DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 13 are amended and claim 18 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the guiding member" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the guiding member" will be interpreted as “the at least one guiding member” as described in claim 1.
Claims 2-4 and 6-18 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP HO7275185 A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses in at least figures 1-5, Sterile cover (sheath device 2 fig.
1) for a medical imaging device (endoscope 1 fig. 1), comprising:
a frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 1) configured to cover an imaging front side (distal end 25 fig.
1) of the medical imaging device (endoscope 1 fig. 1),
wherein a side (rear surface paragraph [0022] of translation) configured to face the imaging
front side (the tip cover 32 has a rear surface with protrusions 37 fig. 4 paragraph [0022] of translation)
which faces distal end 25 fig. 2) of the medical device (endoscope 1 fig. 1) is a facing side (rear surface
paragraph [0022] of translation) of the frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 3b),
and at least one transparent cover portion (window 33 fig. 3b is transparent paragraph [0028])
within the frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 1) arranged to allow at least imaging by the medical imaging
device (the endoscope 1 also incorporates an observation image transmitting optical system that
transmits an image of the observation field formed by the objective lens of the observation window the
image transmitted through the transmission optical system can be observed through the eyepiece 3
paragraph [0018]] of translation) when the frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 1) is attached to the medical
imaging device (endoscope 1 fig. 1),
wherein the frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 5) comprises at least two attachment portions
(protrusions 37 fig. 5) configured to provide a positive-fit connection (the tip cover member 32 is
connected to the plurality of notched recesses 38 corresponding to the projections 37 that fit together
paragraph [0024] of translation) with corresponding attachment portions (notched recesses 38 fig. 5) of
the medical imaging device (notched recesses 38 are part of sheath insertion portion 12 of endoscope 1
fig. 1).
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein at least one of:
(a)the at least two attachment portions, and
(b) at least one guiding member protruding from the facing side of the frame member and configured to be received by a recess on the imaging front side of the medical imaging device in a direction in which the guiding member protrudes from the facing side of the frame member,
is positioned such that the sterile cover is attachable to the medical imaging device in only one positional relationship.
However Labhastwar discloses in at least figure 10A, wherein at least one of:
(a)the at least two attachment portions (not required by claim), and
(b) at least one guiding member (spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 fig. 10A) protruding from (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 protrude from the facing side as shown below in fig. 10A) the facing side (facing side as shown below in fig. 10A) of the frame member (upper shroud 752 fig. 10A) and configured to be received (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 are received by the curved slots 775 and the hooked grooves 772 fig. 10A) by a recess (curved slots 775 and hooked grooves 772 fig. 10A) on the imaging front side (front side as shown below in fig. 10A) of the medical imaging device (lower shroud 754 fig. 10A, medical imaging device taught above by Kobayashi) in a direction (y direction as shown below in fig. 10A) in which the guiding member (spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 fig. 10A) protrudes from (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 protrude from the facing side in the y direction as shown below in fig. 10A) the facing side (facing side as shown below in fig. 10A) of the frame member (shroud assembly 750 fig. 10A),
is positioned such that (spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 are arranged between the upper shroud 752 and the lower shroud 754 fig. 10A) the sterile cover (upper shroud 752 fig. 10A, sterile cover taught above by Kobayashi) is attachable to the medical imaging device (lower shroud 754 fig. 10A, medical imaging device taught above by Kobayashi) in only one positional relationship (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 are arranged such that there is only one positional relationship fig. 10A).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a one positional relationship as taught by Labhasetwar in the of endoscope of
Kobayashi. The mechanical interlocks 760 that form the secure couplings between the upper and lower shroud 752, 754 can cause sufficient stiffness between the upper and lower shrouds 752, 754 such that the space 759 formed between the upper and lower shrouds 752, 754 can not deform, such as when a load is applied to either the jaws or the shroud assembly 750 (paragraph [0076])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1 and Kobayashi further discloses, wherein the at least two attachment portions (protrusions 37
fig. 5) are provided on two opposing positions (notched recesses 38 fig.5) on the facing side (rear surface
paragraph [0022] of translation) of the frame member (tip cover 32 fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the at least one guiding member comprises a first guiding member having a first protruding length and a second guiding member having a second protruding length different from the first protruding length, the first and second guiding members being configured to be received in respective first and second recesses of correspondingly different depths on the imaging front side of the medical imaging device, such that the sterile cover is attachable to the medical imaging device in only said one positional relationship.
However Labhasetwar further discloses, wherein the at least one guiding member (spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 fig. 10A) comprises a first guiding member (spring flanges 770 fig. 10A) having a first protruding length (the spring flanges 770 have L1 as shown below in fig. 10A) and a second guiding member (hook features 774 fig. 10A) having a second protruding length (the hook features 774 have L2 as shown below in fig. 10A) different from the first protruding length (L1 and L2 are different as shown below in fig. 10A), the first and second guiding members (spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 fig. 10A) being configured to be received (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 are received by the curved slots 775 and the hooked grooves 772 fig. 10A) in respective first and second recesses (curved slots 775 and hooked grooves 772 fig. 10A) of correspondingly different depths (curved slots 775 have D2 and hooked grooves 772 have D1 as shown below in fig. 10A) on the imaging front side front side as shown below in fig. 10A) of the medical imaging device (lower shroud 754 fig. 10A, medical imaging device taught above by Kobayashi), such that the sterile cover upper shroud 752 fig. 10A, sterile cover taught above by Kobayashi) is attachable to the medical imaging device (lower shroud 754 fig. 10A, medical imaging device taught above by Kobayashi) in only one positional relationship (the spring flanges 770 and hook features 774 are arranged such that there is only one positional relationship fig. 10A).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use a one positional relationship as taught by Labhasetwar in the of endoscope of
Kobayashi. The mechanical interlocks 760 that form the secure couplings between the upper and lower shroud 752, 754 can cause sufficient stiffness between the upper and lower shrouds 752, 754 such that the space 759 formed between the upper and lower shrouds 752, 754 can not deform, such as when a load is applied to either the jaws or the shroud assembly 750 (paragraph [0076])
Claims 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP
HO7275185 A) in view of in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Jetton (US 20180266168).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the at least two attachment portions are configured as
resilient snap-fit members.
However Jetton discloses in at least figure 6, wherein the at least two attachment portions (locking members 51 and 52 from the cover 2 and locking members 34 and 36 from the threshold 4 fig. 6) are configured as resilient snap-fit members (the connection shown in fig. 6 is the resilient snap-fit
connection between the cover 2 and the threshold 4 paragraph [0006] using the locking members 34
and 36 and/or the locking members 51 and 52 which resiliently return towards the undeformed state
after the flanges 55 on the skirt 50 snap over the flanges 44 paragraph [0039]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the snap fit members as taught by Jetton on the medical imaging
device of Kobayashi. A positive interlock is formed which prevents any relative movement between the
cover and the threshold paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein a ratio of a protruding length of the at least one guiding
member and a protruding length for engagement of the resilient snap-fit members protruding from the
facing side of the frame member to the respective ends of snaps opposite to the facing side is less than 1.
However Jetton discloses in at least figure 6, wherein a ratio of a protruding length of the at least one guiding member (side surface 25 fig. 6) and a protruding length for engagement of the resilient snap-fit members (cover 2 and the threshold 4 fig. 6) protruding from the facing side (inner surface 45 fig. 6) of the frame member (cover 2 fig. 6) to the respective ends of snaps (locking members 51 and 52 fig. 6) opposite to the facing side (inner surface 45 fig. 6) is less than 1 (the length of the guiding member
surface 25 is less than the length of the locking members 51 and 52 resulting in a ratio of less than 1 fig.
6).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the snap fit members as taught by Jetton as the attachment portions on the
medical imaging device of Kobayashi. The snap fit connection allows for a connection to occur when
there is pressure applied in the insertion direction paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein a ratio of a cross section perpendicular to the protruding
length of the at least one guiding member and a corresponding cross-section of the recess on the
imaging front side of the medical imaging device is less than 1
However Jetton discloses in at least figure 6, a cross section perpendicular to the protruding length (L1 as shown below in fig. 6) of the at least one guiding member (surface 25 fig. 6) and a corresponding cross section (L2 as shown below in fig. 6) of the recess (recessed lips 60 fig. 6) on the front side (extending recesses 12 fig. 6) of the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device above).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the guiding members as taught by Jetton in the medical imaging device of
Kobayashi. The cover 2 is aligned with the threshold 4 when the side portion 25 is fit into the
corresponding recess 60 to form ridge 14 (fig. 5).
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to make a ratio of LI to L2 less than 1, since it has been held that
where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or
workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the
current instance, the ratio of L1 to L2 is an art recognized results effective variable. Thus one would have
been motivated to optimize the convergence angle because it is an art-recognized result-effective
variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves
only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA1977). See MPEP
§2144.05(11)(B) "after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the
only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable
product or process."
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP
HO7275185 A) in view in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) and Jetton (US 20180266168) as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Fago (WO 2007027567 A1).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Jetton discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the resilient snap-fit members are configured to provide a
gap between respective snaps of the resilient snap-fit members and the imaging front side of the
medical imaging device in parallel to the facing side of the frame member, when the medical imaging
device extends outwardly with an outward convergence angle measured from a perpendicular to the
imaging front side.
However Fago discloses in at least figure 2, wherein resilient snap-fit members (the cover
assembly 15 may be attached to the container by a snap-fit engagement of the cap with the flange
paragraph [0015]) are configured to provide a gap (gap between flange 11 and bent edge 31 as shown
by the arrow below in fig. 2) between respective snaps (flange 11 and bent edge 31 of cap 17 fig. 2) of
the resilient snap-fit members (the cover assembly 15 may be attached to the container by a snap-fit
engagement of the cap with the flange paragraph [0015]), when the medical imaging device (medical
imaging device taught above by Kobayashi) extends outwardly (tapered neck portion 7 extends from
flange 11 which is facing the cover in the same direction as opposing inner surface 65 fig. 2) with a
outward convergence angle (angle as shown below in fig. 6) from the imaging front side (opposing inner
surface 65 fig. 2) of the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device
above).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the snap fit members as taught by Fago as the attachment portions on the
medical imaging device of Kobayashi. The snap fit connection is a way to attach the cap to a container
using resilient materials paragraphs [0015-0016]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi
(JPHO7275185 A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Murata (JP HO4329510 A).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein at least one of the at least two attachment portions of the
frame member is configured to open or close an electric circuit of the medical imaging device,
preferably to function as a limit switch or to establish an electrical contact.
However Murata discloses in at least figure 6, wherein at least one attachment portion (contact
60 fig. 6) of the frame member (endoscope tip portion 51 fig. 6) is configured to open or close an electric
circuit (contact 60 on the attachment portion of adapter 17 and tip side contact 61 on attachment
portion of tip portion 51 close the circuit when connected fig. 6) of the medical imaging device
(endoscope paragraph [0073] of translation), preferably to function as a limit switch or to establish an
electrical contact (the adapter 17 is attached to the endoscope tip 51 and is provided with a contact 60
formed on the other end of the piezoelectric element drive signal line 14 from the piezoelectric element
13 is freely connectable to one of the tip side contacts 61 provided on the endoscope tip 51 to establish
electrical contact paragraph [0073] of translation). (Although based on 112(b) interpretation, the
limitations after the term "preferably" are not required for this rejection, Murata still teaches the
limitations).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the attachment portion of Kobayashi to open or close a circuit as taught by
Murata. The piezoelectric element constitutes a vibration means to fix the cover glass paragraph [0072]
of translation).
Additionally It is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the device of Murata, to duplicate the attachment portion, in order to
provides a second connection point. In addition, absent any criticality, the duplicate the attachment
point is only obvious modification of Murata since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential
working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ
8. In this case, the more attachment points, the more connections it provides for reliability of the
system, but the functionality of the circuit does not change.
Regarding claim 16, The combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein at least one of the at least two attachment portions of the
frame member and the at least one guiding member, or the at least one guiding member are/is
configured to open or close an electric circuit of the medical imaging device.
However Murata discloses in at least figure 6, wherein at least one attachment portion (contact
60 and tip side contact fig. 6) of the frame member (endoscope tip portion 51 fig. 6) is configured to
open or close an electric circuit portions (contact 60 on the attachment portion of adapter 17 and tip
side contact 61 on attachment portion of tip portion 51 close the circuit when connected fig. 6 ).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the attachment portion of Kobayashi to open or close a circuit as taught by
Murata. The piezoelectric element constitutes a vibration means to fix the cover glass paragraph [0072]
of translation).
Additionally It is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the device of Murata, to duplicate the attachment portion, in order to
provides a second connection point. In addition, absent any criticality, the duplicate the attachment
point is only obvious modification of Murata since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential
working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ
8. In this case, the more attachment points, the more connections it provides for reliability of the
system, but the functionality of the circuit does not change.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JPH0O7275185
A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Komukai (US 20140296638 Al).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1.
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose, wherein the transparent cover portion has a thickness in
an imaging direction of 0.4 to 0.6 mm and/or a refraction index of about 1.49.
However Komukai discloses in at least figure 3, wherein the transparent cover portion
(protective cover 11 fig. 2) has a thickness in an imaging direction of 0.4 to 0.6 mm (thickness t1 is 0.4-
0.59mm paragraph [0036]) and/or a refraction index of about 1.49 (protective cover 11 has a refractive
index of 1.883 paragraph [0040)]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the transparent cover portion of Komukai as the cover of Kobayashi. The lower
thickness of the cover increase light emission efficiency (paragraph [0037]).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JP
HO7275185 A) in view in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Fago (WO 2007027567 Al).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kobayashi and Labhasetwar discloses all the limitations
of claim 1 and Kobayashi further discloses, sterile medical imaging system (endoscope 1 and sheath
device 2 fig. 1), comprising:
a medical imaging device (endoscope 1 fig. 1) and a sterile cover (sheath device 2 fig. 1)
according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein an outer portion of the medical imaging device extends
outwardly with an outward convergence angle measured from a perpendicular to the imaging front side
of the medical imaging device, and
wherein the outer portion of the medical imaging device extending outwardly from the imaging
front side of the medical imaging device comprises at least two attachment portions, configured to
make a positive fit connection corresponding attachment portions of the sterile cover.
However Fago discloses in at least figure 2, wherein an outer portion (tapered neck portion 7 fig.
2) of the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device above)
extends outwardly (tapered neck portion 7 extends from flange 11 which is facing the cover in the same
direction as opposing inner surface 65 fig. 2) with an outward convergence angle (angle as shown below
in fig. 6) measured from a perpendicular to the imaging front side (opposing inner surface 65 fig. 2) of
the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device above), and
wherein the outer portion (tapered neck portion 7 fig. 2) of the medical imaging device
(Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device above) extending outwardly from the imaging
front side (opposing inner surface 65 fig. 2) of the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously
disclosed a medical imaging device above) comprises at least two attachment portions (flanges 11
create a recess with tapered neck portion 7 for bent edge 31 to fit as shown below in fig. 2), configured
to provide a positive fit connection with (a bent edge 31 that engages the flange 11 by a snap fit
engagement paragraph [0015] which is a positive fit connection described as "resilient snap-fit members
may be easily implemented and may only require corresponding recesses and/or projections provided
by the medical imaging device for a positive-fit connection" in current application page 3 lines 10-15),
corresponding attachment portions of the sterile cover (bent edge 31 fig. 2).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the snap fit members as taught by Fago as the attachment portions on the
medical imaging device of Kobayashi. The snap fit connection is a way to attach the cap to a container
using resilient materials paragraphs [0015-0016]).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Fago discloses all the
limitations of claim 10.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the outward convergence angle is equal to or less than
15°.
However, Fago further discloses the outward convergence angle (angle as shown below in fig.
2).
Additionally It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to make the convergence angle less than or equal to 15°, since it has
been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the
optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A.
1955). In the current instance, the gap is an art recognized results effective variable. Thus one would
have been motivated to optimize the convergence angle because it is an art-recognized result-effective
variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves
only routine skill in the a rt, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA1977). See M PEP
§2144.05(11)(B) "after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the
only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable
product or process."
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Fago discloses all the
limitations of claim 10 and Kobayashi further discloses, wherein the surface of transparent cover portion (widow 33 fig. 2) facing at least one imaging component (illumination window at distal end 25 paragraph [0018]) forms an angle of about 90° (90° angle as shown below in fig. 2) with the optical axis of the at least one imaging component (optical axis of transmission optics and eyepiece 3 fig. 1).
Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose, the angle to be 84° to 87°.
However It is a well-established proposition that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where
the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals
Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper
a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron,
balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum,
balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close
that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In the
instant case, the prior art teaches a value of 90° which is so close to the claimed range of 84° to 87° that
prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to choose the angle of the cover window such that it is 84° to 87° since it has
been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not
overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d
775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an
alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a
reference disclosing alloys of0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel,
0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the
art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Fago discloses all the
limitations of claim 10.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the at least two attachment portions of the sterile cover
and the at least two attachment portions of the medical imaging device, respectively, and/or the guiding
member of the sterile cover are configured to provide only one positional relationship with respect to
the medical imaging device to be attached.
However Bayer further discloses wherein the at least two attachment portions (the polarizing
filter 46 can be placed in the recessed lip and fixed there by a mechanical snap fit paragraph [0028] and
the ring 58 may be attached the inner perimeter of the cap 38 by any suitable means such as plastic
snap features paragraph [0031]) of the sterile cover (polarizer cap 38 fig. 2) and the at least two
attachment portions (the polarizing filter 46 can be placed in the recessed lip and fixed there by a
mechanical snap fit paragraph [0028] and the ring 58 may be attached the inner perimeter of the cap 38
by any suitable means such as plastic snap features paragraph [0031]) of the medical imaging device
(main imaging device 32 fig. 2), respectively, and/or the guiding member (openings 50, 52, 54 and 56 fig.
2) of the sterile cover (polarizer cap 38 fig. 2) are configured to provide only one positional relationship
(the openings 50, 52, 54, 56 preferably correspond to the locations, configurations and sizes of the main
imaging device 32, light sources 34, channels 16, and clean liquid channel 40, respectively paragraph
[0030]) with respect to the medical imaging device (main imaging device 32 fig. 2) to be attached (the
main imaging device 32 is attached to the insertion tube 12 fig. 2 and the ring 58 helps secure the cap 38
to the distal end region of the insertion tube 12 paragraph [0031]).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use one positional relationship as taught by Bayer with the guiding member and
attachment potions on the medical imaging device of Kobayashi. The end wall 44 preferably has an
opening 54 for each of the instrument channels 16 so that the cap 38 does not block the channels 16
(paragraph [0029]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JPHO7275185A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) and Fago (WO 2007027567 A1) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Murata (JP HO4329510 A).
Regarding claim 14, he combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Fago discloses all the
limitations of claim 10.
Kobayashi does not disclose wherein the medical imaging device comprises an electric circuit
closable by at least one of the at least two attachment portions of the sterile cover and/or the at least
one guiding member of the sterile cover.
However Murata discloses in at least figure 6, wherein the medical imaging device (endoscope
paragraph [0073] of translation) comprises an electric circuit processing circuit paragraph [0071] of
translation) closable by at least one attachment portion (contact 60 on the attachment portion of
adapter 17 and tip side contact 61 on attachment portion of tip portion 51 close the circuit when
connected fig. 6).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the attachment portion of Kobayashi to open or close a circuit as taught by
Murata. The piezoelectric element constitutes a vibration means to fix the cover glass paragraph [0072]
of translation).
Additionally It is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the device of Murata, to duplicate the attachment portion, in order to
provides a second connection point. In addition, absent any criticality, the duplicate the attachment
point is only obvious modification of Murata since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential
working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ
8. In this case, the more attachment points, the more connections it provides for reliability of the
system, but the functionality of the circuit does not change.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JPHO7275185
A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) and Fago (WO 2007027567 A1) as applied to claim 10 above and in further view of Wakizaka (JP 2010088552 A).
Regarding claim 15, he combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Fago discloses all the
limitations of claim 10
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the medical imaging device is a microscope.
However, Wakizaka discloses in at least figure 1, wherein the medical imaging device isa
microscope (thin walled cap 11 can be cover for a microscope paragraph [0036)).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to use the cover of Kobayashi on a microscope as taught by Wakizaka. The cap is used
in a contaminated environment that requires cleaning (paragraph [0036]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (JPHO7275185
A) in view of Labhasetwar et al. (US 20190046201 A1) and Jetton (US 20180266168), as applied to claim 3 above and in further view of Law et al. (US 20170273539 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kobayashi, Labhasetwar and Jetton discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein a distance between opposing snaps of the at least two
attachment portions configured as resilient snap-fit members is greater than a corresponding dimension
of the imaging front side of the medical imaging device, such that the resilient snap-fit members are
configured to be elastically undeformed when initially positioned against the imaging front side and to
elastically deform only upon movement beyond the imaging front side toward corresponding
attachment portions of the medical imaging device.
However Law discloses in at least figure 1, wherein a distance between opposing snaps (snap
distance as shown below in fig. 1) of the at least two attachment portions (attachment features 124 fig.
1) configured as resilient snap-fit members (the endoscope body 120 is connected with attachment
element 122 including attachment features 124 which can wrap and either slidingly fit around the
electronic device 102, deform to snap-fit over the device fig. 1) is greater than (the snap distance is
greater than the length f the electronic device as shown below in fig. 1) a corresponding dimension
(length of the inside of the ecteronic device as shown below in fig. 1) of the imaging front side (inside of
ecteronic device 102 as shown below in fig. 1) of the medical imaging device (Kobayashi previously
disclosed a medical imaging device above), such that the resilient snap-fit members (the endoscope
body 120 is connected with attachment element 122 including attachment features 124 which can wrap
and either slidingly fit around the electronic device 102, deform to snap-fit over the device fig. 1) are
configured to be elastically undeformed when initially positioned against (the attachment features 124
are not initially deformed when against the inside of ecteronic device 102 as shown below in fig. 1) the
imaging front side (inside of ecteronic device 102 as shown below in fig. 1) and to elastically deform only
upon movement beyond (the attachment features 124 deform to snap fit over the device paragraph
[0022]) the imaging front side (inside of ecteronic device 102 as shown below in fig. 1) toward
corresponding attachment portions (the attachment features 124 features will fit around the outside of
the ecteronic device 102 to hold it in place as shown below in fig. 1) of the medical imaging device
(Kobayashi previously disclosed a medical imaging device above).
Therefore it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the
claimed invention to have the attachment portions be deformable and have a longer length between
them than the length of the surface they are being attached too as taught by Law in the of endoscope of
Kobayashi. The attachment portions allow for the endoscope to be modular and the device to be portable (paragraph [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koenig et al. (US 20170168292 A1) discloses a protection glass for a surgical microscope with a single orientation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/PINPING SUN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872