DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 9-15 and 21-33 in the reply filed on 07/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process”, and “claim 16 is directed to a process, while claim 9 is directed to an apparatus for carrying out the process.” This is not found persuasive because Group II, claims 9-15, drawn to a system comprising a bone conduction device having a bone conduction actuator, and a vibration transfer surface, wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator to a point of contact within a pinna when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna.
Group III, claims 16-20, drawn to method comprising converting a sound signal to one or more control signals, and transmitting the one or more control signals to one or more actuators of a bone conduction device to cause the one or more actuators to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's concha via a vibration transfer surface, wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the one or more actuators to a point of contact within the concha when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna, wherein none of the control signals based on the sound signal are transmitted to an actuator configured to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's ear canal.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Where the claims of Group II are directed to a system comprising a bone conduction device having a bone conduction actuator and a vibration transfer surface, wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator to a point of contact within a pinna when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna; whereas the claims of Group III are directed to a method comprising converting a sound signal to one or more control signals, and transmitting the one or more control signals to one or more actuators of a bone conduction device to cause the one or more actuators to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's concha via a vibration transfer surface, wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the one or more actuators to a point of contact within the concha when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna, wherein none of the control signals based on the sound signal are transmitted to an actuator configured to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's ear canal;
Groups II and III lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. Group II claims different special technical features “a system comprising a bone conduction device having a bone conduction actuator and a vibration transfer surface, wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator to a point of contact within a pinna when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna”. Group III recites the special technical features “a method comprising converting a sound signal to one or more control signals; and transmitting the one or more control signals to one or more actuators of a bone conduction device to cause the one or more actuators to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's concha via a vibration transfer surface”, and “wherein none of the control signals based on the sound signal are transmitted to an actuator configured to deliver vibrations to a target location within a recipient's ear canal”. These special technical features of Group III are not found in the Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 15 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuo Tamura (JP 2004141996).
Regarding claim 9, Tamura teaches a system comprising a bone conduction device (figures 1, 2) having a bone conduction actuator (12), and a vibration transfer surface (13, figures 1, 2, 4), wherein the vibration transfer surface (13, see the abstract and the text for the support transmission 13) is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator (12) to a point of contact within a pinna (11) when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna (figures 1, 2; also see the abstract and the text for the figures).
Regarding claim 15, Tamura teaches the bone conduction device having a housing (15, figure 1 and see the text for the pinna or auricle contact ring 15) configured to be retained within the pinna by its fit within the pinna as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, Tamura teaches the bone conduction device (figures 1, 2) that lacks a component configured to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface (figure 1, note that the bone conduction device (12, 13) does not have a component to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface or an ear canal).
Claims 9, 13, 15 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whitwell et al. (US 2002/0039427).
Regarding claim 9, Whitwell et al. teaches a system comprising a bone conduction device (figures 1, 2-5, 6-8, 19a, 19b) having a bone conduction actuator and a vibration transfer surface (10, 14, 52, paragraphs [0005], [0007]-[0008], [0012]-[0013], [0024], [0067] and [0071]), wherein the vibration transfer surface (14, 52) is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator (14, 52) to a point of contact within a pinna (figures 1, 2-5, 6-8, 19a, 19b, paragraphs [0005], [0007]-[0008], [0012]-[0013], [0024], [0067] and [0071]) when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna (figures 1, 2, 4-5, 6-8, 19a, 19b, paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0012]-[0013], [0016], [0061]-[0064], [0067] and [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Whitwell et al. teaches the bone conduction device (10, 14, 30, 110) having a housing shaped to fit within the pinna (figures 1, 2, 4, 19b, paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0061]-[0064], and [0082]).
Regarding claim 15, Whitwell et al. teaches the bone conduction device (10, 14, 30, 110) having a housing (figures 1, 2, 4, 19b) configured to be retained within the pinna by its fit within the pinna as claimed (figures 1, 2, 4, 19b, and see paragraphs [0007]-[0008], [0062]-[0064], and [0082]).
Regarding claim 31, Whitwell et al. teaches the bone conduction device (figures 1, 2-5, 6-8, 19a, 19b) that lacks a component configured to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface (note that the bone conduction device in figures 1, 2-5, 6-8, 19a, 19b does not have a component to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface or an ear canal).
Claims 9 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azima et al. (US 2007/0025574).
Regarding claim 9, Azima et al. teaches a system comprising a bone conduction device (30, figures 1, 2, 3) having a bone conduction actuator (44) and a vibration transfer surface (42, 44, 46, paragraphs [0006], [0012], [0028] and [0044]-[0045]), wherein the vibration transfer surface (42, 44, 46, paragraphs [0006], [0012], [0028] and [0044]-[0045]) is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator (44) to a point of contact within a pinna (paragraphs [0012], [0023], [0028] and [0044]-[0045]) when the bone conduction device is worn at least partially within the pinna (figure 1 and paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 31, Azima et al. teaches the bone conduction device (30, figures 1, 2, 3) that lacks a component configured to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface (note that the bone conduction device in figures 1, 2, 3 does not have a component to deliver vibrations directly to a non-pinnal surface or an ear canal).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Petersen et al. (US 2019/0239006).
Regarding claim 9, Petersen et al. teaches a system comprising a bone conduction device (figures 2, 3) having a bone conduction actuator (9, paragraph [0083]), and a vibration transfer surface (9, 15a in figures 2, 3, 4), wherein the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations from the bone conduction actuator to a point of contact within a pinna (11, paragraphs [0015]-[0018], [0058] and [0066]-[0067]) when the bone conduction device (figure 3, paragraph [0076]) is worn at least partially within the pinna (figure 3),
Regarding claim 14, Petersen et al. teaches the bone conduction device comprising a projection (tube 15b and/or RITE speaker) configured to be inserted into an ear canal and retain the bone conduction device when the bone conduction device is worn (figure 3, paragraph [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US 2019/0239006).
Regarding claim 10, Petersen et al. teaches the system comprising a sound source, a sound processor configured to cause the bone conduction actuator to vibrate based on sound signal obtained from the sound source (paragraphs [0061] and [0080]).
Petersen does not specifically disclose that the system comprises a power source. However, it is well known in the art to provide a power source in a hearing aid system for an operation of the system and/or providing power to the components in the hearing aid system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a power source in the system of Peterson configured to operationally power one or more components of the system for an operation of the system.
Claim 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima et al. (US 2007/0025574).
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Azima et al. teaches the vibration transfer surface that is configured to conduct vibrations to a surface of a pinna ([0012], [0013], [0023], [0028] and [0044]-[0045]). Azima et al. does not specifically disclose that the vibration transfer surface is configured to conduct vibrations to a surface of a cymba and/or cavum of a concha. However, Azima does show that the transducer or the vibration transfer surface (42, 44, 46) can be coupled to a rear face of a user’s pinna adjacent to a user’s concha (figure 1, paragraph [0013]).
Since Azima does not restrict to any location of the transducer or the vibration transfer surface (42 44, 46) on the pinna (paragraph [0056]); it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide any location for the transducer or the vibration transfer surface of the transducer on the pinna adjacent to the user’s concha such as providing the vibration transfer surface being configured to conduct vibrations to a surface of a cymba or cavum of the concha for providing an optimal location of the transducer or the vibration transfer surface and providing better acoustic response in the system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitwell et al. (US 2002/0039427) in view of Good et al. (US 2018/0084349) and/or Petersen et al. (US 2019/0239006).
Whitwell et al. teaches the system comprising a sound source (122) and a power source (134). Whitwell et al. does not specifically disclose the system comprising a sound processor as claimed. However, providing a sound processor for processing the signals in a system of a hearing aid is known in the art.
Good et al. and/or Petersen et al. teaches the system comprising a sound processor configured to cause the bone conduction actuator to vibrate based on sound signal obtained from the sound source (paragraph [0021] in Good et al.; and paragraphs [0061] and [0080] in Petersen et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a sound processor, as taught by Good et al. and/or Petersen et al. in the system of Whitwell et al. configured to cause the bone conduction actuator to vibrate based on sound signal obtained from the sound source for better processing the sound signals in the system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitwell et al. (US 2002/0039427) in view of Good et al. (US 2018/0084349) and/or Petersen et al. (US 2019/0239006) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Feeley et al. (US 7,139,404) or Von Dombrowski et al. (US 2011/0091060).
Whitwell et al. teaches a cable (21, 58) coupling the bone conduction device to a remote sound source. Whitwell in view of Good et al. and/or Petersen et al. does not specifically teach the cable coupled to a behind-the-ear device that is configured to be worn behind an ear as claimed.
However, providing a cable coupling a transducer or a bone conduction device to a behind the ear device comprising sound source or sound processor or power source is known in the art.
Feeley et al. or Von Dombrowski et al. teaches a behind-the-ear device configured to be worn behind an ear and comprising one or more of the sound source, the sound processor and the power source (figure 1, 6A, 6B, 9 in Feeley; and figures 12, 13 in Von Dombrowski et al.) and a cable (20, 21, 22 in Feeley; and 110 in Von Dombrowski et al.) coupling the behind-the-ear device (30 in Feeley; and 101 in Von Dombrowski et al.) to a transducer (13, figures 1, 9 in Feeley; and 5 in figures 12, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a behind-the-ear housing and a cable coupling a transducer or a bone conduction device to the behind the ear device comprising sound source or sound processor or power source, as taught by Feeley et al. or Von Dombrowski et al. for greater application and better providing an external sound source to the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 21-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
East et al. (US 8,842,870) teaches an audio apparatus comprising a housing and a piezoelectric transducer mounted in the housing so that the transducer is adjacent a user’s pinna whereby the transducer excites the vibration in the pinna to cause it to transmit an acoustic signal from the transducer to a user’ inner ear.
Lin et al. (US 2018/0167712) teaches an earphone including a housing a first speaker and an audio outlet, wherein the housing includes an insertion end and a main body, wherein the insertion end is into the entrance of a user’s ear when worn by the user, and the main body extends from the insertion end and defines an auricle contact surface and an external connecting surface opposite to the auricle contact surface.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
January 6, 2026