DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 03/26/2026, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 1, 6-13, 16 and 18-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Applicant argues that Krulik does not teach settling solids removed in a backwash holding tank (pgs. 8-9). This argument is unpersuasive because Krulik teaches, in backflush mode, that particles or sludge settles on the bottom of the filter tank and then are pumped to sludge-holding tank 22 (Krulik, C8/L8-20).
The Applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches “directing the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution out of the backwash holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit; and combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment" (pg. 9-10). This argument is unpersuasive because this is directed towards the amended claim.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 reads “directing the removed slurry solids out of the backwash holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit”. Support is allegedly found in Figure 2 of the originally filed drawings, filed 10/20/2022. Thus, the directing step is being interpreted to include, but is not limited to, directing the removed slurry solids to a location or component that is in fluid connection with the outlet of the ion exchange unit.
Claims depending on Claim 1 are also affected by this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 21 reads “directing the removed slurry solids out of the backwash holding tank directly to the outlet of the ion exchange unit”. The originally filed specification, filed 10/20/2022, supports fluidly connecting a solids outlet of the backwash holding tank to an outlet of the ion exchange module (pg. 2-3 of the specification filed 10/20/2022). However, fluid connection refers to transmitting liquids or gas from a source to a target, and does not require physical connection between only the source and the target. Furthermore, Fig. 2 of the originally drawings filed 10/20/2022 depicts directing the removed slurry solids to a location or component that is in fluid connection with the outlet of the ion exchange unit, rather than a line or conduit between only the outlet of the backwash holding tank and the outlet of the ion exchange unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’) in view of U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a method and an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 1, 7-8, 10 and 21, Neuber teaches a method (abstract) for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process ([0027]) including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids comprising abrasive particles ([0039]), the method comprising:
introducing the aqueous waste stream ([0034]) into a feed tank (Fig. 1, [0034], tank 119);
flowing the aqueous waste stream from the feed tank into an ultrafiltration module (first filtration unit 150 (Fig. 1) may comprise an ultrafiltration membrane, [0037]);
filtering the aqueous waste stream through a membrane of the ultrafiltration module to form a solids-lean filtrate (first filtration unit 150 splits mixture into a water stream with chemicals and particles removed and a concentration stream, [0036], Fig. 1);
directing the solids-lead filtrate from the ultrafiltration module into a filtrate holding tank (water stream from first filtration unit 150 is received by sanitization unit 180, [0043], Fig. 1);
directing the solids-lean filtrate from the filtrate holding tank through an ion exchange unit (treatment unit 170 may comprise an ion-exchange resin, [0045], Fig. 1) and produce a treated aqueous solution ([0045]);
backwashing the ultrafiltration module ([0038]) with the solids-lean filtrate from the filtrate holding tank (backwashing uses rinse fluid ([0067]) where the rinse fluid is sanitized water stream resulting from filtration and sanitization, [0043-0044]) to remove the slurry solids from the membrane of the ultrafiltration module ([0038]); and
combining the removed solids with the treated aqueous solution ([0041], particles and rinse water can be blended).
Neuber does not teach that the abrasive particles have a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 µm, the ion exchange unit removing dissolved copper, solids-lean filtrate being supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank to the ultrafiltration module, directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank; settling the removed slurry solids in the backwash holding tank; directing the removed slurry solids out of the backwash holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit; and forming a combined discharge having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment.
Filson also relates to a method for treating an aqueous waste stream (abstract) from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process ([0011]) including a concentration of dissolved copper ([0002] and [0072]) and slurry solids ([0013]) comprising particles having a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 μm (nominal particle diameter sizes of about 0.01-1.0 μm, [0073]), the method comprising:
directing the filtrate ([0069]) through an ion exchange unit (ion exchange copper scavenging column 70, [0079], Fig. 3) to remove dissolved copper and produce a treated aqueous solution having a lower copper concentration than the copper concentration of the aqueous waste stream ([0079-0080]. Following ion exchange tests ([0132]), copper concentration in the effluent is lower than the copper concentration in the influent, see Table 3, [0142]).
Brummer also relates to a method for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids (abstract), the method comprising: solids-lean filtrate being supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank (Fig. 1, [0043], permeate tank 30) to the ultrafiltration module (Fig. 1, [0043], ultrafilter device 20).
Krulik also relates to a method (abstract) for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper (C8, L51-57), including
directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank (bottom of backflush tank 24, C6/L39-50 and C8/L8-14, Fig. 1. See flow from filter tanks 20 to the backflush tank 24, C6, L39-50, Fig. 1).
James also relates to a method for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids (abstract), including settling the removed slurry solids in the holding tank (Fig. 1, C4/L1-4, sludge settles in tank 26);
directing the removed slurry solids out of the holding tank (Fig. 1, C4/L1-4, settled sludge is pumped by pump 116 to line 118) to the outlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14 and C6/L39-46, a treated stream in line 108, treated by ion-exchange 66 (Fig. 1, C6/L45-46) are added to line 118); and
combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution (Fig. 1, C4/L4-8 and C6/L42-46, treated stream is carried with the settled sludge).
Dungan also relates to a method for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids (abstract), including
combining the removed slurry solids (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, concentrated solids portion 16) with the treated aqueous solution (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, second stream 25) to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment (C6/L42-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ion exchange resin of Filson and the method of Neuber to remove copper (Filson, [0080]) because copper ions in solution in the wastewater must be removed from the byproduct polishing slurry for acceptable wastewater disposal (Filson, [0012]). It would have been obvious for the solids-lean filtrate of Neuber and Filson to be supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank to the ultrafiltration module, as demonstrated by Brummer, because both Neuber and Brummer involve treating water from a CMP process (Neuber, abstract and Brummer, [0042]). It would have been obvious to include the backwash holding tank of Krulik in the method of Neuber, Filson and Brummer for further processing of the dislodged solid material (Krulik, C7/L60-62). It would have been obvious to direct the removed slurry solids of the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer and Krulik to the outlet of the ion exchange unit, as demonstrated by James, so the copper content decreases (James, C6/L51-55) to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45). It would have been obvious to form a combined discharge stream heaving a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment; and discharging the combined discharge stream directly to the environment in the method of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan, as demonstrated by Dungan, to reduce the metal content of the solids to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claims 7-8: adjusting a pH of the aqueous waste stream in the feed tank, wherein adjusting the pH of the aqueous waste stream in the feed tank comprises adjusting the pH of the aqueous waste stream to a pH of about 3 (Filson, [0108]). (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the pH of the aqueous waste stream to a pH of about 3, as demonstrated by Filson, to provide good copper uptake on the resin (Filson, [0108], [0178] and Table 10)).
Claim 10: backwashing of the ultrafiltration module is performed after a predetermined amount of time of filtering the aqueous waste stream in each cycle of filtration and backwash (Neuber, [0088]).
Claim 21: directing the removed slurry solids out (James, Fig. 1, C4/L1-14 and C6/L39-46) of the backwash holding tank directly to the outlet of the ion exchange unit (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the removed slurry solids and treated aqueous solution can be directed directly, as demonstrated by Dungan (Dungan, Fig. 2), or indirectly, as demonstrated by James (James, Fig. 1) to form a combined discharge stream).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’), U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’), U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’), U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’), U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’) and U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent US6140130A (‘Salmen’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan teaches the method of Claim 1, except directing supernatant from the backwash holding tank into the feed tank.
Salmen also relates to a method for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper (abstract), including directing supernatant from the backwash holding tank into the feed tank (C12, L18-20, Fig. 7, back wash tank 99 solids leave through sludge line 168 and water is recycled through line 169 back to first tank 14 for further treatment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to direct supernatant from the backwash holding tank into the feed tank, as demonstrated by Salmen, in the method of the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan in order to perform further treatment (Salmen, C12, L18-20 and C12, L22-28).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’), U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’), U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’), U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’), U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’) and U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’) as applied to claim 1 above, and U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’), U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’), U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’), U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’), U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’), U.S. Patent US6140130A (‘Salmen’) and U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20080060999A1 (‘Musale’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method and an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan teaches the method of Claim 1, and the combination of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan, Salmen and Brummer teaches the system of Claim 13, except filtering about 40 gallons of the aqueous waste stream per square foot of membrane area per day (GFD) through the membrane of the ultrafiltration module while maintaining an inlet pressure of the ultrafiltration module below about 1.5 pounds per square inch.
James teaches filtering about 40 gallons of the aqueous waste stream per square foot of membrane area per day (GFD) through the membrane of the ultrafiltration module (C5, L29-31. Note that an ultrafiltration unit may be used in place of the microfiltration skid, C5, L45-46).
Musale teaches maintaining an inlet pressure of the ultrafiltration module below about 1.5 pounds per square inch (below 1 psi, [0061], Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the filtration rate based on set point parameters (flow can be increased based on set point parameters, Neuber, [0088]), and to choose the inlet pressure of the ultrafiltration module such that the pressure does not deleteriously impact the nature of the polishing slurry (Neuber, [0025]) while pressurizing income stream through the filter (Neuber, [0059] and [0076]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’), U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’), U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’), U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’), U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’) and U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent US11926017B2 (‘Wang’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan teaches the method of Claim 1, including that the aqueous waste stream has a concentration of the abrasive particles with sizes of 0.50 µm and above (Filson, [0013]), except that the concentration of the abrasive particles is at least 106/mL.
Wang also relates to chemical mechanical polishing (C2, L44-46 and C1, L15-19), where the aqueous waste stream has a concentration of abrasive particles of at least 106/mL (C11, L4-25, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the aqueous waste stream of the combination of Neuber, Filson, Brummer, Krulik, James and Dungan can have a concentration of abrasive particles of at least 106/mL, as demonstrated by Wang, as this is a particle concentration involved in the fabrication process (Wang, C4, L14-19).
Claims 12-13, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20110070811A1 (‘Neuber’) in view of U.S. Publication US20020104803A1 (‘Filson’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6582605B2 (‘Krulik’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6203705B1 (‘James’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6306282B1 (‘Dungan’) and in further view of U.S. Patent US6140130A (‘Salmen’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20120261339A1 (‘Brummer’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a method and an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 12, Neuber teaches a method of facilitating treatment of an aqueous waste stream (abstract) from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process ([0027]) including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids comprising abrasive particles ([0039]), the method comprising:
providing an ultrafiltration module (first filtration unit 150 (Fig. 1) may comprise an ultrafiltration membrane, [0037]) and an ion exchange module (treatment unit 170 may comprise an ion-exchange resin, [0045], Fig. 1);
fluidly connecting the ultrafiltration module upstream of the ion exchange module (Fig. 1, [0036]);
fluidly connecting a filtrate holding tank between a filtrate outlet of the ultrafiltration (water stream from first filtration unit 150 is received by sanitization unit 180, [0043], Fig. 1) module and an inlet of the ion exchange module (Fig. 1);
providing a controller programmed to perform a method ([0048], controller for supplying and recycling polishing slurry) comprising:
flowing the aqueous waste stream into the ultrafiltration module (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 251);
filtering the aqueous waste stream through a membrane of the ultrafiltration module to form a solids-lean filtrate (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 251); and
directing the solids-lean filtrate from the ultrafiltration module through the ion exchange module to produce a treated aqueous solution (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 271);
Neuber does not teach that the abrasive particles have a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 µm, the ion exchange unit removing dissolved copper, and the controller being programmed to perform directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module, the solids-lean filtrate being supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank to the ultrafiltration module, and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank and settling the removed slurry solids in the backwash holding tank, settling the removed slurry solids in the backwash holding tank directing the removed slurry solids out of the backwash holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit; and combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution at the outlet of the ion exchange unit to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment.
Filson teaches particles having a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 μm (nominal particle diameter sizes of about 0.01-1.0 μm, [0073]), the method comprising:
directing the solids-lean filtrate (wastewater is passed through a carbon column then contacted with an ion exchange resin, [0069]) from the filtration module through an ion exchange unit (ion exchange copper scavenging column 70, [0079], Fig. 3) to produce a treated aqueous solution having a lower copper concentration than the copper concentration of the aqueous waste stream (resin removes copper, [0079-0080]. Following ion exchange tests ([0132]), copper concentration in the effluent is lower than the copper concentration in the influent, see Table 3, [0142]).
Krulik teaches fluidly connecting the backwash holding tank to a backwash outlet of the filtration module (see flow from filter tanks 20 to the backflush tank 24, C6/L46-50, Fig. 1. Note that Krulik teaches that the method is also suitable for use with other types of standard filtration systems, such as ultrafiltration units, C8/L21-24); and
providing a controller programmed to perform a method (C7, L65-67, system may be completely automated) comprising: directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank (backflush tank 24, C6, L46-50, Fig. 1. See flow from filter tanks 20 to the backflush tank 24, C6, L46-50, Fig. 1).
James teaches fluidly connecting a solids outlet of the backwash holding tank (Fig. 1, C4/L1-4, settled sludge is pumped by pump 116 to line 118) to an outlet of the ion exchange module (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14 and C6/L39-46, a treated stream in line 108, treated by ion-exchange 66 (Fig. 1, C6/L45-46) are added to line 118);
settling the removed slurry solids in the holding tank (Fig. 1, C4/L1-4, sludge settles in tank 26);
directing the removed slurry solids out of the holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14 and C6/L39-46, a treated stream in line 108, treated by ion-exchange 66 (Fig. 1, C6/L45-46) are added to line 118); and
combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution at the outlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1, C4/L4-8 and C6/L42-46, treated stream is carried with the settled sludge).
Salmen teaches fluidly connecting a supernatant outlet (Fig. 7, C12, L14-20, water is recycled through line 169) of the backwash holding tank (Fig. 7, C12, L14-20, back wash tank 99) to an inlet of the module (Fig. 7, C12, L14-20, first tank 14).
Brummer also relates to a method of facilitating treatment of an aqueous waste stream from a chemical mechanical polishing process including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids (abstract), the method comprising: solids-lean filtrate being supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank (Fig. 1, [0043], permeate tank 30) to the ultrafiltration module (Fig. 1, [0043], ultrafilter device 20).
Dungan teaches combining the removed slurry solids (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, concentrated solids portion 16) with the treated aqueous solution (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, second stream 25 was treated by ion exchanger 20) to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment (C6/L42-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ion exchange resin of Filson and the method of Neuber to remove copper (Filson, [0080]) because copper ions in solution in the wastewater must be removed from the byproduct polishing slurry for acceptable wastewater disposal (Filson, [0012]). It would have been obvious for the controller of Neuber and Filson to perform directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank, as demonstrated by Krulik, to completely automate the process (Krulik, C7, L65-67). It would have been obvious to include the backwash holding tank of Krulik in the method of Neuber, Filson and Krulik for further processing of the dislodged solid material (Krulik, C7/L60-62). It would have been obvious to direct the removed slurry solids of the combination of Neuber, Filson and Krulik to the outlet of the ion exchange unit, as demonstrated by James, so the copper content decreases (James, C6/L51-55) to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45). It would have been obvious to direct supernatant from the backwash holding tank, as demonstrated by Salmen, in the method of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James and Dungan, in order to perform further treatment (Salmen, C12, L18-20 and C12, L22-28). It would have been obvious for the solids-lean filtrate of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan and Salmen to be supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank to the ultrafiltration module, as demonstrated by Brummer, because both Neuber and Brummer involve treating water from a CMP process (Neuber, abstract and Brummer, [0042]). It would have been obvious to form a combined discharge stream heaving a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment; and discharging the combined discharge stream directly to the environment in the method of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan, Salmen and Brummer, as demonstrated by Dungan, to reduce the metal content of the solids to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45).
Regarding Claims 13, 16 and 18-19, Neuber teaches a system for treating an aqueous waste stream (abstract) from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process ([0027]) including a concentration of dissolved copper and slurry solids comprising abrasive particles ([0039]), the system comprising:
a feed tank (tank 119, [0034], Fig. 1) fluidly connectable to a source of the aqueous waste stream (polishing system 101, [0034], Fig. 1);
an ultrafiltration unit (first filtration unit 150, [0036], Fig. 1) having an inlet fluidly connectable to an outlet of the feed tank (Fig. 1 and [0035-0036]);
an ion exchange unit (treatment unit 170 may comprise an ion-exchange resin, [0045], Fig. 1) including media ([0045]) and having an inlet fluidly connectable to a filtrate outlet of the ultrafiltration unit (water stream of first filtration unit 150 is sent to treatment unit 170, [0036], Fig. 1),
a filtrate holding tank fluidly connectable between a filtrate outlet of the ultrafiltration unit (water stream from first filtration unit 150 is received by sanitization unit 180, [0043], Fig. 1) and an inlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1);
a controller ([0048], controller for supplying and recycling polishing slurry) configured to cause the system to perform a method comprising:
introducing the aqueous waste stream into the feed tank ([0094], controller controls valve that directs flow);
flowing the aqueous waste stream from the feed tank into the ultrafiltration unit (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 251);
filtering the aqueous waste stream through a membrane of the ultrafiltration unit to form a solids-lean filtrate (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 251);
directing the solids-lean filtrate from the ultrafiltration unit through the ion exchange unit to produce a treated aqueous solution (Fig. 2A, [0081], controller 209 is connected to filtration pump 271); and
backwashing the ultrafiltration unit ([0038]) with the solids-lean filtrate to remove slurry solids from the membrane of the ultrafiltration unit ([0088], back wash steps initiation is predetermined by the control software).
Neuber does not teach that the abrasive particles have a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 µm, the ion exchange unit removing dissolved copper, a backwash holding tank having an inlet fluidly connectable to a backwash outlet of the ultrafiltration unit, a settled solids outlet fluidly connectable to a purified water outlet of the ion exchange unit, and a supernatant outlet fluidly connectable to the feed tank; a backwash pump configured to direct filtrate directly from the filtrate holding tank through the ultrafiltration unit and into the backwash holding tank; and the controller being configured to cause the system to perform directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank and settling the removed slurry solids in the backwash holding tank, directing the removed slurry solids out of the backwash holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit; and combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment.
Filson teaches particles having a number weighted mean size of less than 0.75 μm (nominal particle diameter sizes of about 0.01-1.0 μm, [0073]), the method comprising:
directing the solids-lean filtrate (wastewater is passed through a carbon column then contacted with an ion exchange resin, [0069]) from the filtration module through the ion exchange unit (ion exchange copper scavenging column 70, [0079], Fig. 3) to produce a treated aqueous solution having a lower copper concentration than the copper concentration of the aqueous waste stream (resin removes copper, [0079-0080]. Following ion exchange tests ([0132]), copper concentration in the effluent is lower than the copper concentration in the influent, see Table 3, [0142]).
Krulik teaches a backwash holding tank having an inlet fluidly connectable to a backwash outlet of the ultrafiltration unit (see flow from filter tanks 20 to the backflush tank 24, C6, L46-50, Fig. 1. Note that Krulik teaches that the method is also suitable for use with other types of standard filtration systems, such as ultrafiltration units, C8, L21-24);
a controller configured to cause the system to perform a method (C7, L65-67, system may be completely automated) comprising: directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank (backflush tank 24, C6, L46-50, Fig. 1. See flow from filter tanks 20 to the backflush tank 24, C6, L46-50, Fig. 1).
James teaches a settled solids outlet (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14, line 114) fluidly connectable to a purified water outlet of the ion exchange module (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14, line 108); settling the removed slurry solids in the holding tank (Fig. 1, C4/L1-4, sludge settles in tank 26);
directing the removed slurry solids out of the holding tank to the outlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1, C4/L1-14 and C6/L39-46, a treated stream in line 108, treated by ion-exchange 66 (Fig. 1, C6/L45-46) are added to line 118); and
combining the removed slurry solids with the treated aqueous solution at the outlet of the ion exchange unit (Fig. 1, C4/L4-8 and C6/L42-46, treated stream is carried with the settled sludge).
Salmen teaches a supernatant outlet fluidly connectable (Fig. 7, C12, L14-20, water is recycled through line 169) to the feed tank (Fig. 7, C12, L14-20, first tank 14).
Brummer also relates to a system for treating an aqueous waste stream from a copper chemical mechanical polishing process (abstract), the system comprising:
a backwash pump (Fig. 3, [0043], permeate pump 71) configured to direct filtrate directly from the filtrate holding tank (Fig. 1, [0043], permeate tank 30) through the ultrafiltration unit Fig. 1, [0043], ultrafilter device 20) and into the backwash holding tank (Fig. 1, [0043], circulation vessel 10).
solids-lean filtrate being supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank (Fig. 1, [0043], permeate tank) to the ultrafiltration module (Fig. 1, [0043], ultrafilter device 20).
Dungan teaches combining the removed slurry solids (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, concentrated solids portion 16) with the treated aqueous solution (Fig. 1, C6/L39-42, second stream 25 was treated by ion exchanger 20) to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment (C6/L42-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ion exchange resin of Filson and the method of Neuber to remove copper (Filson, [0080]) because copper ions in solution in the wastewater must be removed from the byproduct polishing slurry for acceptable wastewater disposal (Filson, [0012]). It would have been obvious for the controller of Neuber and Filson to perform directing the solids-lean filtrate used to backwash the ultrafiltration module and the removed slurry solids into a backwash holding tank, as demonstrated by Krulik, to completely automate the process (Krulik, C7, L65-67). It would have been obvious to fluidly connect a settled solids outlet of the backwash holding tank the combination of Neuber, Filson and Krulik to the purified water outlet of the ion exchange unit, as demonstrated by James, so the copper content decreases (James, C6/L51-55) to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45). It would have been obvious to direct supernatant from the backwash holding tank into the feed tank, as demonstrated by Salmen, in the method of the combination of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James and Dungan in order to perform further treatment (Salmen, C12, L18-20 and C12, L22-28). It would have been obvious for the solids-lean filtrate of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan and Salmen to be supplied directly from the filtrate holding tank to the ultrafiltration module and into the backwash holding tank, as demonstrated by Brummer, because both Neuber and Brummer involve treating water from a CMP process (Neuber, abstract and Brummer, [0042]). It would have been obvious to form a combined discharge stream heaving a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment; and discharging the combined discharge stream directly to the environment in the method of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan, Salmen and Brummer, as demonstrated by Dungan, to reduce the metal content of the solids to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 16: wherein the controller is further configured to cause the system to combine the removed retained solids with the treated aqueous solution (Dungan, C6/L39-50) to form a combined discharge stream having a copper concentration suitable for discharge into the environment (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the combination of Neuber, Filson, Krulik, James, Dungan, Salmen and Brummer to reduce the metal content of the solids to a sufficiently low level as to permit environmentally acceptable, direct, sludge-free discharge (Dungan, C6/L42-45)).
Claim 18-19: the controller is further configured to cause the system to adjust a pH of the aqueous waste stream in the feed tank (Filson, [0076], pH meter maintains pH of the wastewater), wherein the controller is further configured to cause the system to adjust the pH of the aqueous waste stream in the feed tank to a pH of about 3 (Filson, [0108]) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the pH of the aqueous waste stream to a pH of about 3, as demonstrated by Filson, to provide good copper uptake on the resin (Filson, [0108], [0178] and Table 10)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779