said ozone sensor is self-contained and apt to be moved away from said ozone generator”. It is not clear what this limitation is regarded (e.g., self-contained? Moved away..?) . Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites “a conveyor duct” and “a deviator duct”. It is not clear what these limitations are regarded. Also, it is not clear how each component is arranged with respect to a conveyor duct, a fan, an inlet opening thereof, with a deviator duct at an exit thereof. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garner (PG-PUB US 2010/0047116).
Regarding claim 1, Garner discloses a sterilization apparatus using ozone (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) an ozone generator 6 within a housing 21 (i.e., an ozone assembly is housed, Figures 1-3, paragraph [0032]);
(2) an ozone sensor 30 coupled to a controller 15, wherein the controller 15 integrated with a timer controls the operation of the apparatus by setting pre-determined ozone concentration having desired exposure duration and comparing the measured ozone concentration from the ozone sensor to pre-determined ozone concentration in order to achieve desired sterilization (i.e., an ozone sensor … a control unit …, Figures 1-3, paragraphs [0012], [0034] , [0051], [0055] –[0060], & Example 1); and
(3) a catalytic filter element 4 for removing ozone by flowing air through an intake 17 to an exit port 16 (i.e., ozone reducing means consisting of a filter assembly with catalytic action … by means of respective controlled ventilation means, Figures 1-3, paragraphs [0031] & [0035]).
Since the claim does not specify “an ozone threshold concentration”, it will be interpreted as “a pre-determined ozone concentration”. Garner teaches to dose a pre-determined amount of ozone to achieve desired degree of sterilization (paragraphs [0012], [0034] , [0051], [0055] –[0060], & Example 1), reading on “an ozone threshold concentration”.
Regarding claim 2, Garner teaches that the controller connected to some components of the apparatus, such as a the ozone sensor, through electronic connection to a network (paragraphs [0034] & [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Garner teaches that the electronic connections may be wireless and the ozone sensor 30 disposed away from the ozone generator 6 is provided within a self-contained housing 20 (Figures 1-3, paragraphs [0011], & [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Garner teaches a motion/presence sensor 18 (Figure 1, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Garner teaches that the ozone generator is provided within a conduit/channel having an inlet and an outlet while a fan is provided around the inlet of the conduit/channel (Figures 1 & 11, paragraphs [0031], & [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Garner teaches that audible or visual alarm may be provided (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Garner teaches a temperature sensor (Example 1).
Regarding claim 8, Garner teaches that the controller include a programmable means (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Garner teaches that two or more sterilization systems may be used and the controller 15 connects to a network through a communication system (paragraphs [0034], & [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Garner teaches that the controller can store a date base of sterilization with user input (paragraphs [0034], [0058], & [0063]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795