DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 06/05/2026.
Claims 33 and 35 have been amended.
Claims 33-38 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 33 filed on 06/05/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, after updating the search, based on the Applicant’s amendment, the arguments on the feature has been addressed in the instant Office Action with previously identified prior art (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220053468, hereinafter “Chen”) and newly identified prior art (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200413412, hereinafter “Kim”) by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said feature are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220053468, hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200413412, hereinafter “Kim”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Chen unless otherwise mentioned.
Chen discloses a wireless communication method in a cellular system involving a terminal device and a network device (see Fig. 1). Chen discloses that, in paragraphs [0002]-[0003], “Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communication… In a New Radio (NR) system, a terminal device determines a resource for detecting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) through a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space configured by a network device”.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding Claim 33, Chen teaches A method performed by a terminal device (Fig. 1; a terminal device 120), comprising: Chen discloses a wireless communication method in a cellular system involving a terminal device and a network device (see Fig. 1). Chen discloses that, in paragraphs [0002]-[0003], “Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communication… In a New Radio (NR) system, a terminal device determines a resource for detecting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) through a control resource set (CORESET) and a search space configured by a network device”. Chen further teaches:
receiving, from a network device (Fig. 1; a network device 110), first configuration information indicating a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate and a second PDCCH candidate linked to PDCCH repetition, wherein the first PDCCH candidate corresponds to a first search space set associated with a first control resource set (CORESET), and the second PDCCH candidate corresponds to a second search space set associated with a second CORESET,
Chen discloses receiving configuration information that configures multiple CORESET’s and search spaces for DCI (PDCCH) repetition transmission. Specifically Chen teaches configuring N CORESETs for DCI repetition, where search spaces across different CORESETs are linked to transmit the same DCI.
[0109]: The terminal device receives configuration of N CORESETs for DCI repetition transmission, and each CORESET is associated with M search spaces, … The terminal device assumes that in the M search spaces associated with each of the N CORESETs, N search spaces with the same index transmit the same DCI.
Furthermore, Chen explicitly states that the linkage between a first search space (associated with a first CORESET) and a second search space (associated with a second CORESET) for repetition can be indicated via an associated search space ID within the configuration parameters.
[0086]: In other words, in addition to the search space ID of the first search space, the parameters of the first search space include another associated search space ID, and the associated search space ID indicates the second search space associated with the first search space.
[0100]: The terminal device determines that the first search space and the second search space transmit the same DCI. In addition to the search space ID of the first search space, the parameters of the first search space include another associated search space ID.
Therefore, Chen explicitly discloses first configuration information indicating PDCCH candidates linked for repetition, where the candidates correspond to search spaces associated with respective first and second CORESETs.
the first search space set and the second search space set are configured with a same periodicity, a same offset, a same duration and, a same number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot of the first search space set and a slot of the second search space set, and
Chen teaches that the plurality of search spaces linked for repetition transmission are configured with identical structural parameters, including monitoring periodicity, time slot offset, and duration.
[0056]: Optionally, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the plurality of search spaces includes at least one same parameter of: a monitoring periodicity, a time slot offset, a duration, a number of PDCCH candidates, a search space type, and an aggregation level.
[0102]: Optionally, in the first embodiment, the first search space and the second search space are configured with the same monitoring periodicity, duration, aggregation level, and search space type.
Regarding the requirement of “a same number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot of the first search space set and a slot of the second search space set,” Chen discloses that the first and second search spaces share the same time slot offset configuration and specify the exact same number of symbol configurations (e.g., two adjacent or non-adjacent OFDM symbols) within the time slot.
[0061]: For example, provided that the plurality of search spaces include a first search space and a second search space, the time slot offset configurations (offsets) of the first search space and the second search space are the same, and the initial OFDM symbol configuration indicates two adjacent OFDM symbols, as shown in FIG. 8, or may also indicate other two non-adjacent OFDM symbols in the same time slot.
Furthermore, Chen illustrates that even when the first and second search spaces occupy different continuous slots, they maintain this identical internal slot configuration.
[0064]: For another example… the starting time slot of the second search space=the starting time slot of the first search space+1, and the first search space and the second search space have the same time slot offset configuration...
Therefore, because the first and second search spaces are configured with identical symbol durations and time slot offsets within their respective slots, it implicitly and necessarily result in configuring "a same number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot" between the first and second search space sets.
wherein the same number of PDCCH monitoring occasions within the slot of the first search space set and the slot of the second search space set is (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Kim.)
monitoring the first PDCCH candidate and the second PDCCH candidate for a downlink control information (DCI)
Chen teaches that the terminal device monitors the linked PDCCH candidates to detect the DCI, either by joint detection or independent detection.
[0005] of Kim: A first aspect provides a wireless communication method including determining, by a terminal device, a plurality of search spaces for transmitting same DCI; and detecting, by the terminal device, the DCI in the plurality of search spaces.
[0105] of Kim: Optionally, in the first embodiment, the terminal device jointly detects the DCI in the first search space and the second search space.
It is noted that while disclosing while Chen establishes the overarching configuration of search spaces and their alignment int the time domain (see paragraphs [0103]-[0104]), to the extent that Chen does not explicitly detail the exact signaling formant using a symbol-level bitmap (where individual configuration bits correspond to symbols within the slot), Kim teaches the missing limitation: wherein … PDCCH monitoring occasions within the slot of the first search space set and the slot of the second search space set is indicated by bits of second configuration information respectively corresponding to symbols within the slot of the first search space set and the slot of the second search space set.
Kim explicitly teaches configuring PDCCH monitoring occasions within a slot using configuration information comprising a bit string (i.e., a bitmap), wherein individual bits within the string directly correspond to specific OFDM symbols within the slot.
[0093] of Kim: In 5G, a parameter for a search space for a PDCCH may be configured for a terminal by a base station through higher layer signaling … [TABLE 10] … monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot BIT STRING (SIZE (14))
[0191] of Kim: As yet another example, the base station may configure, for the terminal, pattern information (e.g. the information may correspond to a monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot among search space configuration parameters) relating to a monitoring occasion in a slot… The most significant (left) bit represents the first OFDM symbol in a slot, and the second most significant (left) bit represents the second OFDM symbol in a slot and so on. The bit(s) set to one identify the first OFDM symbol(s) of the control resource set within a slot.
[0192] of Kim: The terminal may monitor a PDCCH in the position of a symbol designated by a monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot in slot…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Chen’s search space configuration framework by incorporating the symbol-level bitmap indication method (i.e., monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot) taught by Kim. Doing so provides a precise, flexible, and standardized configuration mechanism through higher layer signaling to explicitly control the exact placement and number of monitoring occasions within the slots of the linked search spaces sets.
A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) reviewing Chen would understand the necessity of configuring multiple search spaces and CORESETs with aligned parameters to facilitate PDCCH repetition and improve DCI transmission reliability (Chen, paragraphs [0003] and [0056]). In implementing Chen’s multi-CORESET repetition architecture-where search spaces across different CORESETs are explicitly linked for transmitting the same DCI (Chen, paragraphs [0086] and [0109])-a POSITA would recognize the need for an efficient and granular signaling mechanism to specify the examt symbol positions and the number of monitoring occasions within a given slot. Kim provides a well-known, standardized approach for configuring these control resources using symbol-level bitmaps (where bits respectively correspond to symbol in a slot). Combining Chen’s structural framework for explicitly linked search spaces across multiple CORESETS with Kim’s symbol-level bitmaps signaling involves the simple substitution and combination of known prior art elements according to established method.
Regarding claim 35, it is a terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 33, except limitations “at least one memory having program instructions stored therein; and at least one processor configured to execute the program instructions to” (See Fig. 14 (Processor 710 and Memory 720) and para [0221] of Chen; the computer program product may be applied to the mobile terminal/terminal device in the embodiment of the present disclosure, and the computer program instruction enables a computer to execute a corresponding process implemented by the mobile terminal/terminal device in each method of the embodiment of the present disclosure.) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 33.
Regarding claim 37, it is a method claim, performed by a network device, corresponding to the method claim 33, except limitations “a network device” (See Fig. 1, network device 110) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 33.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 34, Chen and Kim teach The method of claim 33, Chen further teaches wherein the first CORESET is associated with a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and the second CORESET is associated with a second TCI state (Para [0162]; different CORESETs are independently configured with different TCIs.).
Regarding Claims 36 and 38, Claims 36 and 38, have similar limitation as of Claim(s) 34, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 34.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411