DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 11/14/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 9, 18, and 22 were amended, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
The applicant writes on page 12 of their remarks that “[i]n contrast to Roy, Applicant’s claimed invention recites that the ‘satellite device’ itself (which is the base station) is the entity that acquires the information and performs the switching processing.... Instead, Applicant’s claimed processing is directed to the satellite device switching its own connection destination ground station [emphasis in original]” (Remarks, p. 12).
However, Miao, not Roy, was cited to teach the satellite device “switching its own connection destination ground station” (see paragraph 0167 of Miao). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The applicant also argues on page 12 of their remarks that “the Official Action proposed modification – substituting Roy’s UE with Miao’s satellite – is not a simple substitution but a fundamental rearchitecture of the entire communication system and process, which is not suggested by the references” (Remarks, p. 12). However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Nothing precludes a satellite from applying a timing advance to switch ground stations at a predetermined time, especially if the satellite possesses the processing capability to switch ground stations itself, as described in Miao. Although the timing advance relative to the satellite would obviously differ from the timing advance relative to the UE, changing the timing advance calculation to account for this would be an obvious corollary to switching the location for processing handover to the satellite.
Finally, the new independent claim limitation added by the amendment does not distinguish from the prior art of record. As the examiner related to the applicant’s representative in the telephone interview on 11/18/2025, paragraph 0011 of Miao renders obvious the new limitation requiring that “the switching process is performed by the satellite device to switch the connection destination ground station while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal device” because it describes obtaining “a difference value between a transmission delay of a feeder link of a current serving cell during feeder link switching” (Miao, 0011). Clearly, if a “transmission delay” still exists for the “feeder link ... during feeder link switching”, the satellite must maintain its base station functionality during the switch. Otherwise, there would be no transmission delay for the existing feeder link because no transmission would occur.
Thus, in conclusion, the rejection based on Roy in view of Miao is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. (US 2021/0136641 A1, hereinafter “Roy”) in view of Miao et al. (US 2022/0386263 A1, hereinafter “Miao”).
As to Claim 1:
Roy describes a method for achieving synchronized handover in a non-terrestrial network.
Specifically, Roy teaches:
An acquisition circuit that acquires predetermined information used for switching a connection destination ground station from a current connection destination satellite ground station of multiple ground stations to a next connection destination satellite ground station of the multiple ground stations in advance of performing a switching processing
(“The UE receives a handover command from the source base station via an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The UE determines a timing advance of a target cell from a handover time for synchronization in the target cell served by a target base station” (Roy, 0008). Also, Fig. 2 in Roy shows a diagram of an example user device labelled as element 211.
Here, element 216 in Fig. 2, the “transceiver”, maps to “an acquisition circuit”,
“receives a handover command” maps to “acquires predetermined information ... in advance of performing a switching processing”,
“a handover command” maps to “predetermined information used for switching a connection destination ground station”,
“the source base station” maps to “a current connection destination ground station”,
“the source base station” and “a target base station” map to “multiple ground stations”, and
“a target base station” maps to “a next connection destination satellite ground station”).
A communication control circuit that performs the switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination satellite ground station based on the predetermined information
(“Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 ... In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching” (Roy, 0028). Also, Fig. 2 in Roy shows a diagram of an example user device labelled as element 211.
Here, element 215 in Fig. 2, the “handover/rach” module, maps to “a communication control circuit”,
“performs cell switching” maps to “a communication control circuit that performs the switching processing to switch the connection destination ground station”,
“a source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection destination satellite ground station”,
“a target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“sends HO commands” maps to “based on the predetermined information”).
The predetermined information includes information used to determine a time of switching from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination ground station
(“After the HO decision is finalized, the source beam-spot (satellite cell served by gNB 101) includes this handover time T in the HO Command message to UE 110 ... Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403” (Roy, 0022, 0028).
Here, “the HO Command message” maps to “the predetermined information”,
“handover time T” maps to “information used to determine a time of switching”,
“a source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“a target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination ground station”).
The communication control circuit performs the switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the switching
(“Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 ... In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching” (Roy, 0028). Also, Fig. 2 in Roy shows a diagram of an example user device labelled as element 211.
Here, element 215 in Fig. 2, the “handover/rach” module, maps to “a communication control circuit”,
“UE 401 performs cell switching” maps to “the communication control circuit performs the switching process to switch the connection destination satellite ground station”,
“source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection satellite ground station”,
“target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“sends HO command” maps to “based on the information related to the switching”).
Roy does not explicitly disclose:
A satellite device ... that performs the switching
The satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite and provides base station functions to terminal devices connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations
The switching processing is performed by the satellite device to switch the connection destination ground station while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices
However, Miao does describe methods for modifying and switching a feeder link based on its delay.
Specifically, Miao teaches:
A satellite device ... that performs the switching
(“Fig. 15 gives a scene of feed link switching.... [T]he satellite may switch the feeder link according to the coverage region of the gateway stations” (Miao, 0167).
Here, “the satellite” maps to “a satellite device”, and
“switch the feeder link” maps to “performs the switching”).
The satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite and provides base station functions to terminal devices connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations
(“[T]he satellite detects information for receiving a signal, and processes and forwards, so as to realize a function of a base station, to connect a terminal with a gateway station” (Miao, 0062).
Here, “the satellite” maps to “the satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite”,
“realize a function of a base station” maps to “provides base station functions”,
“a terminal” maps to “terminal devices”, and
“with a gateway station” maps to “connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations”).
The switching processing is performed by the satellite device to switch the connection destination ground station while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices
(“[T]he transmission delay of the feeder link in the satellite communication system further includes: a difference value between a transmission delay of a feeder link of a current serving cell during feed link switching” (Miao, 0011). Also, Fig. 15 in Miao shows the ground station switch occurring.
Here, “feed link switching” maps to “the switching processing is performed”,
the “satellite” in Fig. 15” maps to “the satellite device”,
switching from link d1 to d2 in Fig. 15 maps to “switch the connection destination ground station”, and
“a feeder link to a current cell during feed link switching” maps to “switch the connection ... while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices” because this shows that the feed link is maintained even while the satellite is switching ground stations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the handover command described in Roy at the satellite to switch feeder links, as taught in Miao. If a satellite is switching between different ground stations, it makes sense for the satellite itself to determine details of the switch.
As to Claim 5:
Roy teaches:
The switching processing further comprises providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “source gNB 402 sends HO commands” maps to “the switching processing further comprises providing mobile terminal switching information”, and
“each of the UEs” map to “a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a communication parameter to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals when communicating with a switching destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In one embodiment, UE 501 receives handover time T ... carried in the HO [handover] command.... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
Here, “HO command” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information”,
“carried in” maps to “includes”,
“handover time T” which is used to calculate “the timing advance (TA)” maps to “information related to a communication parameter to be used when communicating”,
“the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“the target cell” maps to “a switching destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite”).
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the communication parameter
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated by the UE to achieve synchronization in the target cell” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
“the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“achieve synchronization in the target cell” maps to “communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station”,
“be calculated to” maps to “based on”, and
“the timing advance” maps to “the information related to the communication parameter”).
As to Claim 6:
Roy teaches:
The information related to the communication parameter includes information related to a timing advance to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals at the time of communicating with the switching destination ground station via the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated by the UE to achieve synchronization in the target cell” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
Here, “the timing advance (TA)” maps to “the information related to the communication parameter includes information related to a timing advance to be used”,
“the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”, and
“to achieve synchronization in the target cell” maps to “at the time of communicating with the switching destination ground station via the non-geostationary satellite”).
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the timing advance
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated by the UE to achieve synchronization in the target cell” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
Here, “the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“achieve synchronization in the target cell” maps to “communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station”, and
“the timing advance (TA) ... can then be calculated ... to achieve” maps to “based on the information related to the timing advance”).
As to Claim 7:
Roy teaches:
The information related to the communication parameter includes information related to transmission timing synchronization to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals when communicating with the switching destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated by the UE to achieve synchronization in the target cell” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
Here, “the timing advance (TA)” maps to “the information related to the communication parameter”,
“to achieve synchronization” maps to “includes information related to transmission timing synchronization to be used”,
“the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”, and
“in the target cell” maps to “when communicating with the switching destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite”).
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the transmission timing synchronization
(“In step 416 [in Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) of the target cell
T
A
T
G
T
can then be calculated by the UE to achieve synchronization in the target cell” (Roy, 0028, 0033).
Here, “the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“achieve synchronization in the target cell” maps to “communicate with the switching destination satellite ground station”, and
“the timing advance ... can then be calculated ... to achieve synchronization” maps to “based on the information related to the transmission timing synchronization”).
As to Claim 18:
Roy teaches:
Acquiring predetermined information used for switching a connection destination ground station from a current connection destination satellite ground station of multiple ground stations to a next connection destination satellite ground station of the multiple ground stations in advance of performing a switching processing
(“The UE receives a handover command from the source base station via an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The UE determines a timing advance of a target cell from a handover time for synchronization in the target cell served by a target base station” (Roy, 0008).
Here, “receives a handover command” maps to “acquiring predetermined information ... in advance of performing a switching processing”,
“a handover command” maps to “predetermined information used for switching a connection destination ground station”,
“the source base station” maps to “a current connection destination ground station”,
“the source base station” and “a target base station” map to “multiple ground stations”, and
“a target base station” maps to “a next connection destination satellite ground station”).
Performing the switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination satellite ground station based on the predetermined information
(“Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 ... In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “performs cell switching” maps to “performing the switching processing to switch the connection destination ground station”,
“a source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection destination satellite ground station”,
“a target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“sends HO commands” maps to “based on the predetermined information”).
The predetermined information includes information used to determine a time of switching from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination ground station
(“After the HO decision is finalized, the source beam-spot (satellite cell served by gNB 101) includes this handover time T in the HO Command message to UE 110 ... Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403” (Roy, 0022, 0028).
Here, “the HO Command message” maps to “the predetermined information”,
“handover time T” maps to “information used to determine a time of switching”,
“a source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“a target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination ground station”).
The switching processing includes switching the connection destination satellite ground station from the current connection destination satellite ground station to the next connection destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the switching
(“Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 ... In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching” (Roy, 0028).
“UE 401 performs cell switching” maps to “the switching processing includes switching the connection destination satellite ground station”,
“source base station gNB 402” maps to “the current connection satellite ground station”,
“target base station gNB 403” maps to “the next connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“sends HO command” maps to “based on the information related to the switching”).
Roy does not explicitly disclose:
A satellite device ... performing the switching
The satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite and that provides base station functions to terminal devices connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations
The switching processing is performed by the satellite device to switch the connection destination ground station while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices
However, Miao does teach:
A satellite device ... performing the switching
(“Fig. 15 gives a scene of feed link switching.... [T]he satellite may switch the feeder link according to the coverage region of the gateway stations” (Miao, 0167).
Here, “the satellite” maps to “a satellite device”, and
“switch the feeder link” maps to “performing the switching”).
The satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite and that provides base station functions to terminal devices connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations
(“[T]he satellite detects information for receiving a signal, and processes and forwards, so as to realize a function of a base station, to connect a terminal with a gateway station” (Miao, 0062).
Here, “the satellite” maps to “the satellite device includes a non-geostationary satellite”,
“realize a function of a base station” maps to “provides base station functions”,
“a terminal” maps to “terminal devices”, and
“with a gateway station” maps to “connected to at least one of the multiple ground stations”).
The switching processing is performed by the satellite device to switch the connection destination ground station while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices
(“[T]he transmission delay of the feeder link in the satellite communication system further includes: a difference value between a transmission delay of a feeder link of a current serving cell during feed link switching” (Miao, 0011). Also, Fig. 15 in Miao shows the ground station switch occurring.
Here, “feed link switching” maps to “the switching processing is performed”,
the “satellite” in Fig. 15” maps to “the satellite device”,
switching from link d1 to d2 in Fig. 15 maps to “switch the connection destination ground station”, and
“a feeder link to a current cell during feed link switching” maps to “switch the connection ... while the satellite device maintains the base station functions for the terminal devices” because this shows that the feed link is maintained even while the satellite is switching ground stations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the handover command described in Roy at the satellite to switch feeder links, as taught in Miao. If a satellite is switching between different ground stations, it makes sense for the satellite itself to determine details of the switch.
As to Claim 22:
Roy teaches:
The predetermined information includes a cell identifier mapped to a beam of the non-geostationary satellite
(“UE 401 can also receive multiple Conditional HO (RRC Configurations), each for specific neighbor PCIs and a specific measurement condition” (Roy, 0032).
Here, “Conditional HO (RRC Configurations)” map to “the predetermined information”,
“for” maps to “includes”, and
“PCI” maps to “a cell identifier mapped to a beam of the non-geostationary satellite”).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2021/0136641 A1) in view of Miao (US 2022/0386263 A1) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0279394 A1, hereinafter “Gao”).
As to Claim 3:
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
Providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite,
The mobile terminal switching information including group identification information common to the plurality of communication devices connected to the non-geostationary satellite, and
The plurality of mobile terminals perform mobile terminal switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station based on information common to the plurality of communication devices that is obtained using the group identification information
However, Gao does describe a method for sending system information blocks to configure handover between network nodes.
Specifically, Gao teaches:
Providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“The wireless communication method comprises: receiving, from a wireless network node, a group identification configured for a handover procedure” (Gao, 0074). Fig. 6 in Gao shows two satellites serving two different cells.
Here, “receiving ... a group identification configured for a handover procedure” maps to “providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals”, and
the connected satellite “NN1” in Fig. 6 maps to “connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The mobile terminal switching information including group identification information common to the plurality of communication devices connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“The wireless communication method comprises: receiving, from a wireless network node, a group identification configured for a handover procedure ... and transmitting, to at least one first wireless terminal of a wireless terminal group corresponding to the group identification, a first handover command for the handover procedure” (Gao, 0074-0077). Fig. 6 in Gao shows two satellites serving two different cells.
Here, “group identification configured for a handover procedure” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information including group identification information”,
“of a wireless terminal group” maps to “common to the plurality of communication devices”, and
the connected satellite “NN1” in Fig. 6 maps to “connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The plurality of mobile terminals perform mobile terminal switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station based on information common to the plurality of communication devices that is obtained using the group identification information
(“The wireless communication method further comprises: ... performing the handover procedure based on the handover command ... [T]ransmitting, to at least one first wireless terminal of a wireless terminal group corresponding to the group identification, a first handover command for the handover procedure” (Gao, 0071, 0073, 0077).
Here, “performing the handover” maps to “the plurality of mobile terminals perform mobile terminal switching processing to switch the connection destination satellite ground station”,
“the group identification” maps to “information common to the plurality of communication devices”, and
“corresponding to the group identification” maps to “obtained using the group identification information”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Gao’s practice of including a group ID in the handover information into Roy’s method for preemptively configuring handover. The group ID is useful for identifying the cell or device group the terminal belongs to, so it makes sense to include it in the preemptively configured handover parameters.
As to Claim 8:
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
The information related to the communication parameter includes a terminal unique ID to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals for communicating with the switching destination satellite ground station
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with the switching destination ground station based on the terminal unique ID
However, Gao does teach:
The information related to the communication parameter includes a terminal unique ID to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals for communicating with the switching destination satellite ground station
(“The wireless communication method comprises: transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a group identification for a handover procedure” (Gao, 0074-0075).
Here, “a group identification” maps to “the information related to the communication parameter includes a terminal unique ID to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals”, and
“for a handover procedure” maps to “for communicating with the switching destination satellite ground station”).
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with the switching destination ground station based on the terminal unique ID
(“The wireless communication method comprises: ... receiving, from the wireless terminal, the group identification and at least one measurement result for the handover procedure” (Gao, 0074, 0076).
Here, “the wireless terminal” maps to “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“receiving ... for the handover procedure” maps to “communicate with the switching destination ground station”, and
“the group identification” maps to “the terminal unique ID”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the group ID for terminals described in Gao into Roy’s method for initiating handover. If a group of terminals is being handed over, it makes sense to create and use an identifier unique to that group.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2021/0136641 A1) in view of Miao (US 2022/0386263 A1) and further in view of Fan et al. (US 2022/0069902 A1, hereinafter “Fan”).
As to Claim 9:
Roy teaches:
Providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416 [of Fig. 4], source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “sends HO commands” maps to “providing mobile terminal switching information”, and
“each of the UEs” map to “a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a random access procedure to be used by the plurality of mobile terminals for connecting to a switching destination base station
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching, e.g., initiates a random-access channel (RACH) procedure in step 422 by sending a RACH preamble (MSG 1) to the target base station gNB 403” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “HO command” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information”,
the causal relationship between steps 421 and 422 in Fig. 4 maps to “includes information related to”,
“a random-access channel (RACH) procedure” maps to “a random access procedure”,
“each of the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”, and
“to the target base station gNB 403” maps to “a switching desintation base station”).
The plurality of mobile terminals perform random access to the switching destination satellite ground station based on the information related to the random access procedure
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching, e.g., initiates a random-access channel (RACH) procedure in step 422 by sending a RACH preamble (MSG 1) to the target base station gNB 403” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “UE 401” is a non-limiting example representing “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“sending a RACH preamble” maps to “perform random access”,
“the target base station gNB 403” maps to “the switching destination satellite ground station”, and
the causal relationship between steps 421 and 422 in Fig. 4 maps to “based on the information related to the random access procedure”).
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
When switching to the switching destination base station fails
However, Fan does describe methods to recover from failed handover between satellite base stations.
Specifically, Fan teaches:
Switching to the switching destination base station fails
(“It should be noted that if the handover fails during the process of handover to the target satellite base station, the terminal initiates the handover to the candidate satellite base station” (Fan, 0198).
Here, “handover fails” maps to “switching to the switching destination base station fails”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fan’s method of performing a recovery procedure if switching to a target base station fails into Roy’s method for preemptively configuring handover. Incorporating the fault recovery procedure makes Roy’s method more robust and fault tolerant.
Claim(s) 10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2021/0136641 A1) in view of Miao (US 2022/0386263 A1) and further in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0007541 A1, hereinafter “Li1”).
As to Claim 10:
Roy teaches:
Providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “sends HO commands” maps to “providing mobile terminal switching information”, and
“each of the UEs” map to “a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The mobile terminal switching information is ... given to the plurality of mobile terminals during or after an initial connection to at least one of the plurality of satellite ground stations
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “HO commands” map to “the mobile terminal switching information”,
“sends” maps to “is ... given”,
“each of the UEs” map to “the plurality of mobile terminals”, and
“source gNB 402” maps to “after an initial connection to at least one of the plurality of satellite ground stations” from the list of “during or after an initial connection to at least one of the plurality of satellite ground stations” because a connection must have been established for there to be a “source gNB”).
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
The mobile terminal switching information is information notification which is semi-statically given
However, Li1 does describe a method for cell switching.
Specifically, Li1 teaches:
The mobile terminal switching information is information notification which is semi-statically given
(“In case that the terminal device receives a RAR (matched with the first message) in a RAR window or an MsgB receiving window, the terminal device switches the downlink to the source cell, and/or, the terminal device switches the uplink to the target cell” (Li1, 0091).
Here, “a RAR (matched with the first message) in a ... MsgB” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information is information notification which is semi-statically given” because a MsgB is an example of semi-static information given by the applicant in paragraph 0211 of the instant application’s specification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending the handover configuration in a MsgB, as taught in Li1, into the method for station handover taught in Roy. A MsgB is a routine part of a random access procedure and therefore represents a readily available means for communicating the handover information communicated during Roy’s method.
As to Claim 13:
Roy teaches:
The information notification ... includes a plurality of pieces of configuration information corresponding to each of two or more satellite ground stations of the plurality of satellite ground stations
(“UE 401 can also receive multiple Conditional HO (RRC Configurations), each for specific neighbor PCIs” (Roy, 0032).
Here, “multiple Conditional HO” map to “the information notification ... includes a plurality of pieces of configuration information”, and
“each for specific neighbor PCIs [Physical Cell Identifiers]” maps to “corresponding to each of two or more satellite ground stations from the plurality of satellite ground stations”).
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with a switching source satellite ground station using one of the plurality of pieces of configuration information, and switch the configuration information to be used to other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination satellite ground station based on a trigger notification of which is given in advance
(“[T]he above-mentioned synchronized HO process can be performed based on some pre-defined and preconfigured conditions, thus making a Conditional HO without any explicit Random Access.... UE 401 can also receive multiple Conditional HO (RRC Configurations), each for specific neighbor PCIs and a specific measurement condition. The Conditional HO (RRC Reconfiguration) is one or more of the following: ... iv) SCell PCell role switch (similar to HO command) ... UE 501 receives handover time T ... carried in the HO command” (Roy, 0032, 0033).
Here, “UE 401” is a non-limiting example representing “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“synchronized HO process can be performed” maps to “communicate with a switching source satellite ground station”,
“a Conditional HO” of “multiple Conditional HO” maps to “one of the plurality of pieces of configuration information”,
“SCell PCell role switch” maps to “switch the configuration information to be used to the other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination ground station”,
“handover time T” maps to “a trigger notification”, and
“carried in the HO command” maps to “given in advance”).
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
The information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals
However, Li1 does teach:
The information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals
(“In case that the terminal device receives a RAR (matched with the first message) in a RAR window or an MsgB receiving window, the terminal device switches the downlink to the source cell, and/or, the terminal device switches the uplink to the target cell” (Li1, 0091).
Here, “a RAR (matched with the first message) in a ... MsgB” maps to “the information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals” because a MsgB is an example of semi-static information given by the applicant in paragraph 0211 of the instant application’s specification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending the handover configuration in a MsgB, as taught in Li1, into the method for station handover taught in Roy. A MsgB is a routine part of a random access procedure and therefore represents a readily available means for communicating the handover information communicated during Roy’s method.
As to Claim 14:
Roy teaches:
The trigger notification is time information
(“[T]he source beam-spot (satellite cell) includes this handover time in the HO Command message” (Roy, 0007).
Here, “the HO Command” maps to “the trigger notification”, and
“handover time” maps to “time information”).
The plurality of mobile terminals switch the configuration information to be used to the other configuration information based on the time information of the trigger notification
(“The source gNB transmits a handover command from the source base station to the UE via an RRC connection reconfiguration message. The handover command comprises the handover time represented by a system frame number (SFN) of the target cell” (Roy, 0009).
Here, “the UE” is a non-limiting example that represents “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“handover” maps to “switch the configuration information to be used to the other configuration information”,
“comprises the handover time” maps to “based on the time information”, and
“the handover command” maps to “the trigger notification”).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2021/0136641 A1) in view of Miao (US 2022/0386263 A1) and Li1 (US 2023/0007541 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0181493 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
As to Claim 11:
Roy teaches:
A plurality of pieces of configuration information corresponding to each of two or more satellite ground stations of the plurality of satellite ground stations
(“UE 401 can also receive multiple Conditional HO (RRC Configurations), each for specific neighbor PCIs” (Roy, 0032).
Here, “multiple Conditional HO” map to “a plurality of configuration information”, and
“each for specific neighbor PCIs [Physical Cell Identifiers]” maps to “corresponding to each of two or more satellite ground stations from the plurality of satellite ground stations”).
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
The information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals
However, Li1 does teach:
The information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals
(“In case that the terminal device receives a RAR (matched with the first message) in a RAR window or an MsgB receiving window, the terminal device switches the downlink to the source cell, and/or, the terminal device switches the uplink to the target cell” (Li1, 0091).
Here, “a RAR (matched with the first message) in a ... MsgB” maps to “information notification which is semi-statically given to the plurality of mobile terminals” because a MsgB is an example of semi-static information given by the applicant in paragraph 0211 of the instant application’s specification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate sending the handover configuration in a MsgB, as taught in Li1, into the method for station handover taught in Roy. A MsgB is a routine part of a random access procedure and therefore represents a readily available means for communicating the handover information communicated during Roy’s method.
The combination of Roy, Miao, and Li1 also does not explicitly disclose:
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with a switching source ground station using one of the plurality of pieces of configuration information, and switches the configuration information to be used to other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination ground station in a case where a notification of switching of the configuration information is given from the non-geostationary satellite or the switching source ground station
However, Park does describe a method for handing over a connection to another base station.
Specifically, Park teaches:
The plurality of mobile terminals communicate with a switching source ground station using one of the plurality of pieces of configuration information, and switches the configuration information to be used to other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination ground station in a case where a notification of switching of the configuration information is given from the non-geostationary satellite or the switching source ground station
(“There is provided a handover method for a UE in a network where small cells and a macro cell coexist, the handover method including: the UE receiving a cell change command message from a serving base station corresponding to a currently connected cell, the cell change command message containing at least either one of information about the old cell from which the UE will move or information about a new cell to which the UE will move; the UE determining whether to perform cell change or not after receiving the cell change command message; and when performing cell change, the UE performing a change from the currently connected old cell to the new cell based on the information contained in the cell change command message” (Park, 0028).
Here, “the UE” is a non-limiting example representing “the plurality of mobile terminals”,
“performing a change” maps to “communicate”,
“a currently connected old cell” maps to “a switching source ground station”,
“information about the old cell” maps to “one of the plurality of pieces of configuration information”,
“information about the old cell” and “information about a new cell” map to “the plurality of pieces of configuration information”,
“performs a cell change” maps to “switches”,
“the information contained in the cell change command message” maps to “the configuration information to be used”,
“a new cell” maps to “the switching destination ground station”,
“information about a new cell” maps to “the other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination ground station”,
“performing a change from the currently connected old cell to the new cell based on the information contained in the cell change command message” maps to “switches the configuration information to be used to the other configuration information corresponding to the switching destination ground station”,
“a cell change command” maps to “a notification of switching of the configuration information”, and
“from a serving base station” maps to “from ... the switching source ground station” from the list of “from the non-geostationary satellite or the switching source ground station”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate configuring a user device to store multiple configurations for connecting to different base stations and switch the active configuration upon connecting to a new station, as taught in Park, into the method for station handover taught in Roy. Switching between different configurations that each correspond to a different base station allows a device to quickly and reliably switch feeder links.
As to Claim 12:
Roy teaches:
The notification of the switching is a dynamic notification from the non-geostationary satellite or the switching source satellite ground station
(“Fig. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a handover procedure between a UE 401 and a source base station gNB 402 and a target base station gNB 403 ... In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401 ... In step 421, UE 401 performs cell switching” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “HO command” maps to “the notification of the switching”,
“UE 401 performs cell switching” maps to “a dynamic notification” because it shows that the cell is dynamically determined based on an indication from a source base station, and
“a source base station gNB 402” maps to “the switching source satellite ground station” from the list of “the non-geostationary satellite or the switching source satellite ground station”).
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy (US 2021/0136641 A1) in view of Miao (US 2022/0386263 A1) and further in view of Konishi et al. (US 2022/0173794 A1, hereinafter “Konishi”).
As to Claim 15:
Roy teaches:
The switching processing further comprises providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “sends HO commands” maps to “the switching processing further comprises providing mobile terminal switching information”, and
“the UEs” map to “a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a propagation distance to a switching destination satellite ground station
(“UE 501 receives handover time T ... carried in the HO command.... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) ... can then be calculated ... UE 501 can estimate the timing advance ... by measuring the propagation delay difference (Δd) in the reference signals received from the source and target cells” (Roy, 0033 0034).
Here, “HO command” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information”,
“carried in” maps to “includes”,
“timing advance ... estimate[d] ... by measuring the propagation delay” maps to “information related to a propagation distance”, and
“target cell” maps to “a switching destination satellite ground station”).
Switching the satellite ground station based on the information related to the propagation distance
(“UE 501 receives handover time T ... carried in the HO command.... Upon obtaining the handover time T, the timing advance (TA) ... can then be calculated ... UE 501 can estimate the timing advance ... by measuring the propagation delay difference (Δd) in the reference signals received from the source and target cells” (Roy, 0033 0034).
Here, “HO command” maps to “switching the satellite ground station based on the information”, and
“timing advance” maps to “the information related to the propagation distance”).
Roy does not explicitly disclose:
The plurality of mobile terminals do not transmit data for a predetermined period at the time of switching the satellite ground station based on the information related to the propagation distance
However, Konishi does disclose a method for modifying the shape of a cell in response to a deteriorating link between a satellite and a user equipment.
Specifically, Konishi teaches:
The plurality of mobile terminals do not transmit data for a predetermined period at the time of switching the satellite ground station
(“[A] data communication (data channel communication) unrelated to the handover sequence in the service link SL(1) of the first cell 200C(1) may be stopped in the handover period THO as shown in Fig. 10 ... the central control server 85 transmits control information for instructing the transmission stop of the service link SL(1) of the first cell” (Konishi, 0086, 0087). Fig. 1 in Konishi further shows multiple feeder links between ground stations and a satellite.
Here, “transmission stop” maps to “the plurality of mobile terminals do not transmit data”,
“the handover period THO” maps to “a predetermined period at the time of switching”, and
“the first cell” maps to “the satellite ground station”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the communication stop described in Konishi into Roy’s method for preemptively configuring ground station handover in a satellite network. The communication stop is a useful feature which prevent ordinary data traffic from interfering with a handover command, so it makes sense to configure it preemptively as taught in Konishi.
As to Claim 21:
Roy teaches:
Providing mobile terminal switching information to a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite
(“In step 416, source gNB 402 sends HO commands to each of the UEs including UE 401” (Roy, 0028).
Here, “sends HO commands” maps to “providing mobile terminal switching information”, and
“the UEs” map to “a plurality of mobile terminals connected to the non-geostationary satellite”).
The combination of Roy and Miao does not explicitly disclose:
The mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a duration of a communication stop to be performed by the plurality of mobile terminals
The plurality of communication devices stop communication with either of the current connection destination satellite ground station or the next connection destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite during the duration of the communication stop based on the information related to the communication stop
However, Konishi does teach:
The mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a duration of a communication stop to be performed by the plurality of mobile terminals
(“[A] data communication (data channel communication) unrelated to the handover sequence in the service link SL(1) of the first cell 200C(1) may be stopped in the handover period THO as shown in Fig. 10 ... the central control server 85 transmits control information for instructing the transmission stop of the service link SL(1) of the first cell” (Konishi, 0086, 0087). Fig. 1 in Konishi further shows multiple feeder links between ground stations and a satellite.
Here, “control information for instructing the transmission stop” maps to “the mobile terminal switching information includes information related to a duration of a communication stop to be performed”, and
“the first cell” maps to “the plurality of mobile terminals”).
The plurality of communication devices stop communication with either of the current connection destination satellite ground station or the next connection destination satellite ground station via the non-geostationary satellite during the duration of the communication stop based on the information related to the communication stop
(“[A] data communication (data channel communication) unrelated to the handover sequence in the service link SL(1) of the first cell 200C(1) may be stopped in the handover period THO as shown in Fig. 10 ... the central control server 85 transmits control information for instructing the transmission stop of the service link SL(1) of the first cell” (Konishi, 0086, 0087). Fig. 1 in Konishi further shows multiple feeder links between ground stations and a satellite.
Here, “the first cell” maps to “the plurality of communication devices”,
“the transmission stop” maps to “stop communication ... via the non-geostationary satellite during the duration of the communication stop”,
“the service link SL(1) of the first cell” maps to “the current connection destination satellite ground station” from the list of “the current connection destination satellite ground station or the next connection destination satellite ground station”, and
“control information for instructing the transmission stop” maps to “the information related to the communication stop”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the communication stop described in Konishi into Roy’s method for preemptively configuring ground station handover in a satellite network. The communication stop is a useful feature which prevent ordinary data traffic from interfering with a handover command, so it makes sense to configure it preemptively as taught in Konishi.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477