DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 01/29/2026. Claims 18-20 are previously cancelled. Claims 1 and 16 are currently amended. Claims 1-17, 21-23 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/29/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claim 1 and 16 with limitations “wherein a CSI report in the set of CSI reports comprises two parts and a plurality of channel quality indicators (CQIs)”. Wherein regarding claim 1 and 16, Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1) still teaches the claim limitations. See Hao teaches-- CSI report includes 1st part and 2nd part. Wherein the CSI report includes multiple CQIs that is included in the 1st part of the CSI report (see [0076]; [0094]). Thus, Hao still teaches the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 10, 16, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2019/0260448 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0349103 A1), in view of Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1), further in view of WU (US 2023/0062132 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Rahman teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving channel state information (CSI) report configuration information ([0241], Fig. 12, step 1204-- a UE receives, from at least one TRP of a group of (N) TRPs, CSI configuration information {for CSI report—step 1210}.),
wherein the CSI report configuration information comprises:
information indicating that CSI feedback(report—[0003]) corresponding to multiple points(TRPs) is used ( [0251], Fig. 12, step 1208-- the UE identifies, based on the received configuration information, one or more TRPs of the group of (N) TRPs{ a number (M) of selected TRPs for CSI reporting is included in the configuration—[0243]} to transmit the determined CSI report.) (Hence the configuration info indicates that CSI report corresponds to TRPs.),
generating a set (CSI reports—see [0182]) of CSI reports based on the CSI report configuration information ( [0242], Fig. 12, step 1206-- the UE determines a CSI report based on the received CSI configuration information {step 1204}; then [0252], step 1210--the UE transmits the determined CSI report{ generated CSI report—it is obvious} over an uplink channel. ) (Hence UE generates CSI reports based on the received CSI report config info.), and
reporting the set (CSI reports—see [0182]) of CSI reports to a network (TRP) ([0252], Fig. 12, step 1210--the UE transmits, to the one or more TRPs {network—[0041]}, the determined CSI report over an uplink channel.)(Hence UE reports CSI reports to a network.).
Rahman does not teach wherein the CSI report configuration information comprises: information indicating one or more CSI reference signal(RS) resource configurations associated with a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (CM) and a CSI interference management (IM) resource set for IM; and wherein each point of the multiple points is associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for CM of the CSI-RS resource set, and the multiple points are associated with one or more CSI-IM resources for IM of the CSI-IM resource set;
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches
receiving channel state information (CSI) report configuration information ( [0080] & [0089], Fig. 3, S101 & S102--base station configures and transmits, measurement parameters {include a CSI-RS configuration—[0081]} of CSI for a terminal device.)(Hence terminal receives CSI report config info.);
wherein the CSI report configuration information comprises:
information indicating one or more CSI reference signal (RS) resource configurations ([0007]) associated with a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement (CM) and a CSI interference management (IM) resource set for IM ( [0006], CSI processes (plural) are configured on network side, and each CSI process corresponds to a transmission hypothesis, and corresponds to a resource configuration {CSI-RS resource configuration—[0007]}. Each CSI process has a CSI-RS resource {NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement—[0071]} and a CSI-IM resource{for interference measurement—[0071]}. Then, the resource configuration corresponding to each process is transmitted to the terminal device.) (Hence it is obvious config info indication CSI-RS resource configurations associated with a NZP CSI-RS resources/resource set for CM and a CSI-IM resources/resource set for IM.); and
wherein each point (TP) of the multiple points ([0003]) is associated with a NZP CSI-RS resources for CM of the CSI-RS resource set ([0006]; [0071], Each CSI process includes a CSI-RS resource {NZP} for channel measurement and a CSI-IM resource for interference measurement. When each TP provides a service, a network side configures four CSI processes for the terminal device.)(Hence each TP is associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for CM of the CSI-RS resource set.), and the multiple points (TPs—[0003]) are associated with one or more CSI-IM resources for IM of the CSI-IM resource set ( [0006]; [0071], Each CSI process includes a CSI-RS resource{NZP} for channel measurement and a CSI-IM resource for interference measurement. When each TP provides a service, a network side configures four CSI processes for the terminal device.) (Hence TPS are associated with CSI-IM resources for IM of the CSI-IM resource set.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide in CoMP transmission technology, TPs coordinate to communicate with a terminal device, reducing interference to a terminal device at a cell edge and improving a cell edge throughput and provides separate resource and signaling configuration, reducing resource overheads and signaling overheads of a base station (Wang; [0003] & [0010]).
Rahman already teaches set of CSI reports.
Rahman- Wang does not teach wherein a CSI report in the set of CSI reports comprises two parts and a plurality of channel quality indicators (CQIs), and a second of the two parts of the CSI report includes two precoder matrix indicators (PMIs)
However, in an analogous art, Hao teaches wherein a CSI report in the set of CSI reports comprises two parts ([0076], a first part (Part I) and a second part (Part II) of a CSI report) and a plurality of channel quality indicators (CQIs) ([0094], the CSI report includes multiple CQI, wherein [0076], The CQI is in a first part (Part I) of the CSI report.)(Hence the CSI report comprises two parts and CQIs.), and a second of the two parts of the CSI report includes two precoder matrix indicators (PMIs)( [0076], the PMI {multiple PMIs for multi-TRP transmission—[0094]; [0036]—i.e. two PMIs} is in the second part (Part II) of the CSI report.), and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Hao and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang to provide UE has flexibility to report CSI for single-TRP or multi-TRP. The CSI is used to adapt transmissions based on the current channel conditions, which achieves reliable communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems (Hao; [0083]; [0073]).
Hao already teaches a second part of the CSI report includes two PMIs.
Rahman- Wang- Hao does not teach each PMI of the two PMIs is for a distinct transmission and reception point (TRP).
However, in an analogous art, WU teaches each PMI of the two PMIs is for a distinct transmission and reception point (TRP) ( [0063], UE 215 transmit a multi-TRP CSI report 230 including a PMI for TRP 210 and a PMI for TRP 220.) (Hence the CSI report includes two PMIs, wherein each PMI of the two PMIs for distinct TRP{i.e. TRP 210 and 220}).
Since Hao already discloses a second part of the CSI report includes two PMIs (as explained by the examiner above), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have applied the additional PMIs functions disclosed by Wu to the second part of Hao to arrive the claimed invention. Doing so would merely involve the application of old and known features (e.g. each PMI of the two PMIs for distinct TRP disclosed by Wu) to another similar old and known disclosure (e.g. second part of the CSI report includes two PMIs disclosed by Hao) to achieve predictable results. One would motivated as such in order to provide multi-TRP PMI operations and allowing communication devices (e.g., UEs or BSs) to efficiently report high-resolution PMI for multiple TRPs in a combined report (e.g., with a minimal overhead)( Wu; [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Rahman further teaches wherein each point of the multiple points (TRPs) corresponds to a TRP ([0241]) or a panel of a TRP.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Rahman-Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the information indicating that CSI feedback for multiple points is used comprises one or more of: a radio resource control (RRC) parameter within the CSI report configuration; a CSI report quantity within the CSI report configuration; a quasi-co-location(QCL) relationship involving one or more CSI-RS resources within the CSI-RS resource set; a codepoint indicating different downlink control information (DCI) states; a codebook type parameter; a codebook configuration parameter; a transmission configuration indicator codepoint from a transmission configuration comprising at least two transmission configuration indicator states; an indication of a spatial division multiplexing scheme across multiple points; or some combination thereof.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches
wherein the information indicating that CSI feedback for multiple points is used comprises one or more of:
a radio resource control (RRC) parameter within the CSI report configuration ([0080] & [0089], Fig. 3, S101 & S102--base station configures and transmits, measurement parameters {include a CSI-RS configuration—[0081]} of CSI for a terminal device---using RRC (see [0090].));
a CSI report quantity within the CSI report configuration;
a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship involving one or more CSI-RS resources within the CSI-RS resource set;
a codepoint indicating different downlink control information (DCI) states;
a codebook type parameter;
a codebook configuration parameter;
a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoint from a transmission configuration comprising at least two TCI states; or
an indication of a spatial division multiplexing scheme across multiple points; or
a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Rahman-Hao-Wu to provide in CoMP transmission technology, TPs coordinate to communicate with a terminal device, reducing interference to a terminal device at a cell edge and improving a cell edge throughput and provides separate resource and signaling configuration, reducing resource overheads and signaling overheads of a base station (Wang; [0003] & [0010]).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Rahman-Hao-Wu does not teach wherein each point of the multiple points is associated with a CSI-RS resource for IM.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein each point of the multiple points is associated with a CSI IM resource for IM ([0006]; [0071], Each CSI process includes a CSI-RS resource {NZP} for channel measurement and a CSI-IM resource for interference measurement. When each TP provides a service, a network side configures four CSI processes for the terminal device.) (Hence each TP is associated with CSI-IM resource for IM);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Rahman-Hao-Wu to provide in CoMP transmission technology, TPs coordinate to communicate with a terminal device, reducing interference to a terminal device at a cell edge and improving a cell edge throughput and provides separate resource and signaling configuration, reducing resource overheads and signaling overheads of a base station (Wang; [0003] & [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Rahman further teaches wherein a subset of one or more CSI reports of the set of CSI reports is identified ([0244]; [0185]).
5. Claims 5-7, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2019/0260448 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0349103 A1), in view of Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1), in view of WU (US 2023/0062132 A1), further in view of Kim (US 2023/0208490 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Rahman- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein each NZP CSI-CSI resource for CM is resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource by ordering of the NZP CSI-RS resource and CSI-IM resource in corresponding resource sets, and
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein each NZP CSI-RS resource for CM is resource-wise associated with a CSI-IM resource by ordering of the NZP CSI-RS resource and CSI-IM resource in corresponding resource sets ( [0006], Each CSI process has a CSI-RS resource {NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement—[0071]} and a CSI-IM resource{for interference measurement—[0071]}.), and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Hao-Wu to provide in CoMP transmission technology, TPs coordinate to communicate with a terminal device, reducing interference to a terminal device at a cell edge and improving a cell edge throughput and provides separate resource and signaling configuration, reducing resource overheads and signaling overheads of a base station (Wang; [0003] & [0010]).
Rahman - Wang -Hao-Wu does not teach a number of CSI-RS resources for CM is equal to a number of the NZP CSI-RS resources.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches a number of CSI-RS resources for CM is equal to a number of NZP CSI-IM resources ([0274]; [0277]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kim and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang-Hao-Wu to improve wireless communication system performance by acquiring/reporting optimal channel state information for performing transmission of multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) (Kim; [0024]).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Rahman- Wang-Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the NZP CSI-RS resource for CM and the CSI-IM resource for IM associated with a same point are quasi-co-located (QCL) with respect to 'QCL-TypeD'.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the NZP CSI-RS resource for CM and the CSI-IM resource for IM associated with a same point ([0157]) are quasi-co-located (QCL) with respect to 'QCL-TypeD ([0274]; [0277])'.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kim and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang -Hao-Wu to improve wireless communication system performance by acquiring/reporting optimal channel state information for performing transmission of multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) (Kim; [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Rahman- Wang -Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the multiple points are associated with at least one NZP CSI-RS resource for IM.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the multiple points are associated with at least one non-zero power NZP CSI-RS resource for IM ([0276]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kim and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang -Hao-Wu to improve wireless communication system performance by acquiring/reporting optimal channel state information for performing transmission of multiple transmission reception points (TRPs) (Kim; [0024]).
6. Claims 8, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2019/0260448 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0349103 A1), in view of Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1), in view of WU (US 2023/0062132 A1), further in view of Lee (US 2013/0208604 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the set of CSI reports comprises two subsets of CSI reports, a first of the two subsets of CSI reports includes at least one CSI report corresponding to single-point transmission, and a second of the two subsets of CSI reports includes at least one CSI report corresponding to joint transmission from multiple points.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the set of CSI reports comprises two subsets of CSI reports ([0184]; [0185]), a first of the two subsets of CSI reports includes at least one CSI report corresponding to single-point transmission, and a second of the two subsets of CSI reports includes at least one CSI report corresponding to joint transmission from multiple points ([0185], UE reports CSI for a joint transmission from a given subset of the corresponding points (or/and a single-point transmission with muting from other points---see [0184]) using the intersection of the corresponding subsets. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lee and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu to provide Single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO) increases a peak/average user equipment (UE) throughput, while multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) improves a peak/average system throughput by exploiting multi-user diversity gain (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein a partition of CSI that is the same for two CSI reports associated with different subsets of the two subsets of CSI reports is reported in one of the two CSI reports.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein a partition of CSI that is the same for two CSI reports associated with different subsets of the two subsets of CSI reports is reported in one of the two CSI reports ([0184]; [0185]; obvious.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lee and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu to provide Single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO) increases a peak/average user equipment (UE) throughput, while multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) improves a peak/average system throughput by exploiting multi-user diversity gain (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are identified based on one or more of: a network configuration; identifications of the CSI reports; UE feedback; a function of rank indicators (RIs) of the one or more CSI reports; a function of channel quality indicators (CQIs) of the one or more CSI reports; or some combination thereof.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are identified based on one or more of:
a network configuration ([0115]; [0042]);
identifications of the CSI reports;
UE feedback;
a function of rank indicators (RIs) of the one or more CSI reports;
a function of channel quality indicators (CQIs) of the one or more CSI reports; or some combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lee and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu to provide Single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO) increases a peak/average user equipment (UE) throughput, while multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) improves a peak/average system throughput by exploiting multi-user diversity gain (Lee; [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are partially reported.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are partially reported ([0184]; [0185]; obvious.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lee and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu to provide Single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO) increases a peak/average user equipment (UE) throughput, while multi-user MIMO (MU-MIMO) improves a peak/average system throughput by exploiting multi-user diversity gain (Lee; [0002]).
7. Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2019/0260448 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0349103 A1), in view of Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1), in view of WU (US 2023/0062132 A1), in view of Lee (US 2013/0208604 A1), further in view of Gao_2 (US 2021/0391967 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu -Lee does not teach wherein a first part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are reported, and a second part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported.
However, in an analogous art, Gao_2 teaches wherein a first part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are reported, and a second part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported ([0133]; obvious.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Gao_2 and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu -Lee to provide CSI feedback improves data rate, latency, and power consumption to provide reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness and extended battery lifetime (Gao_2; [0159]).
Regarding claim 14, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu -Lee does not teach wherein a first part of the two parts and a first portion of a second part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are reported, and a last portion of the second part of two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported.
However, in an analogous art, Gao_2 teaches wherein a first part of the two parts and a first portion of a second part of the two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are reported, and a last portion of the second part of two parts of the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported ([0133]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Gao_2 and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu -Lee to provide CSI feedback improves data rate, latency, and power consumption to provide reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness and extended battery lifetime (Gao; [0159]).
8. Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2019/0260448 A1) in view of Wang (US 2019/0349103 A1), in view of Hao (US 2021/0328644 A1), in view of WU (US 2023/0062132 A1), further in view of Gao_2 (US 2021/0391967 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu does not teach wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported.
However, in an analogous art, Gao_2 teaches
wherein the one or more CSI reports of the subset of CSI reports are not reported ([0133]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Gao_2 and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Wang- Hao-Wu to provide CSI feedback improves data rate, latency, and power consumption to provide reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness and extended battery lifetime (Gao_2; [0159]).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415