Detailed Action
Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group II (Claims 8-10, 12-14, and 16-20, drawn to compounds of formula I) and compound 186 as the elected species in the reply filed on 6/01/2026 is acknowledged. (Applicant recites Claims 8-14 and 16-20 as belonging to Group II; however, the latest amendments render Claim 11 canceled.)
Applicant argues that the required restriction/election is improper because amended Claim 8 does not encompass the compound cited in the restriction requirement. Applicant’s argument is persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn. Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are examined on the merits herein below.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8 and 13 should replace the term “carry” with “are substituted with”
Claim 9 should recite “when” instead of “in case”
Claim 14 should remove the comma following “formula I”
Claim 14: “claim 8 or in the form of a stereoisomer or an agriculturally acceptable salt or a tautomer or N-oxide thereof” should be amended to read “claim 8 or the stereoisomer, tautomer, N-oxide, or agriculturally acceptable salt thereof” to better reflect the language of Claim 8.
Claim 15: “the said” should be amended to read either “the” or “said” in both instances.
Claim 15 should read “fungi with, and/or” instead of “fungi, and/or”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the maximum number”. It is unclear what “maximum number” refers to as there is no antecedent basis for “the”. Additionally, the metes and bounds of “maximum number” are unclear. Is maximum referring to the preceding integers, “1,2,3,4”, or the number of substitutable positions present on the Ra group (e.g., an ethyl group has 5 positions whereat H may be replaced with an Rb substituent)? Claims 9-10, 12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 8 recites “and in form of stereoisomers and tautomers thereof, and the N-oxides and the agriculturally acceptable salts thereof”. “the N-oxides” and “the…salts” lack antecedent basis. Further, the language of the limitation is not clear grammatically. It is suggested that applicant amend the unclear limitation as follows “or a stereoisomer, tautomer, N-oxide, or agriculturally acceptable salt thereof”. Claims 9-10, 12-13, and 15-20 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 15 recites “the plants or the plant propagation material”. There is no antecedent basis for “the” in either term: plant or plant propagation material. This instance is the first time either appear in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (WO9823156, 11/30/2022 IDS).
Brown teaches fungicidal compounds, methods of combating phytopathogenic fungi therewith, and compositions thereof with auxiliaries like surfactants and diluents (Abstract; Page 9, Lines 21-24). Brown teaches the following compounds in particular (Pages 79, 83, and 86):
, wherein
and
,
in which the following definitions of examined formula I apply: R1 is O; R2 is CH; R3 is Me; R4 is OMe; and Ra is selected from the substituents attached to phenyl in the above Z groups, all of which are acceptable embodiments according to examined formula I (halogen or haloalkyl), wherein n is 1 (e.g.,
).
OMe is not an acceptable R4 group according to the definition of instant Claim 1. However, it is known that compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Because CH2OMe and OMe only differ by a methylene group, one of skill in the art seeking to form fungicidal compounds to treat plants would find it obvious to form the methylene homolog of the Brown compound before the effective filing date of the instant application because the modification is known in the art and the compounds are “generally of sufficiently close structural similarity”. Further, one of skill in the art would also expect successful formation of a fungicide because “there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties” following the modification described above.
No rejection is applied over art teaching similar compounds wherein R3 as defined in Claim 1 is not present. The groups fixed at the R3 position of the examined formula are associated with the unexpectedly enhanced efficacy against F129L mutant fungi shown in comparative examples of Tables C2 and C3 of the specification. Select examples from Table C2 are shown here (Page 120):
.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 8-22 of copending Application No. 17920795 (hereinafter referred to as BASF).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to overlapping genera of fungicides, compositions, and methods of combating fungi therewith.
The following formulae are taught:
BASF;
Instant;
or
.
The instant formula lacks the Ra2 group of BASF; however, Ra2 can be present so long as n is at least 1 in the instant formula and the substituent is positioned ortho to the oxime linkage on the phenyl, which is encompassed by the instant formula.
Regarding Claim 20, -methylene-O-methyl is only one of four embodiments of R4 in the BASF structure. It would be obvious to select the simplest embodiment from the limited list because so few iterations are possible.
Since both applications teach fungicides of the same core and the same or heavily overlapping R groups, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BASF.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 8-10 and 12-18 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 7-20 of copending Application No. 17920796 (hereinafter referred to as BASF).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to overlapping genera of fungicides, compositions, and methods of combating fungi therewith.
The following formulae are taught:
BASF;
Instant.
BASF teaches the following with respect to R groups:
or specifically C1-C2alkyl (in Claim 10);
or 0.
BASF also teaches the fungi to be combatted are soybean rust; this type is not precluded by the instant method.
Since both applications teach fungicides of the same core and the same or heavily overlapping R groups, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BASF.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 8-10 and 12-20 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10, 12-13, and 15-20 of copending Application No. 19479111 (hereinafter referred to as BASF).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to overlapping genera of fungicides, compositions, and methods of combating fungi therewith.
The following formulae are taught:
BASF;
Instant;
.
Since both applications teach fungicides of the same core and the same or heavily overlapping R groups, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BASF.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627