DETAILED ACTION
Status of 17/921,257
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Priority
Instant application 17/921,257, filed 10/25/2022, claims priority as follows:
The priority document submitted in the file wrapper is not translated to English and as a result, priority cannot be established. Thus, claims 1-30 are granted the effective filing date of 7/1/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from the IDS submitted on 4/7/2023 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough. The foreign references marked through in the IDS are not translated and thus cannot be formally considered.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group II, claim 30, drawn to compounds as intermediates in the reactions of Group I, without traverse, in the reply filed 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of compound A:
in the reply filed 10/31/2025, is also acknowledged.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non- elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be examined again. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during further examination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
The elected species was searched and prior art was identified. See the 102 rejection below. During the search, an additional compound of claim 30 was identified, and the scope of the search was expanded to a Boc-protected elected species, known in the instant disclosure as A-7. The full scope of the claims has not yet been searched in accordance with Markush search practice. Claim 30 reads on the elected species. Claims 1-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species and/or group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by The Regents of the University of Michigan (WO 2018/027097 A1, herein after “Michigan ‘097”).
The reference Michigan ‘097 discloses N-(phenylsulfonyl)benzamides and related compounds as BCL-2 inhibitors (title, abstract), and specifically discloses compound K (page 65, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 63, General Scheme 3), which is the elected species. Thus, Michigan ‘097 anticipates claim 30.
In addition to the elected species, Michigan ‘097 discloses the Boc-protected piperazine (page 65, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 63, General Scheme 3), anticipates instant compound A-7.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by The Regents of the University of Michigan (US 2018/0354950 A1, herein after “Michigan ‘950”).
The reference Michigan ‘950 discloses N-(phenylsulfonyl)benzamides and related compounds as BCL-2 inhibitors (title, abstract), and specifically discloses compound K (page 56, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 55, General Scheme 3), which is the elected species. Thus, Michigan ‘950 anticipates claim 30.
In addition to the elected species, Michigan ‘950 discloses the Boc-protected piperazine (page 55, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 55, General Scheme 3), anticipates instant compound A-7.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by The Regents of the University of Michigan (US 2019/0315739 A1, herein after “Michigan ‘739”).
The reference Michigan ‘739 discloses N-(phenylsulfonyl)benzamides and related compounds as BCL-2 inhibitors (title, abstract), and specifically discloses compound K (page 56, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 55, General Scheme 3), which is the elected species. Thus, Michigan ‘739 anticipates claim 30.
In addition to the elected species, Michigan ‘739 discloses the Boc-protected piperazine (page 55, General Scheme 5):
where Y is CH2 (page 55, General Scheme 3), anticipates instant compound A-7.
Conclusion
Claim 30 is rejected. Claims 1-29 are withdrawn.
/K.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621