DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated February 26, 2026 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated November 4, 2025.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-3 and 10 in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of amendments made to the claims. However, those claims are unpatentable over the prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103 as explained below.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office action are maintained as explained below.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 6 and 7 in the previous Office action is maintained as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, starting at the bottom of page 9 of the Amendment, Nakamura (Japanese Patent Publication No. JPS 60-161511 A) does not describe determining wear as a function of the position of the movable roll relative to a fixed reference system, but by measuring the wear area in comparison to the non-wear area. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nakamura discloses determining wear of movable roll 2 by measuring the distance between non-wear area 2a and measuring device 15, measuring the distance between wear area 2b and distance device 15, and finding the difference between the distances to determine the wear. The calculation uses the fixed reference point of where screw rod 16 mounts to the stationary press frame in order to make consistent measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication No. JPS 60-161511 A by Nakamura et al., hereinafter “Nakamura”. Citation of Nakamura is made to the translation supplied by Applicant dated February 26, 2026.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses an installation for comminuting, compacting or briquetting material (Figs. 1-4), the installation comprising at least:
a roller press having rotatably driven movable and fixed press rolls forming a roll gap whose gap width is maintained constant during operation (Figs. 1-4 show a roller press with rotatably driven movable roll 2 and fixed roll 3 forming roll gap “C”; see at least page 2, lines 5-16. The limitation “whose gap width is maintained constant during operation” is recitation with respect to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to by employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from Nakamura’s apparatus because Nakamura discloses all the structural aspects of the claim. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II.), the movable roll being adjustable relative to the fixed roll by an actuator during operation (roll 2 in Figs. 1-4 can be adjusted relative to roll 3 by actuator adjustment device 7 during operation),
one or more position sensors for recording position data of the movable roll as a function of time and storing the position data on a computer (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 stores position measurements generated by position measuring device 15 shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to calculate wear over time; page 2, line 20 through page 3, line 2),
means for determining the wear state of the movable roll or the roll surfaces thereof using an algorithm from the measured data and generating a prediction for a remaining service life of the movable roll or a jacket thereof (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 determines the wear state of movable roll 2 from calculations using measured data and generates the wear curve on XY plotter 26 which may be used to predict remaining service life of roll 2).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura anticipates the installation according to claim 6 as explained above. Nakamura further discloses comprising:
an edge computer located locally at the roller press and connected to the position sensors as an analysis computer (Fig. 2 shows measurement signal processing circuit 25 as an edge computer located locally to the roller press and connected to position measuring device sensor 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a method of monitoring a wear state of roll surfaces of a high-pressure roller press in the course of comminuting, compacting or briquetting material (page 2, line 1-4), where the roller press has rotatably driven fixed and movable press rolls forming a roll gap whose gap width is variable during operation (Figs. 1-4 show a roller press with rotatably driven press fixed roll 3 and movable roll 2 forming roll gap “C” whose gap width is variable during operation by clearance adjustment device 7; page 2, lines 5-16), the method comprising the steps of:
recording the position of the movable roll as a function of time with at least one position sensor and storing the recorded position data on a computer (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 stores position measurements generated by position measuring device 15 shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to calculate wear over time; page 2, line 20 through page 3, line 2), and
determining the wear state of the roll or of the rolls or rolling surfaces thereof using an algorithm from the measured position data (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 determines the wear state of roll 2 using calculations which use position data measured by position measuring device 15).
Nakamura does not expressly disclose the limitation “adjusting a position of the movable roll relative to the fixed roll by an actuator to maintain the gap width substantially constant during operation, and thereby compensate for a decrease in outer diameter of the press rolls or rolling surfaces thereof during operation by wear”. Nakamura only expressly discloses outputting alarm 29 when the wear of roll 2 causes clearance C to exceed an allowable value. See page 3, line 13-17. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the alarm function disclosed by Nakamura as an indication adjustment of the position of movable roll 2 relative to fixed roll 3 by actuation of actuator adjustment device 7 is needed to maintain gap width clearance C substantially constant within the disclosed allowable range. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized the alarm generated by Nakamura achieves the predictable result of maintaining the gap width clearance C within the allowable range by alerting adjustment is needed.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura renders the method according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Nakamura further discloses comprising the step of:
generating a prediction for a remaining service life of the roll or roll surface with an algorithm from the measured position data (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 determines the wear state of movable roll 2 from calculations using measured data and generates the wear curve on XY plotter 26 which may be used to predict remaining service life of roll 2).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses a method of monitoring a wear state of roll surfaces of a high-pressure roller press in the course of comminuting, compacting or briquetting material (page 2, line 1-4), where the roller press has rotatably driven fixed and movable press rolls forming a roll gap whose gap width is variable during operation and outer diameters of the press rolls decreases during operation by wear (Figs. 1-4 show a roller press with rotatably driven press fixed roll 3 and movable roll 2 forming roll gap “C” whose gap width is variable during operation by clearance adjustment device 7; page 2, line 5-16), the method comprising the steps of:
measuring the position of one or more bearing points of the movable roll with one or more position sensors relative to a stationary press frame (position measuring device 15 in Fig. 2 measures the position of bearings 5 relative to the not-shown stationary press frame by measuring the distance between non-wearing portion 2a of roll 2 and screw rod 16 mounted on the press frame) and generating position data representing the measured position (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 stores position measurements generated by position measuring device 15 shown in Figs. 2 and 3 to calculate wear over time; page 2, line 20 through page 3, line 2),
storing the recorded position data on a computer (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 stores position measurements generated by position measuring device 15 shown in Figs. 2 and 3), and
determining the wear state of the roll or of the rolls or rolling surfaces thereof using an algorithm from the measured position data (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 determines the wear state of roll 2 using calculations which use position data measured by position measuring device 15).
Nakamura does not expressly disclose the limitation “adjusting a position of the movable roll relative to the fixed roll by an actuator to maintain the gap width constant during operation”. Nakamura only expressly discloses outputting alarm 29 when the wear of roll 2 causes clearance C to exceed an allowable value. See page 3, line 13-17. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the alarm function disclosed by Nakamura as an indication adjustment of the position of movable roll 2 relative to fixed roll 3 by actuation of actuator adjustment device 7 is needed to maintain gap width clearance C substantially constant within the disclosed allowable range. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized the alarm generated by Nakamura achieves the predictable result of maintaining the gap width clearance C within the allowable range by alerting adjustment is needed.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura renders the method according to claim1 unpatentable as explained above. Nakamura discloses storing position measurement data from position measuring device 15 in measurement signal processing circuit 25. But Nakamura is silent regarding recording the raw data at a high sampling rate of more than 50 Hz.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the sampling rate of Nakamura’s position measuring device 15 to be more than 50 Hz since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, Nakamura’s method would not perform differently with the claimed sampling rate and the method would operate appropriately using the claimed sampling rate. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed. Page 11 of Applicant’s written description merely indicates it is preferable for the sampling rate to be above 50 Hz.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura renders the method according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Nakamura further discloses, wherein the movable roll is supported on the press frame by a pair of journals (movable roll 2 in Figs. 1-4 is supported on a press machine frame not shown in the drawings by journal bearings 5), the movable-roll position being calculated by the position sensor monitoring the position of at least one of its journals (position measuring device 15 in Fig. 2 indirectly monitors the position of journal bearings 5 in Fig. 1 by measuring the position of non-wearing portion 2a).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 207887239 U by He et al., hereinafter “He”. Citation of He is made to the European Patent Office translation previously provided.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura renders the method according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Nakamura further discloses comprising the steps of:
storing the position data as raw data on an edge computer on or adjacent the roller press and connected to the sensors as an analysis computer (measurement signal data is stored in measurement signal processing circuit 25 adjacent the roller press and is connected to sensor position measuring device 15 as shown in Fig. 2),
evaluating the raw data based on the analysis computer with an analysis algorithm and thus generating characteristic data for the wear state and storing these characteristic data on the analysis computer (measurement signal processing circuit 25 in Fig. 2 determines and stores the wear state of rolls 2 and 3 using calculations on the position of the rolls),
transmitting the characteristic data from the analysis computer to at least one terminal and displaying the characteristic data on the terminal (page 4, line 13-17 discloses the wear amount may be displayed in real time on a display).
Nakamura does not specify the wear amount data is transmitted via a wireless network as claim 4 claims.
He teaches a wireless roller press automatic control system (Title) including a roller press (3 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) with an electrical control cabinet (1 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]), a wireless router (4 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) and an intelligent mobile terminal (2 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) with control software which wirelessly communicates with the control cabinet of the roller press for fault analysis and monitoring (¶[0027).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wirelessly transmit roll wear data from Nakamura’s signal processing circuit 25 to an intelligent mobile terminal in the same way He teaches wirelessly transmitting roller press data to intelligent mobile terminal 2. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of He to the method of Nakamura would yield the predictable result of improving Nakamura’s method by updating the technology regarding the transmission and display of roller press data.
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura anticipates the installation according to claim 6 as explained above. Nakamura is silent regarding further comprising
an analysis router connected to the computer and a terminal accessed via the router at a portal connected to the router via a virtual-private-network connection.
He teaches a wireless roller press automatic control system (Title) including a roller press (3 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) with an electrical control cabinet (1 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]), a wireless router (4 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) and an intelligent mobile terminal (2 in Fig. 1; ¶[0024]) with control software which wirelessly communicates with the control cabinet of the roller press for fault analysis and monitoring (¶[0027).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wirelessly transmit roll wear analysis data from Nakamura’s signal processing circuit 25 to an intelligent mobile terminal using a wireless router in the same way He teaches wirelessly transmitting fault analysis and monitoring data to intelligent mobile terminal 2 using wireless router 4 in a wireless network. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of He to the plant of Nakamura would yield the predictable result of improving Nakamura’s plant by updating the technology regarding the transmission and display of roller press data.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,357,683 B1 to Patzelt et al., hereinafter “Patzelt”.
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura anticipates the installation according to claim 6 as explained above. However, Nakamura does not disclose, wherein the press rolls each have a roll core and a jacket on the roll core and forming a roll outer surface.
Patzelt teaches a roller grinding mill (Title) with two rolls (2 and 3 in Figs 2-4; col. 2, line 60) rotatably mounted in a machine frame (6 in Fig. 1; col. 2, line 63). Each roll has an outer wear protection casing (2b and 3b in Figs. 2 and 4; col. 4, line 16-19) which facilitates rapid replacement.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wear protection casing jackets on rolls 2 and 3 of Nakamura to facilitate rapid replacement in the same way Patzelt teaches using wear protection casings 2b and 3b to facilitate rapid replacement. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Patzelt to the installation of Nakamura would achieve the predictable result of an installation as disclosed by Nakamura with rolls having wear protection casing jackets as Patzelt teaches.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725