DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 19th 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
Figs 1 and 2 should be labeled as “prior art”.
In claim 2, the limitation “…vacuum sector…”
In claim 3, the limitation “…a plurality of vacuum holes…” and “…a plurality of vacuum suction holes…”.
In claim 7, the limitation “…a plurality of vacuum holes…” and “…a plurality of vacuum suction holes…”.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig 8-10 are in grey colored drawing; the drawing should be only in black and white.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1:
The limitation “a conveyor” is recited twice in the claim, line 1 and line 3, it is unclear how many conveyors is being recited or if they are the same. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that they are the same.
The limitation “…scrap…” is recited twice in the claim, in line 1 and line 5, it is unclear how many different scrap is being recited or if they are the same. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, it is assumed that they are the same.
In claim 6, the limitation “a conveyor” is recited twice in the claim, line 1 and line 5, it is unclear how many conveyors is being recited or they are the same. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, examiner assumed that they are the same.
Claims 2-5 and 7 are dependent claims of 1 and 6, and are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208644406U herein set forth as CN44406U, in view of KR101958881B1 herein set forth as KR58881B1.
Regarding claim 1, CN44406U discloses a conveyor for discharging scrap of a laser notching machine (refer to fig.1), the conveyor comprising:
a conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1);
a suction part (#4-5 and #14-16, fig.1) connected to the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1) and configured to suck scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) from an electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut on track #6 in fig.1) passing through the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1); and
a scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection opening between #14 and #16 in fig.1) configured to suck and discharge the scrap (#4-5 and #14-16, fig.1 operating on what is referred as “smoke and dust”) from the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1).
CN44406U does not explicitly discloses resulting from forming a tab (2C).
In the similar field of laser cutting, KR58881B1 discloses resulting from forming a tab (refer to KR5881B1 figure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN44406U’s invention with resulting from forming a tab, as taught by KR58881B1, in order to provide different utilities of the invention such as when the laser cutter forms different shapes with resultant varied discharge materials, and doing so would also increase the marketability of the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of CN44406U and KR58881B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, CN44406U further discloses a conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1); and
a conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) configured to move along a continuous track (refer to the continuous track of #6 in fig.1) so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces (hood #17, fig.1) of the conveyor body (track #6, fig.1), and
a vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #4 and #5, fig.1) is provided in a transfer path (refer as the path that material travel on track #6 in fig.1) through which the electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) passes,
wherein the vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #4 and #5, fig.1) is provided with a vacuum hole (refer to the connection hole of #15 to cutting platform #1 in fig.1) communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) to the lower surface of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1),
the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection between #14 and #16 in fig.1) is disposed under the conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1), and the suction part (#4-5 and #14-16, fig.1) comprises a suction duct (ventilation pipe #15, fig.1) communicating with the inner space of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of CN44406U and KR58881B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, the limitation “…resulting from forming the tab (2C) …” already disclosed in the claim 1 rejection above, CN44406U further discloses wherein the vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #5, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) is provided with a plurality of vacuum holes (refer to the opening of each suction box #5 connecting to the hood #17 in fig.1) communicating from the inner space to the lower surface (hood #17, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1), and the conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes (refer to the gap of rod #4, fig.1) communicating with the vacuum holes (refer to the opening of each suction box #5 connecting to the hood #17 in fig.1), so that the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) from the electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) is sucked in the vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #5, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) so as to be adsorbed to the conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) passing over the lower surface (hood #17, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) by vacuum pressure, and the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) is sucked into and discharged through the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection opening between #14 and #16 in fig.1) as the vacuum pressure is automatically released at a position (refer to the position of the suction box #5 in fig.1) where the electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) and the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) have passed the vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #5, fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of CN44406U and KR58881B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 3, CN44406U further discloses wherein a scarp discharge duct (refer to the pipe portion between #16 and #14 in fig.1) is provided below the position where the scrap (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) has passed through the vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #5, fig.1), and the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection opening between #14 and #16 in fig.1) is provided inside the scrap discharge duct (refer to the pipe portion between #16 and #14 in fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of CN44406U and KR58881B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, the limitation “…resulting from forming the tab (2C) …” already disclosed in the claim 1 rejection above, CN44406U further discloses a guide shield (hood #17, fig.1) provided above the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection opening between #14 and #16 in fig.1) and the electrode plate (refer to the “material”#23 to be cut) passes above the guide shield (hood #17, fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, CN44406U discloses a scrap discharge method of a conveyor for a laser notching machine (refer to fig.1-2 and 8), the method comprising: a scrap suction step of sucking scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”), an electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) passing through a conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1), in a vacuum sector (negative pressure suction box #4 and #5, fig.1) of the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower portion of the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1); a scrap transfer step of transferring the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) to a vacuum release sector (negative pressure suction box #4 and #5, fig.1) of the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1); and a scrap discharge step of sucking the scrap (#4-5 and #14-16, fig.1 operating on what is referred as “smoke and dust”) into the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection between #14 and #16 in fig.1) under the vacuum release sector (negative pressure suction box #4 and #5, fig.1) and discharging the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”).
CN44406U does not explicitly discloses resulting from forming a tab (2C).
In the similar field of laser cutting, KR58881B1 discloses resulting from forming a tab (refer to KR5881B1 figure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN44406U’s invention with resulting from forming a tab, as taught by KR58881B1, in order to provide different utilities of the invention such as when the laser cutter forms different shapes with resultant varied discharge materials, and doing so would also increase the marketability of the invention too.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of CN44406U and KR58881B1 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, the limitation “…resulting from forming the tab (2C) …” already disclosed in the claim 6 rejection above, CN44406U further discloses wherein the conveyor (#1-3, #6 and #10, fig.1) comprises a conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) configured to move along a continuous track (refer to the continuous track of #6 in fig.1) so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces (hood #17, fig.1) of a conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1), the vacuum sector (negative pressure #5, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) is provided with a plurality of vacuum holes communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) to the lower surface of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1), and the conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes communicating with the vacuum holes, so that the scrap (refer as “smoke and dust”) from the electrode plate (refer as “material”#23 to be cut) is sucked in the vacuum sector (negative pressure #5, fig.1) of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) so as to be adsorbed to the conveyor belt (track #6 and rod #4, fig.1) passing over the lower surface of the conveyor body (cutting platform #1, fig 1) by vacuum pressure, and the scrap (#4-5 and #14-16, fig.1 operating on what is referred as “smoke and dust”) is sucked into and discharged through the scrap discharge hole (refer to the connection opening between #14 and #16 in fig.1) as the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (collection box #14, fig.1).
Conclusion
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 January 29th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761