DETAILED ACTION
Response Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of cyclic di-GMP as the STING agonist and PE as the disclosed lipid in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the lipid nanodisc comprises (i)-(iv), but item (iv) is “a combination of (i)-(iii).” Where items (i)-(iii) are already required, it is unclear what item (iv) is claiming. It is also unclear if the intent was for the list to be modified by “or” instead of “and”, or if the preamble is missing Markush language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irvine et al (US2018/0015174).
Irvine et al teaches lipid nanodiscs comprising PEG, HSPC, and DSPE (¶ 225). The cyclic dinucleotides actives include STING agonists, such as cdGMP complexes (¶ 41). The nanoparticles may be disk-like micelles and have diameters from 10nm to about 100nm (¶ 46). The polymers used may include conjugated PEG (¶ 95) present between 1 to about 100 units (¶ 96), as well as phosphate lipids (¶ 146).
Irvine et al does not disclose a nanodisc with cdGMP complexes as the actives or the specific liposomal components instantly claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the actives, and then to formulate a nanodisc using the liposome components taught by the reference.
With regards to instant claims 3-6, the ranges instantly claimed are both obvious as overlapping the ranges of the prior art and they would have been obvious where the prior art range is used as a starting point for optimization based on the size of the active for delivery. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lioux et al (EP 3505188), in view of Ablasser et al (EP 3502102), Gindy et al (EP 3556353), Zetterberg et al (J of Colloid and Interface Science, v 484, 2016, pp 86-96).
Lioux et al teaches conjugates comprising CDN's (i.e. STING agonists) covalently linked to Biologically Active Molecule unit (see claims 1 and 11, see also claims 2-10). Lioux et al further teaches that the Biologically Active Molecule unit comprises a lipid to form liposomal structure with CDN or a nanoparticle to protect and to increase the uptake of CDN (see paragraph [0053], see also claim 13). The conjugate may comprise a spacer, wherein the spacer may be PEG or a polyamine (see claims 12 and 14).
Lioux et al does not disclose that the elected STING agonist, lipid is a diacyl lipid, PE as the polymer-modified lipid, or that the CDN-lipid conjugates are in the form of lipid nanodiscs.
Ablasser et al teaches cyclic di-GMP was a known STING activator (pg 19 line 35).
Gindy et al teaches the incorporation of phosphatidylethanolamine (claim 11) in conjunction with STING agonists (claim 16) as conjugates (claim 20).
Zetterberg et al teaches DSPE-PEG nanosized lipodisks were known in the art and their importance as delivery systems. It teaches the incorporation of increased amounts of ligand-linked PEG-lipids. This general method is exemplified with the use of DSPE- PEG₃₄₀₀⁻EGF (see whole document and in particular section "4. Conclusions").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known STING agonists in the liposomes of the primary reference, such as disclosed by Ablasser et al, and then to conjugate them based on the teaching of Gindy et al.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the lipids of the primary reference using alternative CDN-lipid compositions would have found in Zetterberg et al, resulting in DSPE-PEG nanosized lipodisks and ligand-linked PEG-lipids.
With regards to instant claims 3-6, where the motivation by Zetterberg et al is to formulate nanosized lipodisks, it appears the ranges would be obvious and/or overlap those suggested. As such, the ranges are both obvious as overlapping and they would have been obvious based on the motivation to optimize the size based on the active material in the liposome and the delivery method. See MPEP 2144.05.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,300,145. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘145 in view of Irvine et al (US2018/0015174). ‘145 claims a nanoparticle comprising a peptide nucleic acid, lipids, polymer, and cyclic dinucleotide (claim 1). The particles may be disc-like micelles (claim 11). ‘145 requires the selection of the shape and size of the particles to read on the instant claims. As discussed above, Irvine et al provides teaching and motivation to select disc-like micelles and to optimize their size. Further, the various components instantly claimed are disclosed, so when the skilled artisan is formulating the nano-discs of ‘145, it would have been obvious to use the disclosed components which are species within the claimed genus.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,418. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘418 in view of Irvine et al (US2018/0015174). ‘145 claims a nanoparticle comprising a PNA-amphiphile conjugates, lipids, polymer, and cyclic dinucleotide (claim 1). The particles may be disc-like micelles (claim 9). ‘418 requires the selection of the shape and size of the particles to read on the instant claims. As discussed above, Irvine et al provides teaching and motivation to select disc-like micelles and to optimize their size. Further, the various components instantly claimed are disclosed, so when the skilled artisan is formulating the nano-discs of ‘418, it would have been obvious to use the disclosed components which are species within the claimed genus.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612