DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1 and 2, drawn to a multifunctional fiber.
Group ii, claim(s) 3-7, drawn to a preparation method for a multifunctional fiber.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a fiber having the recited functions using polyethylene terephthalate or polycaprolactam, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of CN 103147164 A, which teaches a PET fiber containing antibacterial and flame retardant composite material, with tourmaline which has infrared radiating characteristics.
During a telephone conversation with Xiyan Zhang on 19 March 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1 and 2. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 3-7 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprising” in line 3 should be “comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the term “and accounting for 88-90% by weight” at the end of claim 1 is unclear as to whether it applies to the polycaprolactam high polymer only, or to both the polycaprolactone high polymer or polyethylene terephthalate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103147164 A (“Shen”) in view of US 2004/0026818 (“Klein”).
A partial machine translation of CN 103147164 A is enclosed.
As to claim 1, Shen teaches a fiber that has antibacterial and flame retardant character (abstract). Certain embodiments teach the use of functional agglomerate that is antibacterial and flame retardant with tourmaline and terylene (polyethylene terephthalate) (translation, p. 15, embodiments 25-27). Shen teaches the tourmaline has infrared emission (translation, p. 9), and thus can be considered to have the full spectrum infrared radiation characteristic.
Shen does not discuss the relative proportion of polyethylene terephthalate and composite masterbatch. However, since the claim is directed to a mixed composition of masterbatch and polyethylene terephthalate, and the composition of the composite masterbatch is not defined, the amounts taught by Shen are deemed equivalent to a composition having the recited amount of PET and composite masterbatch.
Shen does not discuss the water content of the polyethylene terephthalate or composite masterbatch. However, it is known that polyethylene terephthalate for spinning fiber is dried to contents of 100 ppm, preferably 50 ppm or less, as known from Klein, para. 0060, which substantially overlaps the recited range for the composite masterbatch and polyethylene terephthalate. While Klein does not suggest a distinction between the PET and a masterbatch made with, since the masterbatch and polyethylene terephthalate are mixed to form fibers, a composition having under 50 ppm or less of water is deemed to be equivalent to one made from the composite masterbatch and polyethylene terephthalate having the recited water content. It would be an obvious modification to dry the composition of Shen to water content below 50 ppm, including amounts equivalent to recited amounts of moisture in composite masterbatch and polyethylene terephthalate, as Klein teaches such amounts are suitable for spinning fibers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach or suggest a composition with the masterbatch having the recited proportions of the listed components of claim 2.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764