Response After Restriction Requirement
This Office action is in response to the filing of 7/12/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, and 15-24 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, and 15-24 are rejected.
Claims 4, 6, 10, 14, and 25 are cancelled.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 15, and
24) in the reply filed on July 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Arguments filed July 12, 2026 have been fully considered and are respectfully
found persuasive and the Requirement for Restriction/Election has been withdrawn.
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Title is objected to for failure to be sufficiently descriptive.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the
presence of all possible minor errors. The applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality:
In line 8, “the control” should be --control--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12-13, and 16-23 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
as being anticipated by Pelssers et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20200239825; hereinafter “Pelssers”).
Regarding claim 1, Pelssers discloses a flexible actuator, comprising: a plurality of flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]) arranged in an array (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]); wherein each of the plurality of flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]) comprises: a driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”), and a flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42) located on (Fig. 9) a side (Fig. 9, side of electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) of the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”), the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is configured (Figs. 5/9) to provide a control signal (Fig. 9, control signal output by electrode arrangement driving 38 and received by 38 for deforming 66b) for the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42), and the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42) is configured (Fig. 9) to deform (Fig. 9, control signal output by electrode arrangement driving 38 and received by 38 deforms 38 thereby deforming 66b) under the control (Fig. 9) of the control signal (Fig. 9, control signal output by electrode arrangement driving 38 and received by 38 for deforming 66b).
Regarding claim 2, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 1, wherein the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42) comprises: a first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a) and a second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b) opposite (Fig. 9) to each other (Fig. 9), and a closed cavity (Fig. 9, 30) is formed between (Fig. 9) the first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a) and the second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b), and the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) comprises: a first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and a second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”); and each (Fig. 9) of the first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is on a side (Fig. 9, side of 66a) of the second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b) away from (Fig. 9) the first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a).
Regarding claim 3, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 2, wherein a first preset gap (Fig. 9; [0226] – gap between interdigitated electrodes) is between (Fig. 9; [0226]) the first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”), and both (Fig. 9; [0178]) the first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) are bent away from (Fig. 9; [0178]) the first flexible film Fig. 9, 66a), and a bending radian (Fig. 9, bending radian of first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”; [0178]) of the first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is the same (Fig. 9; [0178]) as a bending radian (Fig. 9, bending radian of second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) of the second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”).
Regarding claim 8, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 1, wherein the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: a third flexible film (Fig. 9, 42; [0100]; [0106]); and a material of the third flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a) comprises: a dielectric elastomer material (Fig. 9, 42; [0100]; [0106]); and the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) comprises: a third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrode driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and a fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrode driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”); and each of the third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrode driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrode driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is on a side (Fig. 9, side of 42) of the third flexible film (Fig. 9, 42).
Regarding claim 9, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 8, wherein a second preset gap (Fig. 9; [0226] – another gap between interdigitated electrodes) is between (Fig. 9) the third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrode driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrode driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”), and both (Fig. 9) the third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrode driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and the fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrode driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) are bent toward (Fig. 9) the third flexible film (Fig. 9, 42), and a bending radian (Fig. 9) of the third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrode driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is the same (Fig. 9) as a bending radian (Fig. 9) of the fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrode driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”).
Regarding claim 12, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 1, wherein the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: a fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]); and a material of the fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]) comprises: a thermal expansion material (Fig. 9, 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]); and the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) comprises: a fifth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fifth electrodes driving fifth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on a side (Fig. 9, side of 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]) of the fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]).
Regarding claim 13, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 12, wherein resistance (Fig. 9, resistance of fifth electrodes driving fifth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) of the fifth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fifth electrodes driving fifth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is greater (Fig. 9) than a preset value (Fig. 9), and the fifth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fifth electrodes driving fifth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) is bent toward (Fig. 9) the fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36; [0100]; [0106]; [0162]).
Regarding claim 16, Pelssers discloses a method for manufacturing a flexible actuator, comprising: forming (Fig. 9) a flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36); and forming (Fig. 9) a driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on a side (Fig. 9, side of 66a-b/42/36) of the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36), so as to form (Fig. 9) a plurality of flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]) arranged (Fig. 9) in an array (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]).
Regarding claim 17, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 16, wherein forming the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming (Fig. 9) a first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a); and attaching (Fig. 9) a second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b) to the first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a) to form a cavity (Fig. 9, 30).
Regarding claim 18, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 17, after attaching (Fig. 9) the second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b) to the first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a) to form the plurality of closed cavities (Fig. 9, arrangement of 30), further comprising: injecting (Fig. 9) a filler material (Fig. 9, 34) into the cavity (Fig. 9, 30) and sealing (Fig. 9, sealing by 66a-b/42) the cavity (Fig. 9, 30).
Regarding claim 19, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 17, wherein forming the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on the side (Fig. 9, side of 66a-b/42/36) of the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming a first driving electrode (Fig. 9, first electrode driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and a second driving electrode (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on a side (Fig. 9, side of 66b) of the second flexible film (Fig. 9, 66b) away from (Fig. 9) the first flexible film (Fig. 9, 66a).
Regarding claim 20, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 16, wherein forming the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming a third flexible film (Fig. 9, 36) by using a dielectric elastomer material ([0162]).
Regarding claim 21, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 20, wherein forming the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on the side (Fig. 9, side of 66a-b/42/36) of the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming a third driving electrode (Fig. 9, third electrodes driving third 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and a fourth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fourth electrodes driving fourth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on a side (Fig. 9, side of 42) of the third flexible film (Fig. 9, 36).
Regarding claim 22, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 16, wherein forming the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming a fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36) by using a thermal expansion material ([0162]).
Regarding claim 23, Pelssers discloses the method of claim 22, wherein forming the driving circuit layer (Fig. 9, electrode arrangement driving 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on the side (Fig. 9, side of 66a-b/42/36) of the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) comprises: forming a fifth driving electrode (Fig. 9, fifth electrodes driving fifth 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) on a side (Fig. 9, side of 36) of the fourth flexible film (Fig. 9, 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Pelssers in view of Pollack et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8147668; hereinafter “Pollack”).
Regarding claim 5, Pelssers teaches the flexible actuator of claim 2, wherein the flexible deformation layer (Fig. 9, 66a-b/42/36) further comprises: a filler material (Fig. 9, 34) in the closed cavity (Fig. 9, 30). Pelssers does not teach the filler material comprises: one or more of water, silicone oil and helium.
Pollack, however, does teach the filler material comprises: one or more of water, silicone oil ([Column 9, lines 38-39]) and helium.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Pelssers to include the fluid of Pollack because it would enable immiscibility thereby preventing mixing (Pollack [Column 9, lines 38-39]).
Regarding claim 7, Pelssers teaches the flexible actuator of claim 2, further comprising: wherein first driving electrodes (Fig. 9, first electrode arrangement driving first 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) and second driving electrodes (Fig. 9, second electrode driving second 38 via 50 in combination; [0226] – “driving electrode arrangement”) in a same row (Fig. 9) of flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]) are connected (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]) to a same first control signal line (Fig. 9, line connecting 50 and electrodes). Pelssers does not teach a plurality of first control signal lines and a plurality of second control signal lines arranged in an intersecting manner; and first driving electrodes in a same column are connected to a same second control signal line, and second driving electrodes in a same column are connected to a same second control signal line.
Pollack, however, does teach a plurality of first control signal lines (Fig. 20, first control signal lines) and a plurality of second control signal lines (Fig. 20, second control signal lines) arranged (Fig. 20) in an intersecting manner (Fig. 20); and first driving electrodes (Fig. 20, first electrodes in same column) in a same column (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same second control signal line (Fig. 20, second control signal line connected to first electrodes in same column), and second driving electrodes (Fig. 20, second electrodes in same column) in a same column (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same second control signal line (Fig. 20, second control signal line connected to first electrodes in same column).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Pelssers to include the intersecting control signal lines of Pollack because it would enable maximization of mixing ratio thereby optimizing in terms of trading off accuracy with time, improving resource usage when multiple mixers exist, decreasing total mixing operations, improving parallelism (Pollack [Column 31, lines 45-59]).
Regarding claim 11, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 8, further comprising: flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]). Pelssers does not teach a plurality of third control signal lines and a plurality of fourth control signal lines arranged in an intersecting manner; wherein third driving electrodes and fourth driving electrodes in a same row are connected to a same third control signal line, and third driving electrodes in a same column of flexible actuator units are connected to a same third control signal line, and fourth driving electrodes in a same column are connected to a same fourth control signal line.
Pollack, however, does teach a plurality of third control signal lines (Fig. 20, third control signal lines) and a plurality of fourth control signal lines (Fig. 20, fourth control signal lines) arranged (Fig. 20) in an intersecting manner (Fig. 20); wherein third driving electrodes (Fig. 20, third electrodes in same row) and fourth driving electrodes (Fig. 20, fourth electrodes in same row) in a same row (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same third control signal line (Fig. 20, third control signal line connected to third electrodes in same row), and third driving electrodes (Fig. 20, third electrodes in same column) in a same column (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same third control signal line (Fig. 20, third control signal line connected to third electrodes in same column), and fourth driving electrodes (Fig. 20, fourth electrodes in same column) in a same column (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same fourth control signal line (Fig. 20, fourth control signal line connected to fourth electrodes in same column).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Pelssers to include the intersecting control signal lines of Pollack because it would enable maximization of mixing ratio thereby optimizing in terms of trading off accuracy with time, improving resource usage when multiple mixers exist, decreasing total mixing operations, improving parallelism (Pollack [Column 31, lines 45-59]).
Regarding claim 15, Pelssers discloses the flexible actuator of claim 12, further comprising: flexible actuator units (Fig. 9; [0044]; [0124]). Pelssers does not teach a plurality of fifth control signal lines and a plurality of sixth control signal lines arranged in an intersecting manner; wherein fifth driving electrodes in a same row are connected to a same fifth control signal line, and fifth driving electrodes in a same column are connected to a same sixth control signal line.
Pollack, however, does teach a plurality of fifth control signal lines (Fig. 20, fifth control signal lines) and a plurality of sixth control signal lines (Fig. 20, sixth control signal lines) arranged (Fig. 20) in an intersecting manner (Fig. 20); wherein fifth driving electrodes (Fig. 20, fifth electrodes in same row) in a same row (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same fifth control signal line (Fig. 20, fifth control signal line connected to fifth electrodes in same row), and fifth driving electrodes (Fig. 20, fifth electrodes in same column) in a same column (Fig. 20) are connected (Fig. 20) to a same sixth control signal line (Fig. 20, sixth control signal line connected to fifth electrodes in same column).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Pelssers to include the intersecting control signal lines of Pollack because it would enable maximization of mixing ratio thereby optimizing in terms of trading off accuracy with time, improving resource usage when multiple mixers exist, decreasing total mixing operations, improving parallelism (Pollack [Column 31, lines 45-59]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Pelssers in view of Knopf et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190030714;
hereinafter “Knopf”).
Regarding claim 24, Pelssers teaches an electronic device ([0001]), comprising: the flexible actuator (Fig. 9) of claim 1. Pelssers does not teach a braille display or a flexible keyboard.
Knopf, however, does teach a braille display or a flexible keyboard ([0113]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Pelssers to include the features of Knopf because it would enable users to enter commands and information thereby improving user control (Knopf [0113]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
17 September 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837