DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 11/20/25.
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 25-38 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 25-38 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “receiving, from a network, a CSI reporting configuration, wherein the CSI reporting configuration indicates reporting 0, 1, or 2 CSIs associated with single-TRP measurement hypotheses and one CSI associated with multi-TRP measurement hypothesis, wherein the CSI reporting configuration includes a non zero power (NZP)-CSI-RS-ResourceSet parameter that is configured with N channel measurement resource (CMR) pairs for multi-TRP measurements and 2 CMR groups for single-TRP measurements, wherein when CSI reporting configuration is configured with X=1 to report one CSI associated with a single-TRP measurement hypotheses along with CSI for multi-TRP measurement hypothesis, selection of a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement hypothesis is based_on measurement of both CMR groups and reporting a single-TRP measurement hypothesis selected across both CMR groups”? The Examiner is not entirely sure what exactly is “X=1” related to CSI? There is nothing in CSI indicated X or how does the X=1 changes the CSI. Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 & 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khairy, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2022/0368495 A1 in view of Hindy, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0129776 A1.
As to claim 1, Khairy teaches a method for configuring quasi-colocation (QCL) information of Channel State Information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for multiple transmission and reception points (multi-TRP), comprising:
receiving, from a network, a CSI reporting configuration, wherein the CSI reporting configuration indicates reporting 0, 1 or 2 CSIs associated with single-TRP measurement hypotheses and one CSI associated with multi-TRP measurement hypothesis, wherein the CSI reporting configuration includes a non zero power (NZP)-CSI-RS-ResourceSet parameter that is configured with wherein when CSI reporting configuration is configured with X=1 to report one CSI associated with a single-TRP measurement hypotheses along with CSI for multi-TRP measurement hypothesis (Khairy, page 7, paragraph 79-81; page 9, paragraph 108; page 12, paragraph 137; i.e., [0079] The CSI report configuration configures the CSI-RS resources for measurement (e.g., via a "CSI-ResourceConfig"IE). The CSI-RS resources provide the UE with the configuration of CSI-RS ports, or CSI-RS port groups. The CSI-RS resources can be zero power (ZP) or non-zero power (NZP) resources. [0081] For aperiodic and semi-persistent CSI on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the BS signals the UE a CSI report trigger indicating the UE to send a CSI report for one or more CSI-RS resources, or configuring the CSI-RS report trigger state (e.g., "CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList" and "CSISemiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList"); [0108] a PDSCH is a single-TRP in a single-DCI multi-TRP scenario (e.g., where a CORESET pool index is not configured); [0154] triggering DCI and a first symbol of the aperiodic CSI-RS resources (e.g., from the one or more TRPs), the UE is configured with the two TCI states (e.g., such as "enableTwoDefaultTCIStates"), the MAC-CE activates the at least one TCI codepoint with the two TCI states, and the single beam receives the aperiodic CSI-RS resources (e.g., TRP-specific CSI-RS)); and
performing, based on the CSI reporting configuration, CSI measurements (Khairy, page 7, paragraph 79-82; i.e., [0079] The CSI report configuration configures time and frequency resources used by the UE to report the CSL For example, the CSI report configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for the CM, interference measurement (IM), or both. The CSI report configuration configures the CSI-RS resources for measurement (e.g., via a "CSI-ResourceConfig"IE); [0082] The UE reports a CSI feedback to the BS, based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with the CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback to the BS for the selected CSI-RS resource);
reporting a CSI report based on the measurements (Khairy, page 7, paragraph 79-81; page 12, paragraph 137; i.e., [0079] The CSI report configuration configures time and frequency resources used by the UE to report the CSL For example, the CSI report configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for the CM, interference measurement (IM), or both).
But Khairy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein N channel measurement resource (CMR) pairs for multi-TRP measurements and 2 CMR groups for single-TRP measurements; selection of a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement hypothesis is based_on measurement of both CMR groups and reporting a single-TRP measurement hypothesis selected across both CMR groups.
However, Hindy teaches the limitation wherein N channel measurement resource (CMR) pairs for multi-TRP measurements and 2 CMR groups for single-TRP measurements (Hindy, page 13, paragraph 176-178; i.e., [0176] Where Ng is equal to 2. In one example, g=0 for a CSI report with a single PMI associated with the CMR with the lower ID in a corresponding CSI Reporting Setting CSI-ReportConfig, and g=1 for a CSI report with a single PMI associated with the CMR with the higher ID in a corresponding CSI Reporting Setting CSI-ReportConfig (if applicable), and where Nr is equal to 2, wherein r=0 for a CSI report with a single PMI, and r=l for a CSI report with two or more PMI; [0177] Regarding configuring one or more CMR groups in one or more CSI Resource Settings, for multi-TRP transmission, a UE may be configured with a set of two or more CMRs in one or more CSI Resource Settings CSI-ResourceConfig, which in tum may be triggered within one or more CSI Report Settings CSI-ReportConfig for multi-TRP transmission. Two CMRs may correspond to two TRPs in an NCJT hypothesis under multi-TRP transmission); selection of a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement hypothesis is based_on measurement of both CMR groups and reporting a single-TRP measurement hypothesis selected across both CMR groups (Hindy, page 13, paragraph 176-178; i.e., [0177] Regarding configuring one or more CMR groups in one or more CSI Resource Settings, for multi-TRP transmission, a UE may be configured with a set of two or more CMRs in one or more CSI Resource Settings CSI-ResourceConfig, which in tum may be triggered within one or more CSI Report Settings CSI-ReportConfig for multi-TRP transmission. Two CMRs may correspond to two TRPs in an NCJT hypothesis under multi-TRP transmission; [0178] In a first embodiment, the set of two or more CMRs includes K+N1+N2 CMRs with N12:l, N2 2:l, wherein the set of CMRs are grouped for NCJT transmission into two groups with size N1, N2, respectively. NCJT hypothesis may correspond to two CMRs, with one CMR from each of the two CMR groups. Note that it is possible that N1~N2 , where pairing between the CMRs for NCJT hypothesis may be one-to-one. The K CMRs would then correspond to single TRP transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy to substitute frequency division duplex reciprocity from Hindy for frequency division multiplexing from Khairy to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to
communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level (Hindy, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 9, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein receiving, from the network, a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message includes a parameter that configures QCL for aperiodic CSI, wherein the parameter includes at least two QCL information lists, wherein a first QCL information list of the at least two QCL information lists includes TCI state identifiers (IDs) for single-TRP CSI measurements, and wherein a second QCL information list of the at least two QCL information lists includes TCI state IDs for multi-TRP measurements (Khairy, page 7, paragraph 79-82; i.e., [0080] The CSI report configuration configures the UE for aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent CSI reporting. For periodic CSI, the UE is configured with periodic CSI-RS resources. Periodic CSI and semi-persistent CSI report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is triggered via a RRC or a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE). [0081] For aperiodic and semi-persistent CSI on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the BS signals the UE a CSI report trigger indicating the UE to send a CSI report for one or more CSI-RS resources, or configuring the CSI-RS report trigger state (e.g., "CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList" and "CSISemiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList"). The BS provides the CSI report trigger to the UE for the aperiodic CSI and the semi-persistent CSI on the PUSCH, via a downlink control information (DCI) from the BS to the UE. The CSI-RS trigger is signaling indicating the UE that the CSI-RS will be transmitted for the CSI-RS resource. [0082] The UE reports a CSI feedback to the BS, based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with the CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback to the BS for the selected CSI-RS resource).
Claim(s) 25 & 31 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 25 & 31 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, 26-30, 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khairy, U.S. Pub/Patent No. US 2022/0368495 A1 in view of Hindy, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0129776 A1, and further in view of Gao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0088967 A1.
As to claim 7, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein receiving, from the network, a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message includes a parameter that configures QCL for aperiodic CSI, wherein the parameter includes a QCL information list including TCI state identifiers (IDs) for multi-TRP CSI measurements and single-TRP measurements (Khairy, page 13, paragraph 150-156; i.e., [0150] the UE applies a QCL assumption of at least one of the at least two TCI states, and depending on whether same or different aperiodic CSI-RS resources are received from two TRPs associated with the network entity; [0156] In certain aspects, when the UE applies the QCL assumption of the one of the at least two TCI states for processing the aperiodic CSI-RSs, the one of the at least two TCI states includes a TCI state of an anchor TRP).
But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein interpreting a first 2N TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for 2N channel measurement resources (CMRs) in N CMR pairs for multi-TRP CSI measurement configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein interpreting a first 2N TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for 2N channel measurement resources (CMRs) in N CMR pairs for multi-TRP CSI measurement configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs. As part of the CSI report, the UE 512 may select two out of the M NZP CSI-RS resources ( e.g., 2 out of the M TRPs) by indicating two different CRs as part of the CSI report which represents the two selected TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 8, Khairy-Hindy-Gao teaches the method as recited in claim 7. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein interpreting a next k1 TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for kl CMRs in a first CMR group for a first single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI- RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement; and interpreting a next k2 TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for k2 CMRs in a second CMR group for a second single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein interpreting a next k1 TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for k1 CMRs in a first CMR group for a first single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI- RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs. As part of the CSI report, the UE 512 may select two out of the M NZP CSI-RS resources ( e.g., 2 out of the M TRPs) by indicating two different CRs as part of the CSI report which represents the two selected TRPs); and interpreting a next k2 TCI state IDs in the QCL information list as configured for k2 CMRs in a second CMR group for a second single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs. As part of the CSI report, the UE 512 may select two out of the M NZP CSI-RS resources ( e.g., 2 out of the M TRPs) by indicating two different CRs as part of the CSI report which represents the two selected TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 10, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 9. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second QCL information list includes 2N TCI state IDs configured for 2N channel measurement resources (CMRs) in N CMR pairs for multi-TRP CSI measurement configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein the second QCL information list includes 2N TCI state IDs configured for 2N channel measurement resources (CMRs) in N CMR pairs for multi-TRP CSI measurement configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs. As part of the CSI report, the UE 512 may select two out of the M NZP CSI-RS resources ( e.g., 2 out of the M TRPs) by indicating two different CRs as part of the CSI report which represents the two selected TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 11, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 9. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first QCL information list includes kl+k2 TCI state IDs configured for kl+k2 single-TRP measurements configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement, wherein a first ki TCI state IDs in the first QCL information list is configured for kl CMRs in a first CMR group for a first single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set, and wherein a next k2 TCI state IDs in the first QCL information list is configured for k2 CMRs in a second CMR group for a second single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein the first QCL information list includes kl+k2 TCI state IDs configured for kl+k2 single-TRP measurements configured in a corresponding CSI-RS resource set configured for aperiodic CSI measurement, wherein a first k1 TCI state IDs in the first QCL information list is configured for k1 CMRs in a first CMR group for a first single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set, and wherein a next k2 TCI state IDs in the first QCL information list is configured for k2 CMRs in a second CMR group for a second single-TRP CSI measurement configured in the corresponding CSI-RS resource set (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs. As part of the CSI report, the UE 512 may select two out of the M NZP CSI-RS resources ( e.g., 2 out of the M TRPs) by indicating two different CRs as part of the CSI report which represents the two selected TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 26, Khairy-Hindy teaches the UE as recited in claim 25. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein CMRs in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are not configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as any other CMRs in other CMR pairs for the multi-TRP CSI measurements.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein CMRs in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are not configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as any other CMRs in other CMR pairs for the multi-TRP CSI measurements (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 27, Khairy-Hindy teaches the UE as recited in claim 25. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein when the UE does not indicate support for multi-antenna panel activation, CMRs in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are not configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as any CMR in a CMR group for single-TRP CSI measurements.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein when the UE does not indicate support for multi-antenna panel activation, CMRs in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are not configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as any CMR in a CMR group for single-TRP CSI measurements (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 28, Khairy-Hindy teaches the UE as recited in claim 25. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein when the UE indicates support for multi-antenna panel activation, channel measurement resources (CMRs) in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are able to be configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as a CMR in a CMR group for single-TRP CSI measurements.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein the UE indicates support for multi-antenna panel activation, CMRs in a CMR pair for multi-TRP CSI measurements are able to be configured with a same spatial receiver parameter as a CMR in a CMR group for single-TRP CSI measurements (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 29, Khairy-Hindy teaches the UE as recited in claim 25. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein select a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria, wherein to select the CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria includes selection of a first CMR group for the single-TRP measurement and determination of which CMR group is selected based on a configuration in a CSI-RS report configuration.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein select a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria, wherein to select the CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria includes selection of a first CMR group for the single-TRP measurement and determination of which CMR group is selected based on a configuration in a CSI-RS report configuration (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 30, Khairy-Hindy-Gao teaches the UE as recited in claim 29. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein to select the CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: measure both CMR groups; and report a best single-TRP hypothesis across both CMR groups.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein to select the CMR group for the single-TRP measurement based on at least one selection criteria, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: measure both CMR groups (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs); and report a best single-TRP hypothesis across both CMR groups (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 32, Khairy-Hindy teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 31, wherein interpret the CSI reporting setting based on at least one interpretation criteria.
But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive, from the network, a CSI reporting setting that configures the apparatus to report zero CSIs associated with single-TRP measurement hypotheses along with CSIs for multi-TRP hypothesis with shared CMR configured.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein receive, from the network, a CSI reporting setting that configures the apparatus to report zero CSIs associated with single-TRP measurement hypotheses along with CSIs for multi-TRP hypothesis with shared CMR configured (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 33, Khairy-Hindy-Gao teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 32. But Khairy-Hindy failed to teach the claim limitation wherein treat such a configuration as an error case; report a multi-TRP CSI measurement without any single-TRP CSI measurement; or report a multi-TRP CSI measurement and a single-TRP CSI measurements, wherein the single-TRP CSI measurements are from 2N CMRs configured in N CMR pairs.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein treat such a configuration as an error case; report a multi-TRP CSI measurement without any single-TRP CSI measurement; or report a multi-TRP CSI measurement and a single-TRP CSI measurements, wherein the single-TRP CSI measurements are from 2N CMRs configured in N CMR pairs (Gao, page 7, paragraph 124-127; i.e., [0124] In this embodiment, the UE 512 is configured with one CSI reporting setting, where the CSI reporting setting comprises a NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (also referred to herein as a Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set) that contains at least two NZP CSI-RS resources, each associated with one of two TRPs 602-1 and 602-2 as shown in FIG. 6. If the NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement contains M>2 NZP CSI-RS resources, then each of the M NZP CSI-RS resources may correspond to one of M different TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khairy-Hindy to substitute Resource Block from Gao for available resource from Khairy-Hindy to supports transmission of either one or two transport blocks (TBs) to a UE in a slot (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 34, Khairy-Hindy-Gao teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 31, wherein, when the CSI reporting configuration is configured with X=0, a shared CMR parameter cannot be configured.
As to claim 35, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein, when the CSI reporting configuration is configured with X=0, a shared CMR parameter cannot be configured.
As to claim 36, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the network, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that indicates QCL information for CSI-RS resources in a semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set, wherein the MAC CE includes at least an indication of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for single-TRP and multi-TRP corresponding to the CSI-RS resources in the semi-persistent CSI- RS resource set.
As to claim 37, Khairy-Hindy teaches the method as recited in claim 36, wherein the MAC CE includes a field indicating activation or deactivation of the semi- persistent CSI-RS resource set.
As to claim 38, Khairy-Hindy teaches the UE as recited in claim 25, wherein, when the CSI reporting configuration is configured with X=0, A shared CMR parameter cannot be configured.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7-38 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “N channel measurement resource (CMR) pairs for multi-TRP measurements and 2 CMR groups for single-TRP measurements; selection of a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement hypothesis is based_on measurement of both CMR groups and reporting a single-TRP measurement hypothesis selected across both CMR groups” (see Applicant’s response, 11/20/25, page 11-12). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Hindy disclosed this functionality (see Hindy, page 13, paragraph 176-178). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “N channel measurement resource (CMR) pairs for multi-TRP measurements and 2 CMR groups for single-TRP measurements; selection of a CMR group for the single-TRP measurement hypothesis is based_on measurement of both CMR groups and reporting a single-TRP measurement hypothesis selected across both CMR groups” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Shao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20230217284 A1 discloses CMR of the TRPs.
Chen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210306895 A1 discloses antenna panel, Spatial parameter, RRC, QCL and CSI.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416