Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims and in view of the current amendment have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10-11, 13, 17-18, 20 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THANGARASA (US 2020/0178172 A1) in view of Tang (US 2019/0104404 A1).
As per claim 1, THANGARASA teaches a method for obtaining configuration information (¶0182, method for obtaining configuration data), comprising: sending, by a user terminal, energy information of the user terminal to a base station (¶0186, receiving from the UE power/energy saving signal information); receiving, by the user terminal, configuration information sent by the base station (¶0185, receiving by the UE configuration data sent by the network node (i.e. base station)), wherein the configuration information is determined by the base station according to the energy information (¶0182-186, configuration data is determined by the network node based on the power saving signal information).
However, THANGARASA does not explicitly teach, wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state (¶0029, information comprises power information of first terminal device and the power information may indicate whether the first terminal device is in a high-power state or a low-power state, or directly indicate the amount of power of the first terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Tang into THANGARASA invention of in order for establishing an association between terminal devices, capable of establishing an association between terminal devices based on an existing LTE communication system for data transmission, so as to save the power of the terminal devices and reduce the cost for communication between terminal devices, and capable of transmitting data of the terminal devices to a network, so that a user can share or acquire required information anytime and anywhere.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, THANGARASA further teaches
wherein the energy information further comprises information indicating whether the user terminal is in an active state (¶0093, UE is going to be awake or active state).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 2 above, THANGARASA further teaches wherein, response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is in the active state or a power in the power information is higher than a first power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE is wake up signal (WUS) or active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises a first configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. first configuration)); and in response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is not in the active state or the power in the power information is lower than a second power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE in go-to-sleep signal (GTS) or UE is not in the active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises is a second configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. second configuration)).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, THANGARASA further teaches, receiving, by the user terminal, control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving by the UE from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal); wherein sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station comprises (¶0188-189, sending by the UE the power saving signal information to the network node based on WUS or GTS signal (i.e. control signal)): in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information at a predetermined period (¶0041 and ¶0110, determining that WUS or GTS signal(s) indicating that UE reporting signal power information based on time-domain pattern or predefined periodicity), periodically reporting, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station according to the predetermined period (¶0041 and ¶0110, periodically reporting by the UE the signal power information based on the time-domain pattern or predefined periodicity).
As per claim 10, THANGARASA teaches a method for providing configuration information (¶0180-182, method for providing configuration data), comprising:
receiving, by a base station, energy information sent by a user terminal (¶0186, receiving from the UE power/energy saving signal information to network node (i.e. base station)); determining, by the base station, configuration information of the user terminal based on the energy information (¶0182-186, configuration data is determined by the network node based on the power saving signal information).
However, THANGARASA does not explicitly teach, wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state (¶0029, information comprises power information of first terminal device and the power information may indicate whether the first terminal device is in a high-power state or a low-power state, or directly indicate the amount of power of the first terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Tang into THANGARASA invention of in order for establishing an association between terminal devices, capable of establishing an association between terminal devices based on an existing LTE communication system for data transmission, so as to save the power of the terminal devices and reduce the cost for communication between terminal devices, and capable of transmitting data of the terminal devices to a network, so that a user can share or acquire required information anytime and anywhere.
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 10 above, THANGARASA further teaches
wherein the energy information further comprises information indicating whether the user terminal being in an active state (¶0093, UE is going to be awake or active state).
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 11 above, THANGARASA further teaches wherein, response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is in the active state or a power in the power information is higher than a first power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE is wake up signal (WUS) or active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises a first configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. first configuration)); and in response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is not in the active state or the power in the power information is lower than a second power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE in go-to-sleep signal (GTS) or UE is not in the active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises is a second configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. second configuration)).
As per claim 17, THANGARASA teaches a user terminal (¶0317, UE)
comprising: a memory (¶0318, memory), a processor (¶0319, processing circuitry) and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor (¶0319, computer instruction stored on the memory and executed by the processing circuitry), wherein the processor is configured to: send energy information of the user terminal to a base station (¶0186, receiving from the UE power/energy saving signal information); receive configuration information sent by the base station (¶0185, receiving by the UE configuration data sent by the network node (i.e. base station)), wherein the configuration information is determined by the base station according to the energy information (¶0182-186, configuration data is determined by the network node based on the power saving signal information).
However, THANGARASA does not explicitly teach, wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches wherein the energy information comprises power information of the user terminal, and the power information of the user terminal indicates that the user terminal is in a low-power state (¶0029, information comprises power information of first terminal device and the power information may indicate whether the first terminal device is in a high-power state or a low-power state, or directly indicate the amount of power of the first terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Tang into THANGARASA invention of in order for establishing an association between terminal devices, capable of establishing an association between terminal devices based on an existing LTE communication system for data transmission, so as to save the power of the terminal devices and reduce the cost for communication between terminal devices, and capable of transmitting data of the terminal devices to a network, so that a user can share or acquire required information anytime and anywhere.
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 17 above, THANGARASA further teaches
wherein the energy information further comprises information indicating whether the user terminal being in an active state (¶0093, UE is going to be awake or active state).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 17 above, THANGARASA further teaches wherein, response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is in the active state or a power in the power information is higher than a first power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE is wake up signal (WUS) or active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises a first configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. first configuration)); and in response to determining that the energy information indicates that the user terminal is not in the active state or the power in the power information is lower than a second power threshold (¶0046 and ¶0116, based on determining that power saving signal information indicates that the UE in go-to-sleep signal (GTS) or UE is not in the active state and thresholds related to the configuration data), the configuration information comprises is a second configuration (¶0046 and ¶0116, configurations data (i.e. second configuration)).
As per claim 38 as applied to claim 17 above, THANGARASA further teaches, receive control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal); in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information at a predetermined period (¶0041 and ¶0110, determining that WUS or GTS signal(s) indicating that UE reporting signal power information based on time-domain pattern or predefined periodicity), periodically report the energy information of the user terminal to the base station according to the predetermined period (¶0041 and ¶0110, periodically reporting by the UE the signal power information based on the time-domain pattern or predefined periodicity).
B) Claims 3, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THANGARASA (US 2020/0178172 A1) in view of Tang (US 2019/0104404 A1) and further in view of Spangler (US 2022/0116776 A1).
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach, wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is in in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal being in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal is in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state.
In the same field of endeavor, Spangler teaches wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is being in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal is in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal is in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state (¶0039-40, device 100 operating mode (i.e. active state) information about wireless charging mode and information about higher power or fast charging mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Spangler into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to uniquely identify a charged device to protect the device itself against an invalid charger than vice versa.
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 11 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach, wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal being in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal is in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state.
In the same field of endeavor, Spangler teaches wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal being in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal is in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state (¶0039-40, device 100 operating mode (i.e. active state) information about wireless charging mode and information about higher power or fast charging mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Spangler into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to uniquely identify a charged device to protect the device itself against an invalid charger than vice versa.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 18 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach, wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal is in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal is in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state.
In the same field of endeavor, Spangler teaches wherein the information indicating whether the user terminal is being in the active state comprises at least one of following information: information about whether the user terminal being in a wireless charging state or a wired charging state; a magnitude of a charging power of the user terminal; or information about whether the user terminal being in a high-power charging state or a low- power charging state (¶0039-40, device 100 operating mode (i.e. active state) information about wireless charging mode and information about higher power or fast charging mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Spangler into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to uniquely identify a charged device to protect the device itself against an invalid charger than vice versa.
C) Claims 8, 15, 16, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THANGARASA (US 2020/0178172 A1) in view of Tang (US 2019/0104404 A1) and further in view of LIAO (CN 108924916 A).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 1 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang teaches receiving, by the user terminal, control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving by the UE from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal), wherein sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station comprises (¶0188-189, sending by the UE the power saving signal information to the network node based on WUS or GTS signal (i.e. control signal)).
However, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that the reporting event is satisfied; and wherein the reporting event comprises one of following events: a remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power threshold; a percentage of the remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power percentage threshold; or a charging power of the user terminal reaching a charging power threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, LIAO teaches in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that the reporting event is satisfied; and wherein the reporting event comprises one of following events: a remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power threshold; a percentage of the remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power percentage threshold; or a charging power of the user terminal reaching a charging power threshold (¶0109 and ¶0114, power consumption parameter reports at the UE side may be obtained by triggering instructions at the base station side, and may be obtained periodically at the UE side, the UE side generates a power consumption parameter report based on the battery remaining level period which can be reported to the base station via message cells or other relevant cells and base station transmits control instructions to UE to cause the UE to report energy information and to avoid too much feedback of power information by the UE setting certain reporting condition such as remaining charge value or percentage value meeting a certain threshold value or charging power meeting a certain threshold value and reporting power information by the UE when the reporting conditions are met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LIAO into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to achieve the energy-saving effect by narrow band communication system based on power consumption parameter report sent by the UE end of generating the corresponding energy saving operation mode according to the energy saving operation mode and configuring the operating parameters of the UE.
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 10 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang teaches sending, by the base station, control signaling to the user terminal (¶0041, receiving by the UE from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal).
However, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the control signaling comprises at least one of following information: information indicating the user terminal to report the energy information at a predetermined period; a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information; or information indicating the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that a reporting event is satisfied.
In the same field of endeavor, LIAO teaches wherein the control signaling comprises at least one of following information: information indicating the user terminal to report the energy information at a predetermined period; a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information; or information indicating the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that a reporting event is satisfied (¶0109 and ¶0114, power consumption parameter reports at the UE side may be obtained by triggering instructions at the base station side, and may be obtained periodically at the UE side, the UE side generates a power consumption parameter report based on the battery remaining level period which can be reported to the base station via message cells or other relevant cells and base station transmits control instructions to UE to cause the UE to report energy information and to avoid too much feedback of power information by the UE setting certain reporting condition such as remaining charge value or percentage value meeting a certain threshold value or charging power meeting a certain threshold value and reporting power information by the UE when the reporting conditions are met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LIAO into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to achieve the energy-saving effect by narrow band communication system based on power consumption parameter report sent by the UE end of generating the corresponding energy saving operation mode according to the energy saving operation mode and configuring the operating parameters of the UE.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 15 above, LIAO further teaches, wherein the reporting event comprises one of following events: a remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power threshold; a percentage of the remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power percentage threshold; or a charging power of the user terminal reaching a charging power threshold (¶0109 and ¶0114, power consumption parameter reports at the UE side may be obtained by triggering instructions at the base station side, and may be obtained periodically at the UE side, the UE side generates a power consumption parameter report based on the battery remaining level period which can be reported to the base station via message cells or other relevant cells and base station transmits control instructions to UE to cause the UE to report energy information and to avoid too much feedback of power information by the UE setting certain reporting condition such as remaining charge value or percentage value meeting a certain threshold value or charging power meeting a certain threshold value and reporting power information by the UE when the reporting conditions are met).
As per claim 39 as applied to claim 17 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang teaches receive control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal).
However, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that the reporting event is satisfied; and wherein the reporting event comprises one of following events: a remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power threshold; a percentage of the remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power percentage threshold; or a charging power of the user terminal reaching a charging power threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, LIAO teaches in response to determining that the control signaling indicates the user terminal to report the energy information in response to determining that the reporting event is satisfied; and wherein the reporting event comprises one of following events: a remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power threshold; a percentage of the remaining power of the user terminal reaching a remaining power percentage threshold; or a charging power of the user terminal reaching a charging power threshold (¶0109 and ¶0114, power consumption parameter reports at the UE side may be obtained by triggering instructions at the base station side, and may be obtained periodically at the UE side, the UE side generates a power consumption parameter report based on the battery remaining level period which can be reported to the base station via message cells or other relevant cells and base station transmits control instructions to UE to cause the UE to report energy information and to avoid too much feedback of power information by the UE setting certain reporting condition such as remaining charge value or percentage value meeting a certain threshold value or charging power meeting a certain threshold value and reporting power information by the UE when the reporting conditions are met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of LIAO into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to achieve the energy-saving effect by narrow band communication system based on power consumption parameter report sent by the UE end of generating the corresponding energy saving operation mode according to the energy saving operation mode and configuring the operating parameters of the UE.
D) Claims 37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THANGARASA (US 2020/0178172 A1) in view of Tang (US 2019/0104404 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 2021/0051585 A1).
As per claim 37 as applied to claim 1 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang teaches, receiving, by the user terminal, control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving by the UE from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal); wherein sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station comprises (¶0188-189, sending by the UE the power saving signal information to the network node based on WUS or GTS signal (i.e. control signal)).
However, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the control signaling comprises a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information, sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station based on the control signaling comprises: starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the energy information of the user terminal is sent by the user terminal to the base station; and disabling reporting the energy information of the user terminal by the user terminal to the base station again during running of the prohibit timer.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM teaches in response to determining that the control signaling comprises a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information, sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station based on the control signaling (¶0058 and ¶0086-87, control signal for prohibit timer for prohibit the UE from reporting the information and sending by the UE the information about power to the gNB/BS based on the control signal) comprises: starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the energy information of the user terminal is sent by the user terminal to the base station (¶0086-87, starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the information about the power of the UE is sent by the UE to the gNB/BS); and disabling reporting the energy information of the user terminal by the user terminal to the base station again during running of the prohibit timer (¶0086-87, unable/disable to report the information of the UE to the gNB/BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of KIM into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to provide a method and apparatus for reconfiguring a terminal based on a state of the terminal in a wireless communication system for efficiently mitigate heat generation and reduce power consumption.
As per claim 40 as applied to claim 17 above, THANGARASA in view of Tang teaches, receive control signaling sent by the base station (¶0041, receiving from the network node DL control signals such as WUS or GTS signal).
However, THANGARASA in view of Tang does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the control signaling comprises a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information, sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station based on the control signaling comprises: starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the energy information of the user terminal is sent by the user terminal to the base station; and disabling reporting the energy information of the user terminal by the user terminal to the base station again during running of the prohibit timer.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM teaches in response to determining that the control signaling comprises a prohibit timer for stopping the user terminal from reporting the energy information, sending, by the user terminal, the energy information of the user terminal to the base station based on the control signaling (¶0058 and ¶0086-87, control signal for prohibit timer for prohibit the UE from reporting the information and sending by the UE the information about power to the gNB/BS based on the control signal) comprises: starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the energy information of the user terminal is sent by the user terminal to the base station (¶0086-87, starting the prohibit timer in response to determining that the information about the power of the UE is sent by the UE to the gNB/BS); and disabling reporting the energy information of the user terminal by the user terminal to the base station again during running of the prohibit timer (¶0086-87, unable/disable to report the information of the UE to the gNB/BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of KIM into THANGARASA and Tang invention of in order to provide a method and apparatus for reconfiguring a terminal based on a state of the terminal in a wireless communication system for efficiently mitigate heat generation and reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643 /JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643