DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 7,252,890, “Wong”) in view of Moore et al. (US 2012/0251801, “Moore”).
Regarding claim 1, Wong teaches a heat-insulating blanket for spacecraft, comprising: a stack of a plurality of heat - insulating layers (e.g., Fig. 1, col. 1 lines 45-68), and an external layer superimposed on the stack, wherein the external layer includes: a second surface mirror SSM film (metallized layer col. 2 lines 20- 55), comprising a mirror layer and a polyimide layer joined to the SSM film (col. 2 lines 20-55). Wong fails to specifically teach the inclusion of an exterior FEP layer, however, in the same field of endeavor of protective films or layers for use in aerospace applications (e.g., [0012]), Moore teaches that it is known to provide a fluoropolymer film ([0039], Fig. 2, layer 36 [0078], including fluorinated ethylene polymer), a metallized reflection film (i.e., films 20, 40, 18, Fig. 2, [0034], wherein the layer under the external FEP layer may be a metallized layer), and a polyimide base layer under the metallized layer ([0064], Fig. 2, layer 30) to a substrate and that doing so helps to reinforce and protect the overall composite laminate during manufacturing, installation, and service ([0020], [0021]). Therefore, the inclusion of the protective layer of Moore over the laminated polyimide layer of the heat insulating layers of Wong would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing in order to provide additional protection to the layers, including improve gas impermeability and strength (Moore, [0020], [0021]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Wong (Moore) additionally teaches that the polyimide layer of the external protective film may be adhered to the mirror layer on the side of the mirror layer opposite the FEP layer (see Fig. 2, polyimide layer 30, mirror layer corresponding to numeral 18, and FEP layer 36, [0039], [0078], [0034], [0064]) and the polyimide layer would be applied to the stack (see Fig. 2, polyimide layer 30 applied closer to substrate layer 12).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wong (Moore) additionally teaches that it is important to provide grounding to the metallized layers and thus it would have been obvious to have electrically connected them to ground, including by doing so through the adjacent polyimide layers, in order to avoid static discharge (see Moore, [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Wong additionally teaches that the layer so the stack are formed of polyimide comprising a metal coating (see, e.g., Fig. 1, col. 3 line 45 – col. 4 line 50).
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 7,252,890, “Wong”) in view of Slemp (US 4,008,348, “Slemp”).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Wong teaches a heat-insulating blanket for spacecraft, comprising: a stack of a plurality of heat - insulating layers (e.g., Fig. 1, col. 1 lines 45-68), and an external layer superimposed on the stack, wherein the external layer includes: a second surface mirror SSM film (metallized layer col. 2 lines 20- 55), comprising a mirror layer and a polyimide layer joined to the SSM film (col. 2 lines 20-55). Wong fails to specifically teach the inclusion of an exterior FEP layer, however, in the same field of endeavor of protective films or layers for use in aerospace applications (e.g., col. 1 lines 10-50), Slemp teaches that it is known to provide a fluoropolymer film (FEP film, col. 3 lines 1 – 40, Fig. 3, layer 12), a metallized reflection film (i.e., films 14, Fig. 3, col. 3 lines 1 – 40, wherein the layer under the FEP layer may be a metallized layer), and a polyimide base layer over the FEP layer (col. 3 lines 1 – 40, Fig. 3, layer 16). Slemp teaches that the FEP layer may have a thickness of 0.5 to 5.0 mils (i.e., 12.7 to 127 micrometers, and thus greater than 50 micrometers, col. 3 lines 5 – 25). Slemp teaches to apply the external protective layer to a substrate and that doing so helps to maintain and control temperature of an underlying material during spaceflight (col. 3 line 20 – col. 4 line 15). Therefore, the inclusion of the protective laminate of Slemp over the laminated polyimide layer of the heat insulating layers of Wong would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing in order to maintain and control temperature of an underlying materials during spaceflight (col. 3 line 20 – col. 4 line 15).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wong additionally teaches that the layers corresponding to the claimed SSM layers may be arranged towards the stack layers in the laminate (e.g., see Slemp, Fig. 3, layers 12 and 14 arranged towards underlying substrate 18, col. 3 lines 1 – 40).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 7,252,890, “Wong”) in view of Moore et al. (US 2012/0251801, “Moore”) and further in view of Rockenfeller et al. (US 2020/0122432, “Rockenfeller”).
Regarding claim 12, Wong teaches a heat-insulating blanket for spacecraft, comprising: a stack of a plurality of heat - insulating layers (e.g., Fig. 1, col. 1 lines 45-68), and an external layer superimposed on the stack, wherein the external layer includes: a second surface mirror SSM film (metallized layer col. 2 lines 20- 55), comprising a mirror layer and a polyimide layer joined to the SSM film (col. 2 lines 20-55). Wong fails to specifically teach the inclusion of an exterior FEP layer, however, in the same field of endeavor of protective films or layers for use in aerospace applications (e.g., [0012]), Moore teaches that it is known to provide a fluoropolymer film ([0039], Fig. 2, layer 36 [0078], including fluorinated ethylene polymer), a metallized reflection film (i.e., films 20, 40, 18, Fig. 2, [0034], wherein the layer under the external FEP layer may be a metallized layer), and a polyimide base layer under the metallized layer ([0064], Fig. 2, layer 30) to a substrate and that doing so helps to reinforce and protect the overall composite laminate during manufacturing, installation, and service ([0020], [0021]). Therefore, the inclusion of the protective layer of Moore over the laminated polyimide layer of the heat insulating layers of Wong would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing in order to provide additional protection to the layers, including improve gas impermeability and strength (Moore, [0020], [0021]). Modified Wong fails to specifically teach the exterior FEP layer should be directly in contact with the metallized reflection layer, however, in the same field of endeavor of protective films or layers for use in aerospace applications (e.g., [0020], [0021]), Rockenfeller teaches that it is known to provide an exterior FEP film ([0033], Fig. 2, layer 202 [0078], including fluorinated ethylene polymer) to a metallized reflection film (i.e., , Fig. 2, layer 204, [0043], [0003] – [0010], wherein the layer metallized film layer directly under the external FEP layer may be a metallized layer, wherein the metallized layer is included in order to reflect spectral frequencies in a rang o from 700 nm to 2500 nm) as a sealant layer in order to prevent vapor desorption of underlying layers ([0003] – [0010]). The Examiner notes that the removal of organics from an insulation blanket under vacuum conditions is a noted concern of Wong (see Wong, col. 3 lines 15-45, col. 5 line 55 – col. 6 line 11). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included an FEP layer directly in contact with, and exterior to, the exterior reflective layer in order to prevent vapor desorption of underlying layers while maintaining the ability to reflect spectral frequencies in a rang o from 700 nm to 2500 nm (Rockenfeller, [0003] – [0010]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/26/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that because the FEP layer of Moore is described as being useful for protection against ozone it is an unnecessary layer for use in a protective blanket for space flight. The Examiner respectfully disagrees at least because while spacecraft may eventually operate in an atmosphere-less environment, they are manufactured and transported through environments having an atmosphere (including ozone) and thus it would be useful to consider the operation of a blanket in such environments. Further, the use and improvement of an insulating protective blanket in an environment having an atmosphere would be a benefit that the ordinarily skilled artisan would find useful or helpful. Applicant argues that Moore requires its outermost layer to be resistant to atomic oxygen and does not describe FEP as suitably resistant to atomic oxygen. But Moore merely describes that the outermost exterior layer should be “resistant to corrosion from the selected environment.” ([0078]). Therefore, including an outermost exterior layer of FEP would be useful when desiring to protect the underlying layers from, for example, ozone ([0078], [0040], [0020], [0021]). Moore further describes protection from atomic oxygen and ozone to be helpful for use in spacecraft ([0040]). The Examiner therefore maintains that the inclusion of the protective layer of Moore over the laminated polyimide layer of the heat insulating layers of Wong would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing in order to provide additional protection to the layers, including improve gas impermeability and strength (Moore, [0020], [0021]).
Therefore, claims 1-7 and 12 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782