DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments. The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn. The previous rejections have been updated to the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the propulsion mechanism comprising a material receiving portion provided on a shell of the propulsion mechanism, for communicating with the discharge end of the feeding mechanism to receive the mounting part, wherein a propulsion unit action of the propulsion mechanism can push the mounting part conveyed to the material receiving portion and mount same in a target position” in claims 11 and 18.
“resetting mechanism can drive the conveying pipe to reset after the conveying pipe oscillates.” In claim 15
When looking to the specification, the “propulsion mechanism” is defined to be a screwdriver, or other known fastener drivers. The propulsion unit is defined to be the screwdriver tip. This is the structure required for the claimed limitations, or equivalents thereof.
When looking to the specification, the “resetting mechanism” is discussed being an elastic member. This is the structure required by the claim, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 17-22, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz (DE10338902) in view of Lorenz (DE3931000), herein referred to as Lorenz B, in view of Lorenz (DE3815814A1), herein referred to as Lorenz C, in view of Vielle (EP 0350370 A1).
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), Lorenz discloses a feeding structure comprising:
a feeding mechanism, one end of which is a feed end, another end of which is a discharge end, the feeding mechanism comprises a feed pipe (Item 7) and a conveying pipe (Item 5) that are in communication with each other, wherein a mounting part (screw, from disclosure) entering from the feed end of the feeding mechanism can be conveyed to the discharge end through the feeding pipe and the conveying pipe;
a propulsion mechanism (Item 2 and 1), which is provided on one side of the feeding mechanism and has a central axis that is parallel to a central axis of the feed pipe, the propulsion mechanism comprising a material receiving portion provided on a shell of the propulsion mechanism, for communicating with the discharge end of the feeding mechanism to receive the mounting part, wherein a propulsion unit action of the propulsion mechanism can push the mounting part conveyed to the material receiving portion and mount same in a target position; and
a bending pipe joint (Item 6) connecting the feed pipe and the conveying pipe, the bending pipe joint is fixed outside the shell of the propulsion mechanism, wherein the bending pipe joint comprises a body with a central bore, wherein a first end of the bending pipe joint is fixedly connected to the feed pipe, and a second end of the bending pipe joint is movably connected to the conveying pipe (Figures 1-2), wherein [[the opening]] of the bending pipe joint is structured relative to the conveying pipe so as to allow the conveying pipe can oscillate through the opening relative to the propulsion mechanism under the action of the propulsion mechanism (annotated figure 2 shows what the Examiner believes to be an opening and the conveying pipe in an oscillated state).
Lorenz fails to explicitly disclose having a central axis that is parallel to a central axis of the feed pipe AND wherein the bending pipe joint further comprises an opening on the body of the bending pipe joint adjacent the second end. Lorenz discloses the feed pipe, Item 7 as a hose, which is typically bendable. Lorenz shows an opening by the lack of cross hatching, but does not discuss what the cross section looks like.
Lorenz B teaches a feeding structure having a central axis that is parallel to a central axis of the feed pipe.(Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorenz with Lorenz B. By changing the angle the feed pipe comes out, it would allow for more connection points between the feed structure and the fastening tool, thus allowing the tool to be more solid.
Lorenz C teaches a feeding structure wherein the bending pipe joint further comprises an opening on a side of the body of the bending pipe joint adjacent the second end (Items 12 and 8, Figure 3; Paragraph 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the body of Lorenz with the opening of Lorenz C. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art. (see MPEP 2144.04). Lorenz C discusses the configuration allows for the conveying pipe to pivot, but in the event of a malfunction, it can removed and reinserted in a simple manner, without the use of tools (Paragraph 7, Lorenz C).
Lorenz fails to further disclose wherein the first end of the bending pipe joint comprises a first connecting section and wherein the feed pipe is screwed into the first connecting section via a threaded connection.
Vielle teaches a feeding structure wherein the first end of the bending pipe joint comprises a first connecting section and wherein the feed pipe is screwed into the first connecting section via a threaded connection (Item 58; Paragraph 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorenz to include the threaded connection between the feed pipe and the joint. Threaded connections are known connections in the art for creating sealed connection between two pipe joints.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle discloses the feeding structure according to claim 11. Lorenz fails to explicitly disclose wherein an angle between a central axis of the cylindrical structure and the central axis of the propulsion mechanism is an angle selected from the range of 25 to 30 degrees.
Vielle teaches a feeding structure wherein an angle between a central axis of the cylindrical structure and the central axis of the propulsion mechanism is an angle is 30 degrees (Paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “acute angle” of Lorenz with the 30 degrees as taught by Vielle. Such a modification would allow for the fastener to adequately be guided into place with the help of gravity.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 11, wherein a through hole for communicating with the discharge end is provided on an outer wall of the material receiving portion, such that when the propulsion unit is working, the propulsion unit can push against the conveying pipe to oscillate the conveying pipe, so as to separate a port of the discharge end from the through hole and to block the port (Lorenz Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 14 and 21, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 13. Lorenz fails to explicitly disclose wherein a stop part located on an outer wall of the material receiving portion, the stop part extending outwardly along a radial direction of the material receiving portion from a position close to the through hole, such that when the propulsion unit pushes the conveying pipe to oscillate, the stop part is abutted against the port of the discharge end to block the port (Lorenz Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15 and 22, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 11, wherein the feeding mechanism also comprises a resetting mechanism that is provided on the bending pipe joint and that is abutted against the conveying pipe, such that the resetting mechanism can drive the conveying pipe to reset after the conveying pipe oscillates (Lorenz Items 16&17, Paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 17 and 24, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 11, wherein the feed pipe is a feed hose (Lorenz Item 7 is disclosed as a hose).
Regarding claim 18, Lorenz discloses a fastening device comprising a feeding structure, the feeding structure comprising:
a feeding mechanism, one end of which is a feed end, an other end of which is a discharge end, the feeding mechanism comprises a feed pipe (Item 7) and a conveying pipe (Item 5) that are in communication with each other, wherein a mounting part (screw from disclosure) entering from the feed end can be conveyed to the discharge end through the feeding pipe and the conveying pipe;
a propulsion mechanism (Items 1 and 2), which is provided on one side of the feeding mechanism , the propulsion mechanism comprising a material receiving portion provided on a shell of the propulsion mechanism, for communicating with the discharge end of the feeding mechanism to receive the mounting part, wherein a propulsion unit action of the propulsion mechanism can push the mounting part conveyed to the material receiving portion and mount same in a target position; and
a bending pipe joint (Item 6) connecting the feed pipe and the conveying pipe, the bending pipe joint is fixed outside the shell of the propulsion mechanism, wherein the bending pipe joint comprises a body with a central bore, wherein a first end of the bending pipe joint is fixedly connected to the feed pipe, and a second end of the bending pipe joint is movably connected to the conveying pipe (Figures 1-2), wherein [[the opening]] of the bending pipe joint is structured relative to the conveying pipe so as to allow the conveying pipe can oscillate through the opening relative to the propulsion mechanism under the action of the propulsion mechanism (annotated figure 2 shows what the Examiner believes to be an opening and the conveying pipe in an oscillated state).
Lorenz fails to explicitly disclose having a central axis that is parallel to a central axis of the feed pipe AND wherein the bending pipe joint further comprises an opening on the body of the bending pipe joint adjacent the second end. Lorenz discloses the feed pipe, Item 7 as a hose, which is typically bendable. Lorenz shows an opening by the lack of cross hatching, but does not discuss what the cross section looks like.
Lorenz B teaches a feeding structure having a central axis that is parallel to a central axis of the feed pipe.(Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorenz with Lorenz B. By changing the angle the feed pipe comes out, it would allow for more connection points between the feed structure and the fastening tool, thus allowing the tool to be more solid.
Lorenz C teaches a feeding structure wherein the bending pipe joint further comprises an opening on a side of the body of the bending pipe joint adjacent the second end (Items 12 and 8, Figure 3; Paragraph 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the body of Lorenz with the opening of Lorenz C. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art. (see MPEP 2144.04). Lorenz C discusses the configuration allows for the conveying pipe to pivot, but in the event of a malfunction, it can removed and reinserted in a simple manner, without the use of tools (Paragraph 7, Lorenz C).
Lorenz fails to further disclose wherein the first end of the bending pipe joint comprises a first connecting section and wherein the feed pipe is screwed into the first connecting section via a threaded connection.
Vielle teaches a feeding structure wherein the first end of the bending pipe joint comprises a first connecting section and wherein the feed pipe is screwed into the first connecting section via a threaded connection (Item 58; Paragraph 30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lorenz to include the threaded connection between the feed pipe and the joint. Threaded connections are known connections in the art for creating sealed connection between two pipe joints.
Regarding claim 25 and 27, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 11, wherein the bending pipe joint comprises a second connecting section at the second end of the body and wherein the opening is located is provided on the second connecting section along an oscillating direction of the conveying pipe so that the conveying pipe can oscillate via the opening (Lorenz C Connection between Items 8 and 4 best shown in Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 26 and 28, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 11, wherein the opening in the body of the bending pipe joint is U-shaped (Lorenz C Figure 3).
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorenz (DE10338902) in view of Lorenz B (DE3931000) in view of Lorenz C (DE3815814A1) in view of Vielle (EP 0350370 A1) in view of Graham (US 6,550,359)
Regarding claim 16 and 23, Lorenz in view of Lorenz B in view of Lorenz C in view of Vielle disclose the feeding structure according to claim 15. Lorenza fails to explicitly disclose wherein the resetting mechanism comprises an elastic member and a movable member, one end of the elastic member is fixed, an other end of the elastic member is abutted against one end of the movable member, and the other end of the movable member is abutted against the conveying pipe, such that when the conveying pipe oscillates, it acts on the movable member to compress the elastic member, and the conveying pipe having oscillated to a center position is reset by means of resetting the elastic member when an external force is withdrawn.
Graham teaches a feeding structure wherein the resetting mechanism comprises an elastic member (Item 166) and a movable member (Item 162), one end of the elastic member is fixed, an other end of the elastic member is abutted against one end of the movable member, and the other end of the movable member is abutted against the conveying pipe, such that when the conveying pipe (110) oscillates, it acts on the movable member to compress the elastic member, and the conveying pipe having oscillated to a center position is reset by means of resetting the elastic member when an external force is withdrawn. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the resetting mechanism of Lorenz for the resetting mechanism of Graham. Such a modification would lead to the predictable result of the conveying pipe returning to its original position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/6/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 and 18 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Vielle (EP 0350370 A1).
Applicant argues ‘902 fails to disclose an opening that allows the conveying pipe to oscillate. As discussed above, the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner believes there is an opening on the body, but in the disclosure, there is no discussion of the opening. The Examiner relies upon ‘814 to show what an opening on the side of a body might look like. The opening of ‘814 would not hinder the overall function of ‘902’s conveying pipe from oscillating. As such, the functional limitation of “the opening of the bending pipe joint is structured relative to the conveying pipe so as to allow the conveying pipe to oscillate through the opening relative to the propulsion mechanism under the action of the propulsion mechanism” is met.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723