DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The certified English translation of the foreign application has been submitted on 03/20/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10-27 and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14, 18-22, 26-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0095518 A1 to Guo et al. (hereafter refers as Guo) in view of US 2019/0342447 A1 to Ko et al. (hereafter refers as Ko) and further in view of US 2016/0054789 A1 to Yang.
Regarding claims 10, 18 and 26, Guo teaches a power consumption optimization method (a method for optimizing power consumption for a terminal, paragraphs [177-180], Fig. 11), an electronic device (the terminal, paragraphs [177-180, 246-248]), and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (the terminal includes a memory 1520, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [246-247]), wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (the memory stores therein a software program that is operable, when executed by a processor of the terminal, cause the processor to perform operations of the terminal, paragraphs [247, 252]), the electronic device comprising:
a display (the terminal includes a display, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [246, 248]);
one or more processors (the terminal includes the processor(s), Fig. 15 and paragraph [246]); and
one or more storage devices (the terminal includes the memory 1520, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [246-247]) storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (the memory stores therein a software program that is operable, when executed by a processor of the terminal, cause the processor to perform operations of the terminal, paragraphs [247, 252]) comprising:
enabling a mode in response to a first operation (enabling a power saving mode, i.e. a mode corresponding to a sleep or a break period of a user of the terminal, based on a period set by the user, paragraphs [164-165, 181-183]); and
performing, based on the electronic device being in a screen-off state, power consumption optimization on a target application of a plurality of applications installed on the electronic device (while the terminal being in a screen-off state, performing a power saving operation on a target application, i.e. first type application, second type application and/or third type application, of a plurality of applications installed on the electronic device, paragraphs [105-107, 112-117, 181-187]),
wherein the power consumption optimization is used to reduce usage of resources in the electronic device by the target application (wherein the power saving operation is used to reduce power consumption of the target application, see paragraphs [105-107, 117-118, 141]);
wherein the target application comprises one of the following applications: an application outside an application whitelist of the electronic device (wherein the target application, i.e. first type application, second type application and/or third type application is outside of a protection list of the terminal, paragraphs [126-129, 132, 137]), or an application that performs a preset operation based on the electronic device being in the screen-off state (or the target application includes a program A for performing operation of data synchronization while the terminal is in the screen-off state, i.e. within three minutes, paragraph [138, 144]); and
wherein the preset operation comprises one of: downloading data (the target application includes a program A for performing operation of data synchronization while the terminal is in the screen-off state, i.e. within three minutes, paragraph [138, 144]).
However, Guo does not explicitly teach the mode is a “Do Not Disturb” mode.
Ko teaches enabling a Do Not Disturb mode in response to a first operation (enabling a do not disturb mode in response to time interval set by a user, i.e. corresponding to a sleep interval set by the user, and further, deactivate user-defined wakeup time, paragraphs [27, 251]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of enabling the Do Not Disturb mode in response to the first operation as taught by Ko, with the teachings of enabling the mode in response to the first operation as taught by Guo, for a purpose of also reducing notifications to the user while the user is sleeping, by setting the mode as the “do not disturb” mode, thus maintaining the sleeping interval for the user (see Ko, paragraphs [28, 193, 251]).
However, the combination of Guo and Ko does not explicitly teach wherein the power consumption optimization comprises at least one of the following power consumption optimization operations: “suspending an alarm clock to trigger the electronic device to suspend a periodic wake up action of the target application” or “perform alarm alignment to trigger the electronic device to set a wake-up period of the target application be synchronized with a system wake-up period of the electronic device”.
Yang teaches a power consumption optimization method (a method for power saving, abstract and Fig. 2-3, 5), an electronic device (a mobile terminal, Fig. 6 and paragraphs [19, 29], for performing the method, Fig. 2-3 and 5), and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (the mobile terminal includes a memory, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [19, 29, 109, 111-113]), wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (the memory stores a plurality of programs, which when executed by a processor of the mobile terminal, cause the processor to perform operations/functions of the mobile terminal, paragraphs [109, 111-113]), the electronic device comprising:
a display (the terminal includes a display unit, Fig. 7);
one or more processors (the terminal includes the processor(s), Fig. 7 and paragraphs [109, 111-113]); and
one or more storage devices (the terminal/mobile terminal includes a memory, Fig. 7 and paragraphs [19, 29, 109, 111-113]) storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (the memory stores a plurality of programs, which when executed by a processor of the mobile terminal, cause the processor to perform operations/functions of the mobile terminal, paragraphs [19, 29, 109, 111-113]) comprising:
performing, based on the electronic device being in a screen-off state (when a terminal/mobile terminal is in a standby mode, in which the terminal/mobile terminal being in a screen off mode, paragraph [39, 63]), power consumption optimization on a target application of a plurality of applications installed on the electronic device (adjusting wake up time on a target application, i.e. an application to have its wakeup time adjusted, paragraphs [47-49], of a plurality of application installed on the mobile terminal, paragraphs [18, 38, 64]), wherein the power consumption optimization is used to reduce usage of resources in the electronic device by the target application (wherein the standby mode enables the mobile terminal to reduce usage of resources in the mobile terminal by the target application, see paragraphs [4, 18]),
wherein the target application comprises one of the following applications: an application that performs a preset operation based on the electronic device being the screen-off state (an application with a power saving level setting, performs operations of wake up at adjusted wake up time or not wake up, when the mobile terminal being in the standby mode/screen off state, paragraphs [18, 27-31]), or an application selected by a user among the plurality of applications (or an application selected by a user among the plurality of applications, via a user interface, paragraphs [26-28]); and
wherein the power consumption optimization comprises at least one of the following power consumption optimization operations:
suspending an alarm clock to trigger the electronic device to suspend a periodic wake up action of the target application (an application with a particular power saving level suspends its alarm clock by suspends its periodic wake up action, i.e. does not wake up at its periodic wake up time/clock, paragraphs [18, 20-21, 28, 31]), or
perform alarm alignment to trigger the electronic device to set a wake-up period of the target application be synchronized with a system wake-up period of the electronic device (aligns a wake up period of the target application with wake up periods of other applications, to allow the mobile terminal to wake up a same time at multiple applications, paragraphs [34-36, 38, 45]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the power consumption optimization comprises at least one of the following power consumption optimization operations: suspending an alarm clock to trigger the electronic device to suspend a periodic wake up action of the target application or perform alarm alignment to trigger the electronic device to set a wake-up period of the target application be synchronized with a system wake-up period of the electronic device as taught by Yang, with the teachings of the power consumption optimization as taught by combination of Guo and Ko, for a purpose of reducing the wakeup frequency for an operating system of the electronic device, thus further reducing power consumption of the electronic device (see Yang, paragraphs [18, 34-38]).
Regarding claims 11, 19 and 27, the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang further teaches wherein the power consumption optimization further comprises at least one of the following power consumption optimization operations:
prohibiting the target application from using a mobile communication network (disconnecting the target application, i.e. second type application, from a network connection, see Guo, paragraphs [138-141], wherein the terminal is a mobile phone, see Guo, paragraph [102], that connected to a mobile network, see Guo, paragraphs [108, 118, 119, 118, 247]), prohibiting a central processing unit (CPU) from being invoked (stopping the target application, by prohibiting the CPU from running the target application, see Guo, paragraphs [108, 120, 126-130]), or stopping all processes of the target application (stopping the target application from running, see Guo, paragraphs [127-131]).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Guo further teaches wherein an application in the application whitelist is a preconfigured default application in the electronic device (wherein the protection list is including application(s) preset by a system, i.e. basic application program, paragraph [129]).
Regarding claims 13, 21 and 29, Guo further teaches wherein an application in the application whitelist is set by the electronic device in response to a setting operation performed by the user (wherein the protection list is including application(s) defined by the user, paragraph [129]).
Regarding claims 14 and 22, the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang further teaches wherein the performing, by the electronic device, the power consumption optimization on the target application of the plurality of applications based on the electronic device being in the screen-off state comprises:
based on the electronic device being in the screen-off state and a power consumption optimization function of the electronic device being enabled, performing, by the electronic device, the power consumption optimization on the target application (performing the power saving operation on the target application, when the terminal is in the screen-off state and the power saving operation is enabled, see Guo, paragraphs [110-117, 126-132, 180-187] and Fig. 2, 11);
wherein based on the electronic device enabling the Do Not Disturb mode (when the terminal is enabled the do not disturb mode, the user performs a turn-on operation for blocking notification for particular applications, see Ko, Fig. 5AB-Fig.5AG, Fig. 5BD – Fig. 5BH and paragraphs [219-228]), the power consumption optimization function is enabled in response to a turn-on operation performed by the user on a preset switch on a setting interface (power saving operation is enabled by the user performing a turn-on operation on a preset switch on an interface, see Guo, Fig. 12 and paragraphs [178-182]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang further teaches wherein after the electronic device enables the Do Not Disturb mode (when the “do not disturb” mode is enable, see Ko, paragraphs [27, 251], a sleep mode/reduced notification mode/bed time mode is enabled, including turning off display, see Ko, paragraphs [28, 193, 207, 238, 251, 253]), prompt information of all notification messages including an incoming call notification, a short message notification, and an application notification are set to mute when the electronic device is in the screen-off state (when the sleep mode/reduced notification mode/bed time mode is enabled, including turning off display when no activation/input from a user, forgoing displaying of incoming notifications, see Ko, paragraphs [253, 256, 257, 369, 372, 388], see Guo, paragraphs [105-107, 112-117, 181-187], including a call, a message notification, see Ko, paragraph [268], and an application notification, i.e. call application, see Ko, paragraphs [3, 28, 209, 215, 268, 324]).
Claims 15-17 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0095518 A1 to Guo et al. (hereafter refers as Guo) in view of US 2019/0342447 A1 to Ko et al. (hereafter refers as Ko) and further in view of US 2016/0054789 A1 to Yang as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2015/0153810 A1 to Sasidharan et al. (hereafter refers as Sasidharan).
Regarding claims 15 and 23, the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang does not explicitly teach “displaying, by the electronic device, a first interface in response to the turn-on operation performed by the user on the preset switch, wherein the first interface comprises optimization options of a plurality of applications; and using, by the electronic device, at least one application as the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the at least one application among the optimization options of the plurality of applications”.
Sasidharan teaches displaying, by an electronic device, a first interface in response to the turn-on operation performed by a user on a preset switch on a setting interface (displaying, by the terminal/mobile device, an interface 406, in response to the turn-on operation perform by a user on a preset switch on a setting interface, i.e. when a user selects configure option to activate battery management mode, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [43, 46, 57]), wherein the first interface comprises optimization options of a plurality of applications (wherein the interface 406 displays power saving options for a plurality of applications, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [46, 48, 54]); and
using, by the electronic device, at least one application as the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the at least one application among the optimization options of the plurality of applications (using, by the mobile device, at least one application as a target application for power saving in response to selection of the user on the application on the interface 406-410, paragraphs [48, 54, 58, 63, 71]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of displaying, by the electronic device, a first interface in response to the turn-on operation performed by the user on the preset switch, wherein the first interface comprises optimization options of a plurality of applications; and using, by the electronic device, at least one application as the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the at least one application among the optimization options of the plurality of applications as taught by Sasidharan, with the teachings of turn-on operation performed by the suer on the preset switch on the setting interface as taught by the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang, for a purpose of increase user’s experiences by allowing the user to select one or more applications for power saving (see Sasidharan, paragraphs [48, 54, 58, 63, 71] and Fig. 4A).
Regarding claims 16 and 24, Sasidharan further teaches displaying, by an electronic device, a second interface in response to a selection operation performed by the user on the first optimization option of the at least one application (displaying, by a terminal/UE, an interface 410, Fig. 4A, in response to a selection operation of perform by a user on a first application for power saving mode, paragraphs [46, 58, 63, 77] and Fig. 4A), wherein the second interface comprises optimization options of at least one of the power consumption optimization operations (wherein the interface 410 comprises a plurality of options for power saving, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [58, 63]), and wherein the at least one application is one of the plurality of applications (wherein the application is selected from a plurality of applications for power saving, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [58, 63]); and
using, by the electronic device, a first power consumption optimization operation as a power consumption optimization operation of the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the first power consumption optimization operation (using, by the terminal/mobile device, at least one selected operation as a power saving operation for the application in response to a selection of the user, paragraphs [58, 63-65]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of displaying, by the electronic device, the second interface in response to a selection operation performed by the user on the first optimization option of the at least one application, wherein the second interface comprises optimization options of at least one of the power consumption optimization operations, and wherein the at least one application is one of the plurality of applications; and using, by the electronic device, the first power consumption optimization operation as a power consumption optimization operation of the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the first consumption optimization operation as taught by Sasidharan, with the teachings of turn-on operation performed by the user on the preset switch as taught by combination of Guo, Ko and Yang, for a purpose of increase user’s experiences by allowing the user to further selecting the power consumption optimization item(s) for different application (see Sasidharan, paragraphs [58, 63, 77]).
Regarding claims 17 and 25, the combination of Guo, Ko and Yang does not explicitly teach “displaying, by an electronic device, a third interface in response to a turn-on operation performed by the user on a preset switch, wherein the third interface comprises optimization options of at least one of the power consumption optimization operations and using, by the electronic device, a first power consumption optimization operation as a power consumption optimization operation of the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the first power consumption optimization operation”.
Sasidharan teaches displaying, by an electronic device, a third interface in response to a turn-on operation performed by the user on a preset switch (displaying, by the terminal/mobile device, an interface 406 and/or interface 410, in response to the turn-on operation perform by a user on a preset switch on a setting interface, i.e. when a user selects configure option to activate battery management mode, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [43, 46, 57]),
wherein the third interface comprises optimization options of at least one of the power consumption optimization operations (wherein the interface 406 enables the user to assign priority level to one or a plurality of applications, wherein each of the priority level has a different power management operation, Fig. 4A and paragraphs [46, 48] and/or, the interface 410 enables the user to assign different battery management operations to different application, paragraphs [58, 63]); and
using, by the electronic device, a first power consumption optimization operation as a power consumption optimization operation of the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the first power consumption optimization operation (performing function of the selected power saving option for a corresponding application in response to a selection of the user, paragraphs [33, 43-46, 48, 58]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of displaying, by an electronic device, a third interface in response to a turn-on operation performed by the user on a preset switch, wherein the third interface comprises optimization options of at least one of the power consumption optimization operations and using, by the electronic device, a first power consumption optimization operation as a power consumption optimization operation of the target application in response to a selection operation performed by the user on a first optimization option corresponding to the first power consumption optimization operation as taught by Sasidharan, with the teachings of turn-on operation performed by the user on the preset switch as taught by combination of Guo, Ko and Yang, for a purpose of increase user’s experiences by allowing the user to select different optimization item(s) for different application (see Sasidharan paragraphs [33, 43-46, 48, 58]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0209907 A1 discloses an interface that displaying a plurality of applications for a user to select for a power saving mode (see Fig. 13B – 13C, paragraphs [183-186]).
US 2022/0408281 A1 discloses a power saving mode including turning off unnecessary applications running in the background (such as GPS positioning), reducing power of the transmitted signal, reducing the volume of audio playing, disabling a Bluetooth function and disabling mobile data (see paragraph [189]).
US 2021/0044693 A1 discloses a media do not disturb mode in which automatic playing of media is not allowed (paragraphs [113-115, 122-125]).
US 2013/0262716 A1 discloses an application that is not on a list is denied access to an GPS module and a Wi-Fi module (see paragraphs [74, 88-90]).
US 2016/0247437 A1 discloses an application is blocked from accessing data communication (WiFi, Bluetooth or etc.) and GPS, during a power saving mode (paragraphs [110-113, 117]).
US 2020/0259347 A1 discloses a device enters a do not disturb mode, including set a display to off mode and mute sounds (see paragraph [161]).
US 2016/0209907 A1 discloses an alarm is blocked in a screen off state (paragraph [172]).
US 2017/0055208 A1 discloses suspending a wakeup alarm clock for an application (see paragraphs [54-57]).
US 2009/0061953 A1 discloses in power off state, transfer program and data stored in a RAM to a ROM (See paragraphs [27, 40, 46]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG B HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 November 17, 2025