DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 1-6 are amended.
Claims 1-7 are examined as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show
The structure relationship between the “a plurality of vacuum holes” and the “a plurality of vacuum suction holes” as described in the specification, because the specification is describing that the “a plurality of vacuum holes” is on the inner space of the conveyer body, and the “a plurality of vacuum suction holes” is on the conveyor belt. The drawing does not show how the connection of such two different sets of holes in two different structural established according to the specification, and how the two different sets of holes on different structure connect or communicate while one of them is moving.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prior art fig.1 and 2 (in the current application’s specification) herein set forth as SPECfig1&2 (newly cited), in view of HIRANO et al (US2018/0370256A1 newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, SPECfig1&2 discloses an apparatus (refer to fig.1 and 2) for discharging scrap (refer to “2S” in fig.2) of a laser notching machine (refer to the “slit for laser path: in fig.1 and 2), the apparatus (refer to fig.1 and 2) comprising:
a conveyor (referring to “2” conveying in fig.1)
a scrap discharge hole (refer to “suction hole” annotated in fig.2) configured to suck and discharge the scrap (refer to “2S” in fig.2) by air suction.
While SPECfig1&2 teaches a conveyor as noted above, SPECfig1&2 does not explicitly discloses the detail structure of the conveyor, such as a conveyor body (22) and a conveyor belt (24) configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces of the conveyor body (22), wherein the conveyor body (22) is disposed above an electrode plate (2) passing along a transfer line, and a vacuum sector (22VS) and a vacuum release sector (22RS) are provided in the conveyor body (22) along a transfer path through which the electrode plate (2) passes;
a suction part connected to the conveyor (20) and configured to suck scrap (2S) resulting from forming a tab (20) in the electrode plate (2) passing through the conveyor (20). such that the scrap (2S) is sucked in the vacuum sector (22VS) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower surface of the conveyor belt (24) passing over the lower surface of the conveyor body (22) and is thereby separated upward from the electrode plate (2); and
a scrap discharge hole disposed under the vacuum release sector (22RS) and configured to suck and discharge the scrap from the conveyor belt (24) by air suction in a state in which the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (22RS).
In the field of Laser processing apparatus, HIRANO discloses a conveyor structures (refer to fig.3 and 9) including a conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) and a conveyor belt (conveyor belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces (refer to the top and bottom surface of #21 in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9), wherein the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) is disposed above an electrode plate (Refer to “T” annotated in fig.9) passing along a transfer line (refer to the transfer line where the “T” is transferring), and a vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) and a vacuum release sector (refer to “vacuum release sector” annotated in fig.9) are provided in the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) along a transfer path (refer to the transfer path between the annotated “vacuum sector” and “vacuum release sector” in fig.9) through which the electrode plate (Refer to “T” annotated in fig.9) passes;
a suction part (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) connected to the conveyor (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) and configured to suck scrap (refer to “T” annotated after laser processing) passing through the conveyor (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9). such that the scrap (refer to “T” annotated after laser processing of #60 in fig.1, refer to paragraph 0028 cited: “…Each of the detectors 22a detects the position (the position in the conveying direction A1) of the tablet T on the conveyor belt 21a by projecting and receiving laser beams, and functions as a trigger sensor of each device located on the downstream side…”) is sucked in the vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower surface (refer to the bottom part of belt #21a in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor belt (conveyor belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) passing over the lower surface (refer to lower part of the #21 in fig. 3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SPECfig1&2’s apparatus with a conveyor including a conveyor body and a conveyor belt configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces of the conveyor body, wherein the conveyor body is disposed above an electrode plate passing along a transfer line, and a vacuum sector and a vacuum release sector are provided in the conveyor body along a transfer path through which the electrode plate passes; a suction part connected to the conveyor and configured to suck scrap resulting from forming a tab in the electrode plate passing through the conveyor, such that the scrap is sucked in the vacuum sector by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower surface of the conveyor belt passing over the lower surface of the conveyor body and is thereby separated upward from the electrode plate; and a scrap discharge hole disposed under the vacuum release sector and configured to suck and discharge the scrap from the conveyor belt by air suction in a state in which the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector, as taught by HIRANO, in order to provide the ability to transfer part or scrap to different location even when the transfer path and location are underneath the conveyor, such that would increase the flexibility of the manufacturing floor setup and easier to design floor plan and predict performance.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of SPECfig1&2 and HIRANO discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, SPECfig.1&2 does not disclose wherein the vacuum sector is provide with a vacuum hole communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body to the lower surface of the conveyor body, the suction part comprises a suction duct communicating with the inner space of the conveyor body.
In the field of Laser processing apparatus, HIRANO discloses wherein the vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) is provided with a vacuum hole (suction holes #21g fig.3) communicating from an inner space (refer to the space surrounded by #21a in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) to the lower surface (refer to lower part of the #21 in fig. 3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9),
the suction part (suction #21f, fig.3 and 9) comprises a suction duct (refer to Paragraph 0027 cited: “…Each of the suction holes 21g is connected to the inside of the suction chamber 21f through a suction path formed in the suction chamber 21f to obtain suction force from the suction chamber 21f. The suction chamber 21f is connected to a suction device (not illustrated) such as a pump through a suction pipe (not illustrated), and the inside of the suction chamber 21f is depressurized by the operation of the suction device…”) communicating with the inner space (refer to the space surrounded by #21a in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SPECfig.1&2’s apparatus with wherein the vacuum sector is provide with a vacuum hole communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body to the lower surface of the conveyor body, the suction part comprises a suction duct communicating with the inner space of the conveyor body, as taught by HIRANO, in order to provide the ability to transfer part or scrap to different location even when the transfer path and location are underneath the conveyor, such that would increase the flexibility of the manufacturing floor setup and easier to design floor plan and predict performance.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of SPECfig1&2 and HIRANO discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, SPECfig.1&2 does not disclose wherein the vacuum sector of the conveyor body is provided with a plurality of the vacuum holes communicating from the inner space to the lower surface of the conveyor body, and the conveyor belt is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes communicating with the vacuum holes.
In the field of laser processing apparatus, HIRANO discloses wherein the vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) is provided with a plurality of the vacuum holes (refer as “suction path” in Paragraph 0027 cited: “…Each of the suction holes 21g is connected to the inside of the suction chamber 21f through a suction path formed in the suction chamber 21f to obtain suction force from the suction chamber 21f…”) communicating from the inner space (refer to the space surrounded by #21a in fig.3 and 9) to the lower surface (refer to the bottom part of #21 in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body, and the conveyor belt (belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes (suction holes #21g in fig.3) communicating with the vacuum holes (refer as “suction path” in Paragraph 0027 cited: “…Each of the suction holes 21g is connected to the inside of the suction chamber 21f through a suction path formed in the suction chamber 21f to obtain suction force from the suction chamber 21f…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SPECfig.1&2’s apparatus with wherein the vacuum sector of the conveyor body is provided with a plurality of the vacuum holes communicating from the inner space to the lower surface of the conveyor body, and the conveyor belt is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes communicating with the vacuum holes, as taught by HIRANO, in order to provide the ability to transfer part or scrap to different location even when the transfer path and location are underneath the conveyor, such that would increase the flexibility of the manufacturing floor setup and easier to design floor plan and predict performance.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of SPECfig1&2 and HIRANO discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, the rejection in claim 1 and 2 already disclosed a scrap discharge duct is provided under the vacuum release sector (refer to HIRANO fig. 9).
SPECfig.1&2 further discloses wherein a scrap discharge duct (stand #110, fig. 1 and 2), and the scrap discharge hole (scrap discharge hole #114, fig.1 and 2) is provided inside the scrap discharge duct (stand #110, fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of SPECfig1&2 and HIRANO discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, SPECfig1&2 further discloses a guide shield (refer to “guide” annotated in fig.2) provided above the scrap discharge hole (refer to “discharge hole” annotated in fig.2) so that the tab (refer to “2S” in fig.2) formed in the electrode plate (refer to “2” in fig.1 and 2) passes above the guide shield (refer to “guide” annotated in fig.2).
Regarding claim 6, SPECfig1&2 discloses a scrap discharge method (refer to fig.1 and 2) of a conveyor (refer to the conveying of #2 in fig.1) for a laser notching machine (refer to the disclosure of slit for laser path” in fig.1), the method (refer to fig.1 and 2) comprising: a scrap suction step of sucking scrap (refer to “2S”, fig.2), which results from forming a tab (refer to the cutted out piece that suck into #114 in fig.1 and 2) in an electrode plate (#2, fig.1) passing through the conveyor (refer to the conveying of #2 in fig.1) and a scrap discharge step (refer to fig.1 and 2) of sucking the scrap (refer to “2S”, fig.2) into a scrap discharge hole (#114, fig.2).
SPECfig1&2 does discloses the conveyor disposed above the electrode plate (2), in a vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor (20) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower portion of the conveyor (20) and thereby separated upward from the electrode plate (2); a scrap transfer step of transferring the scrap (2S) to a vacuum release sector (22RS) of the conveyor (20); and a scrap discharge step of sucking the scrap (2S) into a scrap discharge hole under the vacuum release sector (22RS) by air suction in a state in which the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (22RS) and discharging the scrap (2S).
In the field of Laser processing apparatus, HIRANO discloses the conveyor (refer to fig.3 and 9) disposed above the electrode plate (Refer to “T” annotated in fig.9), in a vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) of the conveyor (refer to fig.3 and 9) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower portion (refer to lower part of the #21 in fig. 3 and 9) of the conveyor (refer to fig.3 and 9) and thereby separated upward from the electrode plate (Refer to “T” annotated in fig.9); a scrap transfer step of transferring the scrap (refer “scrap” annotated in fig..9) to a vacuum release sector (refer to “vacuum release sector” annotated in fig.9) of the conveyor (refer to fig.3 and 9); and a scrap discharge step of sucking the scrap (refer “scrap” annotated in fig..9) into a scrap discharge hole under the vacuum release sector (refer to “vacuum release sector” annotated in fig.9) by air suction in a state in which the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (refer to “vacuum release sector” annotated in fig.9) and discharging the scrap (refer “scrap” annotated in fig..9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SPECfig.1&2’s apparatus with the conveyor disposed above the electrode plate (2), in a vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor (20) by vacuum pressure so as to be adsorbed to a lower portion of the conveyor (20) and thereby separated upward from the electrode plate (2); a scrap transfer step of transferring the scrap (2S) to a vacuum release sector (22RS) of the conveyor (20); and a scrap discharge step of sucking the scrap (2S) into a scrap discharge hole under the vacuum release sector (22RS) by air suction in a state in which the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (22RS) and discharging the scrap (2S), as taught by HIRANO, in order to provide the ability to transfer part or scrap to different location even when the transfer path and location are underneath the conveyor, such that would increase the flexibility of the manufacturing floor setup and easier to design floor plan and predict performance.
Regarding claim 7, the modification of SPECfig1&2 and HIRANO discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 6, SPECfig1&2 further discloses the scrap (2S, fig.1 and 2) resulting from forming the tab (refer as the pattern cut off from #2 in fig.1) in the electrode plate (2, fig.1).
SPECfig.1&2 does not discloses wherein the conveyor (20) comprises a conveyor belt (24) configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces of a conveyor body (22), the vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor body (22) is provided with a plurality of vacuum holes communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body (22) to the lower surface of the conveyor body (22), and the conveyor belt (24) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes communicating with the vacuum holes, so that the scrap (2S) resulting from forming the tab (2C) in the electrode plate (2) is sucked in the vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor body (22) so as to be adsorbed to the conveyor belt (24) passing over the lower surface of the conveyor body (22) by vacuum pressure, and the scrap (2S) is sucked into and discharged through the scrap discharge hole (34) as the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (22RS).
In the field of Laser processing apparatus, HIRANO discloses wherein the conveyor (refer to fig.3 and 9) comprises a conveyor belt (conveyor belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces (refer to the top and bottom surface of #21 in fig.3 and 9) of a conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9), the vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) is provided with a plurality of vacuum holes (suction holes #21g fig.3) communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) to the lower surface (refer to the top and bottom surface of #21 in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9), and the conveyor belt (conveyor belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes (suction holes #21g fig.3) communicating with the vacuum holes (refer to Paragraph 0027 cited: “…Each of the suction holes 21g is connected to the inside of the suction chamber 21f through a suction path formed in the suction chamber 21f to obtain suction force from the suction chamber 21f. The suction chamber 21f is connected to a suction device (not illustrated) such as a pump through a suction pipe (not illustrated), and the inside of the suction chamber 21f is depressurized by the operation of the suction device…”) , so that the scrap (refer as “T” in fig. 9) is sucked in the vacuum sector (refer to suction holes #21g in fig.3 and “vacuum sector” annotated in fig.9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) so as to be adsorbed to the conveyor belt (conveyor belt #21a, fig.3 and 9) passing over the lower surface (refer to the top and bottom surface of #21 in fig.3 and 9) of the conveyor body (conveying device #21 in fig.3 and 9) by vacuum pressure, and the scrap (refer as “T” in fig. 9) is sucked into and discharged through the scrap discharge hole (refer as #29a) as the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (refer to “vacuum release sector” annotated in fig.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SPECfig.1&2’s apparatus with wherein the conveyor (20) comprises a conveyor belt (24) configured to move along a continuous track so as to pass over upper and lower surfaces of a conveyor body (22), the vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor body (22) is provided with a plurality of vacuum holes communicating from an inner space of the conveyor body (22) to the lower surface of the conveyor body (22), and the conveyor belt (24) is provided with a plurality of vacuum suction holes communicating with the vacuum holes, so that the scrap (2S) resulting from forming the tab (2C) in the electrode plate (2) is sucked in the vacuum sector (22VS) of the conveyor body (22) so as to be adsorbed to the conveyor belt (24) passing over the lower surface of the conveyor body (22) by vacuum pressure, and the scrap (2S) is sucked into and discharged through the scrap discharge hole (34) as the vacuum pressure is released in the vacuum release sector (22RS), as taught by HIRANO, in order to provide the ability to transfer part or scrap to different location even when the transfer path and location are underneath the conveyor, such that would increase the flexibility of the manufacturing floor setup and easier to design floor plan and predict performance.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Drawing Objection: the applicant’s amendment filed on August 4, 2026 overcame some of the Drawing objections in the previous office action. However, some objection remains standing and are addressed in a revised drawing objection.
With respect to the 112(b) Rejection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on August 4, 2026 overcame the Rejection 112b in the previous office action.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
Regarding the argument on the drawing object related to “a plurality of vacuum holes” and “a plurality of vacuum suction holes”.
It is expressed that the structural relationship of the two holes is not shown in the drawing and there is no way for examiner to understand how the two different holes are able to connected to each other while one set of holes are moving on the conveyor.
Regarding applicant’s argument on the prior art rejection.
It is noted that applicants’ arguments related to the prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeygerman (US2014/0027419A1) discloses a laser processing system that only read on some of the laser processing structure and exhaust of debris and smoke.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 September 14, 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761