DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 17, 19-21 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 22 April 2026. Applicant’s traversal is that the claims, as currently amended, present with unity. However, this is not persuasive. Specifically, U.S. Publication No. 2002/0077584 (“Lin”) discloses vacuum generation device (10), comprising:
a chamber (12) having an active volume (13) that is decreasable from a first volume (see Fig. 7) to a second volume (see Fig. 8) due to application of force (see Fig. 8 – i.e. the compression of the chamber by a user finger 9) during a priming step, the chamber being biased to return toward the first volume when the application of force ceases (Par. 28);
a one-way vent (11), wherein air exits the chamber through the one-way vent as the active volume is decreased from the first volume to the second volume (Par. 28),
wherein return of the chamber toward the first volume from the second volume creates a vacuum (Par. 28), and
wherein the chamber is configured to receive direct application of force from a user to decrease the active volume of the chamber (see Fig. 8).
As such, no unity exists.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “chamber being configured to receive direct application of force from a user to decrease the active volume of the chamber” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Presently ALL depicted embodiments provide an actuator for moving a piston/plunger within the chamber to decrease the active volume of the chamber. As discussed in Applicant’s remarks/arguments the use of such actuators is understood NOT to comprise a “direct application of force”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4-7, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant recites the limitation “wherein the chamber is configured to receive direct application of force from a user to decrease the active volume of the chamber”. However, the instant specification does not present sufficient evidence to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing either actually or constructively when paired with the majority of the features of the dependent claims. Support for the invention of Claim 1 (and Claim 2) is primarily found in Par. 32, 146, 171-176. Par. 32 and 146 present to nominal recitation to a general feature made in passing, while Par. 171-176 presents what could be considered a constructive reduction to practice of an invention generalized by Claims 1, 2, and 8.
However, Claims 4-7, 10-12, and 16 present with features which are not reduced to practice in combination with a chamber which is configured to receive direct application of a force from a user to decrease the active volume of the chamber during priming, but rather features which are only disclosed in association with an actuator based configuration.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the spring comprises a first spring and a second spring”. However, such a concept is only particularly integrated into configurations which utilize an actuator to move a piston/plunger type member. There is no demonstration of this concept employed in association with a deformable structure which is directly deformed by Application of user force.
Dependent Claims 5-7, 10-12, and 16 present additional features which are never incorporated into a configuration wherein the chamber is decreased in volume by a direct application of force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2002/0077584 (“Lin”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin discloses vacuum generation device (10), comprising:
a chamber (12) having an active volume (13) that is decreasable from a first volume (see Fig. 7) to a second volume (see Fig. 8) due to application of force (see Fig. 8 – i.e. the compression of the chamber by a user finger 9) during a priming step, the chamber being biased to return toward the first volume when the application of force ceases (Par. 28);
a one-way vent (11), wherein air exits the chamber through the one-way vent as the active volume is decreased from the first volume to the second volume (Par. 28),
wherein return of the chamber toward the first volume from the second volume creates a vacuum (Par. 28), and
wherein the chamber is configured to receive direct application of force from a user to decrease the active volume of the chamber (see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin discloses the chamber is a flexible dome which is biased to return toward a non-compressed state (Par. 28).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14-15, Lin discloses a spring (not shown – Par. 28) which biases the chamber to return toward the first volume when the application of the force ceases.
Regarding Claim 4, Lin recites that the return elements might comprise springs (plural – Par. 28).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin discloses the chamber comprises a syringe (i.e. the chamber is a reservoir configured to aspirate a sample of bodily fluids therein constituting a syringe under the BRI of the instantly claimed invention in a manner consistent with the specification of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2002/0077584 (“Lin”) as applied above.
Regarding Claim 5, Lin, as discussed above, recites that the dome (12) may be configured to return to its original shape via “small springs”, but does not disclose whether these springs have the same or different stiffnesses. However, Examiner submits that there are only two options for such springs whereby the springs can either have the same stiffness or different stiffnesses, whereby due to manufacturing tolerances the likelihood of any two springs having identical stiffnesses (depending upon the resolution to which the stiffness is measured) is minimal. As such, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize two springs with different stiffness in order to affect the invention of Lin whereby using two springs with different springs will greatly reduce manufacturing costs as significant consideration would be necessary to source springs which present with identical stiffnesses.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2002/0077584 (“Lin”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0207045 (“Anand”).
Regarding Claim 13, Lin discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for disclosing what type of springs are used, e.g. a coil spring, torsion spring, pneumatic spring, stretchable elastomers, or compressible foam. However, Anand discloses a related dome which can be biased between compressed and uncompressed configurations through the use of springs such as a coil spring (2602 – Par. 174). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a coil spring to practice the invention of Lin, as disclosed by Anand, as an obvious design choice in selecting a specific species identified in the prior art to be known to be useful, predictable, and expected in resolving to practice a more broadly recited genus.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 08/18/2026