DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Claims 21, 26, 27, and 33 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 21, 27 and 33, as amended, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the dependent claims, applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claims 21, 27, and 33, amendments address the issues cited in the previous office action and rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 112(a) rejection of claim 40, examiner now understands that entering a password to establish the wi-fi connection may be part of a first operation in certain embodiments. The 112(a) rejection of claim 40 in the previous office action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 27, 29, 33, 35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ely (US 20160095017 A1) in view of Ghosh (US 20160142913 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Ely teaches a system for providing wireless network access, wherein the system comprises: a first electronic device (Fig. 1 host device 120); and a second electronic device (Fig. 1 client device 130); wherein: the first electronic device is configured to:
receive a second operation of the user, wherein the second operation is performed by the user on a user settings screen of the first electronic device and enables a network sharing function of the first electronic device ([0112] At block 602, the host device receives, via the input module, a sharing input that specifies one or more sharing parameters for the host device to provide network access to client devices not associated with the first user. Such an input module may operate by displaying a user interface such as the user interface 300 of FIG. 3 and receiving a user input that enables network sharing.); and
the second electronic device is configured to:
perform data receiving and sending with a network side by using the network sharing function of the first electronic device ([0135] At block 810, the client device (second electronic device) establishes, via the wireless interface, a network-sharing communication link with the host device (first electronic device) associated with the first user. The network-sharing communication link may allow the client device to communicate data (perform data receiving and sending) with the network once the link is established with a host device that has access to the network.)
Ely does not teach the first electronic device is configured to:
receive a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device;
establish a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation; and
the second electronic device is configured to:
receive the first data from the first electronic device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches the first electronic device is configured to:
receive a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content (first data) she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 (first operation of a user) on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112. The content-sharing gesture 206, in one example embodiment, is a two-fingered upward swipe on or at the user interface of the mobile device 112 while the image 308 (first data) is displayed (see, e.g., reference 302 of FIG. 3). [0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 (first electronic device) communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108.);
establish a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation (Fig. 2, [0036] MD-2 and MD-1 exchange messaging 234, 236 to initiate and establish a direct wireless connection using the credentials. [0043] In one example embodiment, the direct wireless connection 402 is instantiated using Wi-Fi Direct to establish a peer-to-peer group with MD-1 performing a group owner role for the Wi-Fi Direct wireless connection.); and
the second electronic device is configured to:
receive the first data from the first electronic device ([0033] To receive the content item (first data), intended recipients 104, 106 perform a content-discovery request gesture, respectively 214 and 216, on their devices 114, 116. In response to the content-discovery request gestures, MD-2, MD-3 each respectively communicates a content-discovery request 218, 220 to the server 108. [0036] Consequently, using the direct wireless connection 402, MD-1 can download the image 308 (first data), using messaging 240, directly from the sharing device 112 without the image 308 being transmitted, relayed or processed in any way by the access point 110 or the server 108.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Regarding claim 23, Ely teaches the second operation comprises an operation of enabling a network sharing control (Fig. 3, [0038] Data sharing input 310 may comprise an on/off selection for a user to enable or disable sharing of network bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 27, Ely teaches a method for providing wireless network access, comprising:
receiving, by a first electronic device, a second operation of the user, wherein the second operation is performed by the user on a user settings screen of the first electronic device, and enables a network sharing function of the first electronic device ([0112] At block 602, the host device receives, via the input module, a sharing input that specifies one or more sharing parameters for the host device to provide network access to client devices not associated with the first user. Such an input module may operate by displaying a user interface such as the user interface 300 of FIG. 3 and receiving a user input that enables network sharing.); and
performing, by the second electronic device, data receiving and sending with a network side by using the network sharing function of the first electronic device ([0135] At block 810, the client device (second electronic device) establishes, via the wireless interface, a network-sharing communication link with the host device (first electronic device) associated with the first user. The network-sharing communication link may allow the client device to communicate data (perform data receiving and sending) with the network once the link is established with a host device that has access to the network.)
Ely does not teach receiving, by a first electronic device, a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device;
establishing, by the first electronic device, a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation;
receiving, by the second electronic device, the first data from the first electronic device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches receiving, by a first electronic device, a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content (first data) she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 (first operation of a user) on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112. The content-sharing gesture 206, in one example embodiment, is a two-fingered upward swipe on or at the user interface of the mobile device 112 while the image 308 (first data) is displayed (see, e.g., reference 302 of FIG. 3). [0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 (first electronic device) communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108.);
establishing, by the first electronic device, a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation (Fig. 2, [0036] MD-2 and MD-1 exchange messaging 234, 236 to initiate and establish a direct wireless connection using the credentials. [0043] In one example embodiment, the direct wireless connection 402 is instantiated using Wi-Fi Direct to establish a peer-to-peer group with MD-1 performing a group owner role for the Wi-Fi Direct wireless connection.); and
receiving, by the second electronic device, the first data from the first electronic device ([0033] To receive the content item (first data), intended recipients 104, 106 perform a content-discovery request gesture, respectively 214 and 216, on their devices 114, 116. In response to the content-discovery request gestures, MD-2, MD-3 each respectively communicates a content-discovery request 218, 220 to the server 108. [0036] Consequently, using the direct wireless connection 402, MD-1 can download the image 308 (first data), using messaging 240, directly from the sharing device 112 without the image 308 being transmitted, relayed or processed in any way by the access point 110 or the server 108.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Regarding claim 29, Ely teaches the second operation comprises an operation of enabling a network sharing control (Fig. 3, [0038] Data sharing input 310 may comprise an on/off selection for a user to enable or disable sharing of network bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 33, Ely teaches a first electronic device providing wireless network access, comprising:
at least one processor (Processor 1052 of host device 1050 of Fig. 10); and
one or more memories (Memory 1054 of host device 1050 of Fig. 10) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor ([0161] memory 1054, may be any computer-readable medium and may further be any device or medium that can store code and/or data for use by one or more processors or device components) to:
receive a second operation of the user, wherein the second operation is performed by the user on a user settings screen of the first electronic device and enables a network sharing function of the first electronic device ([0112] At block 602, the host device receives, via the input module, a sharing input that specifies one or more sharing parameters for the host device to provide network access to client devices not associated with the first user. Such an input module may operate by displaying a user interface such as the user interface 300 of FIG. 3 and receiving a user input that enables network sharing.); and
enable the network sharing function in response to the second operation, wherein the network sharing function of the first electronic device is used to implement data receiving and sending between the second electronic device and a network side ([0135] At block 810, the client device (second electronic device) establishes, via the wireless interface, a network-sharing communication link with the host device (first electronic device) associated with the first user. The network-sharing communication link may allow the client device to communicate data (perform data receiving and sending) with the network once the link is established with a host device that has access to the network.)
Ely does not teach receive a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device;
establish a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation;
send the first data to the second electronic device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches receive a first operation of a user, wherein the first operation is performed by the user on first data in the first electronic device, and wherein the first operation instructs the first electronic device to share or project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content (first data) she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 (first operation of a user) on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112. The content-sharing gesture 206, in one example embodiment, is a two-fingered upward swipe on or at the user interface of the mobile device 112 while the image 308 (first data) is displayed (see, e.g., reference 302 of FIG. 3). [0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 (first electronic device) communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108.);
establish a Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation (Fig. 2, [0036] MD-2 and MD-1 exchange messaging 234, 236 to initiate and establish a direct wireless connection using the credentials. [0043] In one example embodiment, the direct wireless connection 402 is instantiated using Wi-Fi Direct to establish a peer-to-peer group with MD-1 performing a group owner role for the Wi-Fi Direct wireless connection.); and
send the first data to the second electronic device ([0047] Once the direct wireless connection 402 is established at 518, MD-2 sends a request 520 for content from MD-1. In response to the request 520 for content, MD-1 (first electronic device) downloads a content item, in this case the image 308, to MD-2 (second electronic device) via messaging 522 sent over the direct wireless connection 402.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Regarding claim 35, Ely teaches the second operation comprises an operation of enabling a network sharing control (Fig. 3, [0038] Data sharing input 310 may comprise an on/off selection for a user to enable or disable sharing of network bandwidth.).
Regarding claim 39, Ely teaches claim 21 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first operation selects the first data in the first electronic device and instructs the first electronic device to project the selected first data onto the second electronic device (Examiner is interpreting “project the selected first data onto the second electronic device” claim language as is supported by the specification, paragraph 69 “project the first data in the first electronic device to the second electronic device” which corresponds to paragraph 70, “The first electronic device sends the first data to the second electronic device”.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches wherein the first operation selects the first data in the first electronic device and instructs the first electronic device to project the selected first data onto the second electronic device [0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112. [0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108. [0031] In response to receiving the content-sharing request message 208, the server 108 creates 210 a content-sharing session having associated therewith a content-sharing geographical area, e.g., content-sharing geographical area 118, and a member list with MD-1 as the originator. [0033] To receive the content item, intended recipients 104, 106 perform a content-discovery request gesture, respectively 214 and 216, on their devices 114, 116. [0019] Content, which is also referred to herein as media, includes information or data such as pictures, videos, multimedia, documents, electronic books, or any other types of data capable of being stored on a mobile electronic device and provided to an external device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ely in view of Ghosh, further in view of Yoon (US 20160174277 A1).
Regarding claim 38, Ely and Ghosh teach the first electronic device according to claim 35, but do not teach wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: prompt the user of a network sharing status, wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled.
Yoon in the same field of endeavor of allowing an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device teaches wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: prompt the user of a network sharing status, wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled ([0148] electronic device 602 displays tethering function activation information and transmission state information on service connection information 810 in at least some areas (for example, a state display area) of a display 800 as illustrated in Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tethering activation methods of Yoon with the network sharing methods and data sharing methods of Ely and Ghosh. The motivation to do so would have been to allow an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device (Yoon; [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 28, 34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ely in view of Ghosh, further in view of Qi et al. (US 20140045422 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 21 but Ely does not explicitly teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data, an operation of enabling a sharing control, and an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112), an operation of enabling a sharing control ([0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108. The content sharing gesture both selects and enables a sharing control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Ghosh does not teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor of data sharing via peer-to-peer connections, further teaches the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device ([0063] During the permission phase 1560, the user 1510 may select the receiver 1530 (selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device) and files to transfer to the receiver 1530 and initiate a request for permission to transfer the files to the receiver 1530 via the user interface of the sender 1520).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the operations of Qi of selecting the second electronic device to instruct the first electronic device of Ely and Ghosh to share or project data with the second electronic device. The motivation to do so would have been to allow users to connect their devices in an easy and convenient manner to share, show, print, and synchronize content (Qi, Abstract).
Regarding claim 28, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 27 but does not explicitly teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data, an operation of enabling a sharing control, and an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112), an operation of enabling a sharing control ([0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108. The content sharing gesture both selects and enables a sharing control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Ghosh does not teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor of data sharing via peer-to-peer connections, teaches the first operation comprises an operation of an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device ([0063] During the permission phase 1560, the user 1510 may select the receiver 1530 and files to transfer to the receiver 1530 and initiate a request for permission to transfer the files to the receiver 1530 via the user interface of the sender 1520).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the operations of Qi of selecting the second electronic device to instruct the first electronic device of Ely and Ghosh to share or project data with the second electronic device. The motivation to do so would have been to allow users to connect their devices in an easy and convenient manner to share, show, print, and synchronize content (Qi, Abstract).
Regarding claim 34, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 33 but does not explicitly teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data, an operation of enabling a sharing control, and an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Ghosh in the same field of endeavor of content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection teaches the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the first data ([0028] To initiate content sharing, the sharer 102 selects the content she wishes to share and performs a content-sharing gesture 206 on a user-interface of her mobile electronic device 112), an operation of enabling a sharing control ([0029] In response to detecting the content-sharing gesture on the user-interface, MD-1 communicates a content-sharing request message 208 to the server 108. The content sharing gesture both selects and enables a sharing control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the content-sharing apparatus and methods of Ghosh with the network sharing methods of Ely. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a reliable and quicker way of sharing content between devices (Ghosh; [0079]).
Ghosh does not teach the first operation comprises an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor of data sharing via peer-to-peer connections, teaches the first operation comprises an operation of an operation of selecting the second electronic device as a receiving device ([0063] During the permission phase 1560, the user 1510 may select the receiver 1530 and files to transfer to the receiver 1530 and initiate a request for permission to transfer the files to the receiver 1530 via the user interface of the sender 1520).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the operations of Qi of selecting the second electronic device to instruct the first electronic device of Ely and Ghosh to share or project data with the second electronic device. The motivation to do so would have been to allow users to connect their devices in an easy and convenient manner to share, show, print, and synchronize content (Qi, Abstract).
Regarding claim 40, Ely in view of Ghosh teach the system according to claim 21, but do not teach wherein the first operation comprises the user entering a correct password.
Qi, in the same field of endeavor of data sharing via peer-to-peer connections, teaches wherein the first operation comprises the user entering a correct password ([0064] During the P2P initiation phase 1565, after the user 1510 receives the grant of permission for the file transfer, the user 1510 may initiate a P2P connection by a process such as GO negotiation, P2P invitation, and provision discovery request/response, which includes a request that the user 1540 provide a user input of a credential such as a user personal identification number (PIN) to verify that the user 1540 is authorized to receive the files via the user interface of sender 1520. In response, the sender 1520 may initiate a P2P connection with the receiver 1530 that requests that the user 1540 provide the correct credential).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first operation of Ely in view of Ghosh to include the user entering a correct password. The motivation to do so would have been to allow users to connect their devices in an easy and convenient manner to share, show, print, and synchronize content (Qi, Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 25, 30, 31, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ely in view of Ghosh, further in view of Ko et al. (US 20150351004 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 23 but does not explicitly teach the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password ([0051] To manually join wireless network 306, a user of client device 100 (or another device that is to join wireless network 306) navigates to a network access interface presented by client device 100, selects wireless network 306, and enters the password from the dialog presented by tethering device 200 into the network access interface presented by client device 100).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include an operation of entering a correct password as part of the second operation, such as taught in Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid unauthorized devices accessing wireless network 306 (Ko [0051]).
Regarding claim 25, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches the system according to claim 21 and Ely teaches the first electronic device comprises a Wi-Fi module (Fig. 11, Communication module 1124) and a routing control module (Fig. 11, Data sharing module 1128), the Wi-Fi module comprises a wide area network (WAN) interface and a local area network (LAN) interface, the LAN interface is a Wi-Fi peer-to- peer (P2P) interface, and the first electronic device establishes the Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface (Fig. 10, [0155] A host device can include wireless circuitry as part of wireless interfaces, such as wireless interface 1062, and wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks depending on the range required for the communication. For example, a short-range wireless transceiver (e.g., Bluetooth), medium-range wireless transceiver (e.g., WiFi), and/or a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced). [0156] Connection 1038 in particular may, in certain embodiments be implemented as a peer to peer (P2P) wireless connection directly between wireless interface 1012 and wireless interface 1062.); the first electronic device accesses a cellular mobile network or a wireless local area network (WLAN) through the WAN interface ([0155] wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks, such as a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced.); the second operation is used to enable a routing control function of the routing control module ([0185] Data sharing module 1128 can include user interface 300 of FIG. 3 when mobile device 1100 acts as a host device.).
Ely does not explicitly teach the routing control function comprises: in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface; or in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the routing control function comprises: in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for client device 100 from a device on network 304 via cellular network 302 and can forward the communications to client device 100 via wireless network 306); or in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for a device on network 304 from client device 100 via wireless network 306 and the tethering service can forward the communications to cellular network 302 for routing to network 304).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include the detail provided by Ko of how data is forwarded between the second electronic device 102 and the network 162 using the tethering service of the device 100. The motivation to do so would have been to simplify the process of enabling tethering services for users by allowing the client device to activate tethering services on the tethering device (Ko [0025]).
Regarding claim 30, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 29 but does not explicitly teach the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password ([0051] To manually join wireless network 306, a user of client device 100 (or another device that is to join wireless network 306) navigates to a network access interface presented by client device 100, selects wireless network 306, and enters the password from the dialog presented by tethering device 200 into the network access interface presented by client device 100).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include an operation of entering a correct password as part of the second operation, such as taught in Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid unauthorized devices accessing wireless network 306 (Ko [0051]).
Regarding claim 31, Ely teaches the first electronic device comprises a Wi-Fi module, the Wi-Fi module comprises a wide area network (WAN) interface and a local area network (LAN) interface, and the LAN interface is a Wi-Fi peer-to-peer (P2P) interface ([Fig. 10, [0155] A host device can include wireless circuitry as part of wireless interfaces, such as wireless interface 1062, and wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks depending on the range required for the communication. For example, a short-range wireless transceiver (e.g., Bluetooth), medium-range wireless transceiver (e.g., WiFi), and/or a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced). [0156] Connection 1038 in particular may, in certain embodiments be implemented as a peer to peer (P2P) wireless connection directly between wireless interface 1012 and wireless interface 1062.); the first electronic device accesses a cellular mobile network or a wireless local area network (WLAN) through the WAN interface ([0155] wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks, such as a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced); the establishing a Wi-Fi direct connection to a second electronic device in response to the first operation comprises:
establishing the Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device in response to the first operation through the Wi-Fi P2P interface ([0156] Connection 1038 in particular may, in certain embodiments be implemented as a peer to peer (P2P) wireless connection directly between wireless interface 1012 and wireless interface 1062.).
Ely does not explicitly teach the performing, by the second electronic device, data receiving and sending with a network side by using the network sharing function of the first electronic device comprises:
in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface; and
in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the performing, by the second electronic device, data receiving and sending with a network side by using the network sharing function of the first electronic device comprises:
in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for client device 100 from a device on network 304 via cellular network 302 and can forward the communications to client device 100 via wireless network 306); and
in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for a device on network 304 from client device 100 via wireless network 306 and the tethering service can forward the communications to cellular network 302 for routing to network 304).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include the detail provided by Ko of how data is forwarded between the second electronic device 102 and the network 162 using the tethering service of the device 100. The motivation to do so would have been to simplify the process of enabling tethering services for users by allowing the client device to activate tethering services on the tethering device (Ko [0025]).
Regarding claim 36, Ely in view of Ghosh teaches claim 35 but does not explicitly teach the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the second operation further comprises an operation of entering a correct password ([0051] To manually join wireless network 306, a user of client device 100 (or another device that is to join wireless network 306) navigates to a network access interface presented by client device 100, selects wireless network 306, and enters the password from the dialog presented by tethering device 200 into the network access interface presented by client device 100).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include an operation of entering a correct password, such as taught in Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid unauthorized devices accessing wireless network 306 (Ko [0051]).
Regarding claim 37, Ely teaches the first electronic device comprises a (Fig. 11, Communication module 1124) and a routing control module (Fig. 11, Data sharing module 1128), the Wi-Fi module comprises a wide area network (WAN) interface and a local area network (LAN) interface, the LAN interface is a Wi-Fi peer-to- peer (P2P) interface, and the first electronic device establishes the Wi-Fi direct connection to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface (Fig. 10, [0155] A host device can include wireless circuitry as part of wireless interfaces, such as wireless interface 1062, and wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks depending on the range required for the communication. For example, a short-range wireless transceiver (e.g., Bluetooth), medium-range wireless transceiver (e.g., WiFi), and/or a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced). [0156] Connection 1038 in particular may, in certain embodiments be implemented as a peer to peer (P2P) wireless connection directly between wireless interface 1012 and wireless interface 1062.); the first electronic device accesses a cellular mobile network or a wireless local area network (WLAN) through the WAN interface ([0155] wireless interface 1064, that can communicate over several different types of wireless networks, such as a long range wireless transceiver (e.g., GSM/GPRS, UMTS, CDMA2000 1×/EV-DO and LTE/LTE-Advanced.); the second operation is used to enable a routing control function of the routing control module ([0185] Data sharing module 1128 can include user interface 300 of FIG. 3 when mobile device 1100 acts as a host device.).
Ely does not explicitly teach the routing control function comprises: in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface; and in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of client-initiated tethering for electronic devices, teaches the routing control function comprises: in response to that a destination address of second data on the network side that is received from the WAN interface is the second electronic device, forwarding the second data to the Wi-Fi P2P interface, and sending the second data to the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for client device 100 from a device on network 304 via cellular network 302 and can forward the communications to client device 100 via wireless network 306); and in response to that a destination address of third data that is received from the second electronic device through the Wi-Fi P2P interface is the network side, forwarding the third data to the WAN interface, and sending the third data to the network side through the WAN interface ([0094] tethering device 200 can receive communications destined for a device on network 304 from client device 100 via wireless network 306 and the tethering service can forward the communications to cellular network 302 for routing to network 304).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ely and Ghosh to include the detail provided by Ko of how data is forwarded between the second electronic device 102 and the network 162 using the tethering service of the device 100. The motivation to do so would have been to simplify the process of enabling tethering services for users by allowing the client device to activate tethering services on the tethering device (Ko [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ely in view of Ghosh and Ko, further in view of Yoon (US 20160174277 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Ely and Ghosh in view of Ko teach the system according to claim 25, but do not teach wherein the first electronic device is further configured to prompt the user of a network sharing status, and wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled.
Yoon in the same field of endeavor of allowing an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device teaches wherein the first electronic device is further configured to prompt the user of a network sharing status, and wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled ([0148] electronic device 602 displays tethering function activation information and transmission state information on service connection information 810 in at least some areas (for example, a state display area) of a display 800 as illustrated in Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tethering activation methods of Yoon with the network sharing methods and data sharing methods of Ely and Ghosh. The motivation to do so would have been to allow an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device (Yoon; [0079]).
Regarding claim 32, Ely and Ghosh in view of Ko teach the method according to claim 31, but do not teach wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the first electronic device, the user a network sharing status, wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled.
Yoon in the same field of endeavor of allowing an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device teaches wherein the method further comprises: prompting, by the first electronic device, the user of a network sharing status, and wherein the network sharing status comprises that cellular mobile network sharing is enabled or WLAN sharing is enabled ([0148] electronic device 602 displays tethering function activation information and transmission state information on service connection information 810 in at least some areas (for example, a state display area) of a display 800 as illustrated in Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tethering activation methods of Yoon with the network sharing methods and data sharing methods of Ely and Ghosh. The motivation to do so would have been to allow an electronic device to transmit/receive data for an Internet service and a screen sharing service through connection with another electronic device (Yoon; [0079]).
Conclusion
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465