DETAILED ACTION
ROBOT CLEANER AND METHOD OF CONTROLLING ROBOT CLEANER
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 03-18-2026 has been entered. Claims 18-31 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-7,10-17 have been cancelled. Claims 18-31 are newly added. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03-18-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant's argument that the prior art combination of Jung, Liss and Knowpow fails to teach an origin is defined on the floor surface, that a circular
cleaning region having a predetermined radius is defined around the origin, that a plurality of target points are disposed on the circumference of the circular cleaning region, and that the robot cleaner reciprocates between the origin and the plurality of target points traveling path of the main body when traveling from the target points to the origin is a straight path, and the other is a curved path having a predetermined curvature due to prior art discloses an obstacle detection device measures when the robot cleaner is in a stand-still.
Examiner, respectfully disagrees Liss discloses creating circular map (see figure 4), while device is in a standstill, but the map created is used and stored within the robot cleaner to be used while the robot cleaner travels to ensure it avoids obstacles. (“this as a result of rotating scanning in a preferably horizontal scanning plane, i.e. in a plane running parallel to the floor 2, so that the device 1 can move on the floor 2 or in its surroundings without collision” and “ walls in the surroundings are preferably used to create a map representation K of the entire area, which map representation K is saved and stored in the device 1.”)
Further, prior art Knopow discloses programming the travel path for a robotic cleaner to include a predetermined curvature (see para 0052,0070,0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190007608A) in view of Liss (DE102011000536A1) and Knopow (US20110004342A1).
Regarding claim 18, Jung teaches a main body (10,22+21 , figure 1) having a bumper (21, figure 1) provided on a front surface (“a first bumper 21 formed on the first outer periphery of the main body 10”) thereof and having a space for accommodating a battery (190; “ a power supply unit 190 installed inside the main body 10”), a water container (211, 221, figure 2 and 4), and a motor (150, ; “the driving unit 150 may include a first driving unit 151 and a second driving unit 152, and may include a motor and / or a gear assembly”) therein; a pair of rotary plates (110, 120, figure 2 and 4) rotatably disposed on a bottom surface of the main body and having lower sides to which mops facing a floor surface are coupled; a control part (170; “ controller 170 controls at least one of the rotational direction and the rotational speed of the rotary members 110 and 120”) configured to control the rotation of the pair of rotary plates, wherein the main body travels due to friction (“Meanwhile, when the pair of rotating members 110 and 120 rotate according to a predetermined angle, the relative frictional force generated between the surface to be cleaned and the cleaners 212 and 222 may be larger than the center of the main body 10. Therefore, the traveling speed and traveling direction of the robot cleaner 100 can be controlled by the relative frictional force” )with the floor surface,
Jung fails to teach when the mop rotates, wherein an origin is defined on the floor surface, wherein a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius is defined around the origin, wherein a plurality of target points are disposed on a circumference of the circular cleaning region, wherein the main body reciprocates between the origin and the plurality of target points, and wherein one of a traveling path from the origin to the target point and a traveling path from the target point to the origin is a straight path and the other is a curved path having a predetermined curvature.
Liss teaches a method of controlling the navigation of a robotic cleaner that includes controlling the main body of robotic cleaner (1, figure 1) so that when the mop rotates, wherein an origin is defined on the floor surface (10, figure 4), wherein a circular region having a predetermined radius (figures 4 and 7-8; “Starting from each section 10 , in particular free partial area 10 Hereinafter, a map section K .sub.A is first defined, wherein the respective edge length is preferably adapted to the detection area of the obstacle recognition system A. Thus, each subarea 10 rotationally invariant, ie independent of the current orientation of the device 1 is, the corners of the square map sections K .sub.A are darkened or hidden, so that thereafter a rotation-invariant maps circular section K .sub.KA with the associated portion 10 as a means” or “From every section 10 Starting at a predetermined number of angles, preferably 360 angles, a total of 360 ° around the sub-area 10 around the distance a calculated to the next obstacle H within the card circle section K .sub.KA , this preferably using the Bresenham algorithm. The maximum distance a is correspondingly limited by the map circular section K .sub.KA equal to the radius of the circular section From the sum of the distances a preferably 360 distance measurements around the partial area 10 around”).is defined around the origin, wherein a plurality of target points (figures 4 and 7-8) are disposed on a circumference of the circular region, wherein the main body reciprocates between the origin and the plurality of target points, and wherein one of a traveling path from the origin to the target point( figures 4 and 7-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung so that the controller can control the main body so when the mop rotates, wherein an origin is defined on the floor surface, wherein a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius is defined around the origin, wherein a plurality of target points are disposed on a circumference of the circular region, wherein the main body reciprocates between the origin and the plurality of target points, based on the teachings of Liss.
Further, Jung as modified by Liss would disclose a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius.
Knopow teaches a trainable multi-mode floor cleaning where a user trains the cleaning device to have one or multiple desired cleaning paths that includes a curved path having a predetermined curvature. (see para 0052,0070,0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung so that the controller has a control method for the robotic cleaner that includes traveling path that has a curved path having a predetermined curvature based on the teachings of Knopow. This modification would provide an autonomous floor cleaning device with a guidance/control system having more efficient operation (see para 0009-0012,0052-0054,0080 of Knopow).
Regarding claim 19, modified Jung teaches wherein the plurality of target points is disposed on a concentric circle having the origin as a center thereof. (see Liss figures 4,7-8).
Regarding claim 20, modified Jung teaches wherein the plurality of target points (see Liss, figure 4) are arranged at a predetermined phase difference (see pages 4-6,8 of Liss) along the circumference of the circular cleaning region.
Regarding claim 21, modified Jung teaches wherein a movement route in which the main body moves from the origin to the target point is different from a movement route in which the main body moves from the target point to the origin. (see Hong figure 10a and figures 4 and 7-8 of Liss).
Regarding claim 22, Jung teaches a main body (10, 22+21, figure 1); a pair of rotary plates (110, 120, figure 2 and 4) rotatably disposed on a bottom surface of the main body ( figures 2 and 4) and having mops (212 and 222, figure 2 and 4) coupled thereto; a control part (170; “ controller 170 controls at least one of the rotational direction and the rotational speed of the rotary members 110 and 120”) configured to control the rotation of the pair of rotary plates, movement is a straight path (“straight cleaning mode”)
Jung fails to teach wherein the control part defines a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius around an origin on a floor surface, wherein the robot cleaner reciprocates between the origin and a point located on a circumference of the circular cleaning region, and wherein one path of the reciprocating and another path of the reciprocating movement is a curved path having a predetermined curvature.
Liss teaches a method of controlling a robotic (abstract) that includes a circular region (figure 4) have a predetermined radius around (A, figure 4 pages 6-8) an origin (10, figure 4) on a floor surface, wherein the robot cleaner reciprocates between the origin and a point located on a circumference of the circular region ( figures 4 and 7-8; “Starting from each section 10 , in particular free partial area 10 Hereinafter, a map section K .sub.A is first defined, wherein the respective edge length is preferably adapted to the detection area of the obstacle recognition system A. Thus, each subarea 10 rotationally invariant, ie independent of the current orientation of the device 1 is, the corners of the square map sections K .sub.A are darkened or hidden, so that thereafter a rotation-invariant maps circular section K .sub.KA with the associated portion 10 as a means” or “From every section 10 Starting at a predetermined number of angles, preferably 360 angles, a total of 360 ° around the sub-area 10 around the distance a calculated to the next obstacle H within the card circle section K .sub.KA , this preferably using the Bresenham algorithm. The maximum distance a is correspondingly limited by the map circular section K .sub.KA equal to the radius of the circular section From the sum of the distances a preferably 360 distance measurements around the partial area 10 around”).
Further, Jung as modified by Liss would disclose a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius.
Knopow teaches a trainable multi-mode floor cleaning where a user trains the cleaning device to have one or multiple desired cleaning paths that includes a curved path having a predetermined curvature. (see para 0052,0070,0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung so that the controller has a control method for the robotic cleaner that includes traveling path that has a curved path having a predetermined curvature based on the teachings of Knopow. This modification would provide an autonomous floor cleaning device with a guidance/control system having more efficient operation (see para 0009-0012,0052-0054,0080 of Knopow).
Regarding claim 23, Jung teaches a pair of rotary plates (110, 120, figure 2 and 4) having lower sides to which mops (212 and 222, figure 2 and 4) facing a floor surface are coupled, the robot cleaner being configured to move in a circular cleaning region with a predetermined radius by a control part's (170; “ controller 170 controls at least one of the rotational direction and the rotational speed of the rotary members 110 and 120”) control of the pair of rotary plates,
Jung fails to teach setting an origin on a floor surface; defining a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius around the origin; setting a plurality of target points on a circumference of the circular cleaning region; a first movement step of moving the robot cleaner from the origin toward one of the target points;; a returning rotation step of rotating the robot cleaner in place by a predetermined returning rotation angle after the first movement step; a second movement step of moving the robot cleaner from the target point toward the origin; and a direction change step of rotating the robot cleaner by a predetermined direction change angle so that the robot cleaner faces another target point.
Liss teaches a method of controlling robotic cleaner (1, figure 1) that includes moving the robot cleaner in a circular region (see KsubKa, figure 4) with a predetermined radius (A, figure 4), the method comprising setting an origin on a floor surface (10, figure 4); defining a circular region (see KsubKa, figure 4) having a predetermined radius (a, figure 4)around the origin; setting a plurality of target points on a circumference of the circular cleaning region (figure 4); a first movement step of moving the robot cleaner from the origin (10, figure 4) toward one of the target points;; a returning rotation step of rotating the robot cleaner in place by a predetermined returning rotation angle after the first movement step; a second movement step of moving the robot cleaner from the target point toward the origin ((see figure 4 and 7-8; “Starting from each section 10 , in particular free partial area 10 Hereinafter, a map section K .sub.A is first defined, wherein the respective edge length is preferably adapted to the detection area of the obstacle recognition system A. Thus, each subarea 10 rotationally invariant, ie independent of the current orientation of the device 1 is, the corners of the square map sections K .sub.A are darkened or hidden, so that thereafter a rotation-invariant maps circular section K .sub.KA with the associated portion 10 as a means” or “From every section 10 Starting at a predetermined number of angles, preferably 360 angles, a total of 360 ° around the sub-area 10 around the distance a calculated to the next obstacle H within the card circle section K .sub.KA , this preferably using the Bresenham algorithm. The maximum distance a is correspondingly limited by the map circular section K .sub.KA equal to the radius of the circular section From the sum of the distances a preferably 360 distance measurements around the partial area 10 around”);
Further, Jung as modified by Liss would disclose a circular cleaning region having a predetermined radius.
Knopow teaches a trainable multi-mode floor cleaning where a user trains the cleaning device to have one or multiple desired cleaning paths that includes a curved path having a predetermined curvature. (see para 0052,0070,0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jung so that the controller has a control method for the robotic cleaner that includes traveling path that has a returning rotation step of rotating the robot cleaner in place by a predetermined returning rotation angle after the first movement step based on the teachings of Knopow. This modification would provide an autonomous floor cleaning device with a guidance/control system having more efficient operation. (see para 0009-0012,0052-0054,0080 of Knopow)
Regarding claim 24, modified Jung teaches wherein the first movement step moves the robot cleaner rectilinearly to a predetermined target point. (see Liss figure 4).
Regarding claim 25, modified Jung teaches wherein the second movement step moves the robot cleaner along a route different from a movement route in the first movement step (see Knowpow para 0052,0070,0086 and figures 4 and 7-8 of Liss).
Regarding claim 26, modified Jung teaches wherein the circular cleaning region is defined by an imaginary circle (see Liss KsubKA, figure 4) having the origin (see Liss 10, figure 4) as a center thereof.
Regarding claim 27, modified Jung teaches : wherein the origin (see Liss 10, figure 4) is used as a starting point of the reciprocating movement.
Regarding claim 28, modified Jung teaches wherein the target points (see Liss, figure 4) are arranged at a predetermined phase difference along the circumference of the circular cleaning region (see pages 4-6 of Liss).
Regarding claim 29, modified Jung teaches a movement preparation step of disposing the robot cleaner at an initial starting point before the first movement step. (see Liss figure 4 and Liss discloses “Preferably before a first free ride of the device 1 in the space R, the map representation K is first by means of a grid 9 in equal parts 10 divided, preferably in square sections with an edge length of 20 to 60 mm, more preferably 40 mm. The subareas 10 are hereafter preferred numbers first assigned, for example, the number 255 (light), if the subarea 10 is free, the number 0 (dark), if the sub-area is occupied by an obstacle H, continue with numbers between 0 and 255 for different shades of gray. Starting from each section 10, in particular free partial area 10 Hereinafter, a map section K .sub.A is first defined, wherein the respective edge length is preferably adapted to the detection area of the obstacle recognition system A. Thus, each subarea 10 rotationally invariant, ie independent of the current orientation of the device 1 is, the corners of the square map sections K .sub.A are darkened or hidden, so that thereafter a rotation-invariant maps circular section K .sub.KA with the associated portion 10 as a means”).
Regarding claim 30, modified Jung teaches a movement ending step of stopping the robot cleaner when the robot cleaner is positioned at the initial starting point. (see Liss figures 7-8 returns to x and moves x1 start pattern figure 4).
Regarding claim 31, modified Jung teaches a multiple of the direction change angle (0) is a multiple of 360°. (Starting from each section 10 , in particular free partial area 10 Hereinafter, a map section K .sub.A is first defined, wherein the respective edge length is preferably adapted to the detection area of the obstacle recognition system A. Thus, each subarea 10 rotationally invariant, ie independent of the current orientation of the device 1 is, the corners of the square map sections K .sub.A are darkened or hidden, so that thereafter a rotation-invariant maps circular section K .sub.KA with the associated portion 10 as a means” or “From every section 10 Starting at a predetermined number of angles, preferably 360 angles, a total of 360 ° around the sub-area 10 around the distance a calculated to the next obstacle H within the card circle section K .sub.KA , this preferably using the Bresenham algorithm. The maximum distance a is correspondingly limited by the map circular section K .sub.KA equal to the radius of the circular section From the sum of the distances a preferably 360 distance measurements around the partial area 10 around”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723