DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 10/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0059347), herein after Lee.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al. (US 2015/0270589), herein after Ejiri and Lee (US 2011/0059347).
Regarding claim 1, Ejiri discloses a secondary battery charging and discharging system comprising:
a tray (The battery block 1 further includes a pair of end plates 5 to hold the battery, paragraph [0026]) configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells (A battery block according to the present invention that solves the problems includes a plurality of arranged battery cells; paragraph [0007]); an insulation pad (spacer pad 38, paragraph [0035])disposed in the tray, the insulation pad being disposable between the tray and an outermost battery cell among the plurality of battery cells so as to be contactable with one surface of the outermost battery cell (second spacers respectively disposed between the battery cells and each end plate and having a thermal insulating property for suppressing heat transmission between the battery cells and each end plate, paragraph [0007]),
a charging and discharging part configured to be electrically connected to first and second electrode leads of the plurality of battery cells accommodated in the tray (The plurality of battery cells 2 is disposed with positive electrode external terminals 2a and negative electrode external terminals 2b being alternately continuous along the arranged direction, paragraph [0027]); and
a cooler configured to cool the plurality of battery cells accommodated in the tray (a plurality of first spacers respectively disposed between the plurality of battery cells and having a space allowing a flow of cooling gas, paragraph [0007]). However, Ejiri is silent about heat sink pads disposed in the tray, the heat sink pads being arranged to separate adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells.
Lee discloses heat sink pads (thermally interface material 550 in heat dissipation member 500, fig. 10) disposed in the tray , the heat sink pads being arranged to separate adjacent battery cells of the plurality of battery cells (the heat dissipation member 500 (include thermally interface material 550) disposed between the Cartridges 200 (paragraph [0103]) where the Cartridges include one or more battery cells, paragraph [0008]Note: a thermal interface material (TIM) is also known as a heat sink pad).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to have the sink pads between the battery cells as taught by Lee, in order to improve thermal management by efficiently moving heat away, preventing dangerous hotspots, ensuring uniform cell temperatures for stable performance, extending battery life, and reducing stress that causes failures, all by filling air gaps for better conduction to a cooling system.
Regarding claim 4, Ejiri further discloses wherein the insulation pad is configured to be in contact with 80% or more of an area of the one surface of the outermost battery cell (the insulator 3B cover more than 80% of the battery cell 2, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. However Ejiri is silent over the system wherein the heat sink pads are disposed such that three to ten battery cells of the plurality of battery cells are interposable therebetween.
Lee discloses wherein the heat sink pads are disposed such that three to ten battery cells of the plurality of battery cells are interposable therebetween (the thermal interface material along with the heat dissipation member 500 disposed between the each cartridge, where each Cartridge can have more than one cells (paragraph [0103], [0008])).
Regarding claim 9, Ejiri further discloses wherein the plurality of battery cells accommodated in the tray are vertically arranged (battery cells 2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Ejiri further discloses a temperature control method of a secondary battery charging and discharging system that uses the secondary battery charging and discharging system of claim 1 (Abstract and see the rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al. (US 2015/0270589), and Lee (US 2011/0059347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2010/0021810), herein after Zhu.
Regarding claim 2, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Although Ejiri does disclose the insulating plate is made of foam material, however, they are silent about the insulating plate is made of more specifically at least one material of nitrile butadiene rubber, natural rubber, fluorine rubber, high-cis polybutadiene rubber (HBR), styrene butadiene rubber, chloroprene rubber, ethylene propylene rubber (ethylene propylene terpolymers (EPDM)), or silicone rubber.
Zhu discloses the insulating plate is made of more specifically at least one material of nitrile butadiene rubber, natural rubber, fluorine rubber, high-cis polybutadiene rubber (HBR), styrene butadiene rubber, chloroprene rubber, ethylene propylene rubber (ethylene propylene terpolymers (EPDM)), or silicone rubber (the insulating layer may be formed from a plastic (e.g., PFA, PES, modified PP, or the like), rubber (e.g., EPDM, styrene-butadiene rubber, or the like), resin (epoxy resin, phenolic aldehyde modified epoxy resin, phenolic modified epoxy resin, or the like), paragraph [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to have an insulating plate made of rubber material as taught by Zhu, in order to have thermal stability in battery storage module.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al. (US 2015/0270589), and Lee (US 2011/0059347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2022/0216459), herein after Chae.
Regarding claim 3, Ejiri discloses the system of claim 1. However Ejiri is silent about the thickness of insulating plate.
Chae discloses an average thickness of the insulation pad ranges from 1 mm to 20 mm (insulating plate (thickness: 5 mm), paragraph [0146]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to have an insulating plate from 1mm to 20mm in thickness since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would provide a desired balance between size and thermal resistance.
Claim(s) 6-8, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al. (US 2015/0270589), and Lee (US 2011/0059347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Malcolm et al. (US 2015/0037626), herein after Malcolm.
Regarding claim 6, Ejiri in view Lee discloses the system of claim 1. Although Ejiri discloses the cooler system of the battery, however, they are silent over wherein the cooler includes: a blowing fan located above the tray; and n perforated plates located on a blowing path from the blowing fan, where n is an integer greater than or equal to two, and the perforated plates define a stacked structure.
Malcolm discloses wherein the cooler includes: a blowing fan located above the tray; and n perforated plates located on a blowing path from the blowing fan, where n is an integer greater than or equal to two, and the perforated plates define a stacked structure (The forced cooling vents 356 may allow an external cooling feature (e.g., fan) to pass a flow of coolant, such as air, into the battery module 22 so that the coolant may flow through the thermal interfaces 352 between the battery cells 116, paragraph [0191], fig. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include a fan as a cooler as taught by Malcom, in order to enhance the temperature control of the battery module.
Regarding claim 7, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. However, they silent over a sensor configured to measure an inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system.
Malcolm discloses a sensor configured to measure an inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system (the number of cables 74 has the temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the battery module, fig. 6, paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include a temperature sensor as taught by Malcolm, in order to improve the functionality of the battery module (paragraph [0152]).
Regarding claim 8, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. However, they are silent over the system further comprising a controller configured to: receive the inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system measured by the sensor; and control driving of the cooler.
Malcolm discloses a controller configured to: receive the inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system measured by the sensor; and control driving of the cooler (the cables 74 may communicatively couple the BCM 72 of the battery module 22 to the VCM 36 of an xEV 10 such that the two control modules may work in tandem to, for example, regulate power usage in the vehicle 10, regulate power output of the battery module 22, regulate the temperature of the battery module 22, or other suitable control activities with respect to the battery module 22, paragraph [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include a controller to control the temperature of the battery as taught by Malcolm, in order to enhance the temperature control of the battery module.
Regarding claim 10, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. However, they are silent over wherein the tray has a structure in which a side surface is open, and wherein the cooler includes a sub blowing fan configured to blow cooled air from a side surface of the tray to the plurality of battery cells.
Malcolm discloses wherein the tray has a structure in which a side surface is open (fig. 20 the one side is open), and wherein the cooler includes a sub blowing fan configured to blow cooled air from a side surface of the tray to the plurality of battery cells (The forced cooling vents 356 may allow an external cooling feature (e.g., fan) to pass a flow of coolant, such as air, into the battery module 22 so that the coolant may flow through the thermal interfaces 352 between the battery cells 116, paragraph [0191])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include fan as a cooler as taught by Malcom, in order to enhance the temperature control of the battery module.
Regarding claim 12, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 11. However, they are silent over the system further comprising charging and discharging a battery cell accommodated in the tray, wherein the charging and discharging of the battery cell includes: measuring an inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system; and controlling, by a controller, the cooler according to the measured inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system.
Malcom discloses charging and discharging a battery cell accommodated in the housing, wherein the charging and discharging of the battery cell includes: measuring an inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system; and controlling, by a controller, the cooler according to the measured inner temperature of the secondary battery charging and discharging system (paragraph [0126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include a temperature sensor as taught by Malcolm, in order to enhance the temperature control of the battery module.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ejiri et al. (US 2015/0270589), and Lee (US 2011/0059347) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seimiya et al. (US 2015/0217659), herein after Seimiya.
Regarding claim 13, Ejiri in view of Lee discloses the system of claim 1. However, they are silent over wherein the cooler includes: a blowing fan located above the tray; and a sub blowing fan configured to blow cooled air from a side surface of the tray to the plurality of battery cells.
Seimiya discloses wherein the cooler includes: a blowing fan located above the tray; and a sub blowing fan configured to blow cooled air from a side surface of the tray to the plurality of battery cells (plurality of the fans 31 are disposed on upper and lower surface of the case to cool the battery in the case, fig. 8, paragraph [0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Ejiri’s system to include a plurality of fans along multiple surface of the battery module as taught by Seimiya, in order to cool down the battery efficiently (paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859