Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 12/17/25.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn. A new basis for rejection appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) by O’Neil, US20230399483A1.
Regarding claim 1, O’Neil teaches a battery pack [0002], comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (103); and a pack case (102) in which the plurality of battery cells are accommodated, wherein the pack case includes a potting resin (104) covering all sides of the plurality of battery cells [fig. 3],
the potting resin being filled to a predetermined height between the plurality of battery cells (partially covering)[0025][fig. 3 – 4]
the pack case is integrally formed with the potting resin (integrally formed)[0040]
the potting resin fills a lateral gap between adjacent battery cells (gaps between cells (103) filled with insulating material (104))[0002][0040][fig. 3]
the lateral gap extends from one of the adjacent battery cells to another of the adjacent battery cells (gaps between cells)[fig. 3]; and
the plurality of battery cells comprises the adjacent battery cells (cells (103))[fig. 3]
Regarding claim 2, O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery cells are in the potting resin with upper and lower ends of the battery cells being exposed at least in part (partially covering)[0025](exposed ends)[fig.3]
Regarding claim 3, O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the potting resin is lower than an upper end of the plurality of battery cells in a height wise direction of the plurality of battery cells, and wherein a lower surface of the potting resin is than a lower end of the plurality of battery cells in the height wise direction of the plurality of battery cells (partially covering)[0025](exposed ends)[fig.3].
Regarding claim 4, O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the potting resin includes silicone resin (silicone)[0029]
Regarding claim 16, O’Neil teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein: the potting resin forms a continuous outer surface of the pack case that laterally encloses all of the plurality of battery cells; and the continuous outer surface of the pack case lies outside of an outermost boundary of all of the plurality of battery cells (insulating material (104) fills space between cells (103) and case (102) in a continuous manner)[0025][fig. 3]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724