DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 31 March 2026. Claims 1-10, 13-17, and 19-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 11-12 and 18 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pg. 6-8, filed 31 March 2026, with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are moot for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE-102013210761-A1, hereinafter “Gosen” (previously of record), in view of US-20180072306-A1, hereinafter “Yamazaki” (previously of record) and further in view of US-20190176804-A1, hereinafter “Liang” (newly of record).
Regarding claim 1, and analogous claim 14, Gosen discloses A control system for controlling torque provided by a belt integrated starter generator of a vehicle, the belt integrated starter generator configured to connect to an engine of the vehicle via a belt (translated document of Gosen, Fig. 1: situation detection unit 16, starter generator 3, internal combustion engine 2, belt drive 4; pg. 4, 2nd paragraph: “Against this background, the object of the present invention is to improve a method for operating a vehicle having an internal combustion engine [i.e., engine of the vehicle] and a starter generator [i.e., belt integrated starter generator of a vehicle] integrated via a belt drive [i.e., connect…via a belt] in such a way that a uniform operability is made possible both in conventional and in purely electric driving, wherein in particular a starting situation, the fuel consumption of the internal combustion engine is reduced during the startup process.”; pg. 9, 1st paragraph: “Due to the previously enumerated, in the situation detection unit 16 evaluated states, a corresponding signal is now triggered, which the starter generator 3 in the state "active" F1, this consequently activated. As a result, the starter generator acts as an electric motor, so that the torque M1 is generated [i.e., a control system for controlling torque provided by a belt integrated starter generator of a vehicle].”),
Regarding claim 14, Gosen discloses a method for controlling torque provided by a belt integrated starter generator of a vehicle (translated document of Gosen, pg. 4, 2nd paragraph: “…the object of the present invention is to improve a method for operating a vehicle having an internal combustion engine and a starter generator integrated via a belt drive…”).
Gosen does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
a torsional damper provided between the engine and the belt integrated starter generator, the control system comprising one or more electronic controllers, the one or more electronic controllers configured to: determine a change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator according to a torque request; determine that the change in torque will cause the belt integrated starter generator to enter a torque reversal region; determine an induced oscillation on the torsional damper; and generate and output to the belt integrated starter generator an altered torque request within the torque reversal region, wherein the altered torque request is generated and output to the belt integrated starter generator when the torque request would result in a reduction in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator and when the torque request would result in an increase in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator, wherein the altered torque request is determined based at least in part on cancelling the induced oscillation on the torsional damper and comprises a change in the torque request to include a torque provision 180 degrees out of phase with the induced oscillation; and cause a change in an amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator based at least in part on the altered torque request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki teaches:
a torsional damper provided between the engine and the belt integrated starter generator (Yamazaki, para. 0002: “In hybrid electric vehicles (HEVs), it is often desirable to move from a propulsive force on the wheels to a regenerative braking force on the wheels very quickly. Similarly, the vehicle may transition from a large regenerative force to a propulsive force if the driver steps into the accelerator. Driveline lash or backlash may occur due to lost motion caused by slack or clearance within or between various driveline components associated with transmission gearing, a transaxle, driveline joints, wheels, etc. when torque changes direction [i.e., a torsional damper provided between the engine and the belt integrated starter generator]. When transitioning from propulsive force to regenerative force or vice versa, the driveline will cross a zero torque point where meshing gear teeth or otherwise coupled components are floating or not touching. This may trigger driveline clunk and oscillation if this region, sometimes referred to as the lash zone, is traversed too quickly.”; It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, who is solving the problem of hybrid electric vehicle driveline oscillations due to torque reversal, to know that the problem and any corresponding relevant solutions can apply to any coupled driveline components with predictable results. Implementing a torsional damper between an engine and a motor/generator in the driveline of a hybrid vehicle is not novel, as it is taught in the prior art; see “Development of Vibration Reduction Motor Control for Hybrid Vehicles”; Ito, Tomura, and Sasaki; 2007),
the control system comprising one or more electronic controllers (Yamazaki, para. 0003: “In various embodiments, a system and method for controlling [i.e., control system] a hybrid vehicle…include at least one controller [i.e., one or more electronic controllers] programmed to control the engine and the electric machine in response to entering a lash zone in anticipation of a wheel torque reversal to adjust a gain applied to an active motor damping torque controller to reduce driveline oscillations and backlash.”), the one or more electronic controllers configured to:
determine a change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator according to a torque request (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “Embodiments may include a method for controlling a vehicle having an engine, an electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator], and a transmission that includes, in response to: a change in driver demanded torque [i.e., determine a change in torque to be provided…according to a torque request]…”);
determine that the change in torque will cause the belt integrated starter generator to enter a torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “Embodiments may include a method for controlling a vehicle having an engine, an electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator], and a transmission that includes, in response to: a change in driver demanded torque [i.e., determine that the change in torque]; and input torque to the transmission approaching zero, adjusting at least one gain of an electric machine torque feedback controller to control torque of the electric machine through a lash region associated with a driveline or wheel torque reversal [i.e., will cause the belt integrated starter generator to enter a torque reversal region].”);
determine an induced oscillation on the torsional damper (Yamazaki, para. 0069: “As described below with reference to FIG. 6, the control system 400 may include one or more adjustable gains that change in response to operation through a lash zone. The control algorithm coordinates control of the engine and motor to mitigate driveline backlash during a torque direction change while also damping oscillation caused by rapid torque changes in the driveline. The control system 400 will continue to operate to provide active motor damping [i.e., determine an induced oscillation on the torsional damper] and reduce driveline oscillations for either a predetermined elapsed time or until the speed error is reduced below a predetermined threshold.”); and
generate and output to the belt integrated starter generator an altered torque request within the torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “Embodiments may include a method for controlling a vehicle having an engine, an electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator], and a transmission that includes, in response to: a change in driver demanded torque [i.e., determine that the change in torque]; and input torque to the transmission approaching zero, adjusting [i.e., generate and output] at least one gain of an electric machine torque feedback controller [i.e., an altered torque request] to control torque of the electric machine [i.e., to the belt integrated starter generator] through a lash region associated with a driveline or wheel torque reversal [i.e., within the torque reversal region].”),
wherein the altered torque request is generated and output to the belt integrated starter generator when the torque request would result in a reduction in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator (Yamazaki, para. 0062: “…a control system block diagram according to one embodiment of a damping control that may incorporate one or more adjustable gains to adjust the motor torque [i.e., altered torque request is generated and output to the belt integrated starter generator] and reduce powertrain oscillations during lash zone crossings [i.e., when the torque request would result in a reduction in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator].”; Note: A “lash crossing” is equivalent to a torque reversal region, which is when a torque value crosses zero on its way from negative to positive or positive to negative. Therefore, the value of the torque provided during a lash zone crossing would be reduced to zero and then the value of the provided torque would be increased to a final requested torque value.) and
when the torque request would result in an increase in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator (Yamazaki, para. 0062: “…a control system block diagram according to one embodiment of a damping control that may incorporate one or more adjustable gains to adjust the motor torque [i.e., altered torque request is generated and output to the belt integrated starter generator] and reduce powertrain oscillations during lash zone crossings [i.e., when the torque request would result in an increase in the amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator].”; Note: A “lash crossing” is equivalent to a torque reversal region, which is when a requested torque value crosses zero on its way from negative to positive or positive to negative. Therefore, the value of provided torque during a lash zone crossing would be reduced to zero and then the value of the provided torque would be increased to a final requested torque value.),
wherein the altered torque request is determined based at least in part on cancelling the induced oscillation on the torsional damper (Yamazaki, para. 0069: “As described below with reference to FIG. 6, the control system 400 may include one or more adjustable gains that change in response to operation through a lash zone. The control algorithm coordinates control of the engine and motor to mitigate driveline backlash during a torque direction change while also damping oscillation caused by rapid torque changes in the driveline. The control system 400 will continue to operate to provide active motor damping and reduce driveline oscillations [i.e., the altered torque request is determined based at least in part on cancelling the induced oscillation on the torsional damper] for either a predetermined elapsed time or until the speed error is reduced below a predetermined threshold.”) and…
…cause a change in an amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator based at least in part on the altered torque request (Yamazaki, para. 0061: “The control system 42 is configured to determine a lash zone for the vehicle 10 based on the gear of the transmission, and to use the determined lash zone during vehicle operation to predict or detect an impending lash zone, which may in turn be used in a control strategy to mitigate the effect of the driveline lash crossing by controlling an adjustable gain [i.e., altered torque request] of an active motor damping system [i.e., cause a change in an amount of torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator] as described in greater detail below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Gosen, with the concept of one or more vehicle controllers capable of determining a change in a driveline torque request, determining that the change will result in a torque reversal and generate an altered torque request during the torque reversal region to cancel the resulting driveline oscillations, taught by Yamazaki, in order to reduce driveline oscillations, which increase wear and tear on driveline components, and/or reduce noise and/or reduce a jerking sensation experienced by vehicle occupants (Yamazaki, abstract: “…at least one controller programmed to control the engine and the electric machine in response to entering a lash zone in anticipation of a wheel torque reversal to adjust a gain applied to an active motor damping torque controller to reduce driveline oscillations and backlash.”; para. 0032: “The result of this backlash crossing is a clunk or noise when the gear teeth hit together, and a reduction in wheel torque when the axle energy is expended. The clunks and oscillations may be noticed by a driver depending upon their severity.”; para. 0062: “Active motor damping (AMD) may be used to control driveline oscillation through lash zone crossings [i.e., torque reversal region] or wheel torque reversals.”).
Gosen and Yamazaki do not appear to explicitly teach the following:
…comprises a change in the torque request to include a torque provision 180 degrees out of phase with the induced oscillation; and…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liang teaches:
…comprises a change in the torque request to include a torque provision 180 degrees out of phase with the induced oscillation (Liang, para. 0006: “In some implementations, the first electric motor is connected to a crankshaft of an engine of the vehicle and a driveline of the vehicle via a planetary gear set; the second electric motor is connected to the planetary gear set and to the driveline; and the controller controls the second electric motor to adjust its torque output to achieve a target torsional resonance that causes oscillations of the first and second electric motors that are 180 degrees out of phase thereby canceling each other [i.e., a change in the torque request to include a torque provision 180 degrees out of phase with the induced oscillation].”); and…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Gosen, as modified by Yamazaki, with the concept of canceling driveline oscillations with generated oscillations that are 180 degrees out of phase, taught by Liang, in order to reduce or eliminate unwanted driveline oscillations to improve ride comfort and/or driveline component durability (Liang, para. 0016: “As mentioned above, torsional resonance of rotating drivelines/half shafts of a vehicle causes oscillations or noise/vibration/harshness (NVH) that is noticeable to a driver.”).
Regarding claim 2, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the one or more electronic controllers (Yamazaki, para. 0003: “…include at least one controller…”) collectively comprise:
at least one electronic processor having an electrical input for receiving information associated with determining a change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator and an electrical output associated with outputting an altered torque request (Yamazaki, para. 0070: “Control 600 may be implemented by one or more control algorithms executed by a programmed microprocessor [i.e., at least one electronic processor], such as TCU 36, ECU 38 and/or VSC 40, for example.”; para. 0070: “Block 602 determines a transmission input torque request [i.e., receiving information associated with determining a change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator] as represented at 606 that is provided to block 608. Block 608 determines an engine torque request 610 and a motor torque request 612 [i.e., outputting an altered torque request] to satisfy the transmission input torque request 606 based on current operating parameters…”; Note: A processor capable of receiving a torque request and outputting an altered torque request must have data input/output capabilities.); and
at least one electronic memory device electrically coupled to the at least one electronic processor and having instructions stored therein (Yamazaki, para. 0076: “When implemented in software, the control logic or instructions may be stored in one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media having stored data representing code or instructions executed by a computer [i.e., at least one electronic processor] to control the vehicle. The computer readable storage media may include one or more of a number of known physical devices which utilize electric, magnetic, optical, and/or hybrid storage [i.e., at least one electronic memory device] to store executable instructions and associated calibration information, operating variables, and the like.”); and
wherein the at least one electronic processor is configured to access the at least one electronic memory device and execute the instructions thereon so as to cause the control system to determine a change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator, to determine that the change in torque will cause the belt integrated starter generator to enter a torque reversal region and to generate and output the altered torque request (Yamazaki, para. 0076: “When implemented in software, the control logic or instructions may be stored in one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media having stored data representing code or instructions executed by a computer [i.e., at least one electronic processor is configured to access the at least one memory device and execute the instructions thereon] to control the vehicle. The computer readable storage media may include one or more of a number of known physical devices which utilize electric, magnetic, optical, and/or hybrid storage to store executable instructions and associated calibration information, operating variables, and the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Gosen, as modified by Yamazaki and Liang, with the concept of a system composed of processors and memory devices with stored instructions to detect changes in driveline torque and generate an altered torque request, taught by Yamazaki, in order to reduce driveline oscillations, which increase wear and tear on driveline components, and/or reduce noise and/or reduce a jerking sensation experienced by vehicle occupants (Yamazaki, abstract: “…at least one controller programmed to control the engine and the electric machine in response to entering a lash zone in anticipation of a wheel torque reversal to adjust a gain applied to an active motor damping torque controller to reduce driveline oscillations and backlash.”; para. 0032: “The result of this backlash crossing is a clunk or noise when the gear teeth hit together, and a reduction in wheel torque when the axle energy is expended. The clunks and oscillations may be noticed by a driver depending upon their severity.”; para. 0062: “Active motor damping (AMD) may be used to control driveline oscillation through lash zone crossings [i.e., torque reversal region] or wheel torque reversals.”).
Regarding claim 3, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery in the torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0062: “FIG. 4 illustrates a control system block diagram according to one embodiment of a damping control that may incorporate one or more adjustable gains [i.e., a change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery] to adjust the motor torque [i.e., altered torque request] and reduce powertrain oscillations during lash zone crossings [i.e., in the torque reversal region].”).
Regarding claim 4, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 3, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a further change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery after the belt integrated starter generator has exited the torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0072: “The gain(s) are then increased in a manner to smoothly phase in oscillation control [i.e., altered torque request comprises a further change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery] by the AMD controller 670 after the torque reversal occurs [i.e., after the belt integrated starter generator has exited the torque reversal region].”).
Regarding claim 5, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach The control system of claim 4, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a further change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery after the belt integrated starter generator has gone through torque reversal (Yamazaki, para. 0072: “The gain(s) are then increased in a manner to smoothly phase in oscillation control [i.e., altered torque request comprises a further change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery] by the AMD controller 670 after the torque reversal occurs [i.e., after the belt integrated starter generator has gone through torque reversal].”).
Regarding claim 6, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 3, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a slowing in the rate of torque delivery in the torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0072: “in one embodiment the AMD gain(s) used in the oscillation control algorithm performed by the AMD controller 670 are adjusted at block 666 to provide a gain adjustment 668 that reduces the gain(s) to near zero [i.e., altered torque request comprises a slowing] when the driveline torque is near zero when transitioning from propulsive force to regenerative force, or vice versa.”).
Regarding claim 7, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the one or more electronic controllers are configured to determine that the change in torque will cause the belt integrated starter generator to go through torque reversal (Yamazaki, para. 0061: “The control system 42 [i.e., one or more electronic controllers] is configured to determine a lash zone [i.e., to determine that the change in torque will cause the belt integrated starter generator to go through torque reversal] for the vehicle 10 based on the gear of the transmission, and to use the determined lash zone during vehicle operation to predict or detect an impending lash zone, which may in turn be used in a control strategy to mitigate the effect of the driveline lash crossing by controlling an adjustable gain of an active motor damping system as described in greater detail below.”) and
wherein the torque request is altered when the belt integrated starter generator goes from providing negative torque to providing positive torque and when the belt integrated starter generator goes from providing positive torque to negative torque (Yamazaki, para. 0061: “The control system 42 [i.e., one or more electronic controllers] is configured to determine a lash zone for the vehicle 10 based on the gear of the transmission, and to use the determined lash zone during vehicle operation to predict or detect an impending lash zone, which may in turn be used in a control strategy to mitigate the effect of the driveline lash crossing [i.e., belt integrated starter generator goes from providing negative torque to providing positive torque and when the belt integrated started generator goes from providing positive torque to negative torque] by controlling an adjustable gain of an active motor damping system [i.e., torque request is altered] as described in greater detail below.”; Note: A “lash crossing” is equivalent to a torque reversal region, which is when a requested torque value crosses zero on its way from negative to positive or positive to negative.).
Regarding claim 8, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the cause of the change in torque to be provided by the belt integrated starter generator does not involve starting an engine of the vehicle (Yamazaki, para. 0072: “As illustrated in FIG. 8, in one embodiment the AMD gain(s) used in the oscillation control algorithm performed by the AMD controller 670 are adjusted at block 666 to provide a gain adjustment 668 that reduces the gain(s) to near zero when the driveline torque is near zero when transitioning from propulsive force to regenerative force, or vice versa [i.e., cause of the change in torque to be provided does not involve starting an engine of the vehicle].”; Note: Any example of a cause for the change in torque that is not starting an engine qualifies. In Yamazaki, a cause for the change in torque is switching between propulsion and regenerative braking.).
Regarding claim 9, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches the following:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a period of time, including the point of torque reversal, in which the torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator is forced to zero (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “…adjusting at least one gain of an electric machine torque feedback controller to control torque of the electric machine [i.e., altered torque request] through a lash region [i.e., a period of time] associated with a driveline or wheel torque reversal [i.e., substantially at the point of torque reversal]. Adjusting at least one gain may include reducing the at least one gain to near zero [i.e., torque provided by the belt integrated starter generator is forced to zero].”).
Regarding claim 10, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 9, and Yamazaki further teaches the following: wherein the altered torque request comprises an increase in the rate of torque delivery from the belt integrated starter generator after the period of time (Yamazaki, para. 0072: “…that reduces the gain(s) to near zero when the driveline torque is near zero when transitioning from propulsive force to regenerative force, or vice versa [i.e., the period of time]. The gain(s) [i.e., altered torque request] are then increased in a manner to smoothly phase in oscillation control by the AMD controller 670 after the torque reversal occurs [i.e., increase in the rate of torque delivery from the belt integrated starter generator after the period of time].”).
Regarding claim 13, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the system of claim 1 and Gosen further discloses that the system is part of a vehicle (Gosen, pg. 4, 5th paragraph: “Hereinafter, the invention assumes that the vehicle to be operated comprises an internal combustion engine and a starter generator.”). Claim 13 states: a vehicle comprising the control system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the method of claim 14 and Yamazaki further discloses/teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable instructions, executed by a processor (Yamazaki, para. 0076: “When implemented in software, the control logic or instructions may be stored in one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media having stored data representing code or instructions executed by a computer [i.e., executed by a processor] to control the vehicle. The computer readable storage media may include one or more of a number of known physical devices which utilize electric, magnetic, optical, and/or hybrid storage to store executable instructions and associated calibration information, operating variables, and the like.”). Claim 15 states: a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause performance of the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches:
wherein the altered torque request is configured so that, when the altered torque request is received by the belt integrated starter generator, the belt integrated starter generator operates according to a change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery in the torque reversal region (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “Embodiments may include a method for controlling a vehicle having an engine, an electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator], and a transmission that includes, in response to: a change in driver demanded torque; and input torque to the transmission approaching zero, adjusting at least one gain of an electric machine torque feedback controller [i.e., an altered torque request] to control torque of the electric machine through a lash region [i.e., the belt integrated starter generator operates according to a change or adjustment in the rate of torque delivery in the torque reversal region] associated with a driveline or wheel torque reversal.”).
Regarding claim 17, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches:
wherein the altered torque request comprises a change in torque relative to the torque request (Yamazaki, para. 0004: “Embodiments may include a method for controlling a vehicle having an engine, an electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator], and a transmission that includes, in response to: a change in driver demanded torque [i.e., a change in torque relative to the torque request]; and input torque to the transmission approaching zero, adjusting at least one gain of an electric machine torque feedback controller [i.e., an altered torque request] to control torque of the electric machine through a lash region associated with a driveline or wheel torque reversal.”).
Regarding claim 19, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches:
wherein the one or more electronic controllers are further configured to generate and output the altered torque request to the belt integrated starter generator so as to protect against oscillations induced in a tensioner and/or the torsional damper (Yamazaki, para. 0003: “In various embodiments, a system and method for controlling [i.e., control system] a hybrid vehicle…include at least one controller [i.e., one or more electronic controllers] programmed to control the engine and the electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator] in response to entering a lash zone in anticipation of a wheel torque reversal to adjust a gain applied to an active motor damping torque controller to reduce driveline oscillations and backlash [i.e., configured to generate and output the altered torque request to the belt integrated starter generator so as to protect against oscillations]; Note: The statement following the phrase “so as to protect…” is intended use, not a structural claim.”).
Regarding claim 20, Gosen, Yamazaki, and Liang teach the control system of claim 1, and Yamazaki further teaches:
wherein the one or more electronic controllers are further configured to output the altered torque request to the belt integrated starter generator so as to mitigate damage to the torsional damper (Yamazaki, para. 0003: “In various embodiments, a system and method for controlling [i.e., control system] a hybrid vehicle…include at least one controller [i.e., one or more electronic controllers] programmed to control the engine and the electric machine [i.e., belt integrated starter generator] in response to entering a lash zone in anticipation of a wheel torque reversal to adjust a gain applied to an active motor damping torque controller to reduce driveline oscillations and backlash [i.e., configured to output the altered torque request to the belt integrated starter generator].”; Note: The statement following the phrase “so as to mitigate…” is intended use, not a structural claim.).
Conclusion
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663