DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1, 5, 8, 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims 1, 8 and 15, the Applicant has argued the newly added language directed to the second metal layer being connected to the contact layer “through the first metal layer” is not taught by Joseph or the remaining references.
The Examiner does not agree. Merriam-Webster online dictionary states “through” can mean “by way of” and/or “because of”. The second metal layer (fig.12/13 #1303) of Joseph is electrically connected to the contact layer (fig.8/12/13 #84) “by way of” and/or “because of” the application and use of the first metal layer (fig.12/13 #1201). Without the first metal layer #1201 being applied to the contact layer #84 a connection would not exist on the device which would allow the application of a current to pass from the second metal layer #1303 to the contact layer #84 to thereby connect them. The use and placement of the first metal layer #1201 facilitates the electrical connection of the second metal layer #1303 to the contact layer #84 and therefore “the second metal layer is connected to the contact layer through the first metal layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 (and 2-7, 9-14 via dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended to recite the presence of first and second “terminals”. The specification as originally filed does not disclose the presence of terminals. Therefore, it is not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
The Examiner notes this same language was added in the claim set of 09/11/2025, a 112a was issued in the Final of 11/06/2025 and the language was then deleted in the claim set of 01/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph (US 2017/0033535) in view of Izumiya et al. (US 2021/0167579; note foreign priority with support) and Dummer et al. (US 2020/0278426).
With respect to claim 1, Joseph teaches a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) array device (fig.8-14c), comprising: a submount (fig.14b #1403); and a VCSEL array chip (fig.14b seen above mount) attached to the submount (fig.14c), the VCSEL array chip comprising: a substrate (fig.8 #81); and a plurality of VCSEL structures (fig.14b 6 VCSELs) formed in a first chip region (fig.14b central region containing the 6 VCSELs + surround outer trenches) above the substrate, each VCSEL structure comprising: a contact layer (fig.8 #84) above the substrate; a first reflector region (fig.8 #83/85) formed above and connected to the contact layer (portion #85 above and on #84); an active region (fig.8 #86) formed above the first reflector region, the contact layer arranged between the substrate and the active region (fig.12 #84 between #86 and #81); a second reflector region (fig.8 #88) formed above the active region; a first metal layer (fig.12 #1201) above and connected to the contact layer ([0251]); a second metal layer (fig.12 #1303) above and connected to the first metal layer (#1201 and #1303 electrically connected via mesa stack); and a third metal layer (fig.12 #1302/1304) formed above and connected to (fig.13 physically attached) the second reflector region, wherein the second metal layer is connected to a terminal of the VCSEL structure (necessarily connected to a terminal to supply current from a power source), the third metal layer is connected to another terminal of the VCSEL structure (necessarily connected to a terminal to supply current from a power source), the second metal layer is connected to the contact layer through the first metal layer (fig.12/13 #1303 is connected to #84 “because of” and/or “by way of” the placement and use of metal #1201 as the metal facilitates the electrical connection of the two elements), partially surrounds each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively, (#1303 at least partially surrounds the VCSELs on an individual basis) and extends through the second reflector region, the active region, and the first reflector region (as seen in fig.13), and the second and third metal layers face the submount and are between the substrate and the submount after the VCSEL array chip is attached to the submount (as seen in fig.14b/c). Joseph further teaches the second metal layer is useful for heat sinking ([0255]), but does not teach the second metal layer to completely surround each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively. Izumiya teaches a related VCSEL array (fig.15/16), which forms the mesas in a connected manner (fig.16 via #102) and which includes a metal layer completely surrounding each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively (fig.15/16 #460, note can also include #112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Joseph to make the second metal layer completely surround each of the VCSEL devices, respectively, by more fully etching around each mesa in order to more fully sink heat from the mesas (Izumiya, [0092, 94, 95]).
Joseph does not teach a multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions. Dummer teaches a VCSEL array (fig.9) which makes use of a multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions (fig.13, [0106-109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to replace the active region of Joseph with the multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions taught by Dummer in order to improve efficiency (Dummer, [0111]).
With respect to claim 2, Joseph teaches the first reflector region and the second reflector region each comprise a Distributed Bragg Reflector (DBR) structure ([0139]).
With respect to claim 3, Joseph teaches the second metal layer is formed on the first metal layer (fig.13, on meaning ‘in close proximity’).
With respect to claim 4, Jospeh, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the embodiment to make use of a plurality of lenses formed on a surface of the substrate. Joseph teaches an additional embodiment (fig.22) which uses lens (fig.22 #257s) formed on a surface of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the initial embodiment of Joseph to include lens formed on a surface of the substrate as taught by the later embodiment of Joseph in order to control the path of the output light.
With respect to claim 5, Joseph teaches the contact layer (fig.8 #84) formed between the first reflector region and the substrate (formed between at least portion #85 of first reflector and substrate) is doped ([0055, 255]).
With respect to claim 6, Joseph teaches a fourth metal layer (fig.14b #1404/1406 leftmost) electrically connected to the second metal layer (fig.14b via solder + plating layer; would be electrically connected via path through semiconductor mesa), wherein the fourth metal layer is outside the first chip region (formed in non-emitter/trench area) and the third metal layer is inside the first chip region (formed in emitter/trench area).
With respect to claim 7, Joseph, as modified, teaches the second metal layer has a ring shape (see Izumiya, fig.15).
With respect to claim 8, Joseph teaches a method for fabricating (0219-0264] outline formation methods including epitaxy) a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) array device (fig.8-14c), comprising: forming a plurality of VCSEL structures (fig.14b 6 VCSELs) in a first chip region (fig.14b central region containing the 6 VCSELs + surrounding trenches) above a substrate (fig.8 #81) of a VCSEL array chip; and attaching the VCSEL array chip on a submount (fig.14b/c #1403), wherein forming the plurality of VCSEL structures comprises: growing a contact layer (fig.8 #84) above the substrate; growing a first reflector region (fig.8 #83/85) above and connected to the contact layer (fig.8 #85 above and on #84); growing an active region (fig.8 #86) above the first reflector region, the contact layer arranged between the substrate and the active region (fig.12 #84 between #86 and #81); growing a second reflector region (fig.8 #88) above the active region; forming a first metal layer (fig.12 #1201) above and connected to the contact layer (fig.12 #1201 on #84); forming a second metal layer (fig.13 #1303) above and connected to the first metal layer (fig.13, connected via the epitaxial stack); and forming a third metal layer (fig.12 #1302/1304) above and connected to (physically on) the second reflector region, wherein the second metal layer is connected to a terminal of the VCSEL structure (necessarily connected to a terminal to supply current from a power source), the third metal layer is connected to another terminal of the VCSEL structure (necessarily connected to a terminal to supply current from a power source), the second metal layer is connect to the contact layer through the first metal layer (fig.12/13 #1303 is connected to #84 “because of” and/or “by way of” the placement and use of metal #1201 as the metal facilitates the electrical connection of the two elements), partially surrounds the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively, (#1303 at least partially surrounds the VCSELs on an individual basis) and extends through the second reflector region, the active region, and the first reflector region (fig.13), and the second and third metal layers face the submount and are between the substrate and the submount after the VCSEL array chip is attached on the submount (as seen in fig.14b/c). Joseph further teaches the second metal layer is useful for heat sinking ([0255]), but does not teach the second metal layer to completely surround each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively. Izumiya teaches a related VCSEL array (fig.15/16), which forms the mesas in a connected manner (fig.16 via #102) and which includes a metal layer completely surround each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively (fig.15/16 #460, note can also include #112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Joseph to make the second metal layer completely surround each of the VCSEL devices, respectively, by more fully etching around each mesa in order to more fully sink heat from the mesas (Izumiya, [0092, 94, 95]).
Joseph does not teach a multijunction active region. Dummer teaches a VCSEL array (fig.9) which makes use of a multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions (fig.13, [0106-109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to replace the active region of Joseph with the multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions taught by Dummer in order to improve efficiency (Dummer, [0111]).
With respect to claim 9, Joseph teaches the first reflector region and the second reflector region each comprise a Distributed Bragg Reflector (DBR) structure ([0139]).
With respect to claim 10, Joseph teaches the second metal layer is formed on the first metal layer (fig.13 #1303 on, as in close proximity with, #1201).
With respect to claim 11, Jospeh, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the embodiment to form a plurality of lenses formed on a surface of the substrate. Joseph teaches an additional embodiment (fig.22) which forms a plurality of lenses (fig.22 #257s) formed on a surface of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the initial embodiment of Joseph to include lens formed on a surface of the substrate as taught by the later embodiment of Joseph in order to control the path of the output light.
With respect to claim 12, Jospeh teaches the contact layer (fig.8 #84) between the first reflector region and the substrate (formed between at least portion #85 of first reflector and substrate) is doped ([0055, 255]).
With respect to claim 13, Jospeh teaches depositing a fourth metal layer (fig.14b #1404/1406 leftmost) electrically connected to the second metal layer (fig.14b via solder + plating layer and through semiconductor structure), wherein the fourth metal layer is outside the first chip region (formed in non-emitter/trench area) and the third metal layer is inside the first chip region (formed in emitter/trench area).
With respect to claim 14, Joseph, as modified, teaches the second metal layer has a ring shape (Izumiya, fig.15).
With respect to claim 15, Joseph teaches a Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) array device (fig.8-14c), comprising: a submount (fig.14 #1403); and a VCSEL array chip (fig.14b above submount) attached to the submount (as seen in fig.14b), the VCSEL array chip comprising: a substrate (fig.8 #81); and a plurality of VCSEL structures (fig.14b 6 VCSELs) formed in a first chip region (fig.14b central region containing the 6 VCSELs + surrounding trenches) above the substrate, each VCSEL structure comprising: a contact layer (fig.8 #84) formed above the substrate; a first reflector region (fig.8 #83/85) formed above and connected to the contact layer (at least portion #85 on #84); an active region (fig.8 #86) formed above the first reflector region, the contact layer arranged between the substrate and the active region (fig.12 #84 between #86 and #81); a second reflector region (fig.8 #88) formed above the active region; a first metal layer (fig.12 #1201) above and connected to the contact layer (fig.12 #1201 on #84); a second metal layer (fig.13 #1303), above and connected to the first metal layer (fig.13 electrically connected via epitaxial stack), and connected to the contact layer (fig.13 #1303 connected to contact via mesa); and a third metal layer (fig.12 #1302/1304) formed above and connected to (physically on) the second reflector layer, wherein the second metal layer is connected to the contact layer through the first metal layer (fig.12/13 #1303 is connected to #84 “because of” and/or “by way of” the placement and use of metal #1201 as the metal facilitates the electrical connection of the two elements), partially surrounds the VCSELS (fig.13) and extends through the second reflector region, the active region, and the first reflector region (fig.13), and the second and third metal layers face the submount and are between the substrate and the submount after the VCSEL array chip is attached to the submount (as seen in fig.14b/c). Joseph further teaches the second metal layer is useful for heat sinking ([0255]), but does not teach the second metal layer to be ring shaped and completely surround each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively. Izumiya teaches a related VCSEL array (fig.15/16), which forms the mesas in a connected manner (fig.16 via #102) and which includes a ring-shaped metal layer completely surround each of the plurality of VCSEL structures, respectively (fig.15/16 #460, note can also include #112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Joseph to make the second metal layer ring shaped and completely surround each of the VCSEL devices, respectively, by more fully etching around each mesa in order to more fully sink heat from the mesas (Izumiya, [0092, 94, 95]).
Joseph does not teach a multijunction active region. Dummer teaches a VCSEL array (fig.9) which makes use of a multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions (fig.13, [0106-109]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to replace the active region of Joseph with the multijunction active region including a plurality of multiple-quantum-well (MQW) active regions taught by Dummer in order to improve efficiency (Dummer, [0111]).
With respect to claim 16, Joseph teaches the first reflector region and the second reflector region each comprise a Distributed Bragg Reflector (DBR) structure ([0139]).
With respect to claim 17, Jospeh, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the embodiment to make use of a plurality of lenses formed on a surface of the substrate. Joseph teaches an additional embodiment (fig.22) which uses lens (fig.22 #257s) formed on a surface of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the initial embodiment of Joseph to include lens formed on a surface of the substrate as taught by the later embodiment of Joseph in order to control the path of the output light.
With respect to claim 18, Joseph teaches a fourth metal layer (fig.14b #1404/1406 leftmost) electrically connected to the second metal layer (fig.14b via solder + plating layer and via semiconductor structure) and located outside the first chip region (not in emitter/trench area).
With respect to claim 19, Joesph teaches the second metal layer is formed on the first metal layer (fig.13 #1303 on, as in close proximity with, #1201)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the previously included pto892 form for a list of related art.
US 9065235 is noted as providing similar teachings to Joseph outlined above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828