DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-4 of the arguments in pre-appeal brief conference request, filed 12/19/2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-26 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2023/0318757 to Lee et al.
Applicant further argues on Page 4 of applicants remarks:
Regarding Applicant's feature directed to a receiving UE device "determining that location information is unavailable," numbered paragraph [0128] of Freda describes that a TX WTRU indicates an "unknown location" to a RX WTRU in the SCI. However, Applicant submits that the RX WTRU of Freda receiving an "unknown location" indication in the SCI cannot be reasonably interpreted as disclosing a receiving UE device actually "determining that location information is unavailable," as recited by the plain, ordinary language of claim 1. To the contrary, the TX WTRU of Freda explicitly provides the "unknown location" indication to the RX WTRU, in which case the RX WTRU of Freda does not make any determination of whether location information is unavailable. Stated differently, Applicant submits that the transmitter-originated location availability status of Freda cannot be reasonably interpreted as disclosing a receiver- determined location availability status.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., receiver- determined location availability status) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Prior to the RX WTRU receiving distance-based HARQ configuration information including location information, the RX WTRU is in a state of not knowing the location information. The RX WTRU receives the distance=-based HARQ configuration information, including location information from a TX WTRU. The RX WTRU can only determine that location information is unavailable based on what is provided in the location information in the received configuration. [0103]-[0124], discloses various implementations for determining TX-RX distance for determining whether to send HARQ feedback based on the location information provided by a TX WTRU to a RX WTRU. [0125]-[0130], discloses various implementations for determining whether to send HARQ feedback when the TX WTRU indicates to the RX WTRU location information is not available. As such, the RX WTRU must determine whether or not location information is available in order to proceed with corresponding procedures for determining whether to send HARQ feedback.
Applicant further argues on Page 4-5 of applicants remarks:
Independent claim 22 recites a transmitting UE device comprising "a controller configured to determine a location unavailable signal quality threshold for a receiving user equipment (UE) device, the location unavailable signal quality threshold for determining whether the receiving UE device transmits a HARQ message in response to a groupcast data transmission using a distance-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback configuration when the receiving UE device has determined that location information is unavailable to the receiving UE device." (Emphasis added). Applicant submits that at least these features of independent claim 22, which are similar to the limitations of independent claims 1 and 12, are not taught or suggested by Freda. Applicant further submits that Kim, taken alone or in combination with Freda, also fails to teach or suggest these features.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that while claim 22 features limitations similar to that of claims 1 and 12, the scope of claim 22 is different. For example, Applicant argument for claims 1 and 12 that “receiving control ifnroamtion (e.g., SCI) on a control channel (e.g., PSCCH) cannot be reasonably interpreted as disclosing “receiving a groupcast data transmission from a transmitting UE device, the groupcast data transmission comprising a distance-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback configuration,” as recited in claim 1, cannot be applied to claim 22, as claim 22 does not require a “groupcast data transmission” comprising “distance based HARQ feedback configuration”. As such, arguments made for claims 1 and 12 do not apply to claim 22, and therefore examiner maintains that the previous prior art teaches on claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 12, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0201423 A1 to Freda et al. (hereinafter “Freda”) in view of US 2023/0318757 A1 (provisional application no. 62/938,915, filed on Nov. 21, 2019) to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”)
Regarding Claim 1, Freda teaches A method performed at a receiving user equipment (UE) device, the method comprising:
receiving a groupcast data transmission from a transmitting UE device, (Figure 1E and [0069], discloses WTRU 102a may communicate over a wireless interface 116 with one or more WTRUs 102b, 102c, 102d via sidelink (SL) communication. There may several types of SL communication, such as unicast, broadcast, and groupcast)
the groupcast data transmission comprising a distance-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback configuration; ([0077], discloses dynamic determination of TX-RX distance, along with associated information, may need to be transmitted using radio layer signaling, such as Sidelink Control Information (SCI). [0102], disclose At 501, the RX WTRU may receive control information (e.g., SCI) on a control channel (e.g., PSCCH) from a TX WTRU. The control information may include an indication of a MCR and/or a sub-zone ID of the TX WTRUs)
determining that a HARQ feedback message is required in response to the groupcast data transmission; ([0075], discloses a WTRU may determine to employ HARQ feedback based on a transmit-receive (TX-RX) distance and/or RSRP)
determining that location information is unavailable; and ([0128], discloses the TX WTRU indicates an “unknown location” to a RX WTRU in the SCI)
determining whether the HARQ feedback message is sent at least partially based on a relationship of a measured signal quality of a sidelink signal transmitted by the transmitting UE device to a location unavailable signal quality threshold. ([0128], discloses Specifically, when the TX WTRU indicates the “unknown location” status in the SCI, the RX WTRU may transmit the NACK (i.e. determining whether to send HARQ feedback message) when SL-RSRP of the PSSCH/PSCCH (i.e. measured signal quality of sidelink signal) is greater (i.e. relationship) than a threshold (i.e. location unavailable signal quality threshold))
Freda teaches receiving the distance-based HARQ feedback configuration via a control message in a groupcast transmission but does not explicitly teach receiving a groupcast data transmission from a transmitting UE device, the groupcast data transmission comprising a distance-based HARQ feedback configuration.
However, the concept of combining configuration control information with data in a groupcast data transmission is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses in [0114], groupcast-type SL transmission, the UE may perform SL communication with respect to one or more UEs in a group to which the UE belongs. [0132], discloses SL HARQ feedback is enabled for groupcast. [0133], discloses TX-RX distance-based HARQ feedback for PSSCH. [0143], discloses the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI, such as PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)). [0157], For example, the second SCI may be transmitted through a (independent) PSCCH. For example, the second SCI may be piggybacked and transmitted together with data through a PSSCH (i.e. a groupcast data transmission that includes both data information and control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda to include the above limitations as suggested by Lee, in order to efficiently perform SL communication as indicated in [0017] of Lee.
Regarding Claim 4, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 1, wherein Freda further teaches the sidelink signal is a reference signal. ([0076], discloses SL-RSRP is based on a linear average over the power of resource elements occupied by a Physical SL Feedback Channel (PSSCH) DMRS within the Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) assigned in the associated Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH))
Regarding Claim 5, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 4, wherein
Freda further teaches wherein the location unavailable signal quality threshold comprises a Sidelink Reference Signal Received Power (SL-RSRP). ([0076], discloses SL-RSRP is based on a linear average over the power of resource elements occupied by a Physical SL Feedback Channel (PSSCH) DMRS within the Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) assigned in the associated Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH))
Regarding Claim 6, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 4, wherein
Freda further teaches, wherein the reference signal is Demodulation Reference Signals (DMRS) ([0076], discloses SL-RSRP is based on a linear average over the power of resource elements occupied by a Physical SL Feedback Channel (PSSCH) DMRS within the Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) assigned in the associated Physical SL Control Channel (PSCCH))
Regarding Claim 12, Freda teaches A receiving user equipment (UE) device comprising: (Figure 1E and [0069], discloses WTRU 102a may communicate over a wireless interface 116 with one or more WTRUs 102b, 102c, 102d via sidelink (SL) communication)
a receiver configured (Figure 1B and [0029], discloses a WTRU with transceiver)
to receive a groupcast data transmission from a transmitting UE device, (Figure 1E and [0069], discloses WTRU 102a may communicate over a wireless interface 116 with one or more WTRUs 102b, 102c, 102d via sidelink (SL) communication. There may several types of SL communication, such as unicast, broadcast, and groupcast)
the groupcast data transmission comprising a distance-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback configuration; ([0077], discloses dynamic determination of TX-RX distance, along with associated information, may need to be transmitted using radio layer signaling, such as Sidelink Control Information (SCI). [0102], disclose At 501, the RX WTRU may receive control information (e.g., SCI) on a control channel (e.g., PSCCH) from a TX WTRU. The control information may include an indication of a MCR and/or a sub-zone ID of the TX WTRUs)
a controller configured to: (Figure 1B and [0029], discloses a WTRU with processor)
determine that a HARQ feedback message is required in response to the groupcast data transmission; ([0075], discloses a WTRU may determine to employ HARQ feedback based on a transmit-receive (TX-RX) distance and/or RSRP)
determine that location information is unavailable; and ([0128], discloses the TX WTRU indicates an “unknown location” to a RX WTRU in the SCI)
determine whether the HARQ feedback message is sent at least partially based on a relationship of a measured signal quality of a sidelink signal transmitted by the transmitting UE device to a location unavailable signal quality threshold. ([0128], discloses Specifically, when the TX WTRU indicates the “unknown location” status in the SCI, the RX WTRU may transmit the NACK (i.e. determining whether to send HARQ feedback message) when SL-RSRP of the PSSCH/PSCCH (i.e. measured signal quality of sidelink signal) is greater (i.e. relationship) than a threshold (i.e. location unavailable signal quality threshold))
Freda teaches receiving the distance-based HARQ feedback configuration via a control message in a groupcast transmission but does not explicitly teach receiving a groupcast data transmission from a transmitting UE device, the groupcast data transmission comprising a distance-based HARQ feedback configuration.
However, the concept of combining configuration control information with data in a groupcast data transmission is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee discloses in [0114], groupcast-type SL transmission, the UE may perform SL communication with respect to one or more UEs in a group to which the UE belongs. [0132], discloses SL HARQ feedback is enabled for groupcast. [0133], discloses TX-RX distance-based HARQ feedback for PSSCH. [0143], discloses the TX UE may transmit at least one of the following information to the RX UE through a first SCI and/or a second SCI, such as PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) related resource allocation information (e.g., the location/number of time/frequency resources, resource reservation information (e.g., period)). [0157], For example, the second SCI may be transmitted through a (independent) PSCCH. For example, the second SCI may be piggybacked and transmitted together with data through a PSSCH (i.e. a groupcast data transmission that includes both data information and control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda to include the above limitations as suggested by Lee, in order to efficiently perform SL communication as indicated in [0017] of Lee.
Claims 15, 16 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 4, 5, respectively, except the claims are in receiver apparatus format.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9-11, 13, 14, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda/Lee in view of US 2022/0256357 A1 (foreign priority date of Jul. 10, 2019) to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding Claim 2, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the HARQ feedback message when the measured signal quality meets the location unavailable signal quality threshold; and ([0128], discloses In some cases where the TX WTRU indicates an “unknown location” to a RX WTRU in the SCI, the WTRU may use SL-RSRP to determine the transmission of HARQ NACK feedback. Specifically, when the TX WTRU indicates the “unknown location” status in the SCI, the RX WTRU may transmit the NACK when SL-RSRP of the PSSCH/PSCCH is greater than a threshold)
Freda/Lee does not explicitly teach refraining from transmitting the HARQ feedback message when the measured signal quality does not meet the location unavailable signal quality threshold.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses in [0184], the Tx UE may provide an RSRP threshold measured/calculated over PSCCH DMRS related to the target communication area as the RSRP information. The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH or preconfigured/signaled. In this case, the Rx UE may determine whether to perform HARQ feedback for a received packet based on the RSRP threshold included in the RSRP information and a measured RSRP value (e.g., ab RSRP value calculated over PSCCH DMRS and/or PSSCH DMRS). For example, if the calculated RSRP value is equal to or smaller than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may not perform the HARQ feedback related to the received packet. Namely, the Rx UE may determine that it is not a target UE of the received packet. If the calculated RSRP value is equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may perform an operation of transmitting or reporting the HARQ feedback to the Tx UE. Namely, the Rx UE may recognize that it is the target UE of the received packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda/Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Kim, thereby efficiently managing a feedback resource, minimizing signaling load, and minimizing power consumption of a UE as indicated in [0015] of Kim.
Regarding Claim 3, Freda/Lee/Kim teaches The method of claim 2, wherein Kim further teaches determining whether the HARQ feedback message is sent comprises: determining whether the measured signal quality is greater than the location unavailable signal quality threshold; sending the HARQ feedback message when the measured signal quality is greater than the location unavailable signal quality threshold; and refraining from sending the HARQ feedback message when the measured signal quality is not greater than the location unavailable signal quality threshold. (Kim discloses in [0184], the Tx UE may provide an RSRP threshold measured/calculated over PSCCH DMRS related to the target communication area as the RSRP information. The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH or preconfigured/signaled. In this case, the Rx UE may determine whether to perform HARQ feedback for a received packet based on the RSRP threshold included in the RSRP information and a measured RSRP value (e.g., ab RSRP value calculated over PSCCH DMRS and/or PSSCH DMRS). For example, if the calculated RSRP value is equal to or smaller than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may not perform the HARQ feedback related to the received packet. Namely, the Rx UE may determine that it is not a target UE of the received packet. If the calculated RSRP value is equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may perform an operation of transmitting or reporting the HARQ feedback to the Tx UE. Namely, the Rx UE may recognize that it is the target UE of the received packet) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 9, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Freda/Lee teaches the location unavailable signal quality threshold (see [0128]), but does not explicitly teach receiving the location unavailable signal quality threshold from the transmitting UE device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses in [0184], the Tx UE may provide an RSRP threshold measured/calculated over PSCCH DMRS related to the target communication area as the RSRP information. The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH or preconfigured/signaled. In this case, the Rx UE may determine whether to perform HARQ feedback for a received packet based on the RSRP threshold included in the RSRP information and a measured RSRP value (e.g., ab RSRP value calculated over PSCCH DMRS and/or PSSCH DMRS). For example, if the calculated RSRP value is equal to or smaller than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may not perform the HARQ feedback related to the received packet. Namely, the Rx UE may determine that it is not a target UE of the received packet. If the calculated RSRP value is equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may perform an operation of transmitting or reporting the HARQ feedback to the Tx UE. Namely, the Rx UE may recognize that it is the target UE of the received packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda/Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Kim, thereby efficiently managing a feedback resource, minimizing signaling load, and minimizing power consumption of a UE as indicated in [0015] of Kim.
Regarding Claim 10, Freda/Lee/Kim teaches The method of claim 9, wherein Kim further teaches receiving the location unavailable signal quality threshold comprises receiving a Sidelink Control Channel (SCCH) signal transmitted in a groupcast transmission. ([0184], discloses The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH (i.e. SCCH signal). [0203], further discloses Referring to FIG. 13, the Tx UE may transmit (e.g., unicast, groupcast or broadcast) the sidelink signal to the at least one Rx UE [S911]. Here, the sidelink signal may include a PSSCH, a PSCCH, a PSBCH, a PSS, or a signal containing information related to a V2X service.) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 11, Freda/Lee/Kim teaches The method of claim 10, wherein Freda/Kim further teaches receiving the location unavailable signal quality threshold comprises receiving a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) in the SCCH signal transmitted in the groupcast transmission. (Freda, [0117], discloses sidelink control information transmitted in the PSCCH in higher layer signaling such as MAC CE. Kim, [0184], discloses [0184], discloses The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH (i.e. SCCH signal)) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 11 above.
Claims 13, 14, 19-21 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2, 3, 9-11, respectively, except the claims are in receiver apparatus format.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda/Lee in view of US 2022/0132603 A1 to Adjakple et al. (hereinafter “Adjakple”)
Regarding Claim 7, Freda/Lee teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
Freda/Lee does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the HARQ feedback message should not be sent, determining whether a unicast connection should be established for receiving group data from the transmitting UE device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Adjakple discloses in [0510]-[0514], This section describes how the V2X upper layer decides to use unicast versus groupcast versus broadcast for V2X reception. The V2X upper layer can decide to use a reception cast type based on one or more of the following: Communication quality threshold. The quality threshold can be related to one or more QoS profile metrics (e.g., packet error rate, latency, reliability, communication range, etc.). For example, a platoon group member UE can, for example, decide to request a switch from groupcast communication to unicast communication based on communication reception quality threshold or can decide to switch to receiving the communication from another member UE acting as a relay UE, on a unicast basis.
Freda further discloses in [0075], in some cases, a WTRU may determine to employ HARQ feedback based on a transmit-receive (TX-RX) distance and/or RSRP. For example, when an V2X WTRU (e.g., in NR) receives a packet, it may have the knowledge of the distance between itself and the V2X WTRU who sends the packet. This feature may be helpful in evaluating whether certain NR V2X quality of service (QoS) requirement(s) (e.g., range for a groupcast transmission) is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda/Lee to include the above limitations as suggested by Adjakple, as more efficient radio resource management allows for higher reliability and lower latency as indicated in [0284] of Adjakple.
Regarding Claim 8, Freda/Lee/Adjakple teaches The method of claim 7, wherein
Adjakple further teaches determining whether the unicast connection should be established comprises determining whether a required quality of service (QoS) of groupcast transmissions from the transmitting UE device is greater than a QoS threshold, ([0510]-[0514], This section describes how the V2X upper layer decides to use unicast versus groupcast versus broadcast for V2X reception. The V2X upper layer can decide to use a reception cast type based on one or more of the following: Communication quality threshold. The quality threshold can be related to one or more QoS profile metrics (e.g., packet error rate, latency, reliability, communication range, etc.). For example, a platoon group member UE can, for example, decide to request a switch from groupcast communication to unicast communication based on communication reception quality threshold or can decide to switch to receiving the communication from another member UE acting as a relay UE, on a unicast basis)
the method further comprising: in response to determining that the unicast connection should be established, broadcasting a Direct Communication Request to the transmitting UE device. (Figure 3A and [0257]-[0259], discloses In ProSe, the PC5-S signaling is designed for connection management and security management as illustrated in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, in step S302, UE-1 sends a direct communication request to UE-2. The connection management procedures include PC5 link setup, link maintenance through keep-alive functionality and link release procedures. RRC is only used for broadcasting sidelink generic configuration parameters over sidelink broadcast control channel (SBCCH). [0560], discloses SL RRC signaling—direct communication request) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 22, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of US 2022/0256357 A1 (foreign priority date of Jul. 10, 2019) to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding Claim 22, Kim teaches A transmitting user equipment (UE) device comprising: (Figure 1E and [0069], discloses WTRU 102a may communicate over a wireless interface 116 with one or more WTRUs 102b, 102c, 102d via sidelink (SL) communication)
a controller (Figure 1B and [0029], discloses a WTRU with processor)
a transmitter (Figure 1B and [0029], discloses a WTRU with transceiver)
a location unavailable signal quality threshold for determining whether the receiving UE device transmits a HARQ message in response to a groupcast data transmission using a distance-based hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback configuration when the receiving UE device has determines that location information is unavailable to the receiving UE device; and ((Figure 1E and [0069], discloses WTRU 102a may communicate over a wireless interface 116 with one or more WTRUs 102b, 102c, 102d via sidelink (SL) communication. There may several types of SL communication, such as unicast, broadcast, and groupcast. [0075], discloses a WTRU may determine to employ HARQ feedback based on a transmit-receive (TX-RX) distance and/or RSRP. [0128], discloses Specifically, when the TX WTRU indicates the “unknown location” status (i.e. location unavailable) in the SCI, the RX WTRU may transmit the NACK (i.e. determining whether to send HARQ feedback message) when SL-RSRP of the PSSCH/PSCCH (i.e. measured signal quality of sidelink signal) is greater (i.e. relationship) than a threshold (i.e. location unavailable signal quality threshold))
Freda does not explicitly teach the transmitting terminal configured to determine a location unavailable signal quality threshold for a receiving user equipment (UE) device, and to transmit the location unavailable signal quality threshold to the receiving UE device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses in [0184], the Tx UE may provide an RSRP threshold measured/calculated over PSCCH DMRS related to the target communication area as the RSRP information. The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH or preconfigured/signaled. In this case, the Rx UE may determine whether to perform HARQ feedback for a received packet based on the RSRP threshold included in the RSRP information and a measured RSRP value (e.g., ab RSRP value calculated over PSCCH DMRS and/or PSSCH DMRS). For example, if the calculated RSRP value is equal to or smaller than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may not perform the HARQ feedback related to the received packet. Namely, the Rx UE may determine that it is not a target UE of the received packet. If the calculated RSRP value is equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold, the Rx UE may perform an operation of transmitting or reporting the HARQ feedback to the Tx UE. Namely, the Rx UE may recognize that it is the target UE of the received packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda to include the above limitations as suggested by Kim, thereby efficiently managing a feedback resource, minimizing signaling load, and minimizing power consumption of a UE as indicated in [0015] of Kim.
Regarding Claim 24, Freda/Kim teaches The transmitting UE device of claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to
Kim further teaches determine the location unavailable signal quality threshold at partially based on at least one of: a quality of service (QoS) of communications with the receiving UE device, a number of UE devices in a group receiving the groupcast transmission, and available Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resources. ([0120], discloses SL RSRP may be determined based on the priority (i.e. quality of service) of the SL transmission) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 22 above.
Regarding Claim 25, Freda/Kim teaches The transmitting device of claim 22, wherein Freda/Kim further teaches the transmitter is configured to transmit the location unavailable signal quality threshold by transmitting a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) in the SCCH signal transmitted in the groupcast transmission. (Freda, [0117], discloses sidelink control information transmitted in the PSCCH in higher layer signaling such as MAC CE. Kim, [0184], discloses [0184], discloses The RSRP information may be provided from PSCCH (i.e. SCCH signal)) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 26, Freda/Kim teaches The transmitting UE device of claim 24, wherein Freda further teaches the SCCH signal is transmitted in accordance with least one revision of a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) V2X communication specification. (Freda, [0117], discloses sidelink control information transmitted in the PSCCH in higher layer signaling such as MAC CE. [0075], discloses a V2X WTRU in NR for sending/receiving packets)
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda/Kim in view of US 2021/0314966 A1 (provisional application no. 63/007,730, filed on Apr. 9, 2020) to Hui et al. (hereinafter “Hui”)
Regarding Claim 23, Freda/Kim teaches The transmitting UE device of claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to
Freda teaches determine the location unavailable signal quality threshold (([0128], discloses Specifically, when the TX WTRU indicates the “unknown location” status in the SCI, the RX WTRU may transmit the NACK when SL-RSRP (i.e. location unavailable signal quality threshold) of the PSSCH/PSCCH is greater than a threshold).
Freda/Kim does not explicitly teach determine the location unavailable signal quality threshold at partially based on information received from a base station serving the transmitting UE device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hui discloses in [0282], the wireless device 3010 may measure an RSRP of the sidelink transmission A, for example, based on decoding SCI of the sidelink transmission A. The wireless device 3030 may determine a distance A from the wireless device 3010 based on a RSRP threshold value. A base station may send, to the wireless device 3030, a message configuring the RSRP threshold value. The message may comprise an RRC message, an SIB, a MAC CE, and/or DCI. A third wireless device may send, to the wireless device, a message for configuring the RSRP threshold value. The message may comprise a sidelink RRC message, a sidelink MAC CE and/or SCI. The RSRP threshold value may be pre-configured. A memory of the wireless device may store the pre-configured RSRP threshold value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freda/Kim to include the above limitations as suggested by Hui, thus allowing more flexibility, and to provide the advantage of reduced interference, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency as indicated in [0004] of Hui.
Conclusion
/JENKEY VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477