DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on May 11th, 2026, amended claims 2 and 6 and new claims 29-38 are entered. Claims 13-15, 17-22, and 28 are canceled. Claims 1-10 and 29-38 are currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the objections to the abstract and specification have been fully considered. The objections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered. The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's arguments, filed on May 11th, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections are maintained, and further clarified, in view of the amendment. However, the rejection of claims 6 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
At Pgs. 12-13 of the Reply, Applicant argues that “Zhou’s electrodes are provided on the toilet seat surface, not embedded on the housing upper surface as required by the present claims. The Specification distinguishes ‘embedded on’ from merely ‘provided on’”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant’s Specification fails to distinguish “embedded on” from “provided on”, as the Specification merely recites similar limitations to the claim language. The reasoning that Zhou’s electrodes cannot be interpreted as “embedded on” is incorrect, as Figure 1 clearly shows that elements 411 and 412 are integrated into the toilet seat. The curvature of the toilet seat can be seen in the curvature of the electrodes as well, which is evidence that the electrodes are not simply placed on top of the toilet seat, but rather that they are embedded onto the seat.
At Pgs. 14-15 of the Reply, Applicant argues that unlike Zhou, “all components, impedance measurement assembly, dehumidification assembly, and processor are within this single unified enclosure”, citing [0076-0078] of the Applicant’s Specification. The Applicant seems to be arguing more than what is actually being claimed. There are currently no limitations requiring all the components to be within a “single unified enclosure”. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are moot.
At Pgs. 15-16 of the Reply, Applicant argues that “the rejections extensively rely on ‘Examiner’s Note’ statements rather than explicit Zhou disclosures…the claimed through holes serve the specific function of mounting the humidity measurement assembly through the stacked layers of the device structure, not for allowing the passage of human waste”. The Examiner would like to clarify that the “Examiner’s Notes” were intended to provide greater clarity for the interpretations. Currently, the claims are written broadly enough that a toilet is still able to read on the claims. The Examiner further notes that because the claims are drawn to a device, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites “a human body” in lines 2-3. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a human body” in line 4 of Claim 1, or a separate element.
Claim 29 recites “when the humidity value does not meet the measurement condition requirement” in lines 5-6. However, it is unclear as to what happens if the humidity value does meet the measurement condition requirement. Clarification is requested.
Claim 30 recites “a measured body impedance” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a body impedance” in line 7 of Claim 29, or a separate element.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the processor is further configured to: output prompt information” in lines 1-2. It is unclear as to how the processor can output the information, as a user interface would be necessary to actually output information.
Claim 34 recites “a body surface” in line 16. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a human body” in line 4 of Claim 34, or a separate element.
Claim 37 recites “a measured body impedance” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a body impedance” in line 18 of Claim 34, or a separate element.
Claim 37 recites “a body impedance measurement” in line 5. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “body impedance” that was measured in line 18 of Claim 34, or a separate element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. Publication No. 2018/271446; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou discloses a device (smart toilet with a function of detecting the body composition; Abstract) comprising:
a detector (body composition detecting module 4; [0042]) comprising:
an impedance measurement assembly (driving electrode plate 411; acquisition probe 412) comprising a first upper surface that is configured for contact with a human body for measuring impedance (the body composition detecting module 4 includes driving electrode plate 411 and acquisition probe 412. Driving electrode plate 411 is provided on the toilet base or the machine body and is used to input AC electrical signals into the human body. Acquisition probe 412 is used to acquire components of the above AC electrical signals on the human body; [0042]; Figure 1); and
a dehumidification assembly (temperature control module 8; user cleaning module 9; [0052-0054]);
a support layer comprising a processor (controller 3; [0042]) electrically coupled with the impedance measurement assembly (controller 3 and following modules that are electrically connected to controller 3 respectively, i.e., body composition detecting module 4; [0042]) and the dehumidification assembly (The toilet seat temperature control module 8 includes a temperature sensor and a toilet seat heating module that are provided on the toilet seat and are electrically connected to the controller respectively; [0052]; In order to enrich the functions, the smart toilet further includes user cleaning module 9 which is electrically connected to controller 3; [0054]); and
a housing (toilet base 2; machine body 1; [0042]) enclosing the impedance measurement assembly (The smart toilet includes toilet base 2, wherein the smart toilet further includes machine body 1 which is connected to the toilet base. The machine body 1 is provided with controller 3 and following modules that are electrically connected to controller 3 respectively, i.e., body composition detecting module 4; [0042]), the dehumidification assembly (the smart toilet further includes the toilet seat temperature control module 8…the smart toilet further includes user cleaning module 9; [0052-0054]), and the processor (The machine body 1 includes machine body main part 10, toilet seat 12 which is pivotally connected to machine body main part 10, and a rotatory rear cover is provided on toilet base 2. The smart toilet further includes the toilet seat temperature control module 8 which is electrically connected to controller 3 and controls the temperature of the toilet sea. The toilet seat temperature control module 8 includes a temperature sensor and a toilet seat heating module that are provided on the toilet seat and are electrically connected to the controller respectively; [0027]) and comprising a second upper surface (surface of toilet seat 12),
wherein the impedance measurement assembly is embedded on the second upper surface (The driving electrode plate 411 and acquisition probe 412 are metal plates and are provided on toilet seat 12. There are a pair of driving electrode plates 411 and a pair of acquisition probes 412. When the person goes to the bathroom and sits on the toilet seat, the thighs of the person contact the driving electrode plate and acquisition probe; [0048]), and
wherein the first upper surface is flush with or higher than the second upper surface (The driving electrode plate 411 and acquisition probe 412 are metal plates and are provided on toilet seat 12; [0048]; Examiner’s Note: the driving electrode plate 411 and acquisition probe 412 is flush with the or higher than the surface of the toilet seat 12, as they are provided on toilet seat 12 and configured to contact the thighs of the person sitting on the seat).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou discloses wherein the detector further comprises a humidity measurement assembly electrically coupled to the processor (the smart toilet further includes user cleaning module 9…includes a temperature sensor; [0054-0055]) and disposed within a through hole of the impedance measurement assembly (see placement of element 9 in Figure 1), and wherein the humidity measurement assembly comprises a third upper surface that is configured for contact with the human body for measurement (The human body sensing module 7 includes a capacitive sensor, a pressure sensor, or an inductive electrode plate…the capacitive sensor, the pressure sensor, or the inductive electrode plate is provided on the toilet base 2 or machine body 1. After the person sits down, the person directly or indirectly contacts the capacitive sensor, the pressure sensor, or the inductive electrode plate, causing capacitance change of the capacitive sensor, making the pressure sensor generate the piezoelectric effects, or leading to current change or voltage change of the circuit connected to the sensor or inductive electrode plate…therefore, the controller can determine whether the user has sat down; [0050]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou discloses wherein the dehumidification assembly is an electric heating element (The toilet seat heating module can include electrical heating tube, heating wire or electromagnetic heating group, and further includes some necessary power supply and control circuits. The user can conveniently adjust the temperature of the toilet seat through the toilet seat temperature control module 8, which is helpful to improve user experience of the present invention; [0052]), wherein the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, the electric heating element, and the support layer are stacked from a top to a bottom (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein these elements are stacked together), wherein the device further comprises a through hole on each of the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the electric heating element (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows that there is a hole in the seat, which qualifies as a through hole on each of the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the electric heating element), wherein the humidity measurement assembly is mounted in the through hole (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein user cleaning module 9 is mounted in the through hole), and wherein a lower end of the humidity measurement assembly is electrically coupled to the support layer (the smart toilet further includes user cleaning module 9 which is electrically connected to controller 3; [0054]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhou discloses wherein the through hole is centered on the impedance measurement assembly and the electric heating element (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows the through hole is centered on the toilet seat, which is equivalent to both the impedance measurement assembly and the electric heating element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lin (U.S. Patent No. 5,613,304; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhou discloses wherein the dehumidification assembly is a fan (fan module 94; [0054]), wherein the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, the fan, and the support layer are stacked from a top to a bottom (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein these elements are stacked together), and wherein the device further comprises:
a through hole on each of the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the fan (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows that there is a hole in the seat, which qualifies as a through hole on each of the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the fan), wherein the humidity measurement assembly is mounted in the through hole (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein user cleaning module 9 is mounted in the through hole), and wherein a lower end of the humidity measurement assembly is electrically coupled to the processor (the smart toilet further includes user cleaning module 9 which is electrically connected to controller 3; [0054]); and
an air vent located at corresponding positions on the impedance measurement assembly and the housing (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows that there is a hole in the seat, which qualifies as an air vent located at corresponding position on the impedance measurement assembly and the housing).
Zhou fails to teach a plurality of air vents.
In a similar technical field, Lin teaches a foot dryer and weight scale (Abstract), comprising a plurality of air vents (The upper housing 1 has two groups of many small air holes 3 in an upper surface just on two air chambers 4 and 5 provided under the upper surface; Column 2 Lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the air vent teachings of Lin into the invention of Zhou in order to enable air to flow out and dry the user (Lin Column 1 Lines 38-39).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou discloses a fan (fan module 94; [0054]), and wherein the through hole is centered on the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the fan (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows that there is a hole in the seat, which qualifies as a through hole that is centered on the impedance measurement assembly, the housing, and the fan).
Zhou fails to specifically disclose wherein the fan comprises a rotating shaft.
In a similar technical field, Lin teaches a foot dryer and weight scale (Abstract), wherein the fan (electric fan 12) comprises a rotating shaft (Figures 3, 4, and 10 show wherein the fan comprises a rotating shaft).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the rotating shaft teachings of Lin into the invention of Zhou in order to provide a rotating fan to blow air, which is powered electrically and easily controlled on and off by the user (Lin Column 2 Lines 27-35).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Murphy et al U.S. Patent No. 10,398,343; previously cited) and Afzali-Ardakani et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,726,634; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou discloses wherein the impedance measurement assembly has an arc-shaped convex structure (Examiner’s Note: Figure 1 shows wherein elements 411 and 412 are arranged in an arc-shaped convex structure), and wherein the impedance measurement assembly comprises a conductive material (The driving electrode plate 411 and acquisition probe 412 are metal plates and are provided on toilet seat 12; [0048]).
Zhou fails to disclose wherein the dehumidification assembly is a drying ring disposed around the impedance measurement assembly.
In a similar technical field, Murphy teaches a perspiration sensor (Abstract), wherein the dehumidification assembly is a drying ring disposed around the impedance measurement assembly (As shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, the perspiration sensor 100 can be constructed from two or more layers of insulating or dielectric material (e.g., a first layer 110, a second layer 120 and the third layer 130; Column 5 Lines 19-22; The second layer 120 forms a ring 122 that at least partially surrounds or encloses the dielectric material 124 in the dielectric space defined by the central chamber 26. When the three layers are bonded together, they form a central chamber 126 which encloses the dielectric material 124 (e.g., the moisture absorbent material); Column 5 Line 64 – Column 6 Line 3; Figure 4; the skin electrode 136 can be electrically connected to the dielectric material 124 in the central chamber 126 of the perspiration sensor 100 by extending circuit traces around or vias through the third layer 130 to the middle layer 120 and in contact with the dielectric material 124. In accordance with other embodiments, the skin electrode 136 can be electrically connected to the dielectric material 124 by circuit traces or wires that extend from the inner surface of the third layer 130 into the central chamber 126. The skin electrode 136 can be covered with a solder mask or other insulating material (e.g., skin adhesive tape). When the perspiration sensor 100 is adhered or placed in contact with the skin, the skin electrode 136 capacitively couples the dielectric material 124 to the skin; Column 6 Lines 20-33; Figure 5; As shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the third layer 130 includes one or more vias or plated through holes that electrically connect the skin electrode 136 to the inner surface of the third layer 130 and after assembly, make electrical contact with an inner trace or electrode 122 on the middle layer 120. The inner electrode 122 can extend into the central chamber 126 and make contact with the moisture absorbent dielectric material 124. In some embodiments of the invention, all or a portion of the inner surface 128 of the middle layer 120 can include a conductive material (e.g., copper or tin) that makes contact with the moisture absorbent dielectric material 124; Column 7 Lines 6-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the drying ring teachings of Murphy into the invention of Zhou in order to absorb moisture and thus, shield and stabilize the sensor to reduce noise (Murphy Column 1 Lines 29-60).
Zhou and Murphy fail to disclose wherein the impedance measurement assembly comprises a super-hydrophobic material.
In a similar technical field, Afzali-Ardakani teaches hydrophobic biosensing device (Abstract), wherein the impedance measurement assembly comprises a super-hydrophobic material (superhydrophobic electrode; Column 9 Lines 4-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the super-hydrophobic teachings of Afzali-Ardakani into the invention of Zhou in order to enable label-free detection of biological molecules (Afzali-Ardakani Column 2 Lines 47-50).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Kang et al (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0125198; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhou fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises a groove, and wherein the impedance measurement assembly is disposed in the groove.
In a similar technical field, Kang teaches an apparatus for measuring bio-information (Abstract), wherein the housing comprises a groove (guide groove 815), and wherein the impedance measurement assembly is disposed in the groove (the electrode part may be disposed on the top/bottom portions of the guide groove 815; [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the groove teachings of Kang into the invention of Zhou in order to guide an object to accurately contact the sensor when bio-information is measured (Kang [0114-0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 29-38 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791