CTFR 17/920,512 CTFR 96430 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the claims The arguments received on May 15, 2026 have been acknowledged and entered. Claims 12-13, 27, and 29 are amended. Thus, Claims 12-20 and 22-32 are currently pending. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments filed on May 15, 2026 with respect to claims 12-20 and 22-32 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hald et al. (US 2003/0154593 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Hald”) in view of Kim et. (DE 102018205994 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kim”) and Just et al. (DE 102013216488 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Just”) . Regarding claim 29, Hald teaches a test stand for checking an electrode assembly ( para. [0020]: FIG. 1 shows a section of the electrode band coming out of a manufacturing system , where the electrodes 2 are laminated to a separator 1 . The electrodes 2 each comprise active material which is applied to a connection electrode, wherein the connection electrodes are each equipped with connection tabs 3 ; para. [0021]: the impedance measuring method can also be used for checking the machine parameters because bicells measured in this manner usually exhibit a sharp Gauss distribution of the absolute values of the impedance values ), comprising: measure an impedance value of the electrode assembly ( para. [0021]: the impedance measuring method can also be used for checking the machine parameters because bicells measured in this manner usually exhibit a sharp Gauss distribution of the absolute values of the impedance values ) that is to be used in a galvanic element ( para. [0009]: This invention relates to a method for manufacturing a galvanic element including forming individual cells including electrode films laminated to a separator…verifying the function of the individual cells by measuring impedance of the individual cells ), the electrode assembly having at least one anode and at least one cathode, and a separator having an open porosity positioned between each anode and cathode ( para. [0003]: the individual cells or elements that make up such a cell stack are a laminate created by connection tabs, an active electrode film, and a separator . Such laminates of rigidly connected individual parts are manufactured in particular as so-called “bicells” with the possible sequences negative electrode/separator/positive electrode/separator/negative electrode or p ositive electrode/separator/negative electrode/separator/positive electrode) , the impedance measured between the at least one anode and the at least one cathode ( para. [0003]: see above; para. [0009]: verifying the function of the individual cells by measuring impedance of the individual cells ); compare the measured impedance value with a reference ( para. [0018]: initially set limit ) value to determine whether the soft short ( paras. [0014], [0021]: short circuits ) exists in the electrode assembly such that the electrode assembly is a faulty electrode assembly ( para. [0014]: testing for short circuits or current leakages with a direct-current resistivity measurement is very difficult because polarization and diffusion effects can influence the measurement heavily; para. [0018]: It is possible to collect the measured impedance values in a cumulative process. The measured values can be used to create a distribution curve . Individual cells with an impedance outside initially set limits of the distribution curve are then sorted out . The cells that were sorted out can then be marked as reject cells ); and the impedance value is measured prior to introduction of electrolyte and installation of the electrode assembly into a galvanic element ( para. [0009]: This invention relates to a method for manufacturing a galvanic element including forming individual cells including electrode films laminated to a separator…verifying the function of the individual cells by measuring impedance of the individual cells; para. [0014]: the performance of individual laminated bicells can be determined by an impedance measurement for alternating voltage or alternating current even before creating a cell stack and, more particularly, before introducing an electrolyte ). Hald does not specifically teach a separator having an open porosity. However, Kim teaches a separator having an open porosity ( page 2, liens 37-38: the present invention provides a high flow composite separator comprising at least one nonwoven sheet and at least one polyolefin sheet. The nonwoven fabric layer comprises at least one fiber material and has an open-pore structure ). Hald and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the separator having an open porosity such as is described in Kim into Hald, in order to provide a high flow composite separator comprising at least one nonwoven sheet and at least one polyolefin sheet (Kim, page 5, lines 38-39). Hald and Kim do not specifically teach a processor and associated memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions in order to: communicate with another device to cause the other device to sort out the faulty electrode assembly for discarding or further processing responsive to determining that the electrode assembly is faulty. However, Just teaches a processor ( computer unit ) and an evaluation module associated memory ( page 7, lines 7-10: the monitoring unit has a memory unit ), wherein the evaluation module is configured to executed instructions and communication with another device ( page 7, lines 7-10: arithmetic unit ) to cause the other device to sort out ( page 5, lines 32-35: it is also conceivable that other errors are detected, such as short circuits or faulty electrical connections , which could have been caused by faulty joint connections or torn off contacts. The production time and the reject rate in the production of energy storage cells are lowered in this way, so that overall the manufacturing costs decrease; page 7, lines 7-10: the monitoring unit has a memory unit for storing at least one reference value, and wherein the monitoring unit has a comparator unit for comparing the impedance calculated with the arithmetic unit with the at least one reference value stored in the memory unit . It is conceivable that the electrode arrangement is released immediately for further processing as soon as the impedance has reached the reference value or has approached sufficiently ) the faulty electrode assembly ( page 5, lines 32-35: errors are detected, such as short circuits or faulty electrical connections and manufacturing ). Hald and Just are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a battery manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the soft short and sorting out the faulty electrode assembly such as are described in Just into Hald, in order to measure the distribution of the electrolyte within the electrode arrangement, a voltage between the electrodes is measured and / or a current between the electrodes is measure (Just, page 6, lines 7-8). Examiner’s Note: as for the limitation of “the electrode assembly is not laminate” in claim 29, Examiner does not give any patentable weight because this limitation is not part of the claimed invention, which is “a test stand for checking an electrode assembly.” Regarding claim 30, Hald in view of Kim and Just teaches all the limitation of claim 29, in addition, Hald teaches a production line for galvanic elements comprising: electrode assembly ( para. [0020]: FIG. 1 shows a section of the electrode band coming out of a manufacturing system , where the electrodes 2 are laminated to a separator 1 ) and test stand ( Fig. 1 and para. [0020]: FIG. 1 shows a section of the electrode band coming out of a manufacturing system , where the electrodes 2 are laminated to a separator 1 . The electrodes 2 each comprise active material which is applied to a connection electrode, wherein the connection electrodes are each equipped with connection tabs 3 ; para. [0021]: the impedance measuring method can also be used for checking the machine parameters because bicells measured in this manner usually exhibit a sharp Gauss distribution of the absolute values of the impedance values ). Hald does not specifically teach the other device configured to sort out the faulty electrode assembly responsive to the communication from test site. However, Just teaches the other device configured to sort out the faulty electrode assembly responsive to the communication ( page 7, lines 7-10: the monitoring unit has a memory unit for storing at least one reference value, and wherein the monitoring unit has a comparator unit for comparing the impedance calculated with the arithmetic unit with the at least one reference value stored in the memory unit. It is conceivable that the electrode arrangement is released immediately for further processing as soon as the impedance has reached the reference value or has approached sufficiently ) from the test site ( page 5, lines 32-35: it is also conceivable that other errors are detected, such as short circuits or faulty electrical connections ). Hald and Just are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of a battery manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the production line for galvanic elements such as is described in Just into Hald, in order to measure the distribution of the electrolyte within the electrode arrangement, a voltage between the electrodes is measured and / or a current between the electrodes is measure (Just, page 6, lines 7-8). Examiner’s Note: as for the limitation of “the electrode assembly is not laminate” in claim 29, Examiner does not give any patentable weight because this limitation is not part of the claimed invention, which is “a test stand for checking an electrode assembly” and “a production line for galvanic elements . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 12-20, 22-28, and 31-32 are allowed over the prior art of record. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art fails to teach a method for sorting out faulty electrode assemblies that has following the limitations: “measuring an impedance value of the electrode assembly between the at least one anode and the at least one cathode; comparing the measured impedance value with a reference value to determine that the soft short exists in the electrode assembly such that the electrode assembly is a faulty electrode assembly; sorting out the faulty electrode assembly; and discarding or further processing the faulty electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly is not laminated, and the impedance value is measured prior to introduction of electrolyte and installation of the electrode assembly into the galvanic element.” Dependent claims 13-20, 22-28, and 31-32 are patent eligible based on dependence from claim 12 . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pan et al. (US 2021/0028427 A1) teaches that the present invention discloses a composite separator including a first layer and a second layer; the first layer is a dendrite carrying layer and the second layer is a dendrite inhibiting layer. Antonopoulos et al. (US 2019/0296308 A1) teaches that A separator for a lithium secondary cell is provided. The separator has a separator substrate, selected from porous separators for liquid-electrolyte cells and solid-electrolyte separators having lithium ion conductivity, and has a layer of glassy carbon (GC), which is applied at least on one side of the separator substrate. A lithium secondary cell is also provided, which contains a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and a separator placed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode. Detig-Karlou et al. (US 2019/0140256 A1) teaches electrode material, for a lithium-ion-based electrochemical cell, containing primary particles of a Mn-containing spinel-type metal oxide selected from the group consisting of spinel-type lithium-nickel-manganese-oxide, spinel-type lithium-manganese-oxide, and mixtures thereof. Mn of the Mn-containing spinel-type metal oxide is partially substituted with a substitution-element selected from the group consisting of Si, Hf, Zr, Fe, Al, V and mixtures thereof and the primary particles are aggregated in order to form secondary particles, with the secondary particles having the shape of a microsphere. Woehrle et al. (US 2017/0331147 A1) teaches that a composite separator is provided which includes a polymer membrane, a binder, a solid inorganic lithium-ion conductor and a liquid electrolyte. The solid inorganic lithium-ion conductor is present in the composite separator in a higher volume and weight proportion than the liquid electrolyte. A method for forming the composite separator is also provided, and a lithium-ion battery is provided which includes a composite separator having a polymer membrane, a binder, a solid inorganic lithium-ion conductor and a liquid electrolyte. Shinohara et al. (JP 2002190291 A) teaches that [1] a separator for the lithium ion secondary battery comprising a polyolefin porous membrane and a polyester resin porous membrane. [2] A separator for the lithium ion secondary battery comprising laminate of the polyolefin porous membrane and the polyester resin porous membrane. [3] The separator for the lithium ion secondary battery comprising laminate of the polyolefin porous film and the polyester resin porous film, and bonding both with an adhesive. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SANGKYUNG LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-3669. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LEE RODAK can be reached at 571-270-5618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 /LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 17/920,512 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858