DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on 10/6/25. In particular, claim 1 has been amended to limit the bromination and the amount of brominating agent.
The newly introduced limitations and/or the new claims were not present at the time of the preceding action. For this reason, the present action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, the lower limit of the bromination is from 47%, however claim 1 has been amended to recite that the bromination is at least 50%. Thus, claim 2 extends the scope of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106065038 (herein Bao).
In setting forth the instant rejection, a machine translation has been relied upon.
As to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 14 Bao discloses a method (and brominated copolymers thereof) of brominating a polymer of styrene/butadiene/isoprene in a mass ratio of 30/5/65, thus 30 wt% styrenic monomer and 70 wt% conjugated diene (butadiene and isoprene) monomer. The weight average molecular weight was 95,000 g/mol (9.5*104). The amount of brominating gent was about 0.73 (deduced from mol% per isoprene unit of 0.8) and 63.4% of non aromatic double bonds were brominated (deduced from the brominating of butadiene of 7.3% and isoprene of 68.9%). See specifically example 4 of Bao. Also see generally paragraph 12-25 of the broader specification. The polymers are taught as flame retardants. See paragraph 2 and examples.
As to claims 9-10, the polymer is a block copolymer of blocks of polybutadiene and blocks of styrene. See abstract, paragraph 12 and examples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106065038 (herein Bao) in view of US 8,202,945 (herein Vogel).
The discussion with respect to Bao set-forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to claims 11-12, Bao is silent on a styrene butadiene styrene triblock copolymer and the claimed 1,2 butadiene content. However, Bao discloses that the method of bromination is suitable for application for producing flame retardants in similar polymers and discloses that controlling the amount of bromination and diene monomers (butadiene and isoprene) allows for excellent thermal stability, good compatibility, as well as good processing performance. See paragraph 56 and examples.
Vogel discloses similar polymers for use as flame retardants and methods of brominating them. See abstract and examples. Vogel discloses that the polymer is a triblock copolymers of styrene diene (e.g. butadiene and/or isoprene) styrene are suitable polymers to brominate. See col. 4, lines 33-48 and examples. Further, the 1,2-butadiene units are 81% (see example 8)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the method of Bao to apply the teachings to other polymers taught as suitable for flame retardants such as the styrene butadiene styrene triblock copolymers with 81% 1,2 butadiene content of Vogel because they are also taught to have excellent thermal stability. See abstract of Vogel.
As to claim 13, Bao is silent on the claimed brominating agents.
Vogel teaches that the brominating agents may be phenyltrialkylammonium tribromide, which are advantageous because they are less expensive. See col. 5, lines 35-65.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the method of Bao with the phenyltrialkylammonium tribromide brominating agent of Vogel because Vogel teaches that they are suitable replacement agents that may reduce cost and allow better control. See col. 5, lines 35-65, col. 3, lines 9-37 and examples.
As to claim 15, Bao is silent on the domains.
Vogel teaches that the brominated copolymers useful as flame retardants form domains of 5 microns or less, which allows for good dispersibility and blendability in blends. See paragraph bridging col. 10 to col. 11.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the method of Bao with forming polymers with domains less than 5 microns as suggested by Vogel because one would want to form blends with good dispersibility and blendability taught as suitable.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,202,945 (herein Vogel).
As to claims 1-2 and 4-14, Vogel discloses a method of producing a brominated copolymer flame retardant. See abstract and examples. Vogel discloses that the polymer is a triblock copolymers of styrene diene (e.g. butadiene and/or isoprene) styrene are suitable polymers to brominate. See col. 4, lines 33-48 and examples. Further, the 1,2-butadiene units are 81% (see example 8). Vogel discloses that the weight average molecular weight is at least 1000 g/mol and exemplified at about 130,000 g/mol. See col. 2, lines 35-50 and last paragraph in col. 4. Vogel discloses that the styrenic blocks are 10 to 95% and the butadiene are taught as 5 to 90% (see paragraph bridging col. 2-3), which are exemplified at 40 wt% styrene and 60 wt% butadiene. The brominating agent is taught in amounts of 0.5 to about 5 moles per mole of butadiene unit and exemplified at about 0.98. See col. 6, lines 5-15. Vogel teaches that the brominating agents may be phenyltrialkylammonium tribromide, which are advantageous because they are less expensive. See col. 5, lines 35-65.
The bromination of occurs at least 50% per butadiene units. See col. 6, lines 22-45. The amount can be easily adjusted by the time of the reaction. Thus, the difference between Vogel and the claimed invention is that at least 50% overlaps the claimed range of 50 to 65%. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). Also see MPEP 2144.05 stating that when there is overlap with the claimed ranges and the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any amount within the disclosed ranges, including amounts within the scope of the instant claims.
As to claim 15, Vogel teaches that the brominated copolymers useful as flame retardants form domains of 5 microns or less, which allows for good dispersibility and blendability in blends. See paragraph bridging col. 10 to col. 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764