DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-14 of U.S. Application 17/921256 filed on December 19, 2025 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed December 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on pages 6-7 that cited prior art Matsuzaki does not teach conductors that are mechanically fixed in the grooves because Matsuzaki is fixed at the axial ends of the conductors outside of the grooves and prevents only axial movement of the conductors while providing no fixation of radial or tangential directions within the groove.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and first points out that there is no mention in the claims with regards to fixation of the conductors in the radial, tangential or any other direction. In any case Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 below) the conductors (5) are each mechanically fixed in the grooves (3) (col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17) as required by the claim. Additionally in figure 13 Matsuzaki teaches a trapezoidal shaped conductor (22) that is inserted into groove 21. Based the trapezoidal shape and size of the conductor (22) shown in figure 13 the conductor must be radially and tangentially fixed in the slot because it fills the slot 21 and takes the tangential shape of the slot/groove where the outer radial portion of the conductor is larger than the inner radial portion of the slot/groove making it impossible for the conductor to be displaced or move in the radial or tangential directions (see fig. 13 below).
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on pages 7-8 that cited prior art Matsuzaki does not teach the features of the mechanical connection between the interconnecting element and the stator core is self-supporting via at least one of the conductors such that the connection between the interconnecting element and the stator core is a stable mechanical connection free of further mechanical connections because to be truly “self-supporting” the structure requires conductors to be rigidly anchored to serve as a stable foundation for the interconnecting elements.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument and once again points to figure 13 of Matsuzaki in which the conductors (22) are radially and tangentially fixed in the slot because it fills the slot/groove (21) and takes the tangential shape of the slot/groove where the outer radial portion of the conductor is larger than the inner radial portion of the slot/groove (21) making it impossible for the conductor to be displaced or move in the radial or tangential directions (see fig. 13 below). The structure of figure 13 forms conductors that are anchored in the slot/grooves (21) and provides a self-supporting structure for the interconnecting elements (11-13) as required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuzaki (US 6252327).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 below) a stator (1) for an electric machine (col. 2: 58-62), the stator (1) comprising:
- a stator core (2) (col. 2: 58-67),
- at least two grooves (3) which are arranged in the stator core (2) (col. 2: 58-67),
- an electrical winding (fig. 12) which comprises at least two dimensionally stable electrical conductors (5) (col. 1: 41-46), and
- at least one interconnecting element (11-13) on at least one side of the stator core (2) (col. 3: 16-36), wherein
- in each case only one of the conductors (5) is arranged in each groove (3) (col. 1: 41-46; col. 4: 45-50; col. 5: 9-17),
- the interconnecting element (11-13) is electrically connected to at least one of the conductors (5) (col. 3: 16-65),
- the interconnecting element (11-13) is mechanically connected to the stator core (2) via at least one of the conductors (5) (col. 3: 1-65),
- the conductors (5) are each mechanically fixed in the grooves (3) (col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17), and
- the mechanical connection between the interconnecting element (11-13) and the stator core (2) is self-supporting via at least one of the conductors (5) such that the connection between the interconnecting element (11-13) and the stator core (2) is a stable mechanical connection free of further mechanical connections (fig. 12; col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17).
Regarding claim 2/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) is mechanically connected in a form-fitting manner to at least one of the conductors (5) (col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 3/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) has at least one recess (11a, 12a, 13a, figs. 7-9) (col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 4/3/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) is mechanically and electrically connected to one of the conductors (5) in the region of the recess (11a, 12a, 13a, figs. 7-9) (col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 5/3/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) one of the conductors (5) extends through the recess (11a, 12a, 13a, figs. 7-9) (col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 6/3/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the recess (11a, 12a, 13a) has a shape for positioning a conductor (5) in the recess (col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 7/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the stator (1) according to claim 1, which has an insulation system which is arranged at least in intermediate spaces between the stator core (2) and the interconnecting element (11-13) (col. 4: 29-35).
Regarding claim 8/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the stator (1) according to claim 1, which has at least one further interconnecting element (11-13) (col. 3: 16-36).
Regarding claim 9/8/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) and the further interconnecting element (11-13) are electrically insulated from one another (col. 4: 29-35).
Regarding claim 10/8/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) and the further interconnecting element (11-13) have an intermeshing shape in places (figs. 1, 11 and 12; col. 3: 1-65).
Regarding claim 11/1, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) a rotor which is movable relative to the stator (1) (col. 2: 58-61; col. 4: 40-44).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) a method for producing a stator (1) (col. 2: 58-62) for an electric machine comprising the following steps:
- providing a stator core (2) of the stator (1) with at least two grooves (3) (col. 2: 58-67),
- introducing at least two dimensionally stable electrical conductors (5) into the grooves (3), wherein only one of the conductors (5) is arranged in each groove (3), respectively (col. 1: 41-46; col. 2: 58-67; col. 4: 45-50; col. 5: 9-17),
- mechanically fixing the conductors (5) in the respective grooves (3) (col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17), and
- attaching at least one interconnecting element (11-13) to at least one side of the stator core (2) (col. 3: 16-36), wherein
- an electrical winding (fig. 12) of the stator (1) comprises the conductors (5) and the interconnecting element (11-13) (col. 1: 41-46; col. 3: 1-65),
- the interconnecting element (11-13) is electrically connected to at least one of the conductors (5) (col. 3: 1-65),
- the interconnecting element (11-13) is mechanically connected to the stator core (2) via at least one of the conductors (5) (col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17),
- the conductors (5) are each mechanically fixed in the grooves (3) (col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17), and
- the mechanical connection between the interconnecting element (11-13) and the stator core (2) is self-supporting via at least one of the conductors (5) such that the connection between the interconnecting element (11-13) and the stator core (2) is a stable mechanical connection free of further mechanical connections (fig. 12; col. 3: 1-65; col. 5: 9-17).
Regarding claim 13/12, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the stator (1) has at least one further interconnecting element (11-13), and the interconnecting element (11-13) and the further interconnecting element (11-13) are electrically insulated from one another before being attached to the stator core (2) (col. 4: 30-35).
Regarding claim 14/12, Matsuzaki teaches (see figs. 11-13 above) the interconnecting element (11-13) is electrically connected to at least one of the conductors (5) by pressure contact (riveting, see Abstract; col. 3: 49-67; col. 4: 1-3; col. 5: 1-5).
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834