DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 5/27/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 2/27/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 12-15, 20-21, and 23 have been amended. Claims 25 and 26 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-15, 20-21, and 23-26 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1, 20-21, and 23 as
filed on 5/27/2026. Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-9) with respect to the amended independent claims 1 and 21 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (HEDMAN Peter) is applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 13, 20-21, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Faccin et al. (US 2021/0144790 Al, hereinafter “Faccin”) in view of Young et al. (US 2020/0196227 Al, hereinafter “Young”) and in further view of HEDMAN Peter (WO 2021/063981 A1, hereinafter “Hedman”).
Regarding claim 1, Faccin discloses:
An apparatus comprising (An apparatus of wireless communication at a network entity is described, Faccin: [0012]):
at least one processor (apparatus may include a processor, Faccin: [0012]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory, Faccin: [0012]);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]):
Faccin does not explicitly disclose:
determine that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value of the network slice; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young teaches:
determine that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value of the network slice (the NSSF can determine a set of network slice policies to be considered whenselecting an NSI. The set of network slice policies, which can be maintained by a policy control function (PCF) component of the core network, can include a guaranteed minimum data rate policy (e.g., minimum download and upload speeds). the set of network slice policies can define a low latency performance requirement (e.g., an end-to-end communications transmission time less than or equal to a threshold), Young: [0019]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin in view of Young in order to further modify determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice that is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value of the network slice from the teachings of Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a user experience and/or customer
experience associated with establishing a network slice instance (NSI) for a UE and/or a plurality of UEs can be improved over previous techniques (Young: [0012]).
Yet, Faccin in view of Young does not explicitly disclose:
adjust a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice,
wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for a single network slice selection assistance information identifying the network slice based on the aggregate bit rate for the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hedman teaches:
adjust a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (This attribute describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice per UE in downlink. These parameters could be used to offer different contract qualities like gold, silver and bronze. provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice, Hedman: [0028], [0061]-[0063]),
wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for a single network slice selection assistance information identifying the network slice based on the aggregate bit rate for the network slice (the first maximum bit rate information (MBRI) specifies a UE specific first maximum bit rate for the network slice and the UE, and/or first guaranteed bit rate information (GBRI) specifies a UE specific first aggregate guaranteed bit rate for the network slice and the UE, Hedman: [0063], [0069], [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin and Young in view of Hedman in order to further modify adjusting a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for a single network slice selection assistance information identifying the network slice based on the aggregate bit rate for the network slice from the teachings of Hedman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. In addition, the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per network slice (Hedman: [0061]).
Regarding claim 2, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]):
set the dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment to be not higher than a subscribed maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (generic network slice aims at the limitation of the number of the maximum uplink or downlink data rate per slice for a UE, and is a rate limitation per UE. Network may determine whether to allow or reject access to the network slice based on whether criteria associated with the parameters of the network slice are satisfied, Faccin: [0076], [0124]).
Regarding claim 4, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice reached the threshold value comprises (the criteria associated with the generic network slice parameters may be a maximum throughput (bit rate) for the network slice has been reached, etc., Faccin: [0112]):
determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice reached the threshold value based on a number of user equipments operating on the network slice and the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (the criteria associated with the generic network slice parameters may be whether a maximum number of users for the network slice has been reached, whether a maximum throughput (bit rate) for the network slice has been reached, etc. the network entity may receive, from a UE, a first control message for establishing a session via a network slice, where access to the network slice is allowed for the UE and is associated with a first throughput. the network entity may send, to the UE, an indication that the session is successfully established and is associated with a second, reduced throughput based on one or more parameters associated with the network slice. Faccin: [0112], [0240]-[0241]).
Regarding claim 5, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]):
enforce the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (the network entity may receive, from a UE, a first control message for establishing a session via a network slice, where access to the network slice is allowed for the UE and is associated with a first throughput. the network entity may send, to the UE, an indication that the session is successfully established and is associated with a second, reduced throughput based on one or more parameters associated with the network slice. Faccin: [0240]-[0241]).
Regarding claim 6, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]):
provide a notification indicating the adjusted maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice (network may trigger a notification towards the UE of the change of the network slices using a generic UE configuration update procedure. SMF may allow the establishment of PDU sessions with a reduced throughput. the SMF may indicate that a PDU session is established with a reduced throughput (bit rate), Faccin: [0096], [0106]).
Regarding claim 13, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice is different from a subscribed maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (GST may point explicitly to the definition of parameters and bounds on the service and aims at the limitation of the maximum uplink or downlink data rate per slice and is rather a rate limitation per UE. SMF may establish the PDU session with reduced throughput based on determining that the criteria associated with the GST parameters of the network slice are not satisfied. UE may receive an indication from AMF 220-e that the PDU session via the network slice is successfully established with a second, reduced throughput (e.g., a second, lower QoS), Faccin: [0076], [0125]).
Regarding claim 20, Faccin discloses:
An access network node comprising (An apparatus of wireless communication at a network entity is described, Faccin: [0012]):
at least one processor (apparatus may include a processor, Faccin: [0012]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory, Faccin: [0012]);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the access network node at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]):
Faccin does not explicitly disclose:
receive a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice via a session management function and an access and mobility management function; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young teaches:
receive a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice via a session management function and an access and mobility management function (The set of network slice policies, which can be maintained by a policy control function (PCF) component of the core network, can include an area capacity policy ( e.g., a data rate capacity over an area), a mobility policy (e.g., location and speeds of UEs), a density policy (e.g., a number of communications sessions over an area), a guaranteed minimum data rate policy (e.g., minimum download and upload speeds), a maximum bitrate policy ( e.g., maximum download and upload bitrates), a relative priority policy (e.g., relative importance of the application and/or UE compared to other applications and/or UEs), SMF 322 can support establishment, modification, and release of communications sessions in the wireless telecommunications system. the RAN (e.g., via the base station) can receive the UE configuration and perform an AMF selection process to identify the AMF of the core network that is to be used to set up a communication session ( e.g., via an NSI) for the UE, Young: [0019], [0025], [0067]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin in view of Young in order to further modify receiving a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice via a session management function and an access and mobility management function from the teachings of Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a user experience and/or customer
experience associated with establishing a network slice instance (NSI) for a UE and/or a plurality of UEs can be improved over previous techniques (Young: [0012]).
Yet, Faccin in view of Young does not explicitly disclose:
enforce the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, comprises enforcing a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice in a radio access network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hedman teaches:
enforce the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, comprises enforcing a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice in a radio access network (This attribute describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice perUE in downlink. These parameters could be used to offer different contract qualities like gold, silver and bronze. provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. the first maximum bit rate information (MBRI) specifies a UE specific first maximum bit rate for the network slice and the UE, and/or first guaranteed bit rate information (GBRI) specifies a UE specific first aggregate guaranteed bit rate for the network slice and the UE, Hedman: [0028], [0061]-[0063], [0069], [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin and Young in view of Hedman in order to further modify enforce the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice and enforcing a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice in a radio access network from the teachings of Hedman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. In addition, the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per network slice (Hedman: [0061]).
Regarding claim 21, Faccin discloses:
A method comprising (A method of wireless communication at a network entity is described, Faccin: [0011]):
Faccin does not explicitly disclose:
determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value and/or an upper aggregate bit rate threshold value; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young teaches:
determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value and/or an upper aggregate bit rate threshold value (the NSSF can determine a set of network slice policies to be considered when selecting an NSI. The set of network slice policies, which can be maintained by a policy control function (PCF) component of the core network, can include a guaranteed minimum data rate policy (e.g., minimum download and upload speeds). the set of network slice policies can define a low latency performance requirement (e.g., an end-to-end communications transmission time less than or equal to a threshold), Young: [0019]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin in view of Young in order to further modify determining that an aggregate bit rate for a network slice that is less than or equal to a threshold value, wherein the threshold value comprises a minimum aggregate bit rate threshold value of the network slice from the teachings of Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a user experience and/or customer
experience associated with establishing an network slice instance (NSI) for a UE and/or a plurality of UEs can be improved over previous techniques (Young: [0012]).
Yet, Faccin in view of Young does not explicitly disclose:
adjusting at least one of a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice,
adjusting at least one of a maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice or a maximum number of terminals allowed to operate on the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hedman teaches:
adjusting at least one of a maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice or a maximum number of terminals allowed to operate on the network slice (This attribute describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice per UE in downlink. These parameters could be used to offer different contract qualities like gold, silver and bronze. provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice, Hedman: [0028], [0061]-[0063]).
adjusting at least one of a maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice or a maximum number of terminals allowed to operate on the network slice (the first maximum bit rate information (MBRI) specifies a UE specific first maximum bit rate for the network slice and the UE, and/or first guaranteed bit rate information (GBRI) specifies a UE specific first aggregate guaranteed bit rate for the network slice and the UE, Hedman: [0063], [0069], [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin and Young in view of Hedman in order to further modify adjusting a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for a single network slice selection assistance information identifying the network slice based on the aggregate bit rate for the network slice from the teachings of Hedman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. In addition, the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per network slice (Hedman: [0061]).
Regarding claim 23, Faccin discloses:
A method comprising (A method of wireless communication at a network entity is described, Faccin: [0011]):
Faccin does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young teaches:
receiving a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice (The set of network slice policies, which can be maintained by a policy control function (PCF) component of the core network, can include an area capacity policy ( e.g., a data rate capacity over an area), a mobility policy (e.g., location and speeds of UEs), a density policy (e.g., a number of communications sessions over an area), a guaranteed minimum data rate policy (e.g., minimum download and upload speeds), a maximum bitrate policy ( e.g., maximum download and upload bitrates), a relative priority policy (e.g., relative importance of the application and/or UE compared to other applications and/or UEs), SMF 322 can support establishment, modification, and release of communications sessions in the wireless telecommunications system. the RAN (e.g., via the base station) can receive the UE configuration and perform an AMF selection process to identify the AMF of the core network that is to be used to set up a communication session (e.g., via an NSI) for the UE, Young: [0019], [0025], [0067]; and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin in view of Young in order to further modify receiving a notification indicating an adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for a network slice from the teachings of Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a user experience and/or customer
experience associated with establishing a network slice instance (NSI) for a UE and/or a plurality of UEs can be improved over previous techniques (Young: [0012]).
Yet, Faccin in view of Young does not explicitly disclose:
enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice,
wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hedman teaches:
enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (This attribute describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice per UE in downlink. These parameters could be used to offer different contract qualities like gold, silver and bronze. provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice, Hedman: [0028], [0061]-[0063]),
wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (the first maximum bit rate information (MBRI) specifies a UE specific first maximum bit rate for the network slice and the UE, and/or first guaranteed bit rate information (GBRI) specifies a UE specific first aggregate guaranteed bit rate for the network slice and the UE, Hedman: [0063], [0069], [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin and Young in view of Hedman in order to further modify enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice from the teachings of Hedman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. In addition, the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per network slice (Hedman: [0061]).
Regarding claim 24, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Faccin further discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer executable instructions encoded thereon which, when run on one or more processors, perform the method of claim 21 (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]).
Regarding claim 26, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 23 above.
Faccin in view of Young does not explicitly disclose:
wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hedman teaches:
wherein enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice (This attribute describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice per UE in downlink. These parameters could be used to offer different contract qualities like gold, silver and bronze. provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. the first maximum bit rate information (MBRI) specifies a UE specific first maximum bit rate for the network slice and the UE, and/or first guaranteed bit rate information (GBRI) specifies a UE specific first aggregate guaranteed bit rate for the network slice and the UE, EE 301 enforces a bit rate limitation based on the NS-BRI by determining whether EE 301 has reached a bit rate limitation for a network slice and refrains from requesting UL transmission grants based on determining that UE 301 has exceeded the bit rate limitation. Hedman: [0028], [0061]-[0063], [0069], [0098], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin and Young in view of Hedman in order to further modify enforcing the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises triggering a packet data unit session modification procedure for an existing packet data unit session based on the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice from the teachings of Hedman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per UE and per network slice. In addition, the present disclosure provides for the monitoring and enforcement of maximum UL and/or DL data rates per network slice (Hedman: [0061]).
Claims 7-10, 12, 14-15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin-
Young-Hedman and in further view of 3GPP TR 23.700-40 V0.3.0 (2020-01), (Technical Report, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Enhancement of Network Slicing Phase 2, Release 17, hereafter “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 7, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. the instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive a message for establishing a session via a network slice, Faccin: [0025]).
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
determine a number of user equipments operating on the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
determine a number of user equipments operating on the network slice (Figure 6.4.3 .2.2-1 shows the procedure to get the information of the current number of UEs registered to a network slice, 3GPP: Fig 6.4.3.2.2-1, Page 28 Sec. 6.4.3.2.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify determining a number of user equipments operating on the network slice from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 8, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
determining that a first packet data unit session is established by a user equipment for the network slice; and
incrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
determining that a first packet data unit session is established by a user equipment for the network slice (PCF detects that the S-NSSAI of the PDU Session is subject to quota management and establishment of PDU Sessions, 3GPP: Page 41 Sec. 6.6.3.4); and
incrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice (it increments a counter if the S-NSSAI is allowed for the UE, 3GPP: Page 21 Sec. 6.3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify determining that a first packet data unit session is established by a user equipment for the network slice and incrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 9, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
determining that a last packet data unit session is released by a user equipment for the network slice; and
decrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
determining that a last packet data unit session is released by a user equipment for the network slice (PCF detects that the S-NSSAI of the PDU Session is subject to quota management and release of PDU Sessions, 3GPP: Page 41 Sec. 6.6.3.4); and
decrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice (when a UE no longer uses a S-NSSAI subject to counting, the AMF indicates that to the NSSF which decreases the counter, 3GPP: Page 21 Sec. 6.3.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify determining that a last packet data unit session is released by a user equipment for the network slice and decrementing the number of user equipments operating on the network slice from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 10, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the apparatus comprises a policy control function serving the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
wherein the apparatus comprises a policy control function serving the network slice (PCF: apply/enforce the network slice related local quota on the number of UEs, 3GPP: Page 19 Sec. 6.1.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify comprising a policy control function serving the network slice from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 12, Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the apparatus comprises one of a plurality of policy control functions serving the network slice; and
wherein another one of the plurality of policy control functions is registered with the apparatus to receive a notification indicating the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice from the apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
wherein the apparatus comprises one of a plurality of policy control functions serving the network slice (may have multiple enforcement points (e.g., PCF instances of a Network Slice) to perform the SLA enforcement of network slice, 3GPP: Page 17 Sec. 6.1.1); and
wherein another one of the plurality of policy control functions is registered with the apparatus to receive a notification indicating the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice from the apparatus (attribute defines the maximum data rate supported by the network slice. these parameters can be used to offer different network slice contract qualities level which have different maximum throughput values. network may need to make adjustment to network to control aggregate traffic in UL and DL across the slice, 3GPP: Page 13 Sec. 5.5.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify the apparatus comprises one of a plurality of policy control functions serving the network slice which is registered with the apparatus to receive a notification indicating the adjusted maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice from the apparatus and from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 14, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the aggregate bit rate for the network slice is an aggregate bit rate for the network slice for an uplink (the criteria associated with the generic network slice parameters may be a maximum throughput (bit rate) for the network slice has been reached, etc., Faccin: [0112]).
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the threshold value is a threshold value for the uplink; and
wherein the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice for the uplink
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
wherein the threshold value is a threshold value for the uplink (limit the data rate of UE for a Network Slice in uplink, 3GPP: Page 12 Sec. 5.3.1); and
wherein the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice for the uplink (maximum uplink throughput per UE parameters could be used in order to offer different contract qualities, 3GPP: Page 12 Sec. 5.3.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify the threshold value and maximum bit rate for the uplink and the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice for the uplink from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 15, Faccin-Young-Hedman teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Faccin further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the aggregate bit rate for the network slice is an aggregate bit rate for the network slice for a downlink (the criteria associated with the generic network slice parameters may be a maximum throughput (bit rate) for the network slice has been reached, etc., Faccin: [0112]).
Faccin-Young-Hedman does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the threshold value is a threshold value for the downlink; and
wherein the maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice comprises a maximum bit rate per terminal for the network slice for the downlink.
However, in the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches:
wherein the threshold value is a threshold value for the downlink (limit the data rate of UE for a Network Slice in downlink, 3GPP: Page 12 Sec. 5.3.1); and
wherein the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises a maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice for the downlink (maximum downlink throughput describes the maximum data rate supported by the network slice per UE in downlink, 3GPP: Page 11 Sec. 5.3.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman in view of 3GPP in order to further modify the threshold value and maximum bit rate for the downlink from the teachings of 3GPP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may be used to scale the network slice and provides enough resources to the network slice (3GPP: Page 10 Sec. 5.1.1).
Regarding claim 25, Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Faccin-Hedman-3GPP does not explicitly disclose:
wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting, by the policy control function, a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, and providing the dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment to a radio access network via a session management function and an access and mobility management function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Young teaches:
wherein adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting, by the policy control function, a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, and providing the dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment to a radio access network via a session management function and an access and mobility management function (The set of network slice policies, which can be maintained by a policy control function (PCF) component of the core network, can include an area capacity policy ( e.g., a data rate capacity over an area), a mobility policy (e.g., location and speeds of UEs), a density policy (e.g., a number of communications sessions over an area), a guaranteed minimum data rate policy (e.g., minimum download and upload speeds), a maximum bitrate policy ( e.g., maximum download and upload bitrates), a relative priority policy (e.g., relative importance of the application and/or UE compared to other applications and/or UEs), SMF 322 can support establishment, modification, and release of communications sessions in the wireless telecommunications system. the RAN (e.g., via the base station) can receive the UE configuration and perform an AMF selection process to identify the AMF of the core network that is to be used to set up a communication session (e.g., via an NSI) for the UE, Young: [0019], [0025], [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Hedman-3GPP in view of Young in order to further modify adjusting the maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice comprises setting, by the policy control function, a dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment for the network slice, and providing the dynamic maximum bit rate per user equipment to a radio access network via a session management function and an access and mobility management function from the teachings of Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a user experience and/or customer
experience associated with establishing a network slice instance (NSI) for a UE and/or a plurality of UEs can be improved over previous techniques (Young: [0012]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP
and in further view of POE, Wint Yi (WO 2021/089160 A1, hereinafter “Poe”).
Regarding claim 11, Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the apparatus comprises a single policy control function serving the network slice.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Poe teaches:
wherein the apparatus comprises a single policy control function serving the network slice (in the case of a single PCF instance for the specific slice SLA parameter of associated network slice(s), the entire quota received will be allocated to the single PCF instance, Poe: Page 37, Lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faccin-Young-Hedman-3GPP in view of Poe in order to further modify comprising the apparatus with a single policy control function serving the network slice from the teachings of Poe.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide improved network entities, allowing managing slice service level agreement information of a network slice in a slice-oriented mobile communication network in an efficient manner (Poe: Page 2, Lines 18-20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467