DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Previous product claim elections are noted to include a guanide compound as the biocide and polyglyceryl-10 caprylate/caprate as the polyglycerol ester.
Claim 2 has been canceled; it is noted its subject matter is newly presented in combination with amended scope of claim 1, and the new combination of features is addressed below as necessitated by amendment. Claims 3-8, 11, 12, 15, and 16 remain withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1, 9, 10, 13, and 14 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/10/25 and 12/10/25 have been considered by the examiner inasmuch as documents listed therein have been submitted into the file wrapper with an English translation where it is a foreign language document cited.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/10/2025 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
Applicant has deleted claim language from claim 1 and has modified the scope of claim 1, both structurally by the addition of a component formerly examined under the now-canceled claim 2 and functionally by the removal of previously claimed product features and/or properties and/or effects. New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are presented below to address this new combination of elements. Applicant’s argument that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 should be withdrawn are persuasive in view of the language of claim 1 which has been removed by amendment.
Applicant requests rejoinder of previously withdrawn claims, however no claim is eligible for rejoinder at this time since no claim is in condition for allowance.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments filed 11/10/25
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019/178043A1 (hereafter, “Pambou”; newly cited).
The claims are drawn to a composition comprising (i) a biocidal agent and (ii) a polyglycerol ester in a ratio further specified in the claims. Instantly elected, the biocidal agent is a guanide.
Pambou teaches antiperspirant/deodorant compositions in various disclosed formulation forms (see abstract, in particular). The formulations may comprise a preservative in an amount of 0.01 to about 10% w/w, or 0.1 to about 7% w/w (see [0077]), and the preservative may be chlorhexidine for instance (see [0075])(limitation of claims 9 and 10). Chlorhexidine is noted specifically to be a guanide and more specifically a biguanide. Polyglyceryl-10 oleate may be included for instance in an amount of 0.60% w/w as exemplified in Example 5 (see [0099] and [0100])(limitation of claims 13 and 14). More specifically, Pambou teaches Example 6 which is a formulation for various antiperspirants wherein polyglyceryl-10 dipalmitate is included in an amount of 4% in Example 6A and in the same example where a gluconolactone/sodium benzoate/ calcium gluconate component is included in a w/w% amount of 1.00% (see [0103]). Accordingly, Example 6A teaches a preservative component embodied which Pambou teaches as functionally equivalent to the preservative which is chlorhexidine (a guanide) (see [0075] and [0076]).
Because Pambou does not teach a single embodiment including the instantly elected components, this rejection is made using obviousness rationale. Pambou’s Example 6A teaches a weight ratio range of polyglycerol ester to biocidal agent disclosed to be functionally equivalent to the instantly elected guanide to be 4:1, a value within the instantly claimed range. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute one of Pambou’s preservatives for another in Pambou’s Example 6A for instance, with a reasonable expectation of success since Pambou teaches both of these components to function as preservatives alike. Further, one would have been motivated to perform routine optimization procedures as to the optimization of amounts of preservatives including those within the parameters of Pambou’s suggestions as noted above, based on routine inquiry in the art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617