DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 3 and 4 that Enomoto only indicates 3D distance image sensors 1 that are installed separated by 120 degrees or 60 degrees, each of which would fail to directly face each of the side walls in a rectangular elevator shaft, which are separated by 90 degrees. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Enomoto fails to disclose "a plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors which are provided in the housing so as to directly face each of a plurality of side walls of a shaft of the elevator on a horizontal projection plane and which acquire 3D point group data," as recited by Claim 14. Similarly, Enomoto fails to disclose "a support to support the 3D data acquisition device in an upward facing state being a state where a measurement direction of the plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors directly faces each of the plurality of side walls of the shaft of the elevator on the horizontal projection plane," as recited by Claim 14.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In fact, Enomoto discloses 3D distance image sensors’ measurement pattern irradiated on the inner wall as pointed out on page 2, lines 1-10. Therefore, arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomoto WO 2016/199850 A1 (a part of IDS).
Regarding claim 14, Enomoto discloses
A 3D data acquisition system (fig. 1) for an elevator, comprising: a 3D data acquisition device including a housing that constitutes an outer shell (see annotated fig. below), and a plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors (item 1) which are provided in the housing so as to directly face each of a plurality of side walls of a shaft (fig. 4A, item 11) of the elevator on a horizontal projection plane and which acquire 3D point group data (page 3, lines 80-114, page 5, lines 196-205); and a support (circumferential region where item 1 sits) to support the 3D data acquisition device in an upward facing state (vertical) and a laterally facing state (horizontal) (page 2, lines 38-52), the upward facing state being a state where a measurement direction (fig. 4A shows direction to the walls) of the plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors directly faces each of the plurality of side walls of the shaft of the elevator on the horizontal projection plane, and the laterally facing state being a state where a measurement direction of one of the plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors directly faces a floor surface (fig. 4A shows the sensors on the floor surface of the hoistway or the shaft) of the shaft on a vertical projection plane (page 2, lines 1-69).
Regarding claim 15, Enomoto discloses
, wherein the support rotatably supports the 3D data acquisition device with a rotation axis as a vertical direction (page 9, lines 346-350).
Regarding claim 17, Enomoto discloses, comprising a terminal (the light receiving unit) which receives 3D point group data from the 3D data acquisition device (page 4, lines 124-129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomoto in a view of BARNEMAN et al. US 2009/0120734 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Enomoto does not disclose but BARNEMAN discloses, comprising a magnet which is provided on the support and which generates a magnetic force (a magnetic force is inherently generated by a magnet) [0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a magnet on the support as disclosed by BARNEMAN in Enomoto’s teachings to fix the support device (see BARNEMAN’s [0054]).
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 20-22 are allowed.
Upon further consideration and in a view of the limitation, the prior art does not explicitly teach or fairly suggest alone or in combination of subject matter of “a plurality of light-emitters. each of which is provided on the plurality of edges of the housing at a position outside of a measurement range of each of the plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors and which emit light toward the measurement range of each of the plurality of 3D distance imaging sensors so that obstacles do not enter an irradiation range.”
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896