DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18, 22-23, 26 and 30-32 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 4, 7, 12, 16, 22 and 26 have been amended. No Claim has been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Jan 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that Faccin et al (US20180324577A1) and Gao et al (US 20230054288 A1, PCT Cont Priority Date: Apr 20, 2020) fails to teach or suggest: “receiving, by a first device, slice policy information for at least one of a service and a terminal, wherein the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs” and "wherein the slice policy information comprises at least one of the following information: information associated with a slice fallback; a matching relationship between a slice for [[a]] the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously" in Claim 1.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gao’288 discloses: “The slice assistance information can either be generated by the first network itself or provided by a second network node. For the case when the slice assistance information is generated by the first node, the first node may provide it to a second node during handover procedure or retrieve UE context procedure. The first network node can be a RAN node or a CN node.…. The second network node can be a RAN node or a CN node” (par 0066); “the slice assistance information can include indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not“ (par 0068); “the slice assistance information can include indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not. The indicator can be configured per UE, per PDU session or per slice” (par 0072); “A per UE indicator can be used to indicate whether the slice remapping is supported by the concerned RAN node. With this indicator, the source node can initiate the Xn based handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node” (par 0073); “slice assistance information can include indicators including any of an allowed target NW slice or equivalent slice for each PDU session” (par 0076); “The allowed target NW slice for each serving NW slice (current NW slice), or Equivalent NW slice, among which the slice re-mapping may be allowed” (par 0077)
Therefore Gao’288 teaches: second network node receives slice assistance information including slice remapping assistance information is supported or not per UE; and slice remapping assistance information including Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping and source node could initiate handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node.
Note, slice assistance information is generated by the first node (RAN node), the first node may provide it to a second node (RAN node) during handover procedure (par 0066). Here second RAN node can be equated to the target access network device.
And thus Gao’288 discloses: “receiving, by a first device, slice policy information for at least one of a service and a terminal, wherein the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs”, and "wherein the slice policy information comprises at least one of the following information: information associated with a slice fallback; a matching relationship between a slice for the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously". Here
slice remapping assistance information including Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping and source node could initiate handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node can be equated to information associated with a slice fallback, Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping can be equated to slice to be fallback.
Therefore, the cited reference teaches the claimed limitations of claim 1 in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claims 16 and 26.
The Applicant alleged that Faccin et al (US20180324577A1) and Gao et al (US 20230054288 A1, PCT Cont Priority Date: Apr 20, 2020) fails to teach or suggest: “obtaining the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal based on a switch request received”.
In response the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Gao’288 discloses: “slice assistance information can include indicators including any of an allowed target NW slice or equivalent slice for each PDU session. The allowed target NW slice or equivalent per PDU session will be configured as a separate IE in the message exchanged between CN node and RAN node or between two RAN nodes or in … the Handover Required Transfer container, the Handover Command Transfer container… the Path Switch Request Transfer container… the Path Switch Request Setup Failed Transfer container or the Path Switch Request Unsuccessful Transfer container” (par 0076).
Therefore Gao’288 discloses: second RAN node receives slice assistance information through Handover Required Transfer or Path Switch Request (par 0066, 0076).
Therefore, the cited reference teaches the claimed limitations of claim 1 in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claims 16 and 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al (US20180324577A1) in view of Gao et al (US 20230054288 A1, PCT Cont Priority Date: Apr 20, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 discloses a method for processing a slice service (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), comprising:
receiving, by a first device (see, Fig. 1, core network function, par 0045), slice policy information (see, SD (slice differentiator) in S-NSSAI as optional information that complements Slice/Service type(s) to allow further differentiation for selecting a network slice instance from the one or more network slice instances that all comply with the indicated Slice/Service type, S-NSSIA priority in S-NSSAI, par 0112, 0139) for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, core network receives NSSAI including S-NSSAIs for service and UE from UE through RAN, S-NSSAI comprises: slice/service type and slice differentiator (SD) & S-NSSAI priority, par 0112, 0117, 0139); and
determining, by the first device (see, Fig. 1, core network function, par 0045), a slice policy (see, URSP (UE Route Selection Policy) including required S-NSSAI for matching traffic and S-NSSAIs in priority order, par 0126) for at least one of the service and/er the terminal based on the slice policy information (see, core network understand which NSI/NSIs to be selected from subscribed set of S-NSSAIs in NSSAI provided by RAN and provide URSP including selected/required S-NSSAI for the service and UE, par 0117, 0126. Noted, each slice identified by S-NSSAI, par 0134), wherein the slice policy (see, URSP (UE Route Selection Policy) including selected S-NSSAIs (while policies specific to each S-NSSAI), par 0117, 0126. Noted, policies specific to each S-NSSAI according to SD and S-NSSAI priority, par 0139) is configured to determine a slice configuration of the first device (see, resource for selected S-NSSAI, par 0135) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, network selects network resources including AMF according to selected S-NSSAIs in NSSAI for UE required service, par 0109, 0135. Noted, network resource in network slice including RAN and CN network resource, par 0110. Noted further, NSSAI identifies a PLMN-specific slice including collection of S-NSSAIs, par 0114-0115).
Faccin’577 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by a first device, slice policy information for at least one of a service and a terminal, wherein the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs; and
wherein receiving the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal comprises:
obtaining the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal based on a switch request received,
wherein the slice policy information is received from a core network through a NG interface, and
wherein the slice policy information comprises at least one of the following information:
information associated with a slice fallback; a matching relationship between a slice for the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously.
However Gao’288 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE with different slices handover from source cell to target cell, par 0056-0057) discloses:
receiving, by a first device (see, target RAN node, par 0112), slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0112) for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, target RAN node receives slice assistance information from CN node for service of UE, par 0065-0066, 0112), wherein the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs (see, target RAN node for handover service of UE from source RAN node, par 0066); and
determining, by the first device (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node, par 0112), a slice policy (see, slice assistance information including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068, 0072) for at least one of the service and the terminal (see, per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072) based on the slice policy information (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node receives slice assistance information (generated by CN node) including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072), wherein the slice policy (see, configured indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported, par 0072) is configured to determine a slice configuration of the first device (see, Fig. 3, RAN node (source RAN node), par 0066, 0073) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node configured per UE for service continuity with indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported in slice assistance information, par, par 0066, 0072-0073, 0112),
wherein receiving the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068, 0072) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node receives slice assistance information (generated by CN node) including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072, 0112) comprises:
obtaining the slice policy information(see, slice assistance information including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068, 0072) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065, 0068, 0072) based on a switch request received (see, target RAN node receives slice assistance information per UE to supporting service continuity through Path Switch Request, par 0076, 0112),
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0066) is received from a core network (see, CN node in core network, par 0066) through a NG interface (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node receives slice assistance information provided by CN node through NG, par 0062, 0066, 0112) , and
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0068) comprises at least one of the following information:
information associated with a slice fallback (see, slice remapping assistance information in slice assistance information including Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping and source node could initiate handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node accordingly, par 0072-0073, 0076-0077); a matching relationship between a slice for the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Gao’288 into that of Faccin’577. The motivation would have been to provide higher quality of service for greater demand for capacity and connectivity (par 0003).
Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), wherein the slice policy information (see, slice policy information including URSP, par 0118) further comprises at least one of following information.
Faccin’577 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the slice policy information further comprises at least one of following information:
a target slice, an alternative slice or a slice list for the first devic
However Gao’288 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE with different slices handover from source cell to target cell, par 0056-0057) discloses:
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068, 0072) further comprises at least one of following information:
a target slice (see, target network slice, par 0246), an alternative slice (see, equivalent network slices of a network slice, par 0246) or a slice list (see, target network slices or equivalent network slices for a specific terminal, a specific slice or a specific PDU session, par 0246) for the first device (see, slice remapping assistance information (in slice assistance information) comprises one or more target network slices or equivalent network slices of a network slice for specific terminal processed by RAN node, par 0245-0246. Noted, target network slices or equivalent network slices can be equated to slice list).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Gao’288 into that of Faccin’577. The motivation would have been to provide higher quality of service for greater demand for capacity and connectivity (par 0003).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045),
wherein the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, slice policy information for UE, par 0118) is different from slice policy information (see, policies specific to each S-NSSAI performed by core network, par 0117) employed by the core network (see, it’s obvious slice policy information specific for UE including URSP (with S-NSSAIs in priority order if the matching traffic may be transferred over a PDU session supporting any of these S-NSSAIs) is different than policies specific to each S-NSSAI performed by core network, par 0117-0118. Noted, UE policy only applied at UE, and core network policy applied to different UEs and thus way different).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 discloses a method for processing a slice service (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), comprising:
determining, by a second device (see, Fig. 1, BS, par 0073), slice policy information (see, supported/not supported S-NSSAIs, par 0073, 0162) for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, BS determines supported/not supported network slices (S-NSSAIs), par 0073, 0162), wherein the slice policy information (see, supported/not supported S-NSSAIs, par 0073, 0162) is configured for a first device (see, AMF, par 0162) to determine a slice policy (see, allowed S-NSSAI including corresponding slice differentiator and S-NSSAI priority, par 0139, 0162) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, AMF receives from RAN a list of supported S-NSSAIs and determines allowed NSSAI with allowed S-NSSAI (including slice differentiator and S-NSSAI priority) accordingly, par 0139, 0162), wherein the slice policy (see, allowed S-NSSAI including corresponding slice differentiator and S-NSSAI priority, par 0139, 0162) is configured to determine a slice configuration (see, resource for selected S-NSSAI including RAN and CN network resource, par 0110, 0135) of the first device (see, AMF, par 0162) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, network selects network resources including AMF according to selected S-NSSAIs in NSSAI for UE required service, par 0109, 0135. Noted, network resource in network slice including RAN and CN network resource, par 0110. Noted further, NSSAI identifies a PLMN-specific slice including collection of S-NSSAIs, par 0114-0115); and
sending, by the second device (see, Fig 1, BS/RAN device, par 0162), the slice policy information (see, supported slices/non supported slices, par 0162) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig 1, BS/RAN device sends to AMF a list of supported S-NSSAIs for service and UE, par 0112, 0117, 0162).
Faccin’577 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determining, by a second device, slice policy information for at least one of a service and a terminal, the second device being a core network device before switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs, wherein the slice policy information is configured for a first device to determine a slice policy for the at least one of the service and the terminal, wherein the slice policy is configured to determine a slice configuration of the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal, and the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs;
wherein sending the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal comprises:
sending the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal through a switch request,
wherein the slice policy information is sent by a core network through a NG interface, and
wherein the slice policy information comprises at least one of the following information:
information associated with a slice fallback; a matching relationship between a slice for the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously.
However Gao’288 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE with different slices handover from source cell to target cell, par 0056-0057) discloses:
determining, by a second device (see, CN node, par 0112), slice policy information for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, CN node generates and sends target RAN node slice assistance information for service of UE, par 0065- 0066, 0112), the second device being a core network device before switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs (see, CN node generates and provides slice assistance information to handover service of UE, par 0065-0066), wherein the slice policy information is configured for a first device (see, target RAN node, par 0112) to determine a slice policy for the at least one of the service and the terminal, wherein the slice policy is configured to determine a slice configuration of the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node receives slice assistance information (generated by CN node) including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, indicators showing whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity (and thus configuration), par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072, 0112), and the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs (see, target RAN node for handover service of UE from source RAN node, par 0065-0066);
sending, by the second device (see, Fig. 3, CN node, par 0066), the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information including indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, whether the RAN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068, 0072) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, CN node sends to RAN node the slice assistance information per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072),
wherein sending the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0068, 0072) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, CN node sends to RAN node the slice assistance information per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068, 0072) comprises:
sending the slice policy information for the at least one of the service and the terminal through a switch request (see, CN node sends slice assistance information per UE to supporting service continuity through Path Switch Request, par 0066, 0072, 0076),
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0066) is sent by a core network (see, CN node in core network, par 0066) through a NG interface (see, Fig. 3, target RAN node receives slice assistance information provided by CN node through NG, par 0062, 0066, 0112), and
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0068) comprises at least one of the following information:
information associated with a slice fallback (see, slice remapping assistance information in slice assistance information including Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping and source node could initiate handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node accordingly, par 0072-0073, 0076-0077); a matching relationship between a slice for the core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Gao’288 into that of Faccin’577. The motivation would have been to provide higher quality of service for greater demand for capacity and connectivity (par 0003).
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Claim 18 recites a method for processing a slice service performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 7, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin et al (US20200120580A1).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by the first device and from the core network, slice identification information for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal, wherein the slice identification information comprises at least one of the following identifications: a radio access network target slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, a core network slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, or a radio access network alternative slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal; and
determining, by the first device and based on at least one of the slice identification information or the slice policy information, a radio access network slice identification of the first device for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal.
However Jin’580 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135) discloses:
receiving, by the first device (see, RAN device, par 0195) and from the core network (see, AMF in core network, par 0195), slice identification information (see, list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device, par 0195) for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal (see, RAN device notified by AMF the list of network slices currently allowed terminal device to accessed by CN network slice identifier or RAN network slice identifier, par 0196), wherein the slice identification information (see, list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device, par 0195) comprises at least one of following identifications: a radio access network target slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, a core network slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, or a radio access network alternative slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, list of network slices currently allowed terminal device to accessed indicated by CN network slice identifier or RAN network slice identifier, par 0196); and
determining, by the first device (see, RAN device, par 0195) and based on at least one of the slice identification information (see, list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device, par 0195) or the slice policy information, a radio access network slice identification (see, RSID (RAN network slice ID), par 0143) of the first device for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal (see, RAN device determines RSID configuration information (such as RSID—RAN slice ID) of a terminal granularity based on list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device , par 0196-0197).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jin’580 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to improve communication efficiency and security of the air interface transmission (par 0005, 0032).
Regarding claim 11 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending, by the first device, slice identification information to a core network, wherein the slice identification information comprises a radio access network slice identification of the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal.
However Jin’580 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135) discloses:
sending, by the first device (see, Fig. 6, RAN device, par 0221), slice identification information (see, RSID configuration information, par 0222) to a core network (see, Fig. 6 S601, RAN device sends RSID configuration information to core network device, par 0221-0222), wherein the slice identification information (see, RSID configuration information, par 0222) comprises a radio access network slice identification (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) of RAN device, par 0197) of the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, RSID configuration information including RSID of RAN device for the terminal and service, par 0185, 0197. Noted, RSID for the service initiated by terminal, par 0185).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jin’580 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to improve communication efficiency and security of the air interface transmission (par 0005, 0032).
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 11 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by the first device and from the core network, a slice update indication for the at least one of the service and the terminal; and
updating, by the first device, the radio access network slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal based on at least one of the slice update indication or the slice policy information.
However Jin’580 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135) discloses:
receiving, by the first device (see, Fig. 5, RAN device, par 0214) and from the core network (see, Fig. 5, core network device (AMF), par 0214), a slice update indication (see, RAU (registration area update) request reply message including a list of S-NSSAI allowed to be accessed, par 0214) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 5 S508, RAN device receives RAU (registration area update) request reply message including a list of S-NSSAI allowed to be accessed, par 0210, 0214); and
updating, by the first device (see, Fig. 5, RAN device, par 0214), the radio access network slice identification (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) in RSID configuration information, par 0143, 0146) for the at least one of the service and the terminal based on at least one of the slice update indication (see, RAU (registration area update) request reply message including a list of S-NSSAI allowed to be accessed, par 0214) or the slice policy information (see, Fig. 5 S508-S509, RAN devices determines RSID configuration information of a terminal including RSID based on the list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device in RAU (registration area update) reply, par 0214, 0216).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jin’580 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to improve communication efficiency and security of the air interface transmission (par 0005, 0032).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288, and further in view of Jin’580 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Bogineni et al (US20190327670A1).
Regarding claim 8 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 and Jin’580 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 7 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577, Gao’288 and Jin’580 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending, by the first device and in response to determining that a slice indicated by the radio access network slice identification is a slice not supported by the first device, a notification to the core network to release the at least one of the service and the terminal.
However Bogineni’670 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, wireless communication system implementing RAN-CN pairing service comprises access network, core network, and networks, par 0020) discloses: sending, by the first device (see, Fig. 6A, source RAN device, par 0075) and in response to determining that a slice indicated by the radio access network slice identification is a slice not supported by the first device (see, source RAN device determines to handover UE’s service based on measurement report and RAN-CN pairing information including RAN slice information, par 0018, 0075. Noted, Application/service resource field 220 indicates minimum or threshold amounts of resources needed to support the type of application or service on which the RAN-CN pairing service may be based, and thus where is the measurement result caused handover decision, par 0043, 0075), a notification (see, Fig. 6 step 2, handover request, par 0075) to the core network (see, Fig. 6, CN device/AMF, par 0075) to release the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 6 step 2, handover request to CN device indicating request to handover UE’s service to target RAN device, par 0075).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Bogineni’670 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 and Jin’580. The motivation would have been to support various use cases, meet various performance metrics and allow for scalability and flexibility (par 0015).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al (US20210153157A1, PCT Priority Date: Nov 15 , 2019).
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by the first device and from the core network, fallback indication information; and
determining, by the first device and in response to the fallback indication information indicating that a slice fallback has occurred in the core network for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal, that the first device performs a fallback for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal.
However Jeong’157 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system comprises UE, RAN and core network, par 0042-0056) discloses:
receiving, by the first device (see, UE or RAN, par 0060) and from the core network, fallback indication information (see, Fig. 2, UE or RAN receives message as response to access request that the use thereof has been refused because slice maximum allowed capacity exceeded but fallback to another slice has occurred, par 0083. Noted, Fig. 2, UE receives response through RAN); and
determining, by the first device (see, UE or RAN, par 0060) and in response to the fallback indication information (see, response to access request that fallback to another slice has occurred, par 0083) indicating that a slice fallback has occurred in the core network for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal (see, UE/RAN receives response to UE’s access request that fallback to another slice has occurred, par 0083), that the first device (see, UE or RAN, par 0060) performs a fallback for the at least one of the service and/er the terminal (see, UE/RAN performs access control using fallback slice instead of an access-requested slice according to response to UE’s access request that fallback to another slice has occurred for the core network, par 0083. Noted, information indicating whether fallback is allowed and default slice information or RAT information to be targeted for fallback may be included in subscription information through UDM, par 0083. Noted further, Fig. 3 S309, AMF determines at least one allowed NSSAI and at least one rejected NSSAI and transmits a registration response to the UE, par 0096. Noted further, each slices provide service suitable for each characteristic, par 0061).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jeong’157 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to meet increasing demand with respect to wireless data traffic and support various services (par 0003-0008).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288, and further in view of Jin’580 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ianev et al (US20210014781A1, Priority Date: Mar 27, 2019).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 and Jin’580 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 11 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577, Gao’288 and Jin’580 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by the first device, a notification for releasing the at least one of the service and the terminal, wherein the notification is sent in response to determining that the core network does not support a slice associated with the slice identification information; and
sending, by the first device, fallback indication information to a core network, wherein the fallback indication information indicates that a slice fallback has occurred or has not occurred in the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal.
However Ianev’781 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UEs communicate with each other through base stations and a core network in mobile telecommunication system, par 0050-0051) discloses:
receiving, by the first device (see, Fig. 1 and 8, UE or gNB, par 0115), a notification (see, Configuration Update Command message, par 0115) for releasing the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 1 and 8 step 4, UE receive from AMF through gNB Configuration Update Command message includes the change to the isolated NSSAI (e.g. isolated NSSAI=False (becomes unavailable), par 0115. Noted, NSSAI is not available can be equate to release NSSAI service as S-NSSAI comprises service type, par 0004), wherein the notification (see, Configuration Update Command message, par 0115) is sent in response to determining that the core network does not support a slice associated with the slice identification information (see, Fig. 8 step 1 and 4, AMF sends Configuration Update Command message to UE through gNB when isolated network slice that the UE is registered with is no longer available (not supported by AMF), par 0115); and
sending, by the first device (see, Fig. 1 and 8, UE or gNB, par 0115), fallback (see, fallback from isolated network slice, abstract, par 0140) indication information (see, Fig. 8 step 6, Registration Request message, par 0115) to a core network (see, Fig. 8 step 6, UE sends AMF through gNB Registration Request message indicating updated isolated NSSAI when isolated NSSAI changed (unavailable), par 0115), wherein the fallback indication information (see, Fig. 8 step 6, Registration Request message, par 0115) indicates that a slice fallback (see, fallback from isolated network slice, abstract, par 0140) has occurred or has not occurred in the first device for the at least one of the service (see, NSSAI corresponding to service, par 0004) and the terminal (see, Fig. 8 step 6, Registration Request message indicating updated isolated NSSAI to be requested when isolated NSSAI changed (unavailable), and thus slice fallback not occurred in the first gNB, par 0115).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ianev’781 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 and Jin’580. The motivation would have been to handle the isolated network slices when they co-exist with other network slices that are not isolated (par 0027).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Jin’580, and further in view of Jeong’157.
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 16 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending, by the second device, slice identification information for the at least one of the service and the terminal, wherein the slice identification information comprise at least one of following identifications: a radio access network target slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, a core network slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, or a radio access network alternative slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal; and
sending, by the second device, fallback indication information, wherein the fallback indication information indicates that a slice fallback has occurred or has not occurred in the core network for the at least one of the service and the terminal.
However Jin’580 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135) discloses:
sending, by the second device (see, AMF in core network, par 0195), slice identification information (see, list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device, par 0195) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, AMF notifies RAN device the list of network slices currently allowed terminal device to accessed by CN network slice identifier or RAN network slice identifier, par 0196), wherein the slice identification information (see, list of network slices currently allowed to be accessed by the terminal device, par 0195) comprise at least one of following identifications: a radio access network target slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, a core network slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal, or a radio access network alternative slice identification for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, list of network slices currently allowed terminal device to accessed indicated by CN network slice identifier or RAN network slice identifier, par 0196).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jin’580 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to improve communication efficiency and security of the air interface transmission (par 0005, 0032).
The combination of Faccin’577, Gao’288 and Jin’580 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: sending, by the second device, fallback indication information, wherein the fallback indication information indicates that a slice fallback has occurred or has not occurred in the core network for the at least one of the service and the terminal.
However Jeong’157 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system comprises UE, RAN and core network, par 0042-0056) discloses:
sending, by the second device (see, Fig. 2, RAN, par 0060), fallback indication information, wherein the fallback indication information indicates that a slice fallback has occurred or has not occurred in the core network for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 2, RAN sends UE the response to access request that the use thereof has been refused because slice maximum allowed capacity exceeded but fallback to another slice has occurred in core network, par 0083. Noted, Fig. 2, UE receives response through RAN. Noted further, each slices provide service suitable for each characteristic, par 0061).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Jeong’157 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288 and Jin’580. The motivation would have been to meet increasing demand with respect to wireless data traffic and support various services (par 0003-0008).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin’577 in view of Gao’288, and further in view of Jin’580 and Jeong’157 as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Bogineni’670.
Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288, Jin’580 and Jeong’157 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 22 (see, Fig. 1, UEs takes action when receiving indication that network slice is not available for the active PDU session in wireless network, par 0045), further comprising.
The combination of Faccin’577, Gao’288, Jin’580 and Jeong’157 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by the second device and from the first device, a notification for releasing the at least one of the service and the terminal, wherein the notification is sent by the first device based on the slice identification information.
However Bogineni’670 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, wireless communication system implementing RAN-CN pairing service comprises access network, core network, and networks, par 0020) discloses: receiving, by the second device (see, Fig. 6A, AMF/CN device, par 0075) and from the first device (see, Fig. 6A, source RAN device, par 0075), a notification for releasing the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 6A step 2, AMF/CN device receives from source RAN device to handover UE with corresponding service, par 0075), wherein the notification is sent by the first device based on the slice identification information (see, handover with RAN-CN pairing service though RAN-CN network slice pairing information including RAN slice information and CN slice information correlated to different categories of services available to end devices, par 0018, 0075. Noted, RAN-CN network slice pairing information can be equated to slice identification information).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Bogineni’670 into that of Faccin’577 modified by Gao’288, Jin’580 and Jeong’157. The motivation would have been to support various use cases, meet various performance metrics and allow for scalability and flexibility (par 0015).
Claims 26, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (US20200120580A1) in view of Gao’288.
Regarding claim 26 (Currently Amended), Jin’580 discloses a method for processing a slice service (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135), comprising:
receiving, by a third device (see, Fig. 6, core network device (AMF), par 0221) and from a first device (see, Fig. 6, RAN device, par 0221), slice configuration information (see, Fig. 6 S601, CN device (AMF) receives from RAN device the RSID configuration information, par 0221-0222), wherein the slice configuration information (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) configuration information, par 0210, 0222) indicates a radio access network slice configuration of the first device (see, Fig. 6, RAN device, par 0221) for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) configuration information indicates network slice supported by the RAN device and correspondence between an RSID and a CN network slice identifier for terminal and service, par 0184, 0222. Noted, Fig. 6 S604, terminal serviced by RAN device, par 0226. Noted further, access category for accessed service corresponding to the RSID, par 0184); and
determining, by the third device (see, Fig. 6, core network device (AMF), par 0221) and based on the slice configuration information (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) configuration information, par 0210, 0222), a core network slice configuration (see, access class/access category list including CN network identifier information in configuration update acknowledgment message, par 0223-0225) of the third device for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, table 2-3, Fig. 6 S602-S603, CN device updates access class/access category list for service and terminal by replacing CN network identifier information based on RSID and feedback in RAN device configuration update acknowledgment message, par 0223-0225. Noted, table 2, service/Event type in access class/category list; Noted further, Fig. 6 S604, terminal serviced by RAN device, par 0226).
Jin’580 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by a third device and from a first device, slice configuration information, wherein the slice configuration information indicates a radio access network slice configuration of the first device for at least one of a service and a terminal, the third device is a core network device, and the first device is a target access network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs; and
wherein determining the core network slice configuration of the third device for the at least one of the service and the terminal comprises:
determining, based on slice policy information, the core network slice configuration of the third device for the at least one of the service and the terminal, the slice policy information indicating a core network slice policy for the at least one of the service and the terminal,
wherein the slice policy information comprises at least one of the following information:
information associated with a slice fallback; a matching relationship between a slice for a core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice, the usage restriction being configured to indicate which slices cannot be used simultaneously
However Gao’288 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE with different slices handover from source cell to target cell, par 0056-0057) discloses:
receiving, by a third device (see, Fig. 3 308, CN node, par 0062) and from a first device (see, Fig. 3 308, target RAN node, par 0062), slice configuration information (see, Fig. 3 308, CN node receives from target RAN node the handover request acknowledge message including slice assistance information, par 0062, 0076), wherein the slice configuration information indicates a radio access network slice configuration of the first device for at least one of a service and a terminal (see, Fig. 3 308, slice assistance information include indicators including any of an allowed target NW slice or equivalent slice for service of UE on target RAN node, par 0062, 0065-0066, 0076), the third device is a core network device (see, Fig. 3 308, CN node, par 0062), and the first device is a target network device after switch of the at least one of the service and the terminal occurs (see, target RAN node for handover service of UE from source RAN node, par 0065-0066); and
determining, by the third device (see, source RAN node, par 0066, 0068-0069) and based on the slice configuration information (see, slice assistance information includes indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068), a core network slice configuration (see, CN based remapping for slice, par 0068) of the third device (see, source RAN node, par 0068-0069) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, source RAN node receives slice assistance information indicating whether the CN based remapping is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068),
wherein determining the core network slice configuration (see, CN based remapping for slice, par 0068) of the third device (see, source RAN node, par 0068-0069) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, source RAN node receives slice assistance information indicating whether the CN based remapping is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068) comprises:
determining, based on slice policy information (see, slice assistance information includes indicators showing whether the CN based remapping or the slice remapping assistance information is supported or not, par 0068), the core network slice configuration (see, CN based remapping for slice, par 0068) of the third device (see, source RAN node, par 0068-0069) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, source RAN node receives slice assistance information indicating whether the CN based remapping is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068), the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information includes indicators, par 0068) indicating a core network slice policy (see, CN based remapping for slice support or not, par 0068) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, slice assistance information indicating whether the CN based remapping is supported or not per UE to supporting service continuity, par 0065-0066, 0068),
wherein the slice policy information (see, slice assistance information, par 0068) comprises at least one of following information:
information associated with a slice fallback (see, slice remapping assistance information in slice assistance information including Equivalent NW slice for slice re-mapping and source node could initiate handover whenever the on-going slice may not be supported by the target node accordingly, par 0072-0073, 0076-0077); a matching relationship between a slice for a core network and a slice for a radio access network; an area in which the slice policy information comes into effect; a time at which the slice policy information comes into effect; or a usage restriction for the slice (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Gao’288 into that of Jin’580. The motivation would have been to provide higher quality of service for greater demand for capacity and connectivity (par 0003).
Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), Jin’580 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 26 (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135), wherein the slice configuration information (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) configuration information, par 0210, 0222) comprises a radio access network slice identification of the first device (see, identifier of an RSID (RAN network slice identifier), par 0191) for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, RSID (RAN network slice identifier) configuration information including an identifier of an RSID for the service and terminal, par 0190-0191, 0222. Noted, table 2, service/Event type in access class/category list indicated by RSID, par 0163. Noted further, terminal initiates a service corresponding to a specific RAN network slice identifier, par 0165).
Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), Jin’580 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 30 (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135), further comprising:
sending, by the third device (see, Fig. 6, core network device (AMF), par 0225) and to the first device (see, Fig. 6, terminal, par 0226), a slice update indication (see, access class/access category table update message, par 0226) associated with the core network slice configuration of the third device (see, access class/access category list/table including CN network identifier information, par 0223. Noted, CN network identifier can be equated to core network slice configuration) for the service (see, table 2, service/Event type in access class/category list, par 0164) or the terminal (see, Fig. 6, terminal, par 0226) to update the radio access network slice identification of the first device for the at least one of the service and the terminal (see, Fig. 6 S603-S604, CN device sends RAN device configuration update acknowledgment message to the RAN device including network slice supported by the CN device by RSID (RAN network slice identifier) and access class/access category table update message to the terminal device with updated RSID (RAN network slice identifier) of RAN device, par 0225-0226).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin’580 in view of Gao’288 as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Bogineni’670.
Regarding claim 31 (Previously Presented), Jin’580 modified by Gao’288 discloses the method for processing the slice service according to claim 30 (see, Fig. 1, network slices in network including terminal device, RAN device and CN device, par 0133-0135), further comprising.
The combination of Jin’580 and Gao’288 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending, by the third device and in response to determining that the third device does not support a slice associated with the slice identification information, a notification for releasing the at least one of the service and/er the terminal to the first device.
However Bogineni’670 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, wireless communication system implementing RAN-CN pairing service comprises access network, core network, and networks, par 0020) discloses: sending, by the third device (see, Fig. 6A, source RAN device, par 0074) and in response to determining that the third device does not support a slice associated with the slice identification information (see, Fig. 6A, source RAN device determines to handover UE’s service based on measurement report and RAN-CN pairing information including RAN slice information, par 0018, 0072. Noted, Application/service resource field 220 indicates minimum or threshold amounts of resources needed to support the type of application or service on which the RAN-CN pairing service may be based, and thus where is the measurement result caused handover decision, par 0043, 0072. Noted further, RAN-CN pairing information including RAN slice information can be equated to slice identification information), a notification (see, Fig. 6A step 6, source RAN device exchanging handover request to target RAN device, par 0074) for releasing the at least one of the service and the terminal to the first device (see, Fig. 6A step 6, source RAN device exchanging handover UE’s service to target RAN device/CN device (AMF), par 0074. Noted, Fig. 6A step 6, target RAN device/CN device(AMF) can be equated to first device, and source send handover to AMF through target RAN device).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Bogineni’670 into that of Jin’580 modified by Gao’288. The motivation would have been to support various use cases, meet various performance metrics and allow for scalability and flexibility (par 0015).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiao et al (US20190141606A1) discloses: The coexistence rule(s) for network slice may comprise, for a location area (e.g. registration area, tracking area (TA)), S-NSSAI(s) and/or S-NSSAI(s) related network slice instance(s) that may or may not be used concurrently with other specific or any S-NSSAI(s) and/or S-NSSAI(s) related network slice instance(s) (par 0207). This applies to claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473