DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 17/920,466 filed on October 21, 2022 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amended claims submitted June 4, 2026 in response to the office action mailed December 4, 2025 are under consideration. Claims 1, 3-11 and 18-24 are pending. Claims 2, 12-17 and 25-29 are cancelled.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant' s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated June 4, 2026 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. Note that the applicant only provided a copy of the machine translation of JP 2013254079. The examiner has attached a copy of the original patent publication and included it on the PTO-892.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 6/4/2026. These drawings are unacceptable because they introduce new matter to the specification. Specifically, the specification as filed is silent with respect to the following features. In Fig. 1b, the specification fails to disclose on which side of polymer layer 108 the PVB film 112 is positioned. In Fig. 1c, the specification fails to disclose any particular position of IR blocking layer 114, except that it should be positioned outbound of the variable transmittance layer 105. Such a position is not uniquely the outermost layer. Thus the replacement drawings have not been entered.
Note that the feature of the corresponding polymer-based layers 108 and 110 being positioned exterior to the two color-balancing layers 103 and 104 as shown in Figs. 1b-1d is not considered to introduce new matter, because an ordinary skilled artisan upon reading claim 10, would reasonably deduce that the rigid substrates which are laminated to the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer are positioned in the exterior-most positions, because that’s where the rigid substrates were located in original Fig. 1. Thus Fig. 1d is not considered as introducing new matter.
In light of the fact that the replacement drawings could not be entered the drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed configurations in the table below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim
limitation
Explanation as needed
5
wherein at least one of the first and second polymer layers comprises a PVB coating on PET.
This attribute is only discussed in the specification, not depicted in the drawings.
6
wherein the layered assembly further comprises an IR-blocking layer.
This IR-blocking layer is only discussed in the specification, not depicted in the drawings.
9
further comprising a polymer-based layer wherein the reflectance color-balancing layer is immediately adjacent the polymer-based layer.
This configuration is not depicted in any drawing.
10
The layered assembly of claim 4, further comprising rigid substrates respectively laminated to the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer.
This configuration is not depicted in any drawing.
11
The layered assembly of claim 9, further comprising rigid substrates respectively laminated to opposing sides of the polymer-based layer.
This configuration is not depicted in any drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following 35 USC §112 rejections are maintained.
Claims 1, 3-11 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “wherein the at least first reflectance color-balancing layer is configured to cause reflected visible light of the layered assembly to be closer to a target reflected color or spectrum” and “wherein the transmittance color-balancing layer is configured to cause transmitted visible light to meet a target transmitted color or spectrum” are indefinite because they contain a reference to an object that is variable. See MPEP §2173.05(b)(II) “A claim may be rendered indefinite when a limitation of the claim is defined by reference to an object and the relationship between the limitation and the object is not sufficiently defined. That is, where the elements of a claim have two or more plausible constructions such that the examiner cannot readily ascertain positional relationship of the elements, the claim may be rendered indefinite. See, e.g., Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Brummer, 12 USPQ2d 1653 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989).” In particular, absent a claimed value or spectrum for the target reflected color or spectrum and the target transmitted color or spectrum, it is unclear what structural limitations are required or implied by the existence of a target value in the mind of the inventor, the user or the manufacturer. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that any layered assembly that meets the other limitations of claim 1 also meets the limitations on the target values because it is inherent that any manufactured layered assembly meets the requirements set therefor by the manufacturer, at least within tolerances. However, appropriate correction is required.
To put is another way, the impact of the target value on the structure of the layered assembly is heavily dependent on what that target value is. For example, a layered assembly with a target reflected color and a target transmitted color of red and orange, respectively would differ significantly from a layered assembly with target colors of teal and purple. This is what is meant by “a reference to an object which is variable.” Since the target values are unconstrained, the reader cannot determine in what way these functional limitations limit the layered assembly.
Further, regarding claim 1, the limitations “when the variable transmittance layer is in the dark state, a transmitted color of the layered assembly approximates a target transmittance color, and a reflected color of the layered assembly approximates a target reflected color” are indefinite because it contains a reference to an object that is variable. See MPEP §2173.05(b)(II) “A claim may be rendered indefinite when a limitation of the claim is defined by reference to an object and the relationship between the limitation and the object is not sufficiently defined. That is, where the elements of a claim have two or more plausible constructions such that the examiner cannot readily ascertain positional relationship of the elements, the claim may be rendered indefinite. See, e.g., Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Brummer, 12 USPQ2d 1653 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989).” In particular, absent a claimed value for the target transmittance color and the target reflected color, it is unclear what structural limitations are required or implied by the existence of a target value in the mind of the inventor, the user or the manufacturer. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that any layered assembly that meets the other limitations of claim 1 also meets the limitations on the target values because it is inherent that any manufactured layered assembly meets the requirements set therefor by the manufacturer, at least within tolerances. However, appropriate correction is required.
To put is another way, the impact of the target value on the structure of the layered assembly is heavily dependent on what that target value is. For example, a layered assembly with a target reflected color and a target transmittance color of red and orange, respectively would differ significantly from a layered assembly with target colors of teal and purple. This is what is meant by “a reference to an object which is variable.” Since the target values are unconstrained, the reader cannot determine in what way these functional limitations limit the layered assembly.
Note that the aspect of the previous rejection with respect to approximating the target values has been withdrawn. In light of the arguments submitted June 4, 2026, it is clear that the applicant intends for art meeting any of the suggested criteria for “approximate” to be construed as meeting this limitation. Such an interpretation is consistent with the specification, and renders this limitation merely broad, not indefinite.
Further, regarding claim 1, the limitations “when the variable transmittance layer is in the light state, a transmitted color of the layered assembly approximates a target transmittance color, and a reflected color of the layered assembly approximates a target reflected color” are indefinite because it contains a reference to an object that is variable. See MPEP §2173.05(b)(II) “A claim may be rendered indefinite when a limitation of the claim is defined by reference to an object and the relationship between the limitation and the object is not sufficiently defined. That is, where the elements of a claim have two or more plausible constructions such that the examiner cannot readily ascertain positional relationship of the elements, the claim may be rendered indefinite. See, e.g., Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Brummer, 12 USPQ2d 1653 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989).” In particular, absent a claimed value for the target transmittance color and the target reflected color, it is unclear what structural limitations are required or implied by the existence of a target value in the mind of the inventor, the user or the manufacturer. For the purpose of examination, it will be assumed that any layered assembly that meets the other limitations of claims 1 and 13 also meets the limitations on the target values because it is inherent that any manufactured layered assembly meets the requirements set therefor by the manufacturer, at least within tolerances. However, appropriate correction is required.
To put is another way, the impact of the target value on the structure of the layered assembly is heavily dependent on what that target value is. For example, a layered assembly with a target reflected color and a target transmitted color of red and orange, respectively would differ significantly from a layered assembly with target colors of teal and purple. This is what is meant by “a reference to an object which is variable.” Since the target values are unconstrained, the reader cannot determine in what way these functional limitations limit the layered assembly.
Note that the aspect of the previous rejection with respect to approximating the target values has been withdrawn. In light of the arguments submitted June 4, 2026, it is clear that the applicant intends for art meeting any of the suggested criteria for “approximate” to be construed as meeting this limitation. Such an interpretation is consistent with the specification, and renders this limitation merely broad, not indefinite.
Claims 3-11 and 18-24 depend from claim 1 and inherit and do not mitigate the above indefiniteness issues from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Branda et al. US 2015/0109651 A1 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Branda).
Regarding claim 1, Branda teaches “A layered assembly (any of Figs. 3-8) comprising:
i. a variable transmittance layer (variable transmittance layer 14) having opposing first and second sides (the outboard and inboard sides of 14 respectively);
ii. at least a first reflectance color-balancing layer (one or more of light attenuating layer 12 or adhesive layer 34. Both of these layers are reflectance color-balancing layers in that they are on the outboard side of the variable transmittance layer and they have color see paragraph [0068]: “the light attenuating layer comprises a spectrum that combines with the spectra of the other layers in the stack to provide a color that approximates a target color” and paragraph [0077]: “Adhesive layers 32, 34 may be colored, or comprise a colored layer--for example, adhesive layer 32 may comprise a color balancing layer, and/or adhesive layer 34 may comprise an light attenuating layer (incident light filter)…. the color of layer 12”) positioned on the first side of the variable transmittance layer (see Figs. 3 and 5 12 and 34 are on the outboard side of 14); wherein the at least first reflectance color-balancing layer is configured to cause a reflected visible light of the layered assembly to be closer to a target reflected color or spectrum (paragraph [0053]: “to alter the observed color of the window… to match or approximate a target color … For example, it may be desirable to match or approximate a target color to harmonize the appearance of the window with a building envelope or the exterior color of a vehicle” Matching the appearance of the building or exterior of a vehicle is matching the reflected color of the layered assembly); and
iii. a transmittance color-balancing layer (one or more of color balancing layer 16, adhesive layer 32 or second layer 28. Each of these layers are transmittance color-balancing layers in that they are on the inboard side of the variable transmittance layer and they have color see e.g. paragraph [0008]: “a color balancing layer selected to combine with the color of the variable transmittance layer in order to achieve a desired colour for the overall stack. A laminated glass with variable light transmittance, and color balancing layer to provide a target (e.g., neutral) color in a faded state, a dark state or both a faded and dark state” and paragraph [0077]: “Adhesive layers 32, 34 may be colored, or comprise a colored layer--for example, adhesive layer 32 may comprise a color balancing layer, and/or adhesive layer 34 may comprise an light attenuating layer (incident light filter)…. the color of layer ... 28”) positioned on the first side or second side of the variable transmittance layer (16, 32 and 28 are on the inboard side of 14), wherein the transmittance color-balancing layer is configured to cause the transmitted visible light to meet a target transmitted color or spectrum (paragraph [0053]: “to alter … the color of the transmitted light, to match or approximate a target color”);
wherein the variable transmittance layer is variable between a dark state (e.g. paragraph [0010]: “dark state”) and a light state (paragraph [0010]: “faded state”);
wherein the variable transmittance layer has a dark state transmittance spectrum when in the dark state (paragraph [0013]: “a first spectrum in a dark state” which includes the transmittance spectrum thereof) and a different light state transmittance spectrum when in the light state (paragraph [0013]: “a second spectrum in a faded state” which includes the transmittance spectrum thereof which is different from the first spectrum at least in that it is brighter, see also different L*a*b* values of the faded state and dark state of a switchable material in Table 1); and
wherein the dark state transmittance spectrum and transmittance spectra for the color-balancing layers are selected (paragraph [0013]: “and a color balancing layer having a third spectrum; each of the first, second and third spectra comprising a visible portion; the first and third spectra combining to provide a dark state spectrum approximating a dark state target color; and the second and third spectra combining to provide a faded state spectrum approximating a faded state target colour.”) such that in response to visible light incident on the reflectance color-balancing layer when the variable transmittance layer is in the dark state (paragraph [0013]: “a dark state spectrum approximating a dark state target color”), a transmitted color of the layered assembly approximates a target transmittance color (paragraph [0053]: “to alter … the color of the transmitted light, to match or approximate a target color”), and a reflected color of the layered assembly approximates a target reflected color (paragraph [0053]: “to alter the observed color of the window… to match or approximate a target color … For example, it may be desirable to match or approximate a target color to harmonize the appearance of the window with a building envelope or the exterior color of a vehicle” Matching the appearance of the building or exterior of a vehicle is matching the reflected color of the layered assembly); or
wherein the light state transmittance spectrum and transmittance spectra for the color-balancing layers are selected (paragraph [0013]: “and a color balancing layer having a third spectrum; each of the first, second and third spectra comprising a visible portion; the first and third spectra combining to provide a dark state spectrum approximating a dark state target color; and the second and third spectra combining to provide a faded state spectrum approximating a faded state target colour.”) such that in response to visible light incident on the reflectance color-balancing layer when the variable transmittance layer is in the light state (paragraph [0013]: “a faded state spectrum approximating a faded state target color”), a transmitted color of the layered assembly approximates a target transmittance color (paragraph [0053]: “to alter … the color of the transmitted light, to match or approximate a target color”), and a reflected color of the layered assembly approximates a target reflected color (paragraph [0053]: “to alter the observed color of the window… to match or approximate a target color … For example, it may be desirable to match or approximate a target color to harmonize the appearance of the window with a building envelope or the exterior color of a vehicle” Matching the appearance of the building or exterior of a vehicle is matching the reflected color of the layered assembly);
wherein the layered assembly further comprises a second reflectance color-balancing layer (a second one of color balancing layer 16, adhesive layer 32 or second layer 28. Each of these layers are reflectance color-balancing layers in that they are on the inboard side of the variable transmittance layer and they have color see e.g. paragraph [0008]: “a color balancing layer selected to combine with the color of the variable transmittance layer in order to achieve a desired colour for the overall stack. A laminated glass with variable light transmittance, and color balancing layer to provide a target (e.g., neutral) color in a faded state, a dark state or both a faded and dark state” and paragraph [0077]: “Adhesive layers 32, 34 may be colored, or comprise a colored layer--for example, adhesive layer 32 may comprise a color balancing layer, and/or adhesive layer 34 may comprise an light attenuating layer (incident light filter)…. the color of layer ... 28”)) on a side of the variable transmittance layer opposite the first reflectance color-balancing layer (16, 32 and 28 are on the inboard side of the variable transmittance layer opposite to the side of the first reflectance color-balancing layers 12 or 34).”
Regarding claim 3, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first reflectance color-balancing layer and the transmittance color- balancing layer comprises a plurality of colored films (the reflectance color-balancing layer can be both of 12 and 34 and thus a plurality of colored films, and the transmittance color-balancing layer can be both of 32 and 28 and thus a plurality of colored films).”
Regarding claim 4, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the first reflectance color balancing layer includes a first polymer layer on a first side of the layered assembly (Fig. 4, layer 12 may be an organic glass made of plastic/polymers (see paragraph [0084]) and layer 34 is an adhesive that can be PVB, see paragraph [0075]), and the transmittance color-balancing layer includes a second polymer layer (Fig. 4, layer 28 may be an organic glass made of plastic/polymers (see paragraph [0084]) and layer 32 is an adhesive that can be PVB, see paragraph [0075]).”
Regarding claim 5, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 4, wherein at least one of the first and second polymer layers comprises a PVB coating (paragraph [0075] the adhesive layers can be PVB) on PET (paragraph [0084] layers 12 and 28 can be PET. Thus the first and second polymer layers can both be a PVB coating on PET).”
Regarding claim 6, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the layered assembly further comprises an IR-blocking layer (38, Fig. 6 paragraph [0078]: “an infra-red (IR) blocking layer 38”).”
Regarding claim 7, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein at least the first reflectance color-balancing layer comprises a colored PVB (layer 34 is an adhesive, and the adhesive can be PVB see paragraph [0075] and can be colored see paragraph [0077]), and wherein the layered assembly further comprises a rigid substrate (layer 12 paragraph [0084] “Where layers 12 and/or 28 are glass, they may independently be from about 1 mm to about 6 mm thick” a 1 mm thick layer of glass or organic glass is a rigid substrate) laminated to the first reflectance color-balancing layer (see Fig. 5 12 is laminated to 34).”
Regarding claim 8, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 2, wherein both the first reflectance color-balancing layer and the second reflectance color-balancing layer comprise a colored PVB (see claims 1 and 2 above, the first reflectance color-balancing layer can be adhesive layer 34 and the second reflectance color-balancing layer can be adhesive layer 32, where paragraph [0075] teaches that the adhesive can be PVB), and wherein the layered assembly further comprises rigid substrates (layers 12 and 28 paragraph [0084] “Where layers 12 and/or 28 are glass, they may independently be from about 1 mm to about 6 mm thick” a 1 mm thick layer of glass or organic glass is a rigid substrate) respectively laminated to the first reflectance color-balancing layer and the second reflectance color-balancing layer (12 is laminated to 34 and 28 is laminated to 32).”
Regarding claim 9, Branda teaches (Fig. 5) “The layered assembly of claim 1, further comprising a polymer-based layer (either layer 12 or both layers 12 and 28, which are polymer-based see paragraph [0084]) wherein the reflectance color-balancing layer is immediately adjacent the polymer-based layer (34 is immediately adjacent to 12).”
Regarding claim 18, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 12, wherein a difference between an actual transmitted color (paragraph [0170]: “Light transmission spectra”, Table 1 “faded stack (L*a*b*)” or “dark stack (L*a*b*)” are the values when the color balancing layer is included) compared with a transmittance of a layered assembly in the absence of the first reflectance color-balancing layer and the transmittance color-balancing layer (Table 1 “faded state (L*a*b*)” or “dark state (L*a*b*)” are the values of just the switchable material) has a delta C of at least 5 (the delta C values between the faded state and faded stack, or between the dark state and the dark stack are all significantly larger than 5. To illustrate, example 10 has a faded state a* and b* of (-15.1,38.3) for a C value of ((-15.1)2+38.32)1/2=41.2 and a faded stack a* and b* of (-2.7, 3.9) for a C value of ((-2.7)2+3.92)1/2 = 4.7 and thus delta C = 36.5. If the value of delta C were instead calculated as ((-15.1+2.7)2 + (38.3-3.9)2)1/2 then delta C =((-12.4)2+34.42)1/2= 36.6 both of which are significantly larger than 5).”
Regarding claim 19, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the variable transmittance layer comprises one or more of a photochromic material, an electrochromic material, a thermochromic material, a liquid crystal material, or a suspended particle device (e.g. paragraph [0009]: “The variable transmittance layer comprises a switchable film, an electrochromic material, a photochromic material, a suspended particle layer or a liquid crystal layer” which covers all of the claimed options above).”
Regarding claim 20, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the variable transmittance layer is transitionable from a faded state to a dark state when exposed to electromagnetic radiation (e.g. paragraph [0093]: “A switching material may darken when exposed to ultraviolet (UV) light or blue light from a light source”), and from a dark state to a faded state with the application of a voltage (e.g. paragraph [0093]: “may fade when exposed to a voltage”).”
Regarding claim 21, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the layered assembly has an LTA of less than about 1 %, or less than about 2% or less than about 5%, or less than about 10% in a dark state (e.g. Table 1, LTA of the stack in the dark state of 4.9% 3.5% for examples 10 and 11).”
Regarding claim 22, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim1, wherein the layered assembly has an LTA of greater than about 5% or greater than about 10% or greater than about 15% or greater than about 20% in a faded state (e.g. Table 1 LTA of the stack in the light state of 12.4%, 12.4%, 40.4% or 61.2% for examples 10, 11, 14 and 15).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branda et al. US 2015/0109651 A1 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Branda).
Regarding claim 10, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 4, further comprising [a] rigid [substrate] (paragraph [0125]: “a rigid material, such as a pane of a window, or a lens”) respectively laminated to the first polymer layer …[or] the second polymer layer (paragraph [0125]: “A substrate may be rigid or flexible--an optical filter comprising one or more flexible substrate(s) may be in the form of a film that may be applied to a rigid material, such as a pane of a window, or a lens.” Thus when polymer layers 12 and 28 are flexible, at least one of them may be laminated to a rigid substrate).”
However, Branda fails to explicitly teach “further comprising rigid substrates respectively laminated to the first polymer layer and the second polymer layer.”
It is a well-established proposition that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
Branda discloses the claimed invention except for teaching only one rigid substrate in addition to the polymer layers 12 and 28 rather than two rigid substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use two rigid substrates, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 11, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 9, further comprising [a] rigid [substrate] (paragraph [0125]: “a rigid material, such as a pane of a window, or a lens”) respectively laminated to [a side] … of the polymer-based layer (paragraph [0125]: “A substrate may be rigid or flexible--an optical filter comprising one or more flexible substrate(s) may be in the form of a film that may be applied to a rigid material, such as a pane of a window, or a lens.” Thus when polymer-based layer 12 and 28 are flexible, at least one of them may be laminated to a rigid substrate).”
However, Branda fails to explicitly teach “further comprising rigid substrates respectively laminated to opposing sides of the polymer-based layer.”
It is a well-established proposition that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
Branda discloses the claimed invention except for teaching only one rigid substrate in addition to the polymer layer 12 and 28 rather than two rigid substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use two rigid substrates, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 23, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein the transmission haze … is 5% or less, 3% or less, 2% or less, or 1% or less (paragraph [0127]: “the switching material is optically clear (e.g. demonstrating a haze of less than about 5%, less than about 4%, less than about 3%, less than about 2% or less than about 1%).”).”
However, Branda does not explicitly teach “wherein the transmission haze through the layered assembly is 5% or less, 3% or less, 2% or less, or 1% or less.”
Branda teaches (paragraph [0144]): “Performance of laminated glass or multi-layer compositions as described herein may be tested by conducting studies using standard techniques in the art, for example, measurement of VLT, LTA, color, haze, switching speed, photostability, and/or durability.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize each of the layers of the layered assembly of Branda such that the transmission haze through the layered assembly is 5% or less, 3% or less, 2% or less, or 1% or less because Branda (paragraph [0127] and [0144]) teaches that an optically clear, low haze is the desired performance for the switching material and the layered assembly.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branda et al. US 2015/0109651 A1 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Branda) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nand et al. US 2016/0170104 (cited in an IDS, hereafter Nand).
Regarding claim 24, Branda teaches “The layered assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the reflectance color-balancing layer and the transmittance color-balancing layer comprises a layer-by-layer optical product (see Fig. 5, the reflectance color-balancing layer can be both of layers 12 and 34, and the transmittance color-balancing layer can be both of layers 32 and 28) comprising:
a. a polymeric substrate (12 and 28 can be polymeric substrates see paragraph [0084] “organic glass”).”
However, Branda fails to teach “b. a composite coating, said composite coating comprising a first layer comprising a polyionic binder and a second layer comprising a electromagnetic energy-absorbing insoluble particle, wherein each of said first layer and said second layer include a binding group component which together form a complimentary binding group pair.”
Nand teaches (abstract): an electromagnetic energy-absorbing optical product useful particularly for automotive and architectural window films “wherein …the … color-balancing layer (an electromagnetic energy-absorbing optical product 10)… comprises a layer-by-layer optical product comprising:
a. a polymeric substrate (polymeric substrate 15), and
b. a composite coating (composite coating 20), said composite coating comprising a first layer (first layer 25) comprising a polyionic binder (paragraph [0016]: “first layer 25 includes a polyionic binder”) and a second layer (second layer 30) comprising a electromagnetic energy-absorbing insoluble particle (paragraph [0016]: “the second layer 30 includes an electromagnetic energy-absorbing insoluble particle”), wherein each of said first layer and said second layer include a binding group component which together form a complimentary binding group pair (paragraph [0016]: “Each layer 25 and 30 includes a binding group component with the binding group component of the first layer and the binding group component of the second layer constituting a complimentary binding group pair.”).”
Nand further teaches (paragraphs [0002]-[0004]): “Color has typically been imparted to optical products such as automotive and architectural window films by use of organic dyes. More particularly, the current commercial practice for producing dyed film from polyester involves swelling of the molecular structure of the substrate in baths of hot organic solvent such as ethylene glycol during the dyeing process, as swelled polyester (particularly PET) films are capable of absorbing organic dyes. These films and their manufacturing process suffer many drawbacks…. A continuing need therefore exists in the art for an optical product that meets all the haze, clarity, UV-stability and product longevity demands of current commercial window films, while also being manufacturable by an environmentally friendly, aqueous-based coloring process performed preferably at ambient temperatures and pressures.”
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form one or both of the reflectance color-balancing layer and the transmittance color-balancing layer of Branda from a layer-by-layer optical product of Nand with a polymeric substrate and a composite coating as claimed because Nand teaches that such a configuration for an electromagnetic energy-absorbing optical product improves the haze, clarity, UV-stability and product longevity while also being manufacturable by an environmentally friendly, aqueous-based coloring process performed preferably at ambient temperatures and pressures (Nand paragraph [0004]).
Furthermore, it is worth noting that the CIE values of the coordinated transmitted-color and reflected-color behavior recited in claim 1 are not limited. Thus, although it might be true that utilizing the structures of Nand could limit the available portions of CIE color space that the layered assembly can be targeted to achieve, one of ordinary skill in the art would still have a reasonable expectation of success in preserving the ability to achieve some range of targeted transmittance and reflected colors when making this modification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Under the heading “Drawing Objections” on page 9 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that the replacement drawings submitted June 4, 2026 overcome the objections to the drawings of the Office Action mailed December 4, 2025. For the reasons explained above, some of the replacement drawing introduce new matter, and thus the replacement drawings have not been entered.
Under the heading “Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112” on page 9 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant summarizes the 35 USC §112 rejections of the previous office action and introduces that they will be arguing that these rejections should be withdrawn.
In the first two paragraphs of page 10 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that sufficient exemplary methods for the determination of “approximates” have been provided in the specification, such that an ordinary skilled artisan would know how to evaluate this limitation. This argument is persuasive. The aspect of the previous rejection with respect to approximating the target values has been withdrawn. In light of the arguments submitted June 4, 2026, it is clear that the applicant intends for art meeting any of the suggested criteria for “approximate” to be construed as meeting this limitation. Such an interpretation is consistent with the specification, and renders this limitation merely broad, not indefinite.
In the third paragraph of page 10 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that because a target value can be defined in CIE L*, a*, b* coordinates it is an objective value, not an amorphous subjective criterion. This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. The applicant appears to have misunderstood the basis for the indefiniteness issue raised. The question is not, if one had a target value could it be specifically expressed in coordinates. The problem is that, without specify any coordinates of the target value in the claim, the claim encompasses all layered assemblies with any target CIE L*, a*, b* coordinates. As further explained in the 35 USC §112 rejections above, the impact of the target value on the structure of the layered assembly is heavily dependent on what that target value is. For example, a layered assembly with a target reflected color and a target transmitted color of red and orange, respectively would differ significantly from a layered assembly with target colors of teal and purple. This is what is meant by “a reference to an object which is variable.” Since the target values are unconstrained, the reader cannot determine in what way these functional limitations limit the layered assembly.
In the first paragraph of page 11 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant concludes that the 35 USC §112 rejections should be withdrawn. For the reasons explained above, portions of these indefiniteness issues remain.
In the first paragraph under the heading “Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102/103” on page 11 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant lists the rejections in the previous office action over Chevalier et al. WO 2019/063911 A1. In light of the amendments which incorporated claim 2 into claim 1, these rejections, which did not cover claim 2, have been withdrawn.
In the second paragraph under the heading “Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102/103” on page 11 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues: “As an initial matter, the anticipation rejections do not identify a single prior-art reference that discloses, expressly or inherently, the full claimed relationship among the recited layers and spectra. Claim 1 is not directed merely to a layered assembly having a colored or reflection-affecting layer somewhere in the stack. Rather, claim 1 requires a variable transmittance layer, at least a first reflectance color-balancing layer, and a transmittance color-balancing layer, with the dark-state and/or light-state transmittance spectrum of the variable transmittance layer and the transmittance spectra of the color- balancing layers selected such that the assembly approximates a target transmitted color and a target reflected color. Applicants respectfully state that the Office Action does not point to where either Chevalier or Branda discloses that coordinated spectral selection.”
This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. This “initial matter” appears to be drawn to the 35 USC §112 rejection and not to the actual 102 rejection over Branda. The applicant’s assertion that the Office Action does not point to where Branda discloses that coordinated spectral selection fails to recognize the specific citations and findings provided. The rejection maintained above duly notes for example:
“wherein the at least first reflectance color-balancing layer is configured to cause a reflected visible light of the layered assembly to be closer to a target reflected color or spectrum (paragraph [0053]: “to alter the observed color of the window… to match or approximate a target color … For example, it may be desirable to match or approximate a target color to harmonize the appearance of the window with a building envelope or the exterior color of a vehicle” Matching the appearance of the building or exterior of a vehicle is matching the reflected color of the layered assembly).”
“wherein the transmittance color-balancing layer is configured to cause the transmitted visible light to meet a target transmitted color or spectrum (paragraph [0053]: “to alter … the color of the transmitted light, to match or approximate a target color”)”
Thus, the opening initial matter of the applicant appears to be forgetting or ignoring the actual rejection of record over Branda.
In the second paragraph under the heading “Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102/103” on page 11 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant next argues: “Instead, the rejection reasons that a transmitted or reflected color is "acceptable to the manufacturer" and therefore necessarily meets a target value. Applicants respectfully submit that this is not a disclosure of the claim limitation. Anticipation requires that each limitation be found in a single reference, and inherency requires necessity, not the mere possibility that any finished product may have satisfied some unstated design preference. If any color that happens to be acceptable after manufacture is treated as a claimed "target," then the target-color and spectral-selection limitations are effectively read out of the claim.”
This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Again, this appears to be directed towards the 35 USC §112(b) rejection, not the remaining prior art rejection over Branda. Moreover, the fact that any color that happens to be acceptable after manufacture can be treated as a claimed "target," and thus the target-color and spectral-selection limitations are effectively without any discernable impact on the claim is the direct result of the target values being a reference to an object that is variable. A functional limitation is interpreted by what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the pertinent art in the context in which it is used (see MPEP §2173.05(g) second paragraph). Consider the following sequence of events. (1) A first layered assembly is manufactured and subsequently has the spectrum of transmitted and reflected light therefrom measured by the end user to be certain values. (2) The end user confirms that the transmitted and reflected colors of the first layered assembly were quite lovely and that they would like more orders fulfilled of the same product. (3) A second layered assembly is manufactured in exactly the same way and with exactly the same final properties. The first and second layered assemblies above do not differ in any structural or measurable way. Thus, whether the manufacturer determined the target values prior to production, as in the second layered assembly, or if those target values were only confirmed after the production, as in the first layered assembly, has no discernable impact on the device.
From the last four lines of page 11 through the first paragraph of page 13 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that Chevalier fails to anticipate the claims. In light of the amendments which incorporated claim 2 into claim 1, these rejections, which did not cover claim 2, have been withdrawn. Thus, these arguments are moot.
In the second paragraph of page 13 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues “The same issue exists in the rejection over Branda. The cited Branda passages discuss colored layers, light attenuating layers, color balancing layers, and target color concepts in a general sense. However, applicants respectfully state that Office Action does not identify a single disclosure in Branda that teaches the full claim 1 arrangement together with the claimed coordinated spectral selection so that, in response to visible light incident on the assembly, the layered assembly approximates both a target transmitted color and a target reflected color in the recited operating states. The applicants respectfully submit that the examiner relies on generalized statements about matching or approximating "a target color," altering transmitted light color, or harmonizing the appearance of a window with a building envelope or vehicle exterior. Those disclosures do not amount to an express teaching of the claimed relationship among the variable transmittance layer, the reflectance color-balancing layer, the transmittance color-balancing layer, and the selected spectra of those layers.”
This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. This paragraph amounts to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rather the applicant relies on subjective judgements to disparage, rather than address, the rejection of record. The rejection of record, maintained above, includes specific, item-by-item matching of each and every element in the claim. Contrary to applicant’s opinion, the relied upon teachings are not just “generalized statements.” The applicant fails to explain for example how (paragraph [0053]): “to alter … the color of the transmitted light, to match or approximate a target color” falls short of meeting “wherein the transmittance color-balancing layer is configured to cause the transmitted visible light to meet a target transmitted color or spectrum”. The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP § 2131.
In the paragraph spanning pages 13 to 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first argues that the asserted motivation for the combination with Nand is not a sufficient reason why a person of ordinary skill would have modified the specific color- balancing layers of Branda with Nand's layer-by-layer product in a manner that would achieve the claimed invention, because the asserted benefits from Nand, such as haze, clarity, UV stability, longevity, and environmentally friendly manufacture, are generic product advantages. The applicant is correct that there needs to be a nexus between the rationale and the proposed modification. However, the fact that the advantages were in paragraph [0004] in the Background of the Invention, does not in this case mean that they are not the result of the relied upon structures. Quite to the contrary, the structures of the color-balancing layers taught by Nand are the crux of the invention in Nand. As such, the rationale provided is the direct result of the relied upon features.
Secondly, in the paragraph spanning pages 13 to 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant argues that the rejection is incomplete because it does not explain why the artisan would have expected that modification to preserve or produce the coordinated transmitted-color and reflected-color behavior recited in claim 1 and incorporated into claim 24. As now explained in the rejection above, the CIE values of the coordinated transmitted-color and reflected-color behavior recited in claim 1 are not limited. Thus, although it might be true that utilizing the structures of Nand could limit the available portions of CIE color space that the layered assembly can be targeted to achieve, one of ordinary skill in the art would still have a reasonable expectation of success in preserving the ability to achieve some range of targeted transmittance and reflected colors when making this modification.
In the first full paragraph of page 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first argues “Moreover, the Office Action identifies Nand as a source of a missing layer structure, but it does not bridge the gap between that disclosure and the specific optical role required by the pending claims. Nand is not cited as teaching the simultaneous tuning of reflected and transmitted color in a variable-transmittance layered assembly across dark and light states.” In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the current instance, the simultaneous tuning of reflected and transmitted color in a variable-transmittance layered assembly across dark and light states was already taught by Branda, and thus there is no deficiency that Nand would need to fill.
In the first full paragraph of page 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant next argues “Nor does the rejection explain why the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation that substituting Nand's optical product for one or both balancing layers in Chevalier or Branda would yield the claimed coordinated color- balancing result rather than simply produce a differently colored or absorptive layer.” As explained above, the coordinates of the target values of claim 1 are not specified in the claim. Thus, the proposition that adopting the elements of Nand into the layered assembly of Brand would change or limit the reflected and transmitted colors that could be achieved, does not negate the finding that there exist target values in CIE space that an ordinary skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in achieving when performing the proposed modification.
In the first full paragraph of page 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant concludes “On this record, applicants respectfully maintain that the rationale to combine is conclusory and uses Applicants' disclosure as a roadmap.” In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, Nand provides multiple advantages that could be achieved by performing the proposed modification. The applicant’s characterization of the rationale as conclusory is a subjective judgement, not an argument.
In the last three paragraphs of page 14 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant returns to arguing that the claims distinguish over Chevalier. These arguments are moot, given that the prior art rejections over Chevalier have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to claim 1.
In the first paragraph under the heading “Additional Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103” on page 15 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant lists the prior art rejections over Branda or Branda in view of Nand. No argument is made in this paragraph.
In the second paragraph of page 15 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant reiterates that “as previously stated the cited art does not disclose such a reflectance color-balancing layer, i.e., a layer that alters the reflection properties of the layered assembly towards a desired reflected color or spectrum, and also does not disclose that the different layers of the layered assembly are selected such that their transmittance spectra are adapted to one another to the extent that in response to visible light incident on the layered assembly, a transmitted color matches a target transmittance color, and a reflected color approximates a target reflected color.” As written, this is a mere restatement of the applicant’s conclusion, not a new specific argument regarding the rejection.
In the third and fourth paragraphs of page 15 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant states “The effect of these distinguishing features consists in that the reflected visible light of the layered assembly can be brought closer to a respective target reflected color while ensuring that the transmitted visible light of the layered assembly can be brought closer to a respective target transmitted color. With these distinguishing features, the present application manages to provide a layered assembly with improved optical properties with respect to both the reflected color and the transmitted color of the layered assembly.” In response to applicant's argument that the present invention does an improved job of approaching both a respective target reflected color and a respective target transmitted color, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Further, it is notable that none of the specific targeted color ranges of Figs. 6-9, the neutral, gray tones of paragraph [0068] or the specific proximity to these target values are recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, given the breadth of claim 1 that includes a wide range of methods for evaluating approximating the target values, and the unrestricted region of color space in which the target values can be located, the current argument is not commensurate with the claims.
In the paragraph spanning pages 15 and 16 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant reproduces some of their arguments regarding the combination of Branda with Nand. These arguments have been addressed above.
In the first full paragraph of page 16 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant first argues “For claims 10 and 11, the Office Action acknowledges that Branda does not expressly teach rigid substrates respectively laminated as claimed and instead relies on "mere duplication of parts." Applicants respectfully state that the rationale is not sufficient here. Adding a second rigid substrate on the opposite side of the claimed polymer layer or polymer-based layer is not a simple duplication of an existing part performing the same function in the same way. It changes the structure of the assembly from a film applied to a rigid material into a specific rigid/laminate/rigid configuration with different mechanical, lamination, and optical implications.”
This argument is not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Firstly, it would have been helpful if the applicant had cited the case law upon which they were relying to judge whether or not the proposed modification properly met the rubric of duplication of parts, and then explained why the current fact pattern was similar to the relied upon finding. From an internet search, the examiner wildly guesses that the applicant is relying on the Patent Board Decision of 5/26/2011 in patent application 10/787,429 (attached herewith). In that decision, the board reversed the rejections of claim 7-10 rejected under the rubric of In Harza 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 because (page 7 lines 14-24): “The Examiner does not merely duplicate Bortugno's gutter section to make multiples of that gutter section. The Examiner changes the structure of duplicated gutter sections. Bortugno's original section lacks a non-linear air flow passage, yet the Examiner modifies a second gutter section to include a non-linear air flow passage. (See Ans. 7-8). Then the Examiner must further modify the duplicated second section to connect a first air flow passage in Bortugno's original section with the duplicated section's non- linear air flow passage. The Examiner further modifies another duplicated section, a third section, in a different manner.” Thus, it has been held that a proper finding of “a mere duplication of parts” must retain the structure of the duplicated part. The applicant’s purported standard of “performing the same function in the same way” has not been supported by citation to any legal finding. On the contrary, the applicant is arguing that due to the duplication of parts, the structure and performance of the overall layered assembly is changed. The applicant does not present any argument that the first and second rigid substrates have any structural differences from one another. That the proposed modification changes some property such as the rigidity or optical characteristics of the overall device is going to be true of any modification whatsoever, and thus cannot possibly be a reason for why a finding of obviousness under §103 would be improper.
In the first full paragraph of page 16 of 17 of the applicant’s remarks the applicant secondly argues “Paragraph [0125] of Branda merely states that a substrate may be rigid or flexible and that a film may be applied to a rigid material such as a pane or lens. That is not a teaching or reasoned suggestion of the claimed dual-rigid-substrate configuration.” This argument is not persuasive because it is not commensurate with the rejection at hand. Claims 10 and 11 were rejected as obvious over Branda, not anticipation.
No new arguments are presented after this paragraph.
Conclusion
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872