DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to. A preliminary amendment which was filed on 10/19/22 cancels claims 1-8 and adds new claims 9-15. Independent claim 9 recites that n2 represents 0. Claim 9 corresponds to originally presented claim 1 which recites that n2 represents 0, 1 or 2. For this reason, claim 9 will be interpreted as having n2 equal to 0, 1, or 2. This is an obvious oversight by Applicants and Applicants should amend claim 1 to recite that n2 represents 0, 1, or 2. Claim 9 further states that when a plurality of -A1-G1-A2- are present, they may be the same or different. This clearly indicates that Applicants meant to include n2 as being equal to 0, 1, or 2.
Claim 9 is further objected to. Since it is understood that variable n2 represents 0, 1, or 2, the limitation “when a plurality of A1-G1-A2 are present, they may be the same or different” should be amended to “when two A1-G1-A2 are present, they may be the same or different”.
Each of claims 10, 11, and 12 are objected to. The limitation “represent the same meaning as described above” as recited in each of claims 10-12 should be amended to “represent the same meaning as described in claim 9” for better clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Thin Solid Films 2010, 518, 3972-3977).
Claim 9: Complex 1 of Lee et al., which has the structure
, anticipates formula (1) of claim 9. As applied to formula (1), complex 1 has n1 equal to 2, n2 equal to 1, M equal to an iridium atom, R1-R6 each equal to a hydrogen atom, rings RB1 and RB2 both equal to benzene, Yb equal a single bond, and Ya is equal to formula (C-1) with RC equal to a carbon atom, and rings RC1 and RC2 each equal to benzene. Further, -A1-G-A2 represents a bidentate ligand with A1 and A2 both equal to an oxygen atom. All structural limitations of claim 9 are therefore anticipated according to complex 1 of Lee et al.
Claim 10: Complex 1 of Lee et al. also anticipates all of the limitations of formula (1-A1) of claim 10 with variables R7-R12 equal to hydrogen atoms, with all other variables in formula (1-A1) being described in claim 9 above.
Claim 11: Complex 1 of Lee et al. includes a group which anticipates formula (C-2) of claim 11 with RC11-RC14 and RC21-RC24 equal to hydrogen atoms and RC equal to a carbon atom.
Claim 12: Complex 1 of Lee et al. anticipates formula (1-A1-1) of claim 12 with all variables shown being described in claims 9-11 as described above.
Claim 13: Lee et al. teaches the preparation and characterization of compound 1 as taught on page 3973, right column. Lee et al. further provides 1H NMR data for compound 1. Preparing an NMR sample inherently requires dissolving compound 1 in a solvent. As such, the NMR tube comprising compound 1 and a solvent anticipates the limitations of claim 13.
Claim 14: Lee et al. teaches that in the preparation of the organic light-emitting devices (section 2.2), the organic materials are deposited in sequence and that the emission layer is deposited from a mixture of one of the iridium complexes taught therein and CBP as a host. This mixture represents a composition comprising a metal complex which anticipates claim 9 and a compound which anticipates a compound represented by formula (H-1) of claim 14. CBP stands for 4,4,N,N’-dicarbozolebiphenyl and has the structure
. As applied to formula (H-1) variables ArH1 and ArH2 are each a monovalent heteroring group (N-bonded carbazolyl), nH3 represented 2, nH2 represents zero, nH1 represents 1, and LH1 represents an arylene group (p-phenylene), thereby anticipating Formula (H-1).
Claim 15: Lee et al. teaches the preparation of organic light-emitting devices. This includes preparing an organic light-emitting device which comprises compound 1 as a phosphorescent dopant. Fig. 4 of Lee et al. teaches the device architecture and the device includes, an anode (ITO), a hole transport region (NPB), an emission region comprising a host (CPB) and one of complexes 1-4 of Lee et al. as a dopant, an electron transport region (BCP and Alq3), an electron injection region (LiF), and a cathode (Al), thereby anticipating claim 15.
Claims 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velusamy et al. (Organometallics, 2010, 29, 3912-3921).
Claim 9: Complex 7 of Velusamy et al., which has the structure
, anticipates formula (1) of claim 9. As applied to formula (1), complex 1 has n1 equal to 1, n2 equal to 1, M equal to a platinum atom, R1 and R3-R6 each equal to a hydrogen atom, R2 equal to -CH3, rings RB1 and RB2 both equal to benzene, Yb equal a single bond, and Ya is equal to formula (C-1) with RC equal to a carbon atom, and rings RC1 and RC2 each equal to benzene. Further, -A1-G-A2 represents a bidentate ligand with A1 and A2 both equal to an oxygen atom. All structural limitations of claim 9 are therefore anticipated according to complex 1 of Velusamy et al.
Claim 10: Complex 7 of Velusamy et al. also anticipates all of the limitations of formula (1-A1) of claim 10 with variables R7-R12 equal to hydrogen atoms, with all other variables in formula (1-A1) being described in claim 9 above.
Claim 11: Complex 7 of Velusamy et al. includes a group which anticipates formula (C-2) of claim 11 with RC11, RC13, RC14, RC21, RC23, and RC24 equal to hydrogen atoms, RC12 and RC22 equal to -t-Bu, and RC equal to a carbon atom.
Claim 12: Complex 7 of Velusamy et al. anticipates formula (1-A1-1) of claim 12 with all variables shown being described in claims 9-11 as described above.
Claim 13: Velusamy et al. teaches the preparation and characterization of compound 7 as taught in Scheme 1 and on page 3921, left column. Velusamy et al. further provides 1H NMR data for compound 17. Preparing an NMR sample inherently requires dissolving compound 7 in a solvent. As such, the NMR tube comprising compound 7 and a solvent anticipates the limitations of claim 13.
Claim 14: Velusamy et al. teaches that in the preparation of the organic light-emitting devices (page 3921, right column), the organic materials are deposited in sequence and that the emission layer is deposited from a mixture of one of the iridium complexes taught therein and CBP as a host. This mixture represents a composition comprising a metal complex which anticipates claim 9 and a compound which anticipates a compound represented by formula (H-1) of claim 14. CBP stands for 4,4,N,N’-dicarbozolebiphenyl and has the structure
. As applied to formula (H-1) variables ArH1 and ArH2 are each a monovalent heteroring group (N-bonded carbazolyl), nH3 represented 2, nH2 represents zero, nH1 represents 1, and LH1 represents an arylene group (p-phenylene), thereby anticipating Formula (H-1).
Claim 15: Velusamy et al. teaches the preparation of organic light-emitting devices (page 3921, right column). This includes preparing an organic light-emitting device which comprises compound 1 as a phosphorescent dopant. Fig. 4 of Lee et al. teaches the device architecture and the device includes, an anode (ITO), a hole transport region (NPB), an emission region comprising a host (CPB) and one of complexes 1-4 of Lee et al. as a dopant, a hole- and exciton-blocking layer (BCP), an electron transport region (Alq3), an electron injection region (LiF), and a cathode (Al), thereby anticipating claim 15.
Relevant Art Cited
Additional prior art documents which are relevant to Applicants invention can be found on the attached PTO-892 form.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766