DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 2/25/2026. Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are pending in the application and are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 20180356109 A1) in view of Mullen et al. (US 20210299318 A1) and Haruna et al. (US 20080128732 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nomura teaches an air sterilizer (abstract, Fig. 1, sterilizer 10a) comprising:
a frame of which air passes through an inside (Fig. 2, cylindrical casing 40a);
a first light source comprising an ultraviolet light emitting diode (para 0044, 0046, emitting portion 20a is an ultraviolet LED light source) configured to emit ultraviolet light having a predetermined divergence angle (para 0161, further embodiment of the emitting portion 20d causes ultraviolet ray to enter reflector at 72 degrees = predetermined divergence angle);
and a mirror surface configured to reflect the ultraviolet light and emit the ultraviolet light toward the air passing through the inside of the frame (para 0044, Figures 2-3, reflecting portion 30a reflects ultraviolet light towards air flow Da = understood to be),
wherein a thickness of the frame in a direction in which the air passes is smaller than a diameter of a circle tangent to an inner circumference of the frame (para 0043, diameter of cross section 12, which frame 40a is placed within, is 100 mm [10 cm]; para 0044, thickness of sterilizer 10a is 1 cm = thickness of frame is smaller than diameter of a circle tangent to inner circumference of frame), and
when the ultraviolet light emitted from the first light source is reflected by the mirror surface, the reflected light has a divergence angle or a convergence angle smaller than the divergence angle at least in a thickness direction of the frame (para 0055-0056, para 0151, Fig. 25, ultraviolet ray enters reflector at 72 degrees and is reflected at 18 degrees = divergence angle of incident ultraviolet light is larger than divergence angle of reflected light). Nomura also teaches an embodiment of the air sterilizer comprising two ultraviolet light emitting diodes (Fig. 22, 20c) oriented 45 degrees away from each other on the circumferential direction of the frame wherein the light emitted from the diodes is reflected by a plurality of mirror surfaces positioned between each of the first and second light source (Fig. 22, 30c is mirror surface between each light source, [0140]). Nomura also teaches the wherein each of the first and second light sources are disposed directly opposite of a respective one of the plurality of mirror surfaces across a center of the frame (Fig. 22) but does not teach a third light source comprising an ultraviolet light emitting diode (LED). One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with maximizing the amount of UV light the air is exposed to, motivating one to turn towards Mullen.
Mullen teaches a UV-C disinfection system for air comprising a reflective frame (Fig, 8, 810) with a trough (814) configured to receive a flexible circuit board with a plurality of UV-C LEDs, wherein the frame also comprises plurality of apertures configured to align with said UV-C LEDs [0111-113]. The device is configured to be used with a flexible circuit board [0122] such as an embodiment described in Fig.1, wherein three or more UV-C LEDs (124) are formed into a flexible circuit board (123) and equidistantly spaced (Fig. 1, 120, [0058-0060]). Mullen teaches the flexible circuit board to be capable of mating into trough (814) to allow the UV-C LEDs to get closer to a working surface (air) and increase the intensity of UV-C radiation and pathogen deactivation [0112] while the reflective frame allows for UV radiation provided by the LEDs to be reflected into the working area [0113].
Mullen is considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to decontamination devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Nomura with the third UV-C light source as taught by Mullen (Fig. 1, 120), to increase the amount of UV-C radiation provided to a cross section of air and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 (I)(A).
Accordingly, Modified Nomura teaches wherein each of the light sources are positioned such that no light source directly faces another light source (Mullen, Fig. 1, UV LEDs 124 are positioned such that none directly face each other in embodiment 120) wherein each light source is positioned to emit ultraviolet light towards an exterior of the frame (Nomrua, Fig. 3, light source 20a understood to emit some light towards the exterior of the frame) but does not teach wherein each light source is configured to reflect the ultraviolet light into the frame via a reflection case.
One having ordinary skill in the art would be concerned with optimizing the reflectance of UV light emitted by the LED, motivating one to turn towards Haruna. Haruna teaches a light emitting device (Fig. 1, 1) comprising an LED element (2) seated within a reflection case (3), wherein the reflection case has reflection walls (3b) configured to reflect light emitted from the element [0050].
Haruna and Modified Nomura are considered analogous to the claimed invention since both are drawn to lighting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultraviolet light emitting portion as taught by Modified Nomura (Nomura, Fig. 3, 20a) to include the reflection case as taught by Haruna to increase the reflectance of UV light emitted by the light source and optimize the directionality of the UV light towards the center of the frame and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1, wherein an optical axis of the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source intersects an axis of the frame (Nomura, para 0045, Figures 2-3, ultraviolet light intersects a cross section of airflow Da).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1, wherein an inner surface of the frame is the plurality of mirror surfaces, and a first mirror surface of the plurality of mirror surfaces comprises a concave surface having a curvature radius equal to a diameter of the inner circumference of the frame (Nomura, para 0044, Fig. 2-3, reflecting portion 30a = mirror surface = inner surface of the frame 40a which is understood to have a concave surface with a curvature radius equal to a diameter of the inner circumference of the frame).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1, wherein the frame has a cylindrical shape or a polygonal cylindrical shape (Nomura, Fig. 3, frame 40a is polygonal cylindrical).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1, wherein the ultraviolet LED emits ultraviolet rays having a wavelength of 200 nm to 300 nm (Nomura, para 0046, para 0098).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Nomura teaches an air conditioning apparatus comprising: the air sterilizer according to claim 1 (Nomura, para 0041, air conditioning apparatus 11a comprises air sterilizer 10a);
and a heat exchanger or a filter in an air conditioning duct (Nomura, Fig, 29, para 0194, further embodiment of the air conditioning apparatus 11f comprises a prefilter 51 and a heat exchanger 52),
wherein the air sterilizer is disposed on an upstream side of the heat exchanger or on a downstream side of the filter (Nomura, Fig. 29, the air sterilizer 10a is located downstream of the prefilter 51 and upstream of the heat exchanger 52).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Nomura teaches the air conditioning apparatus according to claim 9, wherein a plurality of the air sterilizers are disposed on a frame provided in the air conditioning duct in parallel with respect to an air flow (Nomura, para 0128, Figures 20-22, teaches an embodiment of the air conditioning apparatus 100c wherein two or more of air sterilizers [10c] may be mounted on a frame [40c] in an air conditioning duct, wherein the frame is parallel with respect to the air flowing through the duct which it is mounted).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Nomura teaches the air conditioning apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the heat exchanger or the filter is irradiated with some of ultraviolet rays emitted from the air sterilizer (Nomura, para 0194-1096, it is understood that some of the ultraviolet rays emitted from air sterilizer 10a may irradiate the heat exchanger or filter due to proximity).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Nomura teaches the air conditioning apparatus according to claim 9 further comprising: a blower configured to generate an air flow, wherein the frame of the air sterilizer is provided at a blower inlet of the blower (Nomura, para 0195, Fig. 29, ultraviolet sterilizer 10a comprises the frame 40a, and is positioned at the inlet of air sending device 15f = blower).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 20180356109) in view of Mullen et al. (US 20210299318 A1) and Haruna et al. (US 20080128732 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of McNulty (WO 2016016603 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein an opening portion is formed in the frame, the first light source is disposed in the opening portion such that an emission surface of the ultraviolet light is directed to an outside of the frame, and the plurality of mirror surfaces is disposed to face the emission surface.
McNulty teaches an apparatus for treating fluids [abstract] wherein the apparatus comprises an annular fluid chamber with a plurality of ultraviolet LEDs (Fig. 11, 12) configured to emit ultraviolet light into the fluid chamber (page 21, para 3, page 24, para 1). McNulty further teaches a frame (Fig. 6, 14) that supports the annular treatment chamber 16, wherein an opening is formed in the frame (Fig. 6, dashed lines indicate opening so light can enter transparent chamber 16), a ultraviolet light source 13 is disposed in the opening such that an emission surface is directed to an outside of the frame (emission surface on light 13 is directed outside of frame 14 towards transparent annular chamber 16), and a mirror surface (reflector 26) is disposed to face the emission surface (reflector 26 faces ultraviolet light diode and focuses light, page 21, lines 30-33; page 22, lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame as taught by Modified Nomura to include the opening and reflector assembly as taught by McNulty since McNulty teaches the reflector to focus the light emitted from a UV light source through the opening towards on a location distant from the reflector and towards the annular fluid chamber 16 (page 21, lines 30-33; page 22, lines 1-7) and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Nomura teaches the air sterilizer according to claim 1 but does not teach wherein a first mirror surface of the plurality of mirror surfaces includes a spherical surface or a paraboloidal surface.
McNulty further teaches a frame (Fig. 6, 14) that supports the annular treatment chamber 16, wherein an opening is formed in the frame (Fig. 6, dashed lines indicate opening so light can enter transparent chamber 16), a ultraviolet light source 13 is disposed in the opening such that an emission surface is directed to an outside of the frame (emission surface on light 13 is directed outside of frame 14 towards transparent annular chamber 16), and a parabolic mirror surface (reflector 26) to focus light towards the annular treatment chamber 16 (page 21, lines 30-33; page 22, lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mirror surface as taught by Modified Nomura to include the parabolic mirror surface as taught by McNulty because McNulty teaches the parabolic reflector to focus UV light on fluid passing through the treatment chamber (page 21, lines 30-33; page 22, lines 1-7) and this involves the combination of elements to yield a predictable result with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Response to Arguments
In the arguments presented on pages 6-8 of the amendment, filed 2/25/2026, the Applicant argues that neither Nomura nor Mullen teach wherein “each light source [is] positioned to emit ultraviolet light towards an exterior of the frame and to reflect the ultraviolet light into the frame via a reflection case” as the UV-C LEDs as taught by Mullen with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. However, a new rejection has been made in view of the art Haruna et al. (US 20080128732 A1). See rejection above.
In the arguments presented on pages 8-9 of the amendment, filed 2/25/2026, the Applicant argues that one having ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify the system of Nomura with the flexible circuit board containing a plurality of UV-C LEDs formed therein, as doing so would render the system of Nomura unsatisfactory for its intended purpose with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
This argument has been fully considered and is unpersuasive. The Examiner respectfully asserts that the intended goal of both the devices of Nomura and Mullen are to expose a fluid to be decontaminated to an optimal amount of ultraviolet light for sterilization. Therefore, modifications that would be predictable to one having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that do not deviate from the scope of this goal, such as adding the UV-C LEDS as taught by Mullen to the frame of Nomura to increase the intensity of UV radiation delivered to an air stream passing through the frame, would be obvious.
However, the rejection has been withdrawn and a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Nomura in view of the prior art Haruna et al. (US 20080128732 A1). See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758