Detailed Action
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23, 26-27, 31, 35, 40, 59-62, 67, 71, and 81 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I and compound
in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 31, 60, 62, 67, and 71 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II or unelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23, 26-27, 35, 40, 59, 61, and 81 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
The elected species was found to be free of the art. Search and examination was broadened to encompass compounds in which the L group was C=O-alkylene rather than a C=O-biphenylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23, 26-27, 35, 40, 59, 61, and 81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (WO2020035049, published 2/20/2020, Google Patent English translation cited herein) in view of Mikochik (US20200131189, published 4/30/2025, claiming priority to US provisional application No. 16667027 filed 10/29/2019, cited in 4/14/2023 IDS).
Chen teaches compounds for targeting and degrading CDKs (Abstract). Specifically, Chen teaches compounds which are PROTACS or chimeric bifunctional compounds comprising a CDK(7 and/or 9) inhibitor moiety and a degron (cereblon) moiety to overcome shortcomings of other small molecule inhibitors (Translation Doc: Page 24, Para 1-2). For example, compound 157 is taught as such a bifunctional compound on Page 98:
.
Chen does not teach that
may instead be a single saturated cycle sans methylene or an alternative CDK9 inhibitor moiety similar to that of the elected compound.
Mikochik also teaches compounds which function as CDK9 inhibitors (Abstract; Title; Page 6, Compound 48). Mikochik teaches Compound 35,
, as a potent CDK9 inhibitor (Page 45, Table).
Both Chen and Mikochik teach CDK inhibitors comprising a bicyclic core comprising 3 nitrogen ring heteroatoms and two substituents (an alkyl and substituted heterocyclyl) at the same position. Using Chen’s teaching that the bifunctional compounds possess the degron moiety to efficiently target CDK9s for degradation, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to substitute one inhibitor moiety for the CDK9 inhibitor moiety taught by Mikochik and expect greater CDK9 activity reduction compared to the Mikochik inhibitor alone. One of skill in the art would reasonably expect to be able to attach the Mikochik moiety to the degron moiety through the N-C(=O)- motif of the Chen PROTAC to form the following heterobifunctional CDK9 degrader:
in which the following definitions of examined Formula (I) apply: R1 is alkyl; DR2, R3, R4, R5, and R6 are H; A is
(Claim 13); L is
(Claims 19 and 23); and E is
(Claims 26-27 and 35). The modified compound is the same as the first compound listed on Page 13 of instant Claim 59. Other particular combinations of appropriate moieties in Mikochik and Chen would be expected to yield similar biheterofunctional PROTACS, encompassed within Formula (I), which degrade CDK9 more efficiently than any particular CDK9 inhibitor moiety alone.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627