DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status: Claims 1-8, 10-15, 19, 20, 23, and 24 are pending.
Claim 10 appears to avoid the prior art but remain rejected under section 112. They will be re-evaluated in light of the prior art based on whether or how the claim is amended
Election/Restrictions
Applicant filed their election without traverse on February 12, 2026 in response to Restriction Requirement filed on August 13, 2025.
However, Examiner recognized that Restriction Requirement filed on August 13, 2025 was improper; therefore, Restriction Requirement filed on August 13, 2025 has been withdrawn and all pending claims have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 1, the limitation, “the housing,” is indefinite, because it lacks antecedent basis.
Indefiniteness of claim 1 renders its dependent claims indefinite.
Re Claim 10, the limitation “a sensor case configured to detect when the case is opened” is indefinite, because it is unclear whether it is claiming a sensor or a case of a sensor.
Re Claim 10, the limitation, “said case sensor,” is indefinite, because it lacks antecedent basis.
Re Claim 10, the limitation, “said processor is configured to: switch from a sleep mode to a hibernation mode when said case sensor detects the case is opened,” is indefinite. Page 7 of instant specification describes that when case is opened, case sensor detects the opening of case which switches resuscitation device from the hibernation mode to a sleep mode. During sleep mode, resuscitation device 100 can execute periodic self-tests and wait to detect a microcurrent or other signal from electrodes. However, claim 10 recites switching from a sleep mode to a hibernation mode which is the opposite of the above disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “configured to: determining a plurality of mobile device have authority to access” has grammatical issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2-6, 8, 19, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beyer (US 2020/0108261A1).
Re Claim 1, Beyer discloses a resuscitation device, comprising:
an electric pulse generator configured to generate an electric pulse that is administered to a subject (para. [0060], defibrillation unit 110);
electrodes operative to administer the electric pulse to the subject (para. [0106], patient electrode pads 116; fig. 2, AED Pads 116);
at least one sensor configured to measure vital signs of the subject (para. [0065], ECG sensing/filtering circuitry 225);
at least one processing unit (para. [0068], controller 202; para. [0061], fig. 2, app 108 installed on the mobile communication device 105) configured to:
monitor the vital signs measured by the at least one sensor (para. [0130], The state of the relay(s) is/are controlled by controller 202. Since both the high voltage shock delivery and the low voltage ECG sensing require use of the defibrillator pads 116, both the discharge circuit and the ECG sensing circuit 225 are electrically coupled to the defibrillator pads 166 through relay(s) 229 which facilitates switching the pads 116 from the low voltage system (ECG reading) to the high voltage system (discharge).);
determine the housing and electrodes are properly placed on the subject according to the monitoring of the vital signs (para. [0068], If the phone asks for confirmation that the electrode pads are connected, the microprocessor will return an indication verifying their connection; para. [0201]);
determine what treatment has to be administered to the subject (para. [0068], If the phone instructs a shock to be delivered, the microprocessor will set the appropriate pins in order to drive the HV system to deliver the shock; para. [0085], It should be appreciated that the capacitor 209 can be charged to any desired level. This is important because different defibrillation protocols advise different voltage and/or energy level shocks for different conditions. Furthermore, if the initial shock is not sufficient to restart a normal cardiac rhythm, recommended treatment protocols often call for the use of progressively stronger impulses in subsequently administered shocks (up to a point).);
generate notification instructing the treatment to be administered to the subject (para. [0203], The user is informed that a shock is advised and instructed to stand clear of the patient, an initiate shock button is displayed on the mobile phone's screen. The user may be instructed to perform CPR for a period of time—as for example two minutes); and
providing real-time, continuous feedback of treatment provided and condition of the subject (para. [0130], In the default state, the pads are preferably connected to a filtering ECG sensing/filtering circuit 225 (i.e., to the low voltage system) so that the patient's ECG can be read as soon as the pads are attached to the patient and at other times in the process, and so that in the event of a power failure, the relays default to a low voltage system for safety reasons. When delivery of a shock is desired, the controller 202 directs the relay(s) to switch to the high voltage discharge circuit 220. Once the relays are switched, the shock can be delivered. After the shock is delivered, the relay is preferably switched back to the low voltage (ECG sensing) system so that the patient's heart's response to the shock can be evaluated and the app can determine whether any additional shocks are advised; para. [0203]).
Re Claim 19, Beyer discloses an electrical circuit for generating an electric pulse, comprising:
a controller (para. [0068], controller 202);
a switch (para. [0068], switch the various components of the defibrillator between the ECG reading and discharge states; para. [0077], input switch 271);
an inductor (para. [0076], [0077], fig. 3, inductor L1, L2, LC circuit; para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332);
a charging circuit (para. [0078], charging the defibrillator capacitor 209 in fig. 4, para. [0065], The current regulator 205 and voltage booster 207 which cooperate to control the charging of the capacitor 209 are sometimes referred to herein as a charging circuit 208.); and
a capacitor array electrically connected to the charging circuit and adapted to store energy supplied by the charging circuit (para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used; para. [0065], a high voltage capacitor 209 for temporarily storing sufficient electrical energy suitable to provide a defibrillation shock),
wherein the controller is adapted to control the switch to cause energy to be stored in the inductor and discharged to the charging circuit (para. [0078], At this stage current continues to flow through the inductor L1, passing now into LC circuit capacitor C1 which begins to charge. MOSFET switch 271 turns on and off by controller 202 cause current to flow through the inductor; para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332).
Re Claim 2, Beyer discloses that said electric pulse generator (para. [0060], defibrillation unit 110) comprises
an electrical circuit for generating an electric pulse (para. [0038]-[0046], fig. 3-10 shows the electrical circuit), said electric circuit comprises:
a controller (para. [0068], controller 202);
a switch (para. [0068], switch the various components of the defibrillator between the ECG reading and discharge states; para. [0077], input switch 271);
an inductor (para. [0076], [0077], fig. 3, inductor L1, L2, LC circuit; para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332);
a charging circuit (para. [0078], charging the defibrillator capacitor 209 in fig. 4, para. [0065], The current regulator 205 and voltage booster 207 which cooperate to control the charging of the capacitor 209 are sometimes referred to herein as a charging circuit 208.); and
a capacitor array electrically connected to the charging circuit and adapted to store energy supplied by the charging circuit (para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used; para. [0065], a high voltage capacitor 209 for temporarily storing sufficient electrical energy suitable to provide a defibrillation shock),
wherein the controller is adapted to control the switch to cause energy to be stored in the inductor and discharged to the charging circuit (para. [0078], At this stage current continues to flow through the inductor L1, passing now into LC circuit capacitor C1 which begins to charge. MOSFET switch 271 turns on and off by controller 202 cause current to flow through the inductor; para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332).
Re Claim 3, Beyer discloses that the controller is a controller (para. [0068], controller 202) and gate driver chip (para. [0148], insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs)), the inductor is a low-profile boost inductor (para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332), and the charging circuit is a plurality of interconnected charging capacitors and diodes (para. [0070], its voltage boosted output is fed to the capacitor 209 to thereby charge the capacitor. In the illustrated embodiment, diodes 243 are provided to prevent current from flowing in the reverse direction; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used).
Re Claim 4, Beyer discloses that the controller chip (para. [0090], the valley detection switching controller 322 takes the form of a dedicated integrated circuit chip), the switch (para. [0090], The switch 324 typically takes the form of a FET such as a MOSFET), and charging capacitor (para. [0098], capacitor 209) are surface mount components (para. [0180], electronics mount to an internal frame).
Re Claim 5, Beyer discloses that the circuit comprises an electric pulse generator for a low profile AED (para. [0125], The activation, timing and safety checks of the discharge circuit 220 are controlled by defibrillation controller 202; fig. 5B, para. [0104], an AED electronics architecture).
Re Claim 6, Beyer discloses that the capacitor array comprises a plurality of interconnected discrete energy-storing capacitors capable of storing (para. [0107], capacitor 209; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used) up to a predetermined amount of bi-phasic electric pulse energy (para. [0106], a biphasic (or other multi-phasic) shock; para. [0048], delivering a 150 Joule biphasic shock in patients having 50, 75, and 100 ohm resistances respectively between the pads).
Re Claim 8, Beyer discloses that a communication unit configured to communicate with a mobile device (para. [0061], the defibrillation unit 110 is designed to be used in conjunction with an app 108 that is installed, or installable on the mobile communication device; fig 5B, para. [0068], The controller 202 also cooperates with the app 108 to manage and control the AED during use.), the mobile device configured to:
present the user with user interface and instructional content (para. [0068], The controller 202 also cooperates with the app 108 to manage and control the AED during use. In applications where the app 108 provides primary control over the process flow, the microprocessor acts as the “middle man” that orchestrates the electronic components in accordance with the app's instructions.);
receive user commands for administering the electric pulse to the subject (para. [0068], If the phone instructs a shock to be delivered, the microprocessor will set the appropriate pins in order to drive the HV system to deliver the shock.);
transmit the user commands to the communication unit (para. [0068], the microprocessor 202 receives commands from the phone).
Re Claim 20, Beyer discloses that the controller is a controller (para. [0068], controller 202) and gate driver chip (para. [0148], insulated-gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs)), the inductor is a low-profile boost inductor (para. [0086], fig. 5A, flyback converter, inductor 331, 332), and the charging circuit is a plurality of interconnected charging capacitors and diodes (para. [0070], its voltage boosted output is fed to the capacitor 209 to thereby charge the capacitor. In the illustrated embodiment, diodes 243 are provided to prevent current from flowing in the reverse direction; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used).
Re Claim 23, Beyer discloses that the capacitor array comprises a plurality of interconnected discrete energy-storing capacitors capable of storing (para. [0107], capacitor 209; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used) up to a predetermined amount of bi-phasic electric pulse energy (para. [0106], a biphasic (or other multi-phasic) shock; para. [0048], delivering a 150 Joule biphasic shock in patients having 50, 75, and 100 ohm resistances respectively between the pads).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer (US 2020/0108261A1) in view of Powers et al. (US 2015/0265844A1).
Re Claim 7, Beyer discloses that the capacitor array (para. [0078], charging the defibrillator capacitor 209 in fig. 4; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used) has a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads and 1.5 kilovolts (para. [0121], the flyback converter 320 has a single stage which boosts the 5V input voltage suitably for charging the discharge capacitor to the desired discharge voltage level (typically at least 1400 to 2000 volts).) to provide at least 150 joules of energy storage (para. [0048], delivering a 150 Joule biphasic shock in patients having 50, 75 and 100 ohm resistances respectively between the pads; para. [0064], These protocols typically call for the delivery of an electrical shock on the order of 120-200 joules at a voltage on the order of 1400-2000V for an adult when a biphasic defibrillator is used; para. [0073])).
Beyer is silent regarding the capacitor array has a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads.
Powers discloses automatic external defibrillator (AED) (para. [0027]) and teaches the energy storage circuit typically consists of at least one capacitor with a capacitance value in the range of 100 to 200 microfarads and which is charged to approximately 2000 volts (para. [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Beyer, by configuring the capacitor array to have a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads, as taught by Powers, for the purpose of storing energy to provide the high voltage, high current waveform necessary to develop the defibrillation pulse (para. [0029]).
Re Claim 24, Beyer discloses that the capacitor array (para. [0078], charging the defibrillator capacitor 209 in fig. 4; para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used) has a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads and 1.5 kilovolts (para. [0121], the flyback converter 320 has a single stage which boosts the 5V input voltage suitably for charging the discharge capacitor to the desired discharge voltage level (typically at least 1400 to 2000 volts).) to provide at least 150 joules of energy storage (para. [0048], delivering a 150 Joule biphasic shock in patients having 50, 75, and 100 ohm resistances respectively between the pads; para. [0064], These protocols typically call for the delivery of an electrical shock on the order of 120-200 joules at a voltage on the order of 1400-2000V for an adult when a biphasic defibrillator is used; para. [0073])).
Beyer is silent regarding the capacitor array has a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads.
Powers discloses automatic external defibrillator (AED) (para. [0027]) and teaches the energy storage circuit typically consists of at least one capacitor with a capacitance value in the range of 100 to 200 microfarads and which is charged to approximately 2000 volts (para. [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Beyer, by configuring the capacitor array to have a total capacitance of at least 100 microfarads, as taught by Powers, for the purpose of storing energy to provide the high voltage, high current waveform necessary to develop the defibrillation pulse (para. [0029]).
Claims 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer (US 2020/0108261A1) in view of Snyder et al. (US 2002/0133197A1).
Re Claim 11, Beyer discloses a system configured to operate a resuscitation device, comprising:
a resuscitation device configured to:
measure and monitor vital signs of a subject (para. [0068], ECG reading; para. [0065], ECG sensing/filtering circuitry 225);
administer an electric pulse to the subject (para. [0060], defibrillation unit 110);
at least one mobile device configured to be in wireless communication with said resuscitation device (fig. 2, phone 105, app 108, para. [0068], the microprocessor 202 receives commands from the phone, and returns to the phone whatever has been asked of it; para. [0171], short range communication protocol), said at least one mobile device configured to:
receive the vital signs (para. [0068], If the phone asks for the ECG reading, the microprocessor will send the ECG signal being taken from the pads attached to the body back over the serial line);
present a user of the mobile device with a user interface (fig. 2, phone 105, app 108) configured to:
display the vital signs (para. [0129], Since the CPUs on conventional smart phones and tablet computers are quite powerful, they are very well suited for handling the ECG analysis. Furthermore, the ECG processing algorithms can readily be updated when appropriate using standard app updating protocols; para. [0211], when the app transitions to the manual operation mode, the event history and ECG waveforms are preferably displayed or made available to the user as discussed above); and
obtain commands from the user that are provided to resuscitation device (para. [0068], The controller 202 also cooperates with the app 108 to manage and control the AED during use. If the phone instructs a shock to be delivered, the microprocessor will set the appropriate pins in order to drive the HV system to deliver the shock.);
transmit the commands to the resuscitation device (para. [0068], The controller 202 also cooperates with the app 108 to manage and control the AED during use. If the phone instructs a shock to be delivered, the microprocessor will set the appropriate pins in order to drive the HV system to deliver the shock.);
wherein the resuscitation device executes the commands received from the mobile device para. [0068], The controller 202 also cooperates with the app 108 to manage and control the AED during use. If the phone instructs a shock to be delivered, the microprocessor will set the appropriate pins in order to drive the HV system to deliver the shock.).
Beyer discloses the mobile device providing instruction to a treatment provider of the treatment provided to the subject (para. [0219], [0203], The user is informed that a shock is advised and instructed to stand clear of the patient, an initiate shock button is displayed on the mobile phone's screen. The user may be instructed to perform CPR for a period of time—as for example two minutes), but is silent regarding a resuscitation device providing instruction to a treatment provider of the treatment provided to the subject.
Snyder discloses an automated external defibrillator (para. [0018], AED) and teaches a resuscitation device configured to provide instruction to a treatment provider of the treatment provided to the subject (para. [0028], External defibrillators for use by lay people with little or no training may include an interface for instructing an operator of the defibrillators. The interface can include an indicator for indicating when certain events are to occur. The interface can be operatively connected to the processor so that the processor can cause the indicator to produce indications at proper times; para. [0030], The indicator may alternatively or additionally include one or more audible display elements operatively connected to the processor. For example, the indicator may include a speaker that produces verbal commands informing the operator in care of a patient. Along these lines, the speaker could produce instructions on administration of CPR. Alternatively or additionally, the speaker could produce instructions for use of the defibrillator. Such instructions could include when to cease CPR and clear an area in the vicinity of a patient when a defibrillating shock is to be administered imminently as described herein.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Snyder, by configuring a resuscitation device to provide instruction to a treatment provider of the treatment provided to the subject, as taught by Snyder, for the purpose of directly providing the instructions from the resuscitation device itself and eliminating a delay in or improper timing of delivery of instructions due to connectivity issue with wireless controller (para. [0028], [0030]).
Re Claim 14, Beyer discloses that the resuscitation device comprises:
at least one sensor configured to measure the vital signs (para. [0065], ECG sensing/filtering circuitry 225);
an electric pulse generator configured to generate the electric pulse (para. [0060], defibrillation unit 110); and
at least two electrodes configured to administer the electric pulse (para. [0106], patient electrode pads 116; fig. 2, AED Pads 116).
Re Claim 15, Beyer discloses that said electric pulse generator comprises a capacitor array configured to facilitate storing the electric pulse prior to administration (para. [0100], three or more stacked capacitors; para. [0140], multiple discharge capacitors may be used; para. [0065], a high voltage capacitor 209 for temporarily storing sufficient electrical energy suitable to provide a defibrillation shock).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer (US 2020/0108261A1) as modified by Snyder et al. (US 2002/0133197A1), and further in view of Barton et al. (US 2009/0063193A1).
Re Claim 12, Beyer as modified by Snyder discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 11.
Beyer and Snyder are silent regarding wherein the resuscitation device is further configured to: recognize that the mobile device is within a predetermined distance from the resuscitation device; receive authentication information from the mobile device; determine the authentication information matches a stored authentication information; grant the mobile communication access to communicate with the resuscitation device.
However, Barton discloses that automatic external defibrillator (para. [0072], external medical device or patient implantable medical device (PIMD) 13) can be paired with portable patient communicators, PPCs (para. [0072]).
Barton teaches that life critical network (LCN) (para. [0104], “life critical network” (LCN). FIG. 2B illustrates a PIMD 13 and its corresponding PPC 14A. Any number of additional patients, and respective PPCs 14B, 14C may also be part of the LCN 200.) is further configured to:
recognize that the mobile device is within a predetermined distance from the network service (fig. 1, para. [0061], The process of mapping the environment at the source end of the network 200 begins by the source agent performing a series of queries and/or connection attempts via various methods to build potential temporal and spatial profiles; para. [0161], Several network service discovery mechanisms may be used by the PPC 14 to facilitate discovery of available network services, including ultra low-power mechanisms (e.g., via Bluetooth));
receive authentication information from the mobile device; determine the authentication information matches a stored authentication information; grant the mobile communication access to communicate with the resuscitation device in the LCN (para. [0105], One feature of the LCN 200 is privacy, in that only devices intended for inclusion in the LCN are allowed. Access control can be accomplished through authentication, which refer to procedures established to verify that the device requesting access to the LCN 200 is the device that it purports to be. For example, a unique identifier(s) from the PIMD 13 may be used as a key to authenticate the device for use on the LCN 200; para. [0106], [0107], The unique identifier(s) from the PIMD 13 may be used as a key to authorize communication functionality on the PPC 14.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Beyer as modified by Snyder, by adding a network service in the resuscitation device and thereby configuring the resuscitation device to: recognize that the mobile device is within a predetermined distance from the resuscitation device; receive authentication information from the mobile device; determine the authentication information matches a stored authentication information; grant the mobile communication access to communicate with the resuscitation device, as taught by Barton, for the purpose of access control of mobile devices through authentication for security and safety reasons (para. [0105]).
Re Claim 13, Beyer as modified by Snyder and Barton discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claims 11 and 12.
Beyer and Snyder are silent regarding wherein the resuscitation device is further configured to: determining a plurality of mobile device have authority to access the resuscitation device; allow access to the mobile device having a highest priority according to a priority hierarchy.
Barton further teaches the life critical network (LCN) (para. [0104], “life critical network” (LCN). FIG. 2B illustrates a PIMD 13 and its corresponding PPC 14A. Any number of additional patients, and respective PPCs 14B, 14C may also be part of the LCN 200.) is further configured to: determining a plurality of mobile device have authority to access the network (para. [0059], The various entities requesting access to the LCN 200 are granted different access rights based on their classification); allow access to the mobile device having a highest priority according to a priority hierarchy (para. [0059], A patient implantable medical device programming system 23 may be granted priority access to a higher speed connectivity capability due to its more demanding need for timely interconnection to the infrastructure. This classification and prioritization is preferably dynamically managed via the central authority 16.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Beyer as modified by Snyder and Barton, by configuring the resuscitation device to: determine a plurality of mobile device have authority to access the resuscitation device; allow access to the mobile device having a highest priority according to a priority hierarchy, as taught by Barton, for the purpose of granting priority access to a higher speed connectivity capability due to its more demanding need for timely interconnection to the infrastructure (para. [0059]).
Conclusion
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/V.V.H./
Vynn Huh, March 14, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 3792