DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 3, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parenti, Jr. et al. (US 4,915,998, “Parenti”).
Regarding claim 12, Parenti teaches a heat insulating blanket (e.g., col. 1) for use in spacecraft applications (e.g., col. 1 lines 1-65) and comprising a stack of heat insulating layers (plurality of layers 4 and 6, col. 2 lines 35-65, Figs. 1-3, reproduced below). Parenti additionally teaches that the outer or external layers may comprise a PTFE insulating component (PTFE containing layers 12, col. 2 lines 30-65, and see Figs. 1-3) having thereunder a metallized or goldized polyimide layer (outermost layer 4, having polyimide core and being goldized which may be considered to function as a reflective layer, see Figs. 1-3, col. 2 lines 30-65). The Examiner note that with regard to the claimed “external layer” there is no structural limitation to this that makes it different than the exterior layers of Parenti.
While Parenti teaches that the polyimide layers may be metallized, Parenti fails to specifically teach that such a material functions as a mirror. However, in the same field of endeavor of protective films or layers for use in aerospace applications (e.g., col. 1 lines 10-50), Slemp teaches that applying a mirror finish to a surface of a thermal control coating for spacecraft in order to effectively reflect radiation (see Slemp, e.g., col. 2 lines 5-50) and thus it would have been obvious to have established the goldized layer as a mirrored surface in order to effectively reflect solar radiation (see Slemp, e.g., col. 2 lines 5-50).
Regarding claim 2, Parenti fails to specifically disclose the thickness of the fluoropolymer layer. However, Slemp teaches that it is known to provide a fluoropolymer film (FEP film, col. 3 lines 1 – 40, Fig. 3, layer 12), a metallized reflection film (i.e., films 14, Fig. 3, col. 3 lines 1 – 40, wherein the layer under the FEP layer may be a metallized layer), and a polyimide base layer over the FEP layer (col. 3 lines 1 – 40, Fig. 3, layer 16). Slemp teaches that the FEP layer may have a thickness of 0.5 to 5.0 mils (i.e., 12.7 to 127 micrometers, and thus greater than 50 micrometers, col. 3 lines 5 – 25). Slemp teaches to apply the external protective layer to a substrate and that doing so helps to maintain and control temperature of an underlying material during spaceflight (col. 3 line 20 – col. 4 line 15). It would have been obvious to have adopted the structural features of Moore in order to provide additional protection to the layers, including improve gas impermeability and strength (Moore, [0020], [0021]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Parenti additionally teaches that the polyimide layer may be adhered to the mirror or goldized layer on the side of the goldized layer opposite the outer FEP layer and thus such that the SSM film is arranged between the polyimide layer and the stack of heat insulating layers (see Figs 1-3, polyimide layer may be goldized and then have the FEP layer applied exterior to that, col. 2 lines 30-65).
Regarding claim 5, modified Parenti additionally teaches that the layers corresponding to the claimed SSM layers may be arranged towards the stack layers in the laminate (e.g., see Slemp, Fig. 3, layers 12 and 14 arranged towards underlying substrate 18, col. 3 lines 1 – 40).
Regarding claim 7, Parenti additionally teaches that the layers in the insulating blanket stack may comprise polyimide layers comprising a metal coating (goldized polyimide film layers, col. 2 lines 35-60).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parenti in view of Slemp as applied to claim 12, above, and further in view of Moore et al. (US 2012/0251801, “Moore”).
Regarding claim 6, Parenti fails to specifically teach that the metallized layer comprises an area devoid of polyimide in order to allow for grounding. However, in the same field of endeavor of … Moore teaches that it is important to provide grounding to the metallized layers and thus it would have been obvious to have electrically connected them to ground, including by doing so through the adjacent polyimide layers, in order to avoid static discharge (see Moore, [0055]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/8/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments which are deemed relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Therefore, claims 12, and 2-7 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782