DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 01/05/2026.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 15, 17-22 and 28-29 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 15, 17-22 and 28-29 are rejected.
Claims 1 and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 15, 17-21 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Per Beming et al. (US 2006/0106865 A1), hereinafter Beming, in view of Hong WANG et al. (US 2022/0322291 A1), hereinafter WANG.
For claim 1, Beming teaches a broadcast/multicast service management method, comprising:
sending first information to a second communication unit, wherein the first information is used to instruct the second communication unit to execute an operation related to broadcast/multicast service management (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503); and
receiving second information sent by the second communication unit, wherein the second information is used to indicate an execution result of the operation related to the broadcast/multicast service management to a first communication unit (Beming, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC receives an MBMS bearer release response to the CN in step 503),
wherein the first information comprises a broadcast/multicast service establishment request message, a broadcast/multicast service modification request message, or a broadcast/multicast service release request message (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503), and
wherein the second information comprises a broadcast/multicast service establishment response message, a broadcast/multicast service modification response message, or a broadcast/multicast service release response message (Beming, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC receives an MBMS bearer release response to the CN in step 503).
WANG further teaches a broadcast/multicast service management method, performed by a first communication unit of a generation Node B (gNB), comprising:
sending first information to a second communication unit, wherein the first information is used to instruct the second communication unit to execute an operation related to broadcast/multicast service management (WANG, Fig. 22, steps 2201, 2206 and paragraphs 445-475.); and
receiving second information sent by the second communication unit, wherein the second information is used to indicate an execution result of the operation related to the broadcast/multicast service management to the first communication unit (WANG, Fig. 22, steps 2202, 2209 and paragraphs 445-475.),
wherein the first communication unit is a gNB centralized unit (gNB-CU) the second communication unit is a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU) (WANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 200.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Beming with a MBMS management method performed by gNB-CU and gNB-DU taught in WANG, in this way, under the separated architecture, the MBMS bearer is successfully established and the MBMS data is effectively transmitted [WANG: paragraph 13.].
For claim 3, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the broadcast/multicast service establishment request message or the broadcast/multicast service modification request message” not required by the claim 1; therefore, the limitation “the broadcast/multicast service establishment request message or the broadcast/multicast service modification request message” of instant claims do not come into force.
For claim 4, it depends on claim 3, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 5, it depends on claim 4, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 6, it depends on claim 3, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 7, it depends on claim 3, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 8, Beming and WANG further teach the method of claim1, wherein in a case where the first information comprises the broadcast/multicast service release request message, the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a first interface identifier assigned by the first communication unit on a communication interface between the first communication unit and the second communication unit for a broadcast/multicast service; a second interface identifier assigned by the second communication unit on a communication interface between the first communication unit and the second communication unit for a broadcast/multicast service; or a reason for releasing a broadcast/multicast service (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503, wherein the MBMS bearer release request comprise MC address, TLA and Iu transport ass. See also WANG, Fig. 22 and paragraphs 445-475.).
For claim 10, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the second information comprises the broadcast/multicast service establishment response message or the broadcast/multicast service modification response message” not required by the claim 1; therefore, the limitation “the broadcast/multicast service establishment request message or the broadcast/multicast service modification request message” of instant claims do not come into force.
For claim11, it depends on claim 10, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 12, it depends on claim 10, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 15, Beming teaches a broadcast/multicast service management method, comprising:
sending third information to a first communication unit, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first communication unit to execute an operation related to broadcast/multicast service management (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503); and
receiving fourth information sent by the first communication unit, wherein the fourth information is used to indicate an execution result of the operation related to broadcast/multicast service management to a second communication unit (Beming, Fig. 5 step 504 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC receives an MBMS bearer release response to the CN in step 503),
wherein the third information comprises a broadcast/multicast service modification request message or a broadcast/multicast service release request message (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503.).
WANG further teaches a broadcast/multicast service management method, performed by a first communication unit of a generation Node B (gNB), comprising:
sending third information to a first communication unit, wherein the third information is used to instruct the first communication unit to execute an operation related to broadcast/multicast service management (WANG, Fig. 22, steps 2201, 2206 and paragraphs 445-475.); and
receiving fourth information sent by the first communication unit, wherein the fourth information is used to indicate an execution result of the operation related to broadcast/multicast service management to a second communication unit (WANG, Fig. 22, steps 2202, 2209 and paragraphs 445-475.),
wherein the first communication unit is a gNB centralized unit (gNB-CU) the second communication unit is a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU) (WANG, Fig. 1 and paragraph 200.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Beming with a MBMS management method performed by gNB-CU and gNB-DU taught in WANG, in this way, under the separated architecture, the MBMS bearer is successfully established and the MBMS data is effectively transmitted [WANG: paragraph 13.].
For claim 17, instant claim is proviso upon limitation “the third information comprises the broadcast/multicast service modification request message” not required by the claim 15; therefore, the limitation “the broadcast/multicast service establishment request message or the broadcast/multicast service modification request message” of instant claims do not come into force.
For claim18, it depends on claim 17, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim19, it depends on claim 17, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim20, it depends on claim 17, thus it is rejected for the same reason.
For claim 21, Beming and WANG further teach the method of claim15, wherein in a case where the third information comprises the broadcast/multicast service release request message, the third information comprises:
a first interface identifier assigned by the first communication unit on a communication interface between the first communication unit and the second communication unit for a broadcast/multicast service; a second interface identifier assigned by the second communication unit on a communication interface between the first communication unit and the second communication unit for a broadcast/multicast service; and a reason for releasing a broadcast/multicast service (Beming, Fig. 5 step 503 and paragraph 93 teach the CRNC sends an MBMS bearer release request to the CN in step 503, wherein the MBMS bearer release request comprise MC address, TLA and Iu transport ass, which can be interface identifier. See also WANG, Fig. 22 and paragraphs 445-475.).
For claim 28, Beming and WANG further teach an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor (Beming, Fig. 2 paragraph 20); and
a memory (Beming, Fig. 2 paragraph 20) configured to store at least one program, wherein executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to implement the method of claim1.
For claim 29, Beming and WANG further teach a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the method of claim1 (Beming, Fig. 2 paragraph 20).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412