DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the remarks/amendments 8/19/2025. Claims 1-15 were cancelled. Claims 16-27 were newly added.
Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to EP 20000170.9 filed 4/27/2020 and EP 20000172.5 filed 4/28/2020 is acknowledged.
Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed foreign applications EP 20000170.9 and EP 20000172.5, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The EP Applications lack support for:
nose spray (claim 26) – the applications discuss sprays in general and nasal application generically, and discuss pharyngeal application via throat spray, but there is no support for a “nose spray”.
Consequently, the effective filing date of claims 26 is 4/26/2021. The remainder of the claims are afforded the effectively filed date of 4/27/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 and 27 recite “A method for the prophylaxis or treatment of a SARS-CoV-2 infection…through administering to such an infected individual.” The claim is incongruent and as a result it is unclear who the claims’ patient population is. Prophylaxis requires administration to someone not yet infected. Yet this term is contradicted by the body of the claim which requires administering to an infected individual. It is unclear if the target patient must be infected with SARS-CoV-2 or not.
Claim 27 is made further indefinite by the phrase “as a monotherapy comprising at least one 6’-methoxycinchonan-9-ol.” Monotherapy is at odds with the limitation “at least one”. “At least one” implies that more than one active can be administered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 19-21, 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (WO 2021/216759, published 10/28/2021, effectively filed 4/21/2020 which predates the instant foreign priority claims).
Cohen et al. teach the treatment or prevention of SARS-CoV-2 infection with quinine, preferably quinine sulphate dihydrate, which is preferably delivered via a nasal delivery device, such as an inhaler, atomizer or nebulizer (claims 16-17, 19-21, 23-24), e.g. a vibrating mesh nebulizer (p. 21, I. 13 - p. 22, I. 27). No other actives are administered so Cohen et al. teaches quinine as monotherapy. The compositions can be in the form of a liquid and/or aerosol (p. 9, I. 20-24) or as a dry powder for oral drug delivery (p. 17, lines 26-27). It is shown that quinine is effective in reducing SARS-CoV-2 infection in sinonasal ALI (air-liquid interface) (p. 26, I. 15 - p. 27, I. 24). Nasal instillation of a 0.1 % (1 mg/ml) solution of quinine sulfate dihydrate in saline protects ferrets against SARS-CoV-2 infection (p. 28, I. 25 - p. 30, I. 15, which includes nose spray). The human clinical trial NCT04408183 is described (p. 30, I. 16 - p. 31, I. 5).
Regarding the claim limitation that treatment is by inhibiting the SARS-CoV-2 replication, Cohen et al. is silent on this effect. However, as Cohen et al. teaches administering quinine to treat and prevent SARS-CoV-2, which is the sole required active step of the claims, it only follows that the quinine would have the same effect claimed (i.e. inhibiting replication).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charous (WO 03/039546, IDS) in view of Peralta et al. (US 2020/0237689, filed 3/24/2020).
Charous teaches the treatment or prevention of viral respiratory infections, including human corona virus infection (Summary of the invention p. 7), by administering an anti-malarial compound in a targeted fashion to the organ that is infected, preferably quinine or quinidine among a number of derivatives (p.1 Field of the Invention, p. 13). The anti-malarials quinine and quinidine are both taught to have antiviral activity alone which reads on the claim limitation of monotherapy (note the 112b regarding monotherapy in claim 27). Administration can be via inhalation, e.g. in the form of aerosols, powders or mists, which can be administered by a vibrating ultrasonic nebulizer; in liquid particulate forms, as nasal spray, eye drops or oral pastes (page 18, lines 1-9; page 8, lines 17-19; page 13, lines 6-8; page 23, lines 9-23; page 24, lines 1-4; page 25, line 28 - page 26, paragraph 4; page 27, lines 3-17; page 29, line 27 - page 30, line 2; page 31, lines 15-18). Administration is to the nasopharynx and bronchial airway for respiratory viruses (p. 2 final paragraph, p. 7 Summary of the Invention). Charous also teaches that oral administration of anti-malarials is well known but that the concentration of the drug that reaches the infected organ is less (p. 9, lines 10-11). Targeted administration is preferred but oral is conventional and less effective (note Charous does not say oral is not effective at all (p. 11, lines 24-30). Charous teaches for prophylaxis the anti-malarial compounds are typically delivered in an amount of 2-5 mg/day (p. 25). Note the above 112(b) regarding whether or not prophylaxis patients are included or excluded from the claim scope. Either way, Charous teaches both treatment and prophylaxis.
The teachings of Charous differ from the instant claims in that Charous teaches administering quinine and quinidine for the treatment of viruses including human corona virus among others, but fails to teach the specific human corona virus which is SARS-CoV-2. Charous also teaches several forms of administration but does not teach sublingual (claim 22).
Peralta et al. teach that coronaviruses are a group of related viruses that cause respiratory tract infections – included in this family is SARS-CoV-2 and various other human coronaviruses ([0004], [0206]). Peralta et al. also teaches forms of topical delivery is sublingual, respiratory or nasal ([0252]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to have administered the antiviral quinine or quinidine compositions of Charous to treat SARS-CoV-2 with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so as Charous teaches that quinine and quinidine are antiviral against human corona viruses – especially when delivery is targeted to the site of infection. SARS-CoV-2 falls under the family of human corona viruses and is known to cause respiratory tract infections – so there is motivation to target delivery to the respiratory system. Peralta et al. also teaches that sublingual, respiratory and nasal administration are all topical forms of administration so it would have been obvious to have used these forms of administration interchangeably.
Regarding the claim limitation that treatment is by inhibiting the SARS-CoV-2 replication, the teachings of Charous and Peralta et al. render obvious administering quinine and quinidine to treat and prevent SARS-CoV-2, which is the sole required active step of the claims. As a result on would be imbued with a reasonable expectation that the quinine and quinidine would individually have the same effect claimed (i.e. inhibiting replication).
Double Patenting
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18717846 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are directed to a pharmaceutical combination of 5- amino-2,3-dihydro-1,4-phthalazinedione or one of its pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates or solvates and a 6'-methoxycinchonan-9-ol or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Claims 7 and 8 specify that the 6'-methoxycinchonan-9-ol is quinine or one of its pharmaceutically acceptable salts. Claim 6 recites the intended use of this composition for the prophylaxis or treatment of a coronaviral infection including SARS-CoV-2. Subsequent dependent claims specify the specific salts of the phthalazinedione, the ratio of the two drugs and the mode of administration including nose spray, eye drops, pharyngeal (claims 14 and 15).
The 112b regarding monotherapy and administering at least one 6'-methoxycinchonan-9-ol is noted here. To the extent that claim 27 permits additional active ingredients, this rejection is applied.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 102 rejections over Cohen and Carous have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
The 102 rejection over the teachings of Cohen has been re-applied to a number of the new method claims. Applicant argues that Cohen fails to teach that the effect of the drug is by inhibiting the SARS-CoV-2 replication. The examiner acknowledges that Cohen et al. is silent on this effect. However, as Cohen et al. teaches administering quinine to treat and prevent SARS-CoV-2, which is the sole required active step of the claims, it only follows that the quinine would have the same effect claimed (i.e. inhibiting replication). It is inherent to the quinine being administered to the same patient population.
The rejection of Charous was converted into a 103 rejection. Charous fails to teach the treatment of SARS-CoV-2, but the examiner’s position (see above 103 rejection over the teachings of Carous in view of Peralta) is that such treatment and prophylaxis would have been obvious.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the NSDP rejection over copending 18717846 have been fully considered and are largely persuasive save for the ambiguity in claim 27 which calls into question whether or not combination therapy is permitted (i.e. “at least”).
Conclusion
Claims 16-27 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627