DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-16 and 65-67 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1, 5, 13, and 15-16 have been amended.
Claims 6, and 14 have been cancelled.
Claims 3, 9, 15-16, and 65-67 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application claims benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/013270, filed on 21 April 2020 and PCT/US2021/028492, filed on 21 April 2021. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 21 April 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 12 August 2025, 20 August 2025, and 12 December 2025 are acknowledged and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 22 May 2026 has been entered.
In view of applicant amendment to claim 1, the 102(a)(1) of record is withdrawn as Ciba does not teach fluorinated alkyl groups for R, which corresponds to the instant R9.
In addition, new 102(a)(1) rejections are necessitated by amendment and request for continuation (see below).
All rejections and objections not found below have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has amended the claims such that the previously examined species, 2-amino-3-(3-fluoro-4-hydroxyphenyl)propanoic acid., is no longer a claimed compound. As such, the search has been expanded to the next compound listed in claim 13; 2-amino-2-[(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)methyl]-3-fluoropropanoic acid.
NEW REJECTIONS NECESSITATED BY AMENDMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kollonitsch et al. (US4325961A).
Regarding claim 1, Kollonitsch discloses compounds of Formula (I) (pictured below), which is a species of the instant genus when the reference R is
,
, R1 is H and R2 is H (columns 1-2).
Formula (I)
Regarding claim 2, Kollonitsch discloses R1, which corresponds to the instant R14 is H (column 1, line 47).
Regarding claim 4, Kollonitsch discloses the substituent corresponding to the instant R4 is hydroxyl and the substituent corresponding to the instant R10 is amino.
Regarding claim 5, Kollonitsch discloses a compound of claim 1 that is not one of the recited compounds of claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Kollonitsch discloses the compounds can have the S isomer (column 1, line 66).
Regarding claim 8, Kollonitsch discloses the substituents corresponding to X1, X2, X3, and X4 are CR7, CR11, CR8, and CR12, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Kollonitsch discloses the substituent corresponding to the instant R4 is hydroxyl.
Regarding claim 11, Kollonitsch discloses the substituent corresponding to the instant R1 is H
Regarding claim 12, Kollonitsch the substituent corresponding to the instant R7 is hydroxyl.
Regarding claim 13, Kollonitsch discloses 2-amino-2-[(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)methyl]-3-fluoropropanoic acid (pictured below) (column 5, example 1).
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 are rejected.
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621