Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 19-26 are pending. Claims 1, 6-7 and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 21-26 have been added. Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 16-20 have been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 19-26 have been examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is indefinite because it recites a detection unit dedicated to electron microscope measurement but does not disclose any corresponding structure that allows the detection unit to be capable of electron microscope measurement.
Claim 20 is confusing because it recites an immunochromatography chip comprising a detection unit and the metes and bounds of the chip vs the detection unit are unclear. For example, is the immunochromatography chip the detection unit? Or alternatively, is there a chip component that is provided with a separate detection unit?
Claim 21 is similarly confusing because without clear distinction between the structure of the detection unit and immunochromatography chip, it is unclear where exactly the labeled antibody and capture antibody are immobilized.
Claim 23 is indefinite because it recites a detection unit for visual observation but does not disclose any corresponding structure that allows the detection unit to be capable of electron microscope measurement.
Claim 25 is indefinite because it recites a detection unit dedicated to electron microscope measurement but does not disclose any corresponding structure that allows the detection unit to be capable of electron microscope measurement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alsager et al. (US 2016/0257959, Pub Date: 09/08/2016).
Regarding claims 10-12, Alsager teaches methods for the detection of small molecules in samples (abstract). More specifically, Alsager teaches that when contacting the sample with the nanoparticle binding conjugate, the contacting also includes the use of a non-ionic detergent selected from Tween 20, Tween 40 or Tween 80 (paragraph 0021). Alsager also teaches that the inventors have also surprisingly found that detergents and surfactants at an appropriate concentration level can be used in order to achieve enhanced sensitivity towards small target molecules (paragraph 0093).
Regarding claims 10-12, Examiner would like to note that giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims are drawn to a liquid consisting of at least one compound selected from the group consisting of glycerin, a glycerin substitute, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 65, polysorbate 80, polysorbate 85, and a polysorbate alternative; and optionally at least one compound selected from the group consisting of monosaccharides, disaccharides, salts, and buffer solutions. As such, the functional limitations of claims 10-12 reciting functions of the liquid are drawn to intended use of the liquid. So long as the non-ionic detergent of Alsager is capable of improving sharpness, being conductive under measurement conditions and forming a membrane by polymerization under measurement conditions, it reads on the claim. Alsager teaches the same non-ionic detergents as claimed and thus they would be seen as capable of performing the same intended uses present in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alsager et al. (US 2016/0257959, Pub Date: 09/08/2016), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Harris (US 2008/0206889).
Alsager teaches the liquid as described above but fails to specifically teach that a kit consisting essentially of the liquid. Harris teaches throughout the publication solid phase assay apparatus (abstract) and more specifically teaches the use of nonionic detergent, more specifically a surfactant tool kit commonly available that can include Tween 20 or Tween 80 (paragraph 0042).
It would have been prima facie to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the auxiliary liquid of Alsager within a surfactant kit as taught by Harris because it would have been desirable to have the liquid readily available and accessible for use in assays.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been considered. Applicant’s arguments regarding the methods and kit of claims 1-9 and 20-26 have been considered and found to be persuasive. Prior art rejections over these claims have been withdrawn.
However, given the broadness of claims 10-12 and 19 being essentially drawn to a liquid consisting of at least one of the claimed materials, the claims remain unpatentable as described above.
Conclusion
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677