Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the amendments filed 12 May 2026.
Status
Claims 1-10 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 11-18 and 25 remain withdrawn. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 19-24.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 17/920,794 filed 23 Oct 2022, as a National Stage Entry of International Patent Application #: PCT/US21/28136, filed 20 Apr 2021, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Application #: 63/016,683, filed 28 Apr 2020.
Response to Applicant Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of applicant amendments filed 12 May 2026.
The objection to claim 7 is withdrawn following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claim 5 is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over WO 2021/081141 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘141, further in view of WO 2015/042397 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘397, and Chang et al. (Bioorg Med Chem, 2017, 1:381-388; provided in the office action mailed 16 Dec 2025), hereinafter Chang, is withdrawn following the clear and concise statement establishing the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person, in the remarks filed 12 May 2026 (pgs. 9-10).
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. over WO 2016/126572 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘572 further in view of ‘397 and Chang, applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the instantly claimed pyridyl compounds have an unexpected improvement in brain AUC/plasma versus the same compound differing only in having a phenyl moiety instead of a pyridyl moiety. Applicant argues that this could not have been predicted by the art (pgs. 10-11).
This is not persuasive. The example applicant provides is narrower than the scope of the claims. See MPEP § 2145(VI).
Applicant further argues ‘572 does not teach or suggest swapping a phenyl ring for a pyridine ring and that ‘397 fails to cure the deficiencies of ‘572. Applicant argues that ‘397 does not differentiate compound 56 from other compounds in having glucosylceramide synthase inhibition activity (pg. 12). Applicant further argues that Chang is not directed to any particular compound or class of compounds but merely provides analysis to evaluate the change in activity based on structural changes (pg. 12). Applicant argues that Chang only provides an analysis that cannot be extrapolated to glucosylceramide synthase inhibition (pg. 13).
This is not persuasive. The rejection over ‘572, ‘397, and Chang is based on the combination of references. ‘572 teaches the core compounds, but does not teach the pyridyl moiety in place of the phenyl moiety. ‘397 teaches that the artisan would have a reasonable expectation that pyridyl moieties in place of phenyl moieties in glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors would have similar utility. Chang teaches motivation for replacing phenyl with pyridyl. Together the references render the instant claims obvious.
In light of the discussion above, the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103, as obvious over ‘572, ‘397, and Chang is maintained for the reasons of record restated below.
Regarding the obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-10 over US Patent No. 10,202,340 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘340, further in view of ‘397 and Chang, applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the same reasons why the instant claims are novel over ‘572, ‘397, and Chang apply to the NSDP rejection over ‘340, ‘397, and Chang (pg. 14). This is not persuasive for the reasons stated above. Therefore the obviousness-type nonstatutory double-patenting rejection for claims 1-10 over ‘340, ‘397, and Chang is maintained for the reasons of record and restated below.
Regarding the obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-10 over US Patent No. 11,220,479 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘479, further in view of ‘397 and Chang, applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the same reasons why the instant claims are novel over ‘572, ‘397, and Chang apply to the NSDP rejection over ‘479, ‘397, and Chang (pg. 14). This is not persuasive for the reasons stated above. Therefore the obviousness-type nonstatutory double-patenting rejection for claims 1-10 over ‘479, ‘397, and Chang is maintained for the reasons of record and restated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WO 2016/126572 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘572, further in view of ‘397 and Chang.
‘572 teaches compounds useful as glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors taking the form of reference Formula (I) (paragraphs [0010]-[0011]):
‘572 teaches multiple examples where R1 and m overlap with substituents of the instant claims, including Examples 2-4, 7, 9, and 12 (paragraphs [0079]-[0091]):
These examples are further characterized by ‘572 in paragraph [0235], reproduced below:
Example
Broken Cell IC50 (nM)
WT-MDCK IC50 (nM)
MDR1-MDCKII IC50 (nM)
Mouse liver microsome t1/2 (min)
2
48
3
15
5.5
3
54
5
27
4
4
44
5
56
7
232
4
11
37
9
123
10
17
12
56
0.87
2.5
11
‘572 further teaches a composition of a reference compound, a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vehicle, and a second therapeutic agent useful in the treatment of a disease or condition wherein inhibition of GCS provides a benefit, where that second therapeutic agent may be useful in the treatment of Gaucher disease (claims 10-11). However, ‘572 does not teach swapping the phenyl ring for a pyridine ring as in the instant claims.
‘397 teaches compounds useful as glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors with the same core structure, but having a pyridine ring in place of a phenyl ring as in ‘141, such as reference Compound 56 (paragraph [000539]):
‘397 further teaches that Compound 56 has inhibits glucosylceramide synthase with an IC50 of ≤ 50 nM (paragraph [0001329]).
Chang teaches that aromatic rings are ubiquitous in pharmaceutical compounds and are often exchanged with another ring during the optimization process of drug discovery (Abstract). Chang further teaches a holistic, multiple endpoint optimization approach taking into account LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, P-gp efflux, and passive permeability (Abstract). Chang teaches that changing phenyl for 2-pyridyl creates significant changes for LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, and permeability, but no P-gp efflux (supplementary data).
By following the teachings of ‘572, ‘397, and Chang, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify reference Examples 2-4, 7, 9, and 12, found in ‘572, by swapping the phenyl ring for a 2-pyridine ring, as taught by Chang, with a reasonable expectation of success that the pyridine ring would be active as a glucosylceramide synthase inhibitor, as taught by ‘397. The artisan would be motivated to perform this exchange to further optimize the drug and investigate the differences in LogD, permeability, microsomal metabolism, and P-gp efflux when a pyridine ring is exchanged for a phenyl ring in glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors.
The motivation to make the instantly claimed compounds derives from the expectation that structurally similar compounds would possess similar activity (i.e., they would be pharmacologically active glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors) with potential for better bioavailability and lower side effects. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in producing and using the instantly claimed compound in view of the compounds taught by ‘572.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,202,340 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘340, in view of ‘397 and Chang.
‘340 claims compounds having the following structure:
Which overlaps with the instant claims when G is -CH2-; R3 is H or F; NR2R2’ is 1-pyrrolidinyl, 3-fluoro-1-pyrrolidinyl, or 1-azetidinyl; m is 1; and R1 is halo, OC1-3 alkyl optionally substituted with one to five fluoro atoms (claim 1). ‘340 further claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising compounds of the above structure and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vehicle. However, ‘340 claims a phenyl group where the instant claims require a pyridine ring.
‘397 teaches compounds useful as glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors with the same core structure, but having a pyridine ring in place of a phenyl ring as in ‘141, such as reference Compound 56 (paragraph [000539]):
‘397 further teaches that Compound 56 has inhibits glucosylceramide synthase with an IC50 of ≤ 50 nM (paragraph [0001329]).
Chang teaches that aromatic rings are ubiquitous in pharmaceutical compounds and are often exchanged with another ring during the optimization process of drug discovery (Abstract). Chang further teaches a holistic, multiple endpoint optimization approach taking into account LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, P-gp efflux, and passive permeability (Abstract). Chang teaches that changing phenyl for 2-pyridyl creates significant changes for LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, and permeability, but no P-gp efflux (supplementary data).
By following the teachings of ‘340, ‘397, and Chang, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify the reference claims, found in ‘340, by swapping the phenyl ring for a 2-pyridine ring, as taught by Chang, with a reasonable expectation of success that the pyridine ring would be active as a glucosylceramide synthase inhibitor, as taught by ‘397. The artisan would be motivated to perform this exchange to further optimize the drug and investigate the differences in LogD, permeability, microsomal metabolism, and P-gp efflux when a pyridine ring is exchanged for a phenyl ring in glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors.
The motivation to make the instantly claimed compounds derives from the expectation that structurally similar compounds would possess similar activity (i.e., they would be pharmacologically active glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors) with potential for better bioavailability and lower side effects. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in producing and using the instantly claimed compound in view of the compounds taught by ‘340.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,220,479 (provided in IDS 01/18/23), hereinafter ‘479, in view of ‘397 and Chang.
‘479 teaches compounds of the following structure:
which overlaps with compounds of the instant claims when R3 is H or F; R4 is H or CH3; G is CH2 or O; R6 is H, C1-3alkyl, C3-6cycloalkyl, or CD3; NR5R5’ is 1-pyrrolidinyl, 3-fluoro-1-pyrrolidinyl, or 1-azetidinyl; and R7, R8, R1, and R2 are H (claim 1). ‘479 further teaches a composition of a compound of the reference claims and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or vehicle (claim 13). However, ‘479 teaches a phenyl moiety where the instant claims teach a pyridine moiety.
‘397 teaches compounds useful as glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors with the same core structure, but having a pyridine ring in place of a phenyl ring as in ‘141, such as reference Compound 56 (paragraph [000539]):
‘397 further teaches that Compound 56 has inhibits glucosylceramide synthase with an IC50 of ≤ 50 nM (paragraph [0001329]).
Chang teaches that aromatic rings are ubiquitous in pharmaceutical compounds and are often exchanged with another ring during the optimization process of drug discovery (Abstract). Chang further teaches a holistic, multiple endpoint optimization approach taking into account LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, P-gp efflux, and passive permeability (Abstract). Chang teaches that changing phenyl for 2-pyridyl creates significant changes for LogD lipophilicity, microsomal metabolism, and permeability, but no P-gp efflux (supplementary data).
By following the teachings of ‘479, ‘397, and Chang, a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify the reference claims, found in ‘479, by swapping the phenyl ring for a 2-pyridine ring, as taught by Chang, with a reasonable expectation of success that the pyridine ring would be active as a glucosylceramide synthase inhibitor, as taught by ‘397. The artisan would be motivated to perform this exchange to further optimize the drug and investigate the differences in LogD, permeability, microsomal metabolism, and P-gp efflux when a pyridine ring is exchanged for a phenyl ring in glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors.
The motivation to make the instantly claimed compounds derives from the expectation that structurally similar compounds would possess similar activity (i.e., they would be pharmacologically active glucosylceramide synthase inhibitors) with potential for better bioavailability and lower side effects. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in producing and using the instantly claimed compound in view of the compounds taught by ‘479.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625