DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome the current rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bishay (US 6,293,962) and JP 2020-6249.
However, the Examiner would like to address some of the applicant’s arguments filed 12/16/2025 regarding the characterization of the Riffard reference and what the claims currently recite. The applicant argues that there would be no reason to modify Riffard to be human-carriable. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Riffard explicitly discloses on the first page of the English Translation that was previously provided that the housing is a “mobile storage space” and that the current invention addresses issues with thermal stresses during transport and that the invention allows the transportation of a product such as a defibrillator. Furthermore, in order for the housing to be temporarily installed anywhere would REQUIRE the housing to be transportable to the installation location. This would all imply that the device is designed to be carried and moved by humans.
Claim Interpretation
This application also includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations that invoke 35 USC 112(f)are:
“means for regulating the temperature in a case” in claim 1, which is disclosed on page 4 of the original specification as being a device or material which actively adds thermal energy to the inside of the case either by transferring thermal energy from the outside of the case into the case or by converting another type of energy into thermal energy within the case or which actively removes thermal energy from the case either by transferring it to the outside of the case or by converting thermal energy within the case into another form of energy.
“sensors for detecting the temperature” in claim 3, which is disclosed on page 9 of the specification as a thermometer.
“sensors for detecting a technical status, a battery status, and/or a removal of the AED” in claim 4, which is disclosed on page 10 of the original specification as optical or acoustic-sensing devices.
“means for indicating a position of the case” in claim 5, which is disclosed on pages 9 and 10 of the original specification as being a GPS antenna or a localization device using a mobile network.
“means for communication” in claim 6, which is disclosed on pages 10 and 11 of the original specification as a radio transmitter, a wireless network module, a low-power wide area network (LPWAN) module, or Bluetooth module or a module for communication via mobile network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riffard et al. (WO 2020/069947, hereinafter Riffard; all citations are to the included English Translation) in view of Bishay (US 6,293,962).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9, 10 and 17, Riffard discloses a case100/200 for an AED (see page 1, par. 1). All components of the case are within a single, interconnected cavity, as shown below, such that airflow F16-F20 flows freely within the single cavity:
The case includes thermal insulation (page 2, par. 4, and page 3, par. 11). A phase-change material 115 is included within the cavity such that the material absorbs thermal energy upon melting and releases thermal energy upon returning to a solid (page 2, par. 2, page 4, second to last paragraph). The case is disclosed as mobile, transportable and not wired to stationary electricity (page 1, 2nd paragraph), such that the case is suitable for being carried by a human, if so desired by a user. A microcontroller controls the phase change material (page 2).
Riffard is silent as to there specifically being a handle on the case. Attention is directed to Bishay, which also discloses a portable defibrillator case, and thus is analogous art with Riffard (See abstract Col. 1, lines 7-14). Bishay discloses that the housing can have a handle 26 located on the door (Col. 4, lines 5-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the handle of Bishay to the portable housing of Riffard in order to provide a convenient area to grasp the door of the housing.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Riffard discloses external photovoltaic cells 141 are connected to a battery within the case through an access point (pages 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Riffard discloses temperature sensors 160 are included within the case.
Regarding claim 4, Riffard discloses an optical sensor is included to detect a control status of the AED (page 5).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 14 and 15, Riffard discloses a means for communication is included, which can indicate a location of the device (page 7).
Regarding claim 8, Riffard discloses there are subcavities within the cavity of the case capable of taking sensors and accessories, if so desired by the user:
Regarding claim 12, Riffard discloses a means for regulating temperature. Bishay also discloses a means for regulating temperature, and thus is analogous art with Riffard. Specifically, Bishay teaches that one can regulate temperature utilizing a compressor-based air conditioner, which inherently operates using the phase change of a liquid/gas coolant (i.e., the Joule-Thomson effect) (Col. 5, lines 4-10). Therefore, Riffard and Bishay teach art-recognized equivalents for regulating temperature, and substituting the air-conditioner of Bishay for the phase-change material of Riffard would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date as the substitution as it would have the predictable result of regulating temperature within the case.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riffard and Bishay in view of Brun et al. (US 2018/0328630, hereinafter Brun).
Riffard, as modified above, discloses a means for regulating temperature. Brun also discloses a means for regulating temperature, and thus is analogous art with Riffard. Specifically, Brun teaches that one can regulate temperature utilizing a thermoelectric transducer which increases and decreases temperature based on a polarity of voltage applied (par. 0026). Therefore, Riffard and Brun teach art-recognized equivalents for regulating temperature, and substituting the thermoelectric transducer of Brun for the phase-change material of Riffard would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date as the substitution as it would have the predictable result of regulating temperature within the case.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riffard in and Bishay in view of JP 2020-6249 (hereinafter Japanese Patent; all citations are to the included English Translation).
Regarding claim 18, Riffard, as modified, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but it silent as to using polystyrene insulation over metal. The Japanese Patent also a defibrillator storage device (see abstract), and thus is analogous art with Riffard. Specifically, the Japanese Patent teaches a metallic heat shield 16,18,20 and 22 and a polystyrene insulating material 12c and 12d on the inside of the metal surface. Therefore, Riffard and the Japanese Patent teach art-recognized equivalents for insulation, and substituting the polystyrene and metal of the Japanese Patent for the insulation of Riffard would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date as the substitution as it would have the predictable result of regulating temperature within the case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796