DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “alert generator” in claim 13; “receiving unit” in claim 15; and “transmission unit” in claim 16.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Page 10 of the provided specification defines the alert generation device as “a wearable device [that] can be worn or attached to the body parts of the sleeping person”. Page 9 of the provided specification defines the transmission unit as “A Bluetooth network. However, any other communication network can be used for the purpose, including a Wired LAN, a Wireless LAN, a WiFi Network, a Zigbee Network, a Z-Wave Network or an Ethernet Network”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 refers to “the snore detected” in line 4. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended that the claim be amended to read "the at least one snore detector”.
Claim 14 refers to “the snore detector”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended that the claim be amended to read "the at least one snore detector’.
Claim limitation “receiving unit” in claim 15 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The provided specification does not provide a description of the receiving unit or what structure it is referring to. Figure 2 of the provided drawing merely shows it is part of the monitoring system. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected because they depend from claims rejected above as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-16 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20050065560 A1 – previously cited) in view of Stone (US 20190216364 A1).
In regards to claim 1 Lee teaches a method for managing sleep quality of a subject ([0009]), the method comprising:
providing a sleep management system ([0009]);
detecting a snoring sound; processing the snoring sound ([0012]);
generating a snoring score for the snoring sound ([0039).
generating an alert if a snoring score is above a threshold value, wherein generating the alert comprises: ([0053] teaches snoring index is compared to a threshold and if it is above a threshold CPAP pressure can be increased, CPAP is an alert generation device;)
comparing the snoring score with a threshold value ([0053]) ;
and if the snoring score is above a threshold value then ([0053]);
transmitting an alert signal to an alert generation device ([0053] CPAP).
Lee fails to teach the generating an intervention stimulus via an alert generation device if the snoring score is above a threshold value, wherein an intensity of the intervention stimulus is determined according to the snoring score.
Stone teaches a method including generating an intervention stimulus via an alert generation device if the sleep score is above a threshold value, wherein an intensity of the intervention stimulus is determined according to the sleep score. (Table 3 Three levels of intensity of stimulus that increase with worsening sleep score). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the alert generation device of Lee to include the vibration device of Stone and vibrate at a greater intensity when the user’s snoring score is over a threshold. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result of waking the user when their snoring indicates a health hazard.
In regards to claim 3 Lee teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of processing the snoring sound comprises:
generating a snoring sound signal from the snoring sound ([0011]);
transmitting the snoring sound signal to a monitoring system ([0050]);
receiving the snoring sound signal by the monitoring system ([0050]);
analyzing the snoring signal ([0037]);
generating a snoring signal fingerprint ([0037]);
recording the snoring signal fingerprint ([0039]);
and verifying the snoring sound signal ([0044 and 0051]).
and verifying the snoring sound signal ([0044 and 0051]).
In regards to claim 5 modified Lee teaches the method of claim 3 further comprising displaying sleep quality indicators on a display unit (Lee [0039]).
In regards to claim 6 modified Lee teaches the method of claim 5 wherein the sleep quality indicators are selected from a group consisting of: the snoring score, inhalation duration, exhalation duration, breath rate, amplitude of snoring sound, frequency of snoring sound, heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, pulse rate, brain waves, ECG signal, blood oxygen measure and combinations thereof (Lee [0039]).
In regards to claim 7 modified Lee teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the step of detecting the snoring sound comprises receiving acoustic energy from a direction indicative of the subject (Lee [0009, 0012, 0047]).
In regards to claim 9 modified Lee teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the step of generating a snoring signal fingerprint comprises identifying sleep quality indicators selected from a group consisting of: the snoring score, inhalation duration, exhalation duration, breath rate, amplitude of snoring sound, frequency of snoring sound, heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, pulse rate, brain waves, ECG signal, blood oxygen measure and combinations thereof (Lee [0037]).
In regards to claim 11 modified Lee teaches a system for managing sleep quality of a subject, the system comprising:
at least one snore detector configured and operable to detect snoring sounds and further operable to generate a snoring sound signal (Lee Fig. 1A Snore Sensor 120);
and at least one monitoring system in communication with the snore detected and operable to receive the snoring sound signals from the detector and further operable to generate snoring score (Lee Fig. 1A Snore detector 140, [0050]).
Lee fails to teach the alert generator generating an intervention stimulus via an alert generation device if the snoring score is above a threshold value, wherein an intensity of the intervention stimulus is determined according to the snoring score. Stone teaches a method including generating an intervention stimulus via an alert generation device if the sleep score is above a threshold value, wherein an intensity of the intervention stimulus is determined according to the sleep score. ([0167] vibration device, Table 3 shows levels of intensity of stimulus that increase with worsening sleep score). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the alert generation device of Lee to include the vibration device of Stone and vibrate at a greater intensity when the user’s snoring score is over a threshold. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result of waking the user when their snoring indicates a health hazard.
In regards to claim 12 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising a display configured and operable to display the snoring score (Lee [0039]).
In regards to claim 13 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11, , wherein the intervention stimulus is a vibration signal and the alert generator comprises a vibration producing system (Stone [0167]).
In regards to claim 14 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the snore detector comprises a microphone operable to receive acoustic energy and to convert the acoustic energy into an electrical signal (Lee [0012] and [0036] and [0047] snore sensor is a microphone)
In regards to claim 15 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11 wherein the monitoring system comprises:
a receiving unit configured to receive a snoring sound signal from the snoring detector (Lee [0047] PIMD device);
and a processor in communication with the receiving unit and operable to analyze the snoring sound signal (Lee [0110-0111]); and a memory unit ([0112]).
In regards to claim 16 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 15 wherein the monitoring system further comprises a transmission unit in communication with an alert generator and operable to send an alert signal thereto (Lee [0011] [0028] wireless transmission in [0036] and [0046-0047]).
In regards to claim 19 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11, f wherein said alert generator comprises a sleep-state intervention device positioned proximate to the subject said sleep-state intervention device operable to stimulate the subject to transition from a first sleep-state to a second sleep-state (Stone [0154] Table 3 vibration device shakes bed and wakes user).
In regards to claim 20 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 19 wherein the sleep-state intervention device is selected from a group consisting of wireless speakers, vibration producing systems, buzzers, beepers, bells, bleepers, chirpers and combinations thereof (Stone [0154] Vibration device).
In regards to claim 21 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11 further comprising a movement detector configured to detect movement of the subject (Lee [0044] accelerometer).
In regards to claim 22 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 21 wherein the movement detector is selected from a group consisting of accelerometers, gyroscopes, video cameras and combinations thereof (Lee [0044] accelerometer).
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20050065560 A1 – previously cited) in view of Stone (US 20190216364 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 11, in view of Perez (US 20140276227 A1- previously cited).
In regards to claim 8 modified Lee teaches the method of claim 3. Modified Lee fails to teach a method wherein the step of analyzing the snoring signal comprises filtering background noise from the snoring sound. Perez teaches a method wherein the step of analyzing the snoring signal comprises filtering background noise from the snoring sound (Perez [0027]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Lee to include a step of filtering background noise from the sound signal like the method of Perez. Doing so would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield the predictable result of filtering out non-related sources of noise.
In regards to claim 17 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 11, Modified Lee fails to teach a device wherein said alert generator comprises a wearable device. Perez teaches a wearable vibration device (Perez [0167]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Lee to use a wrist worn wearable vibration device the method of Perez. Doing so would merely be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (wearable vibration devices, bed mounted vibration devices, etc.), with a reasonable expectation of success
In regards to claim 18 modified Lee teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the wearable device is selected from a group consisting of wearable collars, neckbands, wristbands, armbands, wrist-watches, items of jewelry and combinations thereof (Perez [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/10/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/10/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 3 and 15 regarding the antecedent basis issues have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 3 and 15 the antecedent basis issues has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 11 and 14 were not and amended to overcome the antecedent basis issues within them. In regards to the applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 112(f) definition of “receiving unit” in claim 15, the examiner contends that the specification merely sates that the “receiving unit” is connected to a communication network and does not provide structure for the receiving unit, it merely states that the receiving unit is capable of connecting to a network
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20050065560 A1 – previously cited) in view of Perez (US 20140276227 A1- previously cited) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee (US 20050065560 A1 – previously cited) in view of Stone (US 20190216364 A1).
Conclusion
/LUCY EPPERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791