DETAILED ACTION
Claims 141-145, 147-161, and 163-167 are presented for examination.
Claims 141, 149, and 164-165 are amended.
Claims 1-140, 146 and 162 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 24, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed provisional applications, Application No. 63/018,844 and 63/065,302, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, the claim limitations of claims 141, 164 and 165 that claim, “mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels…”, and at least claims 142, 149, 150, 151, 154, 155, and 157.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 141-145, 147-161, and 163-167 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the dependent claims 142-145, 147-161, 163, and 166-167, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claims 141, 164 or 165. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claims 141, 164 and 165, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 141-142, 144-145, 147-151, 156-158, and 163-167 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 20210184764 A1) in view of Momchilov (US 20210377349 A1).
Regarding claim 141, Metzger teaches a method for establishing managed data stream connections using a satellite communications network (Fig. 1; Satellite edge network 102), performed at a computing system (Fig. 1; Child nodes 120, 130, 140), comprising:
identifying multiple data streams to be conducted between the computing system and multiple end points via the satellite communications network ([0019] In operation, parent node 110 establishes communication arrangements with one or more child nodes over satellite communication links, referred to as satellite edge networks (SENs). These SEN communication arrangements can include various local area network (LAN) or wide area network (WAN) arrangements, as well as various communication links. Child nodes 120, 130, and 140 can be coupled to one or more object nodes coupled over associated local communication interfaces 124, 134, and 144, which might comprise network interfaces, point-to-point electrical interfaces, wireless interfaces, or optical interfaces, among others, including combinations thereof. [0035] These object nodes can include various sensors, sensor devices, telemetry devices, Internet of Things (IoT) devices, control equipment, user devices, user equipment, displays, or other devices, which might be associated with other users or separate networks, comprising similar equipment as above. Child nodes receive data from operation of object nodes, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like (multiple data streams). [0036] child nodes determine target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child nodes route the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes the data, which my comprise yet a further node coupled over packet communication system 160 (multiple endpoints)), the satellite communications network including at least one low-earth orbit constellation (LEO) having respective satellites operating in corresponding satellite orbits ([0046] Orbital satellite groups 150-151 each comprise separate collections or constellations of one or more satellite devices deployed into orbits and design configurations about a central mass, such as the Earth. Satellite devices of each orbital satellite group might share a common orbit or orbital configuration. Satellite devices 152-155 can be deployed into various orbits, each corresponding to a particular orbital configuration. Although exact definitions can vary, low-earth orbits (LEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 kilometers (km) or less, and medium-earth orbits (MEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 km up to geosynchronous (GSO) orbital altitudes of 35,786 km. Orbital satellite groups 150-151 can include at least one LEO constellation.)
grouping sets of the multiple data streams into virtual channels, the grouping based on a respective end point of the multiple end points ([0055] In FIG. 4, parent node 110 is configured to establish SEN 402 over at least a satellite communication pathway with one or more child nodes remotely located from a geographic location of parent node 110. Parent node 110 establishes SEN 402 by at least establishing a network transport layer for the child node over one or more link layers provided by the satellite communication pathways. The network transport layer can comprise a virtual transport layer or transport layer formed over a transport layer or layers of the various satellite communication links coupling parent node 110 to the child nodes. [0035] Child node 120 receives (311) data from operation of object nodes 121-123, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like. This data might be included in one or more data packets or data portions that arrive in child node 120 according to the protocol and link properties of link 124. [0036] Responsive to receiving the data packets, child node 120 processes (312) the data packets, such as by inspecting properties of headers or payloads. From this inspection, child node 120 determines (313) target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child node 120 routes (317) the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes (320) the data comprising a data ‘consumer’ node. As shown in Fig. 4, the various data streams of the object nodes are carried over the satellite communication pathways established between the parent node and the child nodes. These satellite communication pathways are the virtual channels.) the respective endpoint connected via respective satellites at different times based on the corresponding satellite orbits ([0057] child node 420 might initially communicate over SEN 402 using satellite communication link 476, orbital satellite group 151, and link 471. However, due to changes in the properties of link 476…child node 420 might be triggered to change link properties or link pathways. Changes in the link properties might include any of the aforementioned link property changes, such as fading or loss in signal quality for link 476. The examples can also include movement of one or more satellite devices of orbital satellite group 151 to prevent continued communication over link 476.);
creating stream virtual channels within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. Network virtualization 523 handles creation and management of one or more virtual network arrangements 524. Virtual network arrangements 524 can include virtual private networks (VPNs), virtual local area networks (VLANs), virtual extensible LANs (VXLANs), or other virtualized network arrangements to support user applications or data 520 which may comprise one or more virtualized applications or distributed data as will be discussed below.);
identifying changes to the respective data streams, based on service requirements and telemetry associated with the respective data streams of the channels ([0025] During operation of the communication nodes, each communication node monitors (212) properties of a satellite communication link or links which communicatively couple the communication nodes into the arrangement established in operation 211. [0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0029] Policy engine 126 determines (214) if one or more link policy conditions or link triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the link properties determines (216) if one or more application policy conditions or application triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the application requirements. Turning first to the link policy conditions or link triggers, the one or more link conditions or link triggers can prompt policy engine 126 to initiate changes via link manager 125 to the one or more satellite communication links. In addition to the criteria, requirements, status, or thresholds for properties mentioned above, the one or more link triggers might also comprise at least one among a signal strength threshold for the one or more satellite communication links (service requirements), a link availability status change for the one or more satellite communication links, jamming conditions for the one or more satellite communication links, and a preemption activity affecting the one or more satellite communication links, among other triggers.), the telemetry to indicate changing connectivity conditions experienced in multiple segments of backhaul connections of the satellite communications network during operation of the respective satellites, the multiple segments of the backhaul connection including (i) connection paths from the respective satellites to the multiple end points, (ii) inter-satellite connection paths among the respective satellites, and (iii) connection paths from the satellite communications network to a core network ([0027] In FIG. 1, parent node 110 (core network) includes link manager 111, while child node 120 includes link manager 125. Other child nodes can include similar elements as child node 120, and these elements are omitted in FIG. 1 for clarity. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can monitor link properties or signal properties for associated satellite communication links. Link manager 111 can monitor satellite communication links 175-176, and link manager 125 can monitor links 177-178. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can share monitoring duties for the various links in FIG. 1. [0048] In addition to satellite-to-ground links shown for links 175-178, additional satellite-to-satellite links might be included. These links are represented by link 179 in FIG. 1 and can include communication links between satellites of the same orbital satellite group or among different orbital satellite groups.); and
implementing the changes to the respective data streams, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0030] In response to the link conditions or triggers, policy engine 126 enacts changes (215) to the satellite link or to one or more satellite link properties by instructing link manager 125 in accordance with the changes. Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations. Operation of policy engine 126 may include link management and link changes at a link layer, and might instead include link management or changes at a ‘higher’ layer of a network stack or protocol, such as seen in FIG. 5. [0028] In addition to link properties, requirements for applications deployed to child nodes or executed by child nodes can also be monitored (213). Each child node includes a policy engine to perform monitoring of deployed applications. Parent node 110 might include policy engine 112 to perform similar functionality to that of the policy engines of each child node. The application requirements can include communication properties preferred or required for execution of the one or more applications or for transfer of data by the child node which can be related to the one or more applications. These various application requirements can comprise a user policy associated with the one or more applications, an application protocol employed by the one or more applications, an anticipated change in communication or communication needs of the one or more applications, a communication reliability requirement of the one or more applications, a communication performance requirement of the one or more applications, a communication bandwidth requirement of the one or more applications, a communication latency requirement of the one or more applications, and a communication legality or government regulation associated with the one or more applications, among other requirements or preferences for applications. [0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. A first set of components of traffic management 502 is network services 521. Network services provide various workload handling features including prioritization among workloads 522 carrier-grade (CG) network address translation (NAT) that provides sharing of groups of network addresses among many endpoints, network traffic filtering operations, wide-area network options, traffic/port firewalls, and other features for handling of network traffic with regard to network workloads 522.)
Metzger does not teach,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams;
Momchilov in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically traffic management in virtual channels, teaches,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams (Fig. 8, [0073] However, the system 30 advantageously provides for streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections 204 (stream virtual channels). [0074] An example multi-stream ICA implementation is shown in FIG. 8. Here, one of the channels 204 (a virtual channel, this could be one of the satellite links of Metzger) is configured as a multi-stream ICA channel including a graphics stream, user input stream, printing stream, multimedia stream, and drive mapping stream (stream virtual channels based on a type of service). Other types and combinations of streams may be used in different embodiments.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections of Momchilov with the Satellite Edge Networks of Metzger. The motivation to do so would have been to advantageously allow for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs (or endpoints), applying different QoS levels and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance. Better performance characterized by higher throughput and interactivity is achieved because the different virtual channel data streams do not have to be serialized. In particular, individual virtual channel data streams may also have separate custom presentation-protocol level encryption and/or compression (Momchilov; [0073]).
Regarding claim 142, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141, wherein the service requirements include Quality of Service (QoS) requirements ([0033] In yet a further example, quality of service (QoS) for applications can be considered, and when QoS levels are not being met, then link or application changes might be performed. Policy engine 126 or other elements might monitor QoS metrics and trigger changes to applications, links, or operations based on these QoS metrics.)
Regarding claim 144, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein the multiple end points comprise respective cloud data processing systems accessible via the satellite communications network (Fig. 1; [0050] Data services 161-162 can each comprise one or more platforms which are hosted by a distributed computing system or cloud-computing service.).
Regarding claim 145, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein the telemetry includes latency information identifiable based on the virtual channels ([0025] The changes in the properties of the satellite communication links can indicate a communication link quality falling below a quality threshold or a link status not meeting one or more criteria such as bit error rate, data rate, latency, or other parameters. [0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency (latency of the virtual channels)).
Metzger does not explicitly teach the telemetry includes latency information identifiable based on the stream virtual channels.
Momchilov in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically traffic management in virtual channels, teaches the telemetry includes latency information identifiable based on the stream virtual channels ([0068] In other embodiments, the first appliance 201 may advantageously be configured to independently measure the network characteristics such as bandwidth, latency (round trip time), packet loss, etc., to determine the QoS over the different channels 204 between the second appliances 202a, 202b, and switch the channels 204 between the second appliances based upon the determined levels of service. [0071] In some implementations, the client device 205 may also route specific traffic, such as virtual channels in a virtualized environment, to specific PoPs 203a, 203b depending on the characteristics of the connection to these PoPs. Such virtual channels may be for graphics, user input, printing, multimedia, device redirection, client drive mapping (file transfer), etc. For example, if PoP 203a offered higher bandwidth but relatively high latency, while PoP 203b offered lower bandwidth but relatively low latency, then the virtual channels for print traffic, multimedia, device redirection, and client drive mapping (file transfer) may be routed to the PoP 203a, while virtual channels for interactive traffic (e.g., keyboard, mouse, touch, pen, or interactive graphics traffic) may be routed to PoP 203b so that user experience of the client device 205 is not diminished or otherwise negatively impacted by network conditions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections of Momchilov with the Satellite Edge Networks of Metzger. The motivation to do so would have been to advantageously allow for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs (or endpoints), applying different QoS levels and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance. Better performance characterized by higher throughput and interactivity is achieved because the different virtual channel data streams do not have to be serialized. In particular, individual virtual channel data streams may also have separate custom presentation-protocol level encryption and/or compression (Momchilov; [0073]).
Regarding claim 147, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141, wherein the changes to the respective data streams are provided from changes to at least one of: latency, bandwidth, service capabilities, power conditions, resource availability, load balancing, or security features ([0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0030] Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations.)
Regarding claim 148, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141, the method further comprising: collecting the service requirements associated with the respective data streams ([0073] In a first example, one or more applications 620 may be requested for deployment by data service 161. Data service 161 may communicate with parent node 110 over links 170-171 and network 160 to indicate the request for deployment of applications 620. The request may be for a specifically indicated application or applications, or may instead be a requirements-based request that indicates particular sensor requirements, telemetry requirements, processing requirements, communication requirements, storage requirements, or other requirements. When the requests indicate specific applications for deployment, then pool resource manager 611 of parent node 110 can select one or more child nodes which shall receive deployed applications. When the requests indicate requirements, then pool resource manager 611 of parent node 110 can select among the child nodes based on availability of physical resources which meet or exceed the requirements.).
Regarding claim 149, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 but does not teach, wherein the changes to the respective data streams includes moving at least one of the stream virtual channels from a first virtual channel to a second virtual channel, to change use of at least one service from a first end point to a second end point.
Momchilov in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically traffic management in virtual channels, teaches, wherein the changes to the respective data streams includes including moving at least one of the stream virtual channels from a first virtual channel to a second virtual channel, to change use of at least one service from a first end point to a second end point ([0066] As will also be discussed further below, the first appliance 201 is further advantageously configured to switch the different channels 204 (stream virtual channels) between the second appliances 202a, 202b to take advantage of different levels of Quality of Service (QoS) of the PoPs 203a, 203b (which are subject to change over time), yet without interrupting the virtual connection. [0073] However, the system 30 advantageously provides for streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections 204. This advantageously allows for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs 203a, 203b, (from a first endpoint to a second endpoint) applying different QoS levels (as discussed above) and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections of Momchilov with the Satellite Edge Networks of Metzger. The motivation to do so would have been to advantageously allow for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs (or endpoints), applying different QoS levels and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance. Better performance characterized by higher throughput and interactivity is achieved because the different virtual channel data streams do not have to be serialized. In particular, individual virtual channel data streams may also have separate custom presentation-protocol level encryption and/or compression (Momchilov; [0073]).
Regarding claim 150, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141, wherein implementing the changes to the respective data streams comprises applying QoS and resource balancing across the respective data streams ([0033] In yet a further example, quality of service (QoS) for applications can be considered, and when QoS levels are not being met, then link or application changes might be performed. Policy engine 126 or other elements might monitor QoS metrics and trigger changes to applications, links, or operations based on these QoS metrics. [0094] A link resource trigger (863) can include triggers based on properties of communication links affecting a child node, such as communication link bandwidth, communication link latency, communication link type availability, or other communication link properties. For example, a satellite link for a child node might experience reduced bandwidth due to movement of associated satellite devices, atmospheric fading, interference, or other conditions and influences. A threshold for bandwidth can be established for one or more applications deployed to the child node, and when the bandwidth of a particular link falls below the threshold bandwidth, then an edge resource manager can reallocate resources, initiate further communication links, or throttle/stop an application until the bandwidth conditions improve. [0031] In one example, responsive to changes in properties of a satellite communication link indicating a communication link quality falling below a quality threshold or not meeting a policy-based preference, policy engine 126 is configured to select a different communication pathway or different communication link to accommodate at least the communication requirements. However, changes in the properties or applications requirements can trigger changes to link 177. These changes might include various changes to the link properties discussed above, such as a different communication frequency, different bandwidth, different power level, different gain, different communication coding scheme, different data or signal compression scheme, different routing, or different beam alignment, among other changes. However, these changes can also include changing to a second communication link provided by the same satellite, a different satellite, or a different satellite communication service provider, [0032] Policy engine 126 might direct link manager 125 to discontinue satellite communication link 177 and communicate over satellite communication link 178. Policy engine 126 might instead direct link manager 125 to establish a combined communication bandwidth associated with satellite communication link 177 and satellite communication link 178. Link manager 125 can provide the combined communication bandwidth of links 177 and 178 to at least an application of child node 120 that is associated with the communication requirements.).
Regarding claim 151, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein implementing the changes to the respective data streams comprises applying load balancing to manage bandwidth across the respective data streams ([0032] Thus, policy engine 126 might select a different communication pathway and different satellite communication service provider than that of link 177 to accommodate at least the communication requirements or application requirements. Policy engine 126 might direct link manager 125 to discontinue satellite communication link 177 and communicate over satellite communication link 178. Policy engine 126 might instead direct link manager 125 to establish a combined communication bandwidth associated with satellite communication link 177 and satellite communication link 178. Link manager 125 can provide the combined communication bandwidth of links 177 and 178 to at least an application of child node 120 that is associated with the communication requirements. [0058] Turning now to another example operation for the elements of FIG. 4, application requirements of one or more of the applications 127 deployed to child node 120 might request additional communication bandwidth or additional communication quality/reliability. Also, one or more object nodes 421-423 might request additional communication bandwidth or additional communication quality/reliability. Policy engine 126 of child node 120 can identify these requests and associated bandwidth requirements. Once identified, policy engine 126 can trigger changes to one or more among links 473-474 to support the bandwidth requests.).
Regarding claim 156, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein the respective data streams are established between client devices and the multiple end points, to retrieve content from among the multiple end points ([0074] Data 621 might be initially requested by users or devices (e.g. object nodes) coupled to a first child node, such as child node 120. This data can include user data, files, user content, web content, images, video, configuration data, application data, or other various data types. Parent node 110 can retrieve data 621 from one or more data sources, such as data service 161 (multiple endpoints). Once received into parent node 110, parent node 110 can deploy data 621 to one or more child nodes over the associated LAN and satellite communication links.).
Regarding claim 158, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein the respective data streams are established between client devices and the multiple end points, to perform computing operations at the multiple end points (Fig. 1; [0050] Data services 161-162 can each comprise one or more platforms which are hosted by a distributed computing system or cloud-computing service. Cloud computing services perform computing operations.).
Regarding claim 163, Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 wherein the satellite communications network is used as a backhaul network between the computing system (child nodes of Fig. 1) and the multiple end points ([0018] Data services 161-162 illustrate various cloud computing, distributed data storage, or data handling services which may be employed by other elements of environment 100. [0050] Data services 161-162 can each include communication interfaces, network interfaces, processing systems, computer systems, microprocessors, storage systems, storage media, or some other processing devices or software systems, and can be distributed among multiple devices or across multiple geographic locations), and wherein the computing system comprises a base station, access point, gateway, or aggregation point which provides a network platform as an intermediary between a client device and the satellite communications network to access the multiple end points (Fig. 1; [0019] Child nodes 120, 130, and 140 (computing system) can be coupled to one or more object nodes (client devices) coupled over associated local communication interfaces 124, 134, and 144, which might comprise network interfaces, point-to-point electrical interfaces, wireless interfaces, or optical interfaces, among others, including combinations thereof. [0035] These object nodes can include various sensors, sensor devices, telemetry devices, Internet of Things (IoT) devices, control equipment, user devices, user equipment, displays, or other devices, which might be associated with other users or separate networks, comprising similar equipment as above. [0019] Child nodes 120, 130, and 140 can transfer data over one or more satellite links, among other links discussed herein, which may include communication involving more than one satellite or satellite link concurrently, bonded, or in a broadcast manner, with one or more satellites configured to route traffic of the child nodes to various destinations including additional satellites.).
Regarding claim 164, Metzger teaches a device, comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 9; processing system 911); and
a memory device including instructions embodied thereon (Fig. 9; RAM 914), wherein the instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
identifying multiple data streams to be conducted between the computing system and multiple end points via the satellite communications network ([0019] In operation, parent node 110 establishes communication arrangements with one or more child nodes over satellite communication links, referred to as satellite edge networks (SENs). These SEN communication arrangements can include various local area network (LAN) or wide area network (WAN) arrangements, as well as various communication links. Child nodes 120, 130, and 140 can be coupled to one or more object nodes coupled over associated local communication interfaces 124, 134, and 144, which might comprise network interfaces, point-to-point electrical interfaces, wireless interfaces, or optical interfaces, among others, including combinations thereof. [0035] These object nodes can include various sensors, sensor devices, telemetry devices, Internet of Things (IoT) devices, control equipment, user devices, user equipment, displays, or other devices, which might be associated with other users or separate networks, comprising similar equipment as above. Child nodes receive data from operation of object nodes, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like (multiple data streams). [0036] child nodes determine target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child nodes route the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes the data, which my comprise yet a further node coupled over packet communication system 160 (multiple endpoints)), the satellite communications network including at least one low-earth orbit constellation (LEO) having respective satellites operating in corresponding satellite orbits ([0046] Orbital satellite groups 150-151 each comprise separate collections or constellations of one or more satellite devices deployed into orbits and design configurations about a central mass, such as the Earth. Satellite devices of each orbital satellite group might share a common orbit or orbital configuration. Satellite devices 152-155 can be deployed into various orbits, each corresponding to a particular orbital configuration. Although exact definitions can vary, low-earth orbits (LEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 kilometers (km) or less, and medium-earth orbits (MEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 km up to geosynchronous (GSO) orbital altitudes of 35,786 km. Orbital satellite groups 150-151 can include at least one LEO constellation.)
grouping sets of the multiple data streams into virtual channels, the grouping based on a respective end point of the multiple end points ([0055] In FIG. 4, parent node 110 is configured to establish SEN 402 over at least a satellite communication pathway with one or more child nodes remotely located from a geographic location of parent node 110. Parent node 110 establishes SEN 402 by at least establishing a network transport layer for the child node over one or more link layers provided by the satellite communication pathways. The network transport layer can comprise a virtual transport layer or transport layer formed over a transport layer or layers of the various satellite communication links coupling parent node 110 to the child nodes. [0035] Child node 120 receives (311) data from operation of object nodes 121-123, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like. This data might be included in one or more data packets or data portions that arrive in child node 120 according to the protocol and link properties of link 124. [0036] Responsive to receiving the data packets, child node 120 processes (312) the data packets, such as by inspecting properties of headers or payloads. From this inspection, child node 120 determines (313) target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child node 120 routes (317) the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes (320) the data comprising a data ‘consumer’ node. As shown in Fig. 4, the various data streams of the object nodes are carried over the satellite communication pathways established between the parent node and the child nodes. These satellite communication pathways are the virtual channels.) the respective endpoint connected via respective satellites at different times based on the corresponding satellite orbits ([0057] child node 420 might initially communicate over SEN 402 using satellite communication link 476, orbital satellite group 151, and link 471. However, due to changes in the properties of link 476…child node 420 might be triggered to change link properties or link pathways. Changes in the link properties might include any of the aforementioned link property changes, such as fading or loss in signal quality for link 476. The examples can also include movement of one or more satellite devices of orbital satellite group 151 to prevent continued communication over link 476.);
creating stream virtual channels within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. Network virtualization 523 handles creation and management of one or more virtual network arrangements 524. Virtual network arrangements 524 can include virtual private networks (VPNs), virtual local area networks (VLANs), virtual extensible LANs (VXLANs), or other virtualized network arrangements to support user applications or data 520 which may comprise one or more virtualized applications or distributed data as will be discussed below.);
identifying changes to the respective data streams, based on service requirements and telemetry associated with the respective data streams of the channels ([0025] During operation of the communication nodes, each communication node monitors (212) properties of a satellite communication link or links which communicatively couple the communication nodes into the arrangement established in operation 211. [0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0029] Policy engine 126 determines (214) if one or more link policy conditions or link triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the link properties determines (216) if one or more application policy conditions or application triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the application requirements. Turning first to the link policy conditions or link triggers, the one or more link conditions or link triggers can prompt policy engine 126 to initiate changes via link manager 125 to the one or more satellite communication links. In addition to the criteria, requirements, status, or thresholds for properties mentioned above, the one or more link triggers might also comprise at least one among a signal strength threshold for the one or more satellite communication links (service requirements), a link availability status change for the one or more satellite communication links, jamming conditions for the one or more satellite communication links, and a preemption activity affecting the one or more satellite communication links, among other triggers.), the telemetry to indicate changing connectivity conditions experienced in multiple segments of backhaul connections of the satellite communications network during operation of the respective satellites, the multiple segments of the backhaul connection including (i) connection paths from the respective satellites to the multiple end points, (ii) inter-satellite connection paths among the respective satellites, and (iii) connection paths from the satellite communications network to a core network ([0027] In FIG. 1, parent node 110 includes link manager 111, while child node 120 includes link manager 125. Other child nodes can include similar elements as child node 120, and these elements are omitted in FIG. 1 for clarity. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can monitor link properties or signal properties for associated satellite communication links. Link manager 111 can monitor satellite communication links 175-176, and link manager 125 can monitor links 177-178. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can share monitoring duties for the various links in FIG. 1. [0048] In addition to satellite-to-ground links shown for links 175-178, additional satellite-to-satellite links might be included. These links are represented by link 179 in FIG. 1 and can include communication links between satellites of the same orbital satellite group or among different orbital satellite groups.); and
implementing the changes to the respective data streams, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0030] In response to the link conditions or triggers, policy engine 126 enacts changes (215) to the satellite link or to one or more satellite link properties by instructing link manager 125 in accordance with the changes. Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations. Operation of policy engine 126 may include link management and link changes at a link layer, and might instead include link management or changes at a ‘higher’ layer of a network stack or protocol, such as seen in FIG. 5. [0028] In addition to link properties, requirements for applications deployed to child nodes or executed by child nodes can also be monitored (213). Each child node includes a policy engine to perform monitoring of deployed applications. Parent node 110 might include policy engine 112 to perform similar functionality to that of the policy engines of each child node. The application requirements can include communication properties preferred or required for execution of the one or more applications or for transfer of data by the child node which can be related to the one or more applications. These various application requirements can comprise a user policy associated with the one or more applications, an application protocol employed by the one or more applications, an anticipated change in communication or communication needs of the one or more applications, a communication reliability requirement of the one or more applications, a communication performance requirement of the one or more applications, a communication bandwidth requirement of the one or more applications, a communication latency requirement of the one or more applications, and a communication legality or government regulation associated with the one or more applications, among other requirements or preferences for applications. [0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. A first set of components of traffic management 502 is network services 521. Network services provide various workload handling features including prioritization among workloads 522 carrier-grade (CG) network address translation (NAT) that provides sharing of groups of network addresses among many endpoints, network traffic filtering operations, wide-area network options, traffic/port firewalls, and other features for handling of network traffic with regard to network workloads 522.)
Metzger does not teach,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams;
Momchilov in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically traffic management in virtual channels, teaches,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams (Fig. 8, [0073] However, the system 30 advantageously provides for streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections 204 (stream virtual channels). [0074] An example multi-stream ICA implementation is shown in FIG. 8. Here, one of the channels 204 (a virtual channel, this could be one of the satellite links of Metzger) is configured as a multi-stream ICA channel including a graphics stream, user input stream, printing stream, multimedia stream, and drive mapping stream (stream virtual channels based on a type of service). Other types and combinations of streams may be used in different embodiments.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections of Momchilov with the Satellite Edge Networks of Metzger. The motivation to do so would have been to advantageously allow for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs (or endpoints), applying different QoS levels and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance. Better performance characterized by higher throughput and interactivity is achieved because the different virtual channel data streams do not have to be serialized. In particular, individual virtual channel data streams may also have separate custom presentation-protocol level encryption and/or compression (Momchilov; [0073]).
Regarding claim 165, Metzger teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium including instructions (Fig. 9; RAM 914), wherein the instructions, when executed by a processing circuitry of a machine, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
identifying multiple data streams to be conducted between the computing system and multiple end points via the satellite communications network ([0019] In operation, parent node 110 establishes communication arrangements with one or more child nodes over satellite communication links, referred to as satellite edge networks (SENs). These SEN communication arrangements can include various local area network (LAN) or wide area network (WAN) arrangements, as well as various communication links. Child nodes 120, 130, and 140 can be coupled to one or more object nodes coupled over associated local communication interfaces 124, 134, and 144, which might comprise network interfaces, point-to-point electrical interfaces, wireless interfaces, or optical interfaces, among others, including combinations thereof. [0035] These object nodes can include various sensors, sensor devices, telemetry devices, Internet of Things (IoT) devices, control equipment, user devices, user equipment, displays, or other devices, which might be associated with other users or separate networks, comprising similar equipment as above. Child nodes receive data from operation of object nodes, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like (multiple data streams). [0036] child nodes determine target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child nodes route the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes the data, which my comprise yet a further node coupled over packet communication system 160 (multiple endpoints)), the satellite communications network including at least one low-earth orbit constellation (LEO) having respective satellites operating in corresponding satellite orbits ([0046] Orbital satellite groups 150-151 each comprise separate collections or constellations of one or more satellite devices deployed into orbits and design configurations about a central mass, such as the Earth. Satellite devices of each orbital satellite group might share a common orbit or orbital configuration. Satellite devices 152-155 can be deployed into various orbits, each corresponding to a particular orbital configuration. Although exact definitions can vary, low-earth orbits (LEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 kilometers (km) or less, and medium-earth orbits (MEO) typically comprise orbital altitudes of 2,000 km up to geosynchronous (GSO) orbital altitudes of 35,786 km. Orbital satellite groups 150-151 can include at least one LEO constellation.)
grouping sets of the multiple data streams into virtual channels, the grouping based on a respective end point of the multiple end points ([0055] In FIG. 4, parent node 110 is configured to establish SEN 402 over at least a satellite communication pathway with one or more child nodes remotely located from a geographic location of parent node 110. Parent node 110 establishes SEN 402 by at least establishing a network transport layer for the child node over one or more link layers provided by the satellite communication pathways. The network transport layer can comprise a virtual transport layer or transport layer formed over a transport layer or layers of the various satellite communication links coupling parent node 110 to the child nodes. [0035] Child node 120 receives (311) data from operation of object nodes 121-123, such as telemetry data, sensor data, IoT data, and the like. This data might be included in one or more data packets or data portions that arrive in child node 120 according to the protocol and link properties of link 124. [0036] Responsive to receiving the data packets, child node 120 processes (312) the data packets, such as by inspecting properties of headers or payloads. From this inspection, child node 120 determines (313) target locations of data recipients for the data packets. [0037] If a remote target is identified for the data packets, then child node 120 routes (317) the data packets over a satellite communication link to parent node 110. Parent node 110 might further route the data packets for delivery to an destination node that consumes (320) the data comprising a data ‘consumer’ node. As shown in Fig. 4, the various data streams of the object nodes are carried over the satellite communication pathways established between the parent node and the child nodes. These satellite communication pathways are the virtual channels.) the respective endpoint connected via respective satellites at different times based on the corresponding satellite orbits ([0057] child node 420 might initially communicate over SEN 402 using satellite communication link 476, orbital satellite group 151, and link 471. However, due to changes in the properties of link 476…child node 420 might be triggered to change link properties or link pathways. Changes in the link properties might include any of the aforementioned link property changes, such as fading or loss in signal quality for link 476. The examples can also include movement of one or more satellite devices of orbital satellite group 151 to prevent continued communication over link 476.);
creating stream virtual channels within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. Network virtualization 523 handles creation and management of one or more virtual network arrangements 524. Virtual network arrangements 524 can include virtual private networks (VPNs), virtual local area networks (VLANs), virtual extensible LANs (VXLANs), or other virtualized network arrangements to support user applications or data 520 which may comprise one or more virtualized applications or distributed data as will be discussed below.);
identifying changes to the respective data streams, based on service requirements and telemetry associated with the respective data streams of the channels ([0025] During operation of the communication nodes, each communication node monitors (212) properties of a satellite communication link or links which communicatively couple the communication nodes into the arrangement established in operation 211. [0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0029] Policy engine 126 determines (214) if one or more link policy conditions or link triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the link properties determines (216) if one or more application policy conditions or application triggers (service requirements) have been met while monitoring the application requirements. Turning first to the link policy conditions or link triggers, the one or more link conditions or link triggers can prompt policy engine 126 to initiate changes via link manager 125 to the one or more satellite communication links. In addition to the criteria, requirements, status, or thresholds for properties mentioned above, the one or more link triggers might also comprise at least one among a signal strength threshold for the one or more satellite communication links (service requirements), a link availability status change for the one or more satellite communication links, jamming conditions for the one or more satellite communication links, and a preemption activity affecting the one or more satellite communication links, among other triggers.), the telemetry to indicate changing connectivity conditions experienced in multiple segments of backhaul connections of the satellite communications network during operation of the respective satellites, the multiple segments of the backhaul connection including (i) connection paths from the respective satellites to the multiple end points, (ii) inter-satellite connection paths among the respective satellites, and (iii) connection paths from the satellite communications network to a core network ([0027] In FIG. 1, parent node 110 includes link manager 111, while child node 120 includes link manager 125. Other child nodes can include similar elements as child node 120, and these elements are omitted in FIG. 1 for clarity. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can monitor link properties or signal properties for associated satellite communication links. Link manager 111 can monitor satellite communication links 175-176, and link manager 125 can monitor links 177-178. Link manager 111 and link manager 125 can share monitoring duties for the various links in FIG. 1. [0048] In addition to satellite-to-ground links shown for links 175-178, additional satellite-to-satellite links might be included. These links are represented by link 179 in FIG. 1 and can include communication links between satellites of the same orbital satellite group or among different orbital satellite groups.); and
implementing the changes to the respective data streams, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams ([0030] In response to the link conditions or triggers, policy engine 126 enacts changes (215) to the satellite link or to one or more satellite link properties by instructing link manager 125 in accordance with the changes. Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations. Operation of policy engine 126 may include link management and link changes at a link layer, and might instead include link management or changes at a ‘higher’ layer of a network stack or protocol, such as seen in FIG. 5. [0028] In addition to link properties, requirements for applications deployed to child nodes or executed by child nodes can also be monitored (213). Each child node includes a policy engine to perform monitoring of deployed applications. Parent node 110 might include policy engine 112 to perform similar functionality to that of the policy engines of each child node. The application requirements can include communication properties preferred or required for execution of the one or more applications or for transfer of data by the child node which can be related to the one or more applications. These various application requirements can comprise a user policy associated with the one or more applications, an application protocol employed by the one or more applications, an anticipated change in communication or communication needs of the one or more applications, a communication reliability requirement of the one or more applications, a communication performance requirement of the one or more applications, a communication bandwidth requirement of the one or more applications, a communication latency requirement of the one or more applications, and a communication legality or government regulation associated with the one or more applications, among other requirements or preferences for applications. [0068] Traffic management 502 includes several components which provide additional services at the L5-L7 layer to network data packets/frames with regard to user applications or data 520 which produce network workloads 522. A first set of components of traffic management 502 is network services 521. Network services provide various workload handling features including prioritization among workloads 522 carrier-grade (CG) network address translation (NAT) that provides sharing of groups of network addresses among many endpoints, network traffic filtering operations, wide-area network options, traffic/port firewalls, and other features for handling of network traffic with regard to network workloads 522.)
Metzger does not teach,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams;
Momchilov in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, specifically traffic management in virtual channels, teaches,
mapping respective data streams of the virtual channels into stream virtual channels designated within the virtual channels, based on a type of service involved with the respective data streams (Fig. 8, [0073] However, the system 30 advantageously provides for streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections 204 (stream virtual channels). [0074] An example multi-stream ICA implementation is shown in FIG. 8. Here, one of the channels 204 (a virtual channel, this could be one of the satellite links of Metzger) is configured as a multi-stream ICA channel including a graphics stream, user input stream, printing stream, multimedia stream, and drive mapping stream (stream virtual channels based on a type of service). Other types and combinations of streams may be used in different embodiments.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the streaming of the different virtual channel data streams over individual independent channels or transport connections of Momchilov with the Satellite Edge Networks of Metzger. The motivation to do so would have been to advantageously allow for redirection of the streams over different routes via different PoPs (or endpoints), applying different QoS levels and asynchronous processing at the receiving end for enhanced performance. Better performance characterized by higher throughput and interactivity is achieved because the different virtual channel data streams do not have to be serialized. In particular, individual virtual channel data streams may also have separate custom presentation-protocol level encryption and/or compression (Momchilov; [0073]).
Regarding claim 166, Metzger teaches the device of claim 164, wherein the changes to the respective data streams are provided from changes to at least one of: latency, bandwidth, service capabilities, power conditions, resource availability, load balancing, or security features ([0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0030] Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations.)
Regarding claim 167, Metzger teaches the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 165, wherein the changes to the respective data streams are provided from changes to at least one of: latency, bandwidth, service capabilities, power conditions, resource availability, load balancing, or security features ([0027] Monitored link properties can include link signal strength, link availability, link carrier frequency, link center frequency, link modulation type, link spreading scheme, link bandwidth, link power level, link channelization property, link latency, link routing, a satellite communication services provider of the link, orbital configuration of satellites providing the link, link security measures, link protocol, link compression type, link quantity, and other link properties which might change over time. [0030] Altering the properties of the one or more satellite communication links can include changing a the satellite communication link to a different communication link or altering at least one among a physical communication pathway, a communication link frequency, a communication link modulation type, a communication link bandwidth, a communication link power level, a communication link channelization property, a communication link latency, a communication link routing, and a satellite network providing the one or more satellite communication links, among other alterations.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 143, and 152-153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 20210184764 A1) in view of Momchilov (US 20210377349 A1); further in view of Ravishankar (US 20210092640 A1).
Regarding claim 143, Metzger and Momchilov teaches the method of claim 141 but does not teach wherein the service requirements include compliance with at least one service level agreement (SLA).
RAVISHANKAR in the same field of endeavor of satellite communications teaches wherein the service requirements include compliance with at least one service level agreement (SLA) ([0117] Traffic estimation uses a specific gateway (often the nearest) anchoring (a subset of) the UTs located in a service area, which in the above example is gateway G_2. This UT-gateway anchoring association provides the traffic pairs of sources and destinations by utilizing the service plans (which include uplink and downlink data rates and SLAs for best effort or assured services for each UT) for the aggregate of user terminals anchored by a gateway).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Metger and Momchilov to include the techniques of RAVISHANKAR to use SLAs. The motivation to do so would have been to improve throughput and quality of service in satellite communication systems (RAVISHANKAR; [0005]).
Regarding claim 152, Metzger and Momchilov teaches the method of claim 141 but does not teach the method further comprising: providing feedback into a software stack of the computing system, in response to identifying the changes to the respective data streams.
RAVISHANKAR in the same field of endeavor of satellite communications teaches providing feedback into a software stack of the computing system, in response to identifying the changes to the respective data streams ([0111] The SDN controller optimizes network performance (e.g., dynamic traffic routing for resource utilization) based on link and node status information (feedback) sent by each node to the controller (providing feedback into a software stack of the computing system)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Metzger and Momchilov with the system for providing integrated communication using a plurality of radio access technologies of RAVISHANKAR. The motivation to do so would have been to improve throughput and quality of service in satellite communication systems (RAVISHANKAR; [0005]).
Regarding claim 153, RAVISHANKAR teaches the method of claim 152, the method further comprising: adjusting usage of at least one resource associated with a corresponding service, within the software stack, based on the feedback ([0111] The SDN controller optimizes network performance (e.g., dynamic traffic routing for resource utilization) (adjusting usage of at least one resource) based on link and node status information (feedback) sent by each node to the controller. For example [0123] A specific traffic class between a source-destination pair can be divided into multiple subflows t.sub.ij (s, d, q) for each link to best utilize the network resources and to optimize a specific performance objective under various constraints).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 154, and 155 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 20210184764 A1) in view of Momchilov (US 20210377349 A1); further in view of Raleigh (US 20220239578 A1).
Regarding claim 154 Metzger teaches the method of claim 141 but does not teach wherein the mapping of the respective data streams of the virtual channels into the stream virtual channels is further based on identification of a tenant associated with the respective data streams.
Raleigh in the same field of wireless communications teaches wherein the mapping of the respective data streams of the virtual channels into the stream virtual channels is further based on identification of a tenant associated with the respective data streams ([0181] the QoS router supports multiple QoS channels (e.g., one or more provisioned/allocated QoS links forming a QoS channel between the device and the desired end point. In some embodiments, the QoS router determines the routing/mapping based on, for example, one or more of the following: a QoS activity map [0192] In some embodiments, the QoS activity map includes mappings/associations based on one or more of the following: partner service (tenant)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Metzger and Momchilov with the flow tagging techniques of Raleigh. The motivation to do so would have been to have an efficient and flexible control plane communication link between the device agents and the network elements communicating with, controlling, monitoring, or verifying service policy (Raleigh; [0161]).
Regarding claim 155, Raleigh teaches the method of claim 154, the method further comprising: increasing or reducing resources associated with at least one of the stream virtual channels, based on the identification ([0094] Based on the aggregate demand for each traffic QoS class, and the traffic capacity and quality level available to the device, the service processor can adjust the total available bit rate or percentage of available traffic capacity for each QoS class. For example, in some embodiments, the aggregate demand for the real-time interactive traffic control class (e.g. services, such as VOIP, emergency communication services or high performance real-time competitive gaming) can be determined, and the QoS routing function on the device (e.g., a QoS router agent/function) can first allocate enough constant bit rate traffic capacity from the available traffic capacity to satisfy these services, with each QoS service activity (device service usage that is requested, configured, or preferably serviced with a given level of QoS that can be tied to a URL or other similar service identifier, service provider (tenant)) that requires this QoS class being assigned to this QoS channel. As more QoS service activities (tied to tenant identification) require this traffic class, the capacity allocated to the QoS channel out of the available device capacity is increased, and when fewer QoS service activities require this traffic class the capacity for this QoS channel is released.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 157 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 20210184764 A1) in view of Momchilov (US 20210377349 A1); further in view of Hoffmann (US 20150180995 A1).
Regarding claim 157, Metzger and Momchilov teach the method of claim 156 but do not teach wherein the computing system provides a content delivery service, and wherein the content is retrieved from among the multiple end points using the satellite communications network in response to a cache miss at the content delivery service.
Hoffmann in the same field of endeavor of managing data links between users and Points of Presence (POPs), teaches wherein the computing system provides a content delivery service, and wherein the content is retrieved from among the multiple end points using the satellite communications network in response to a cache miss at the content delivery service (Fig. 6 shows a content delivery server between the user and PoPs (multiple endpoints). [0031] Requests from end-user systems 102 are assigned to an edge server 230 that may cache the requested content object. On occasion, the edge server 230 receiving a request does not have the content object stored and available for immediate serving. This so-called "cache miss" triggers a process within the CDN 110 to effectively find the content object (or portion thereof) while providing adequate Quality of Service (QoS). The content, or portions of the content, may be found in neighboring edge servers 230 in the same POP 120, in another POP 120, or even an external origin server 112.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the content delivery service of Hofmann with the teachings of Metzger and Momchilov to retrieve content from among the multiple end points using the satellite communications network in response to a cache miss at the content delivery service. The motivation to do so would have been to serve content to end-users with high availability and high performance (Hofmann; [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 159, 160 and 161 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger (US 20210184764 A1) in view of Momchilov (US 20210377349 A1); further in view of Ryu (US 20200396000 A1).
Regarding claim 159, Metzger teaches the method of claim 158 but does not teach, wherein the computing system is further configured to provide a radio access network (RAN) to the client devices with virtual network functions.
Ryu, in the same field of endeavor of wireless networks teaches wherein the computing system is further configured to provide a radio access network (RAN) to the client devices with virtual network functions ([0087] In an example, the 5G system architecture may support data connectivity and services enabling deployments to use techniques such as e.g. network function virtualization and/or software defined networking. [0289] Example embodiments of the invention may be implemented using various physical and/or virtual network elements, software defined networking, virtual network functions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the 5G system architecture of Ryu that supports network function virtualization with the teachings of Metzger and Momchilov to provide a radio access network (RAN) to the client devices with virtual network functions. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance NAS timer configurations to reduce connection failures during access procedures while taking into account relatively longer propagation delays of non-terrestrial networks (NTN) (Ryu; [0221]).
Regarding claim 160, Ryu teaches the method of claim 159, wherein the radio access network is provided according to standards from a 3GPP 5G or an O-RAN alliance standards family ([0078] FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of an example split next generation (NG) RAN architecture 200 (based on 3GPP 5G standards) in a NTN radio access network 204 with a bent pipe payload).
Regarding claim 161, Ryu teaches the method of claim 159, wherein the computing system is hosted in a base station for the RAN ([0204] The NTN architecture of FIG. 16 comprises a wireless device, an access network/base station, a satellite, a 5G core network, and a data network. The wireless device may communicate with the access network/base station. The access network/base station may communicate with the 5G core network via a satellite radio interface (e.g., a satellite backhaul)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takagi (US 20200007226 A1) discloses integration of satellite-based content delivery at edge locations in a 4G/LTE mobile network.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465