DETAILED ACTION
Claims 29, 30, 32, 33, 45, 46, 48-58 are subject under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29, 30, 32, 33, 45, 46, 48 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13,29 and 45 Applicant is claiming “receive, from a policy control Function (PCF) apparatus that is configured to receive an Application Function (AF) request and to thereby update the SMF, the updated policy information including a cell identifier”. It is unclear if applicant is trying to claim receive an Application Function (AF) request and receive updated policy information including a cell identifier or is applicant trying to claim receive an Application Function (AF) request to thereby update the SMF and to update the policy information including a cell identifier. Further, it is unclear how the SMF is updated? Is it updated by providing the new/ updated policy information?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13,14, 29, 30, 32, 33, 45, 46, 48, 49, 53 and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20190357301 A1) and DAO US 20190394279 A1 in view of Faccin (US 20180227743 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Li teaches A Session Management Function (SMF) apparatus See para 0193 “serving SMF 310”) , comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to thereby (see para 0008 “a network node including at least one network interface, at least one processor, and a non-transient computer readable memory for storing instructions which when executed by the at least one processor configure the network node to execute the methods disclosed herein”) and configured to:
Receive, from a Policy Control Function (PCF) apparatus that is configured to receive an Application Function (AF) request and to thereby update an SMF, (see para 0193 “The PCF 316 generates or update 1230 PCC rule(s) according to the AF request received 1228. The PCF 316 notifies 1232 the PCC rule(s) to the serving SMF 310 of the PDU Session according to a subscription of the SMF to such notifications”; and
Based on the updated policy information from the PCF apparatus, determine whether to perform relocation of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Anchor (PSA) User Plane Function (UPF) (see para 0087 “he SMF may, based on local policies, take the information in the PCC rules into account to (re)select UPF(s) for PDU Sessions”),
wherein a user plane (UP) path is configured with the relocation of the PSA UPF, the UP path being configured between a user equipment (UE) and a data network (DN) see para 0067 “In the presence of UE mobility, it may result in frequent UPF relocation…UE-1 moves from position X1 to X2, its PSA (PDU session Anchor) relocates frequently from A1, to A2, to A3, and finally to A4.”; see para 0088 “In the case of UP path reselection, the SMF may configure the source UPF to forward traffic to the UL CL/BP so that the traffic is steered towards the target UPF.” para 0006 “the PSA is a UPF through which a UP path of the PDU session is connected to a data network (DN).”)[ UP path reselection is interpreted as UP path reconfigured].
Li doesn’t teach updated policy information including a cell identifier
DAO US 20190394279 A1 teaches updated policy information including a cell identifier (see para 0042 “the location element comprises at least one of a …. a RAN address, a cell identifier”; see para 0129 “the PCF 201 may inform the SMF 92 of the applicable indication(s) for the location information element and/or the time information element of individual policy rules”).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine updated policy information including a cell identifier in the system of Li. The motivation is to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication networks (Dao: see para 0002)
Li doesn’t teach send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF).
Faccin (US 20180227743 A1) teaches send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see para 0101 “SMF 225-c may send UPF location information, such as a PSAC value, to AMF 210-a”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) in the system of Li. The motivation is to support the efficient communication. (faccin: See para 0039).
Regarding claim 45, Li teaches a method performed by a Session Management Function (SMF) apparatus (see para 0193 “SMF 310”), the method comprising:
receiving from a Policy Control Function (PCF) apparatus that is configured to receive an Application Functi SMF 310on (AF) request and to thereby update an SMF see para 0193 “The PCF 316 generates or update 1230 PCC rule(s) according to the AF request received 1228. The PCF 316 notifies 1232 the PCC rule(s) to the serving of the PDU Session”); and
based on receiving the updated policy information from the PCF apparatus, determining whether to perform relocation of a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session Anchor (PSA) User Plane Function (UPF) see para 0087 “he SMF may, based on local policies, take the information in the PCC rules into account to (re)select UPF(s) for PDU Sessions”),
wherein a user plane (UP) path is configured with the relocation of the PSA UPF, the UP path being configured between a user equipment (UE) and a data network (DN), see para 0067 “In the presence of UE mobility, it may result in frequent UPF relocation…UE-1 moves from position X1 to X2, its PSA (PDU session Anchor) relocates frequently from A1, to A2, to A3, and finally to A4.”; see para 0088 “In the case of UP path reselection, the SMF may configure the source UPF to forward traffic to the UL CL/BP so that the traffic is steered towards the target UPF.” para 0006 “the PSA is a UPF through which a UP path of the PDU session is connected to a data network (DN).”)[ UP path reselection is interpreted as UP path reconfigured],,
Li doesn’t teach updated policy information including a cell identifier
DAO US 20190394279 A1 teaches updated policy information including a cell identifier (see para 0042 “the location element comprises at least one of a …. a RAN address, a cell identifier”; see para 0129 “the PCF 201 may inform the SMF 92 of the applicable indication(s) for the location information element and/or the time information element of individual policy rules”).
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine updated policy information including a cell identifier in the system of Li. The motivation is to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication networks (Dao: see para 0002)
Li doesn’t teach send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF).
Faccin (US 20180227743 A1) teaches send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see para 0101 “SMF 225-c may send UPF location information, such as a PSAC value, to AMF 210-a”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine send N2 Session Management (SM) information including the cell identifier to an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) in the system of Li. The motivation is to support the efficient communication. (faccin: See para 0039).
Regarding claim 30, 46, Li teaches wherein the PCF apparatus is configured to receive the AF request via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) apparatus (see para 0023 “there is provided a method for execution at a Network Exposure Function. The method comprises receiving, from an Application Function (AF), an application selection notification setup request; transmitting, towards a Policy Control Function (PCF), an application selection notification setup request”)
Regarding claims 32 and 48, Li doesn’t teach wherein the UP path is reconfigured by reestablishing a PDU session using session and service continuity mode 2.
Faccin teaches wherein the UP path is reconfigured by reestablishing a PDU session using session and service continuity mode 2. (see para 0063 “n SSC Mode 2, the DN 235 may trigger a release of a PDU session (e.g., and the associated UPF 230), and may transmit instructions to UE 115-a to establish a new PDU session.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the reconfiguration of the UP path is done by re- establishing a PDU Session using Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode 2 in the system of Li. The motivation is to support the efficient communication. (faccin: See para 0039)
Regarding claims 33 and 49, Li doesn’t teach wherein the UP path is reconfigured by re establishing a PDU Session using Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode 3.
Faccin teaches wherein wherein the UP path is reconfigured by re establishing a PDU Session using Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode 3. (see para0063 “In SSC Mode 3, UE 115-a may establish a different connection or registration (e.g., using a new UPF 230) with a DN 235 while UE 115-a has an established PDU session with the same DN 235.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the reconfiguration of the UP path is done by re- establishing a PDU Session using Session and Service Continuity (SSC) mode 3 in the system of Li. The motivation is to support the efficient communication. (faccin: See para 0039).
Regarding claim 53,56, Li doesn’t teach the cell identifier includes a physical cell ID (PCI).
Dao teaches the cell identifier includes a physical cell ID (PCI) ( see para 0029 “ at least one information element can comprise a location element. In an embodiment, the location element can comprise at least one of a geographical location specified by a 2D and/or a 3D coordinate system, a geographical location specified by an identifier of a geographical zone of a mapping system, a RAN address, a cell identifier, a TAI”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cell identifier includes a physical cell ID (PCI) in the system of Li. The motivation is to optimize operation of user equipment in wireless communication networks (Dao: see para 0002)
Claim(s) 54,55, 57 and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20190357301 A1) and DAO US 20190394279 A1 in view of Faccin (US 20180227743 A1) and further in view of Tsai (US 20190045404 A1).
Regarding claim 54, 57, Li doesn’t teach wherein the cell identifier is an identifier of a candidate secondary cell group (SCG) cell for dual connectivity (DC).
Tsai teaches wherein the cell identifier is an identifier of a candidate secondary cell group (SCG) cell for dual connectivity (DC). (see para 0028 “the UE sends assistant information to enable fast DC configuration. The assistant information could be an indication to tell the network that the UE is configured with DC configuration before the fallback to 2G/3G. The assistant information could be an information element (IE) in RRC message that contains some cell ID(s). The cell ID(s) is the suggested cell(s) for SCG configuration”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cell identifier is an identifier of a candidate secondary cell group (SCG) cell for dual connectivity (DC) in the system of modified Li. The motivation is to improve system capacity (Tsai: see para 0003)
Regarding claim 55 and 58, Li doesn’t teach wherein the N2 SM information requests addition of the candidate SCG cells as an SCG Cell in DC for the UE.
Tsai teaches the N2 SM information requests addition of the candidate SCG cells as an SCG Cell in DC for the UE. (See para 0030 “MeNB 402 sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to UE 401 for adding SCG cell(s) based on the assistant information provided by the UE….As a result, UE 401 can be configured for adding NR cells of SCG quickly”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cell identifier is an identifier of a candidate secondary cell group (SCG) cell for dual connectivity (DC) in the system of modified Li. The motivation is to improve system capacity (Tsai: see para 0003)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMIT KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2416